DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of species 1 (figure 1; claims 1-9 and 11-21) in the reply filed on 06/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the species are sufficiently related that search and examination of both species could be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because figures 1, 8, 12, 18, 23, and 25 are directed to multiple species. Therefore, search and examination of both species could not be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-15, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2015/0103195).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a lens driving device comprising:
a base (400’);
a first holder (300, 320) disposed on the base;
a second coil and a second magnet configured to move the first holder in an x- direction or a y-direction perpendicular to an optical axis (driving force in X- and Y-directions may be generated by the electromagnetic interactions between the second magnets 521 and the second coils 525; see at least paragraph 0074); and
a first ball (800) disposed between an upper plate of the base and an upper plate of the first holder, wherein the first ball is configured to guide the first holder to move in the x-direction and the y-direction perpendicular to the optical axis with respect to the base (the ball bearings 800 may roll between the driving part 300 and the fixed part 400 when the driving part 300 is moved in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction). Since the driving part 300 is continuously in point-contact with the plurality of ball bearings 800, it may be stably driven in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction); see at least paragraphs 0102-0103),
wherein the base comprises a metal plate (411’; see at least paragraph 0137),
wherein the first holder comprises a metal plate (320; the yoke plate 320 may be formed of, or comprise, a magnetic material; see at least paragraph 0051), and
wherein the first ball is in contact with the metal plate of the base and the metal plate of the first holder (figure 8).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses wherein the upper plate of the base comprises a first groove disposed with the first ball, and wherein the first groove has a size greater than a maximum diameter of the first ball (800; figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses wherein when a center of the first ball and a center of the first groove are disposed to coincide with each other, a side surface of the first ball is spaced apart from an inner side surface of the first groove in the x- direction and the y-direction (800; figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses wherein the first ball has first to fourth unit balls, and wherein the first unit ball is configured to guide the first holder to move in the x- direction and the y-direction perpendicular to the optical axis with respect to the base (the ball bearings 800 may roll between the driving part 300 and the fixed part 400 when the driving part 300 is moved in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction). Since the driving part 300 is continuously in point-contact with the plurality of ball bearings 800, it may be stably driven in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction); see at least paragraphs 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a wire configured to support the first holder with respect to the base (700).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses
a first substrate disposed on the base;
a second substrate and a third substrate disposed on the first holder (311, 420, 323);
an elastic member (610) disposed on the first holder; and
a wire connecting the first substrate and the elastic member (700),
wherein the elastic member comprises a first elastic member electrically connected with the second substrate and a second elastic member electrically connected with the third substrate (the first elastic member 610 may be coupled to an upper portion of the driving frame 310 to support the bobbin 220, and the second elastic member 620 may be coupled to a lower portion of the driving frame 310 to support the bobbin 220; see at least paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a second substrate disposed on the first holder, wherein the second coil is disposed on the second substrate (400; 521, 525).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses wherein the second magnet is disposed on the base (400, 521, 525).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses wherein the second substrate is disposed between the second coil and the second magnet to be overlapped with the second coil and the second magnet (400, 521, 525).
Regarding claim 15, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a third substrate (323) disposed on the first holder, wherein the first coil is disposed on the third substrate.
Regarding claim 16, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses wherein the first magnet is disposed on the second holder (511, 513).
Regarding claim 20, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a lens driving device comprising:
a fixed part (400’);
a first moving part (300) configured to move in an x-direction or a y-direction with respect to the fixed part (see at least paragraph 0040); and
a first ball disposed between the fixed part and the first moving part (800);
wherein the first ball is configured to guide the first moving part to move in the x- direction and the y-direction and is disposed outside an area of the first moving part connected with the wire (700; the ball bearings 800 may roll between the driving part 300 and the fixed part 400 when the driving part 300 is moved in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction). Since the driving part 300 is continuously in point-contact with the plurality of ball bearings 800, it may be stably driven in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction); see at least paragraphs 0102-0103),
wherein the fixed part comprises a metal plate (411’; see at least paragraph 0137),
wherein the first moving part comprises a metal plate (320; the yoke plate 320 may be formed of, or comprise, a magnetic material; see at least paragraph 0051), and
wherein the first ball is in contact with the metal plate of the fixed part and the metal plate of the first moving part (320; the yoke plate 320 may be formed of, or comprise, a magnetic material; see at least paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 21, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses two of the wires coupled to at least one corner of the first moving part (700).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2015/0103195) in view of Jung et al. (US 2018/0115715).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a second holder disposed in the first holder (200); a first coil and a first magnet configured to move the second holder in an optical axis direction (The first magnet 511 may form a predetermined magnetic field, generate driving force by electromagnetic interactions with the first coil 513 when power is applied to the first coil 513, and move the lens module 200 in the optical axis direction (Z-direction) by the driving force.; see at least paragraph 0064).
Kwon et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 5 above. However, Kwon et al. is silent regarding a second ball. Jung et al. (figures 1-8) teaches a second ball (10) disposed between the first holder and the second holder (110 and 150), wherein the second ball is configured to guide the second holder to move in the optical axis direction with respect to the first holder (According to the method in which the AF ball (10) is arranged between the bobbin unit (120) and the first unit (110, 140), and the bobbin unit (120) and the first unit (110, 140) are relatively moved to the optical axis direction through the rolling contact of the AF ball (10), the elastic force of elastic member is not applied to free from being required of power necessary for overcoming a relevant elastic force. Thus, the power consumption can be reduced. Furthermore, the bobbin unit (120) can be moved by the same power regardless of position of the bobbin unit (120), whereby the position control of the bobbin unit (120) can be easily implemented; see at least paragraph 0102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ball as taught by Jung et al. in order to achieve an OIS (Optical Image Stabilizer) camera module optimized for a mobile device miniaturized in thickness and volume while embodying an OIS function.
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al. (figures 1-8) teaches wherein an inner side surface of the first holder (120) comprises a second groove configured to guide the second ball, and wherein an outer side surface of the second holder comprises a third groove disposed at a position corresponding to the second groove of the first holder (130, 170; figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Jung et al. (figures 1-8) teaches wherein an inner corner area of the first holder comprises two surfaces meeting each other, and wherein the second groove is formed on one of the two surfaces (120).
Regarding claim 8, Jung et al. (figures 1-8) teaches wherein an inner shape of the first holder corresponds to an outer shape of the second holder (120, 130, 170; figure 6).
Regarding claim 17, Jung et al. (figures 1-8) teaches a camera device comprising: a printed circuit board (150); an image sensor (151) disposed on the printed circuit board; the lens driving device of claim 1 disposed on the printed circuit board; and a lens (120) coupled with the lens driving device.
Regarding claim 18, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 17 above. Kwon et al. is silent regarding a display. Kwon et al. discloses a camera module photographing a subject. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the display because such modification would provide a clear, real-time visual preview for framing, focusing, and reviewing shots from flexible angles. Consequently, an increase in profitability would be achieved. Therefore, Kwon et al. teaches an optical instrument comprising: a main body; the camera device of claim 17 disposed on the main body; and a display disposed on the main body and configured to output an image photographed by the camera device.
Regarding claim 19, Kwon et al. (figures 6-9B) discloses a lens driving device comprising:
a base (400’);
a first holder (300, 320) disposed on the base;
a second holder (323) disposed 0n the first holder;
a first magnet (511) disposed on the second holder;
a second magnet (521) disposed on the base;
a first coil and a second coil (513 and 525) coupled with the first holder;
a first ball (800) disposed between the base and the first holder;
wherein the base comprises a metal plate (411’; see at least paragraph 0137),
wherein the first holder comprises a metal plate (320; the yoke plate 320 may be formed of, or comprise, a magnetic material; see at least paragraph 0051), and
wherein the first ball is in contact with the metal plate of the base and the metal plate of the first holder (figure 8).
Kwon et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 19 above. However, Kwon et al. is silent regarding a second ball. Jung et al. (figures 1-8) teaches a second ball (10) disposed between the first holder and the second holder (110 and 150), a second ball disposed between the first holder and the second holder, wherein the first ball is disposed between an upper plate of the base and an upper plate of the first holder, and wherein the second ball is disposed between an inner side surface of the first holder and an outer side surface of the second holder (According to the method in which the AF ball (10) is arranged between the bobbin unit (120) and the first unit (110, 140), and the bobbin unit (120) and the first unit (110, 140) are relatively moved to the optical axis direction through the rolling contact of the AF ball (10), the elastic force of elastic member is not applied to free from being required of power necessary for overcoming a relevant elastic force. Thus, the power consumption can be reduced. Furthermore, the bobbin unit (120) can be moved by the same power regardless of position of the bobbin unit (120), whereby the position control of the bobbin unit (120) can be easily implemented; see at least paragraph 0102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ball as taught by Jung et al. in order to achieve an OIS (Optical Image Stabilizer) camera module optimized for a mobile device miniaturized in thickness and volume while embodying an OIS function.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871