DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/JP2023/007230, filed February 28, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) by application no. JP2022-029773, filed in the Japanese Patent Office on February 28, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 27, 2024 and June 20, 2025 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. The IDS documents were considered. A signed copy of each form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Status of Claims
5. Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are pending and under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 10 is missing a period at the end.
7. Claim 10 is objected to because the word "or" should be added between the last and second to last species depicted in the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(h) on alternative limitations. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the therapeutic treatment of the kidney diseases, does not reasonably provide enablement for kidney diseases of the claimed disorders/conditions. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) breadth of the claims; (b) nature of the invention; (c) state of the prior art; (d) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (e) level of predictability in the art; (f) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) existence of working examples; and (h) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. (See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The above factors, regarding the present invention, are summarized as follows:
(a) Breadth of the claims - The breadth of the claims is drawn to methods for preventing or treating kidney diseases.
(b) Nature of the invention - The nature of the invention is therefore drawn to the pharmaceutical art.
(c,e) State of the prior art and predictability in the art - The state of the prior art is that the pharmacological art involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can treat or prevent which specific disease by what mechanism). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic or preventative regimen on its face.
Regarding the prevention - prophylaxis and/or prevention means to anticipate or counter in advanced, to keep from happening, etc. and there is no disclosure as to how one skilled in the art can reasonably establish the basis and the type of subject to which the instant compounds and compositions can be administered in order to have the "preventive" effect. How would one show a correlation that the diseases of the instant claims are prevented by the compounds of the invention, or that the subject would not have contracted the disease without administration of the instantly claimed compounds/compositions? How is the initial onset of the claimed diseases prevented?
The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any preventative regimen on its face.
(d) Level of one of ordinary skill in the art - The artisans using applicant’s method would be a collaborative team of synthetic chemists and/or health practitioners, possessing commensurate degree level and/or skill in the art, as well as several years of professional experience.
The level of skill in the art is high; however, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that the claimed compound is required to be assessed for physiological activity by in vitro or in vivo screening to determine if it exhibits the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
(f-g) Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples - The only direction or guidance present in the instant specification is the listing of diseases applicant considers as treatable and preventable by the claimed compounds and composition comprising the same.
There are absolutely no working examples present for the prevention of any of the claimed diseases. The inhibitory and biological assay data of the specification supports the treatment of the claimed disorders; however, not preventing the full scope of aforementioned conditions.
Test assays and procedures are provided in the specification and the disclosure does not provide how the in vitro and in vivo data correlates to the prevention of the full scope of diseases, as claimed.
Pharmacological activity in general is a very unpredictable area. Note that in cases involving physiological activity such as the instant case, “the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved.” See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
Applicant has not provided any competent evidence or disclosed tests that are highly predictive for the pharmaceutical use for preventing the claimed diseases comprising administration of the claimed compounds or pharmaceutical compositions.
(h) Quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure - The quantity of experimentation needed is undue experimentation. One of skill in the art would need to determine if the claimed compounds/compositions of the instant invention would provide treatment and prevention of the claimed diseases.
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would be faced with an undue amount of experimentation to use the pharmaceutical compositions for the full scope of the claimed intended uses.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. {In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)}.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, a person of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds encompassed in the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/208812 (from IDS filed 12/28/2023, English equivalent US 11,548,882 (‘882).
‘882 teaches the herein claimed compounds of formula (1), (1A) and (2) and the corresponding composition (see col. 3, line 29 bridging col. 6, line 41, col. 19, line 1 bridging col. 27, line 50).
Regarding the limitations “for preventing and/or treating a kidney disease” “the kidney disease is a glomerular disease” “wherein the glomerular disease is chronic glomerulonephritis or diabetic nephropathy” “wherein the glomerular disease is a disease accompanied by proteinuria” “which is for oral administration” “wherein the glomerular disease is a disease accompanied by proteinuria” – it is noted that these claims merely recite properties of the anticipated compositions. “Products of an identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties, these limitations are also anticipated. Since the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties and no additional components are claimed (such as an excipient, adjuvant, carrier, etc.), these limitations are also anticipated. The claimed compositions teach a compound of formula 1 or 2 and no additional components. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the aforementioned compounds of formula 1 or 2, capable of being used with the claimed intended uses, as described herein.
MPEP 2111.02(II) provides the following instruction for interpreting the preamble of a claim: “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim.” If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Since the compositions taught by the prior art do not have any structural difference from the claimed compositions and the prior art compositions are capable of the intended uses, those limitations are also anticipated, as discussed herein.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/574,883 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/574,883 teach compositions comprising formulae 1 and 2 and anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
13. Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/726,561 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/726,561 teach compositions comprising formulae 1 and 2 and anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
14. Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,548,882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,548,882 anticipate the instant claims. See species of claim 7 anticipate the present claims.
15. Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,976,062. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,976,062 anticipate the instant claims. See species of claim 7 anticipate the present claims.
Conclusion
16. No claims are allowed.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623