DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 24, 2024 and June 13, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on August 27, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 19, 21-24, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakkar (US 2014/0010118) in view of LeBrun et al. (hereinafter “LeBrun”, US 2023/0114824).
Regarding claims 14 and 22, Bakkar discloses a call control method, and an electronic device, comprising:
receiving, by a first electronic device (i.e., UE B 102 as shown in Fig. 5), a first call from a second electronic device at a first time point (i.e., an active session between UE B 102 and UE C 101 as shown in Fig. 5);
receiving, by the first electronic device, a second call from a third electronic device at a second time point (i.e., the UE A 104 attempts to establish a communication with the UE B 102 as described in paragraphs 0063-0064, and as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the first electronic device does not answer the first call at the second time point, and the second time point is later than the first time point (i.e., the UE B 102 does not answer as described in paragraphs 0010, 0025, and 0065-0067); and
performing, by the first electronic device and the third electronic device, first signaling exchange at a fourth time point, wherein the first signaling exchange comprises complete signaling exchange required to establish a call or comprises a part of signaling exchange required to establish a call (i.e., SIP messages exchange between the UE B 102 and UE A 104 as shown in Fig. 5); and
the fourth time point is later than the third time point, duration between the fourth time point and the second time point is less than a first waiting threshold, and the first waiting threshold is determined according to a timeout threshold of the second call (i.e., when a timer expires as described in paragraphs 0025, 0033, and 0080).
Bakkar, however, does not expressly disclose:
displaying a first waiting-for-answering screen, wherein the first waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the second electronic device;
displaying, by the first electronic device, a second waiting-for-answering screen at a third time point when the first electronic device answers the first call, wherein the second waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the third electronic device, and the third time point is later than the second time point; and
answering, by the first electronic device, the second call in response to a first operation in the second waiting-for-answering screen.
In a similar endeavor, LeBrun discloses system and method for mobile device interacting with multiple telephone lines. LeBrun also discloses:
displaying a first waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., displaying an incoming call 402 as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the first waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the second electronic device (i.e., the incoming call 402 including caller ID as described in paragraph 0093, and as shown in Fig. 4);
displaying, by the first electronic device, a second waiting-for-answering screen at a third time point when the first electronic device answers the first call (i.e., second incoming call 404 as shown in Fig. 4, and selecting a particular call (e.g., 210-1 or 210-2) to answer as described in paragraph 0093), wherein the second waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the third electronic device (i.e., the incoming call 210 to an end user 204 including caller ID as described in paragraph 0093, and as shown in Fig. 3), and the third time point is later than the second time point (i.e., see Figs. 3, 4 and 7 and its descriptions); and
answering, by the first electronic device, the second call in response to a first operation in the second waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., selecting a particular call (e.g., 210-1 or 210-2) to answer as described in paragraph 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to manage multiple incoming calls more effectively.
Regarding claims 15 and 23, Bakkar and LeBrun disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. LeBrun also discloses wherein the answering, by the first electronic device, the first call comprises:
answering, by the first electronic device, the first call from the second electronic device in response to a first operation in the first waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., selecting a particular call (e.g., 210-1 or 210-2) to answer as described in paragraph 0093).
Regarding claims 16 and 24, Bakkar and LeBrun disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. LeBrun also discloses wherein after the receiving, by the first electronic device, the second call, the method further comprises:
displaying, by the first electronic device, a call screen of the second call (i.e., displaying an identifier of the caller of the second incoming bounds as described in paragraphs 0093-0094); and
resuming, by the first electronic device, a call with the second electronic device in response to a third operation on the call screen of the second call (i.e., selecting a particular call (e.g., 210-1 or 210-2) to answer as described in paragraph 0093).
Regarding claims 19 and 27, Bakkar and LeBrun disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. LeBrun also discloses wherein at the third time point, when the first electronic device does not answer the first call, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first electronic device, the second waiting-for-answering screen at a sixth time point, wherein the sixth time point is later than the third time point (i.e., displaying the second incoming bound 404 as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 28, Bakkar and LeBrun disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Bakkar also discloses second electronic device does not end before the duration reaches the second waiting threshold, the first electronic device perform a part of the signaling exchange process with the third electronic device when the duration reaches the second waiting threshold (i.e., when a timer expires as described in paragraphs 0025, 0033, and 0080); and
the part of the signaling exchange process include one or more signaling exchange processes before the first electronic device sends a 180 Ringing message to the third electronic device (i.e., 180 Ringing Response is sent as described in paragraph 0072-0075).
Regarding claim 21, Bakkar discloses a call control system, comprising:
a first electronic device (i.e., UE B 102 as shown in Fig. 5), a second electronic device (i.e., UE C 101 as shown in Fig. 5), and a third electronic device (i.e., UE A 104 as shown in Fig. 5) wherein
the first electronic device is configured to receive a first call from the second electronic device at a first time point (i.e., an active session between UE B 102 and UE C 101 as shown in Fig. 5);
the third electronic device is configured to send a second call to the first electronic device at a second time point (i.e., the UE A 104 attempts to establish a communication with the UE B 102 as described in paragraphs 0063-0064, and as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the first electronic device does not answer the first call at the second time point, and the second time point is later than the first time point (i.e., the UE B 102 does not answer as described in paragraphs 0010, 0025, and 0065-0067);
the third electronic device is further configured to play a waiting-for-answering alert tone (i.e., call waiting announcement is provided to the UE A 104 as described in paragraph 0073); and
the first electronic device is further configured to answer the second call in response to a second operation in the second waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., UE B 102 the UE B 102 places UE C 101 on hold and accepts the waiting call with UE A 104 as described in paragraph 0071); and
the second electronic device is further configured to play a waiting alert tone (i.e., a call waiting announcement is provided to the UE A 104 as described in paragraph 0073).
Even though Bakkar does not expressly disclose the third electronic device displays a dialing screen. However, it is obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the third electronic device displays a dialing screen because Bakkar expressly discloses that the UE B 102 receives a SIP INVITE message from UE A 104 to establish a communication. In other words, the UE A 104 includes a display to enable the user of the UE A 104 to make a call to the UE B 102.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to provide a user interface to enable the user to request a call to the target device.
Bakkar, does not expressly disclose:
display a first waiting-for-answering screen, wherein the first waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the second electronic device; and
the first electronic device is further configured to answer the first call from the second electronic device at a third time point in response to a first operation in the first waiting-for-answering screen, and display a second waiting-for-answering screen, wherein the second waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the third electronic device, and the third time point is later than the second time point.
In a similar endeavor, LeBrun discloses system and method for mobile device interacting with multiple telephone lines. LeBrun also discloses:
display a first waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., displaying an incoming call 402 as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the first waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the second electronic device (i.e., the incoming call 402 including caller ID as described in paragraph 0093, and as shown in Fig. 4);
the first electronic device is further configured to answer the first call from the second electronic device at a third time point in response to a first operation in the first waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., there are several lines of incoming calls including an incoming call on hold 408, and the user can retrieve this incoming call as described in paragraph 0098), and display a second waiting-for-answering screen (i.e., second incoming call 404 as shown in Fig. 4), wherein the second waiting-for-answering screen comprises an identifier corresponding to the third electronic device (i.e., the incoming call 210 to an end user 204 including caller ID as described in paragraph 0093, and as shown in Fig. 3), and the third time point is later than the second time point (i.e., see Figs. 3, 4 and 7 and its descriptions);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to manage multiple incoming calls more effectively.
Claim(s) 17-18, 20 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakkar in view of LeBrun, and further in view of Bhalla.
Regarding claims 17 and 25, Bakkar and LeBrun disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Bhalla discloses system and method for augmented reality head up display for vehicles. Bhalla also discloses wherein the fourth time point is later than the second time point, and is earlier than the third time point, duration between the fourth time point and the second time point is equal to a first waiting threshold (i.e., there is a second incoming call during a second time point, while the user is participating on a first incoming call, then a “call waiting” feature is activated, and if the second incoming call is not answered within a certain time period, which is a waiting threshold of claim language, then the caller on the second incoming call is directed to voicemail as described in paragraph 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to ensure calls are not missed and keeps the phone system running efficiently.
Regarding claims 18 and 26, Bakkar, LeBrun, and Bhalla disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Bakkar also discloses wherein after the performing, by the first electronic device and the third electronic device, first signaling exchange at a fourth time point, the method further comprises:
performing, by the first electronic device and the third electronic device, second signaling exchange at a fifth time point, wherein the second signaling exchange comprises complete signaling exchange required to establish a call after the first signaling exchange (i.e., SIP message exchanging between UE B 102 and UE A 104 as shown in Fig. 5); and
the fifth time point is later than the third time point, duration between the fifth time point and the fourth time point is less than a second waiting threshold, and the second waiting threshold is determined according to a timeout threshold of the first signaling exchange (i.e., when a timer expires as described in paragraphs 0025, 0033, and 0080).
Regarding claim 20, Bakkar, LeBrun, and Bhalla disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Bakkar also discloses wherein when the first call between the first electronic device and the second electronic device does not end before the duration reaches the second waiting threshold, the first electronic device perform a part of the signaling exchange process with the third electronic device when the duration reaches the second waiting threshold (i.e., when a timer expires as described in paragraphs 0025, 0033, and 0080); and
the part of the signaling exchange process include one or more signaling exchange processes before the first electronic device sends a 180 Ringing message to the third electronic device (i.e., 180 Ringing Response is sent as described in paragraph 0072-0075).
Conclusion
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644