Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 12-13, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koppens (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2024/0267693).
In regard to claim 9, Koppens discloses an apparatus for assisting spatial rendering in at least one acoustic environment (see Fig. 3), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (paragraph [0269]); and
at least one memory (paragraph [0269]) storing instructions that, when executed, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain a bitstream (receiver 301 receives a bitstream, paragraph [0090]), the bitstream comprising: an identifier identifying the at least one acoustic environment (ID of the acoustic environment, paragraph [0216]); information defining at least one dimension of the at least one acoustic environment (geometric elements describing the region, paragraph [0216]); and a reverberation parameter part (reverberation properties, paragraph [0216]) comprising one of: an encoded at least one frequency band data or an encoded at least one reverberation parameter (offset and T60 times from diffuse to source energy ratios, provided per frequency, paragraph [0216]; note that the claim merely requires one of encoded frequency band data or encoded at least one reverberation parameter and that the reverberation parameters of Koppens could be considered one of encoded frequency band data (because the parameters are provided for a plurality of frequences) or reverberation parameters (because they provide, e.g. T60 times));
decode the reverberation parameter part to generate decoded reverberation parameters (metadata processor 305 extracts the metadata including reverberation parameters from the bitstream, paragraph [0093]);
obtain reverberator parameters from the decoded reverberation parameters (reverberation parameters are obtained from the metadata, paragraphs [0093-0094]);
initialize at least one reverberator based on the reverberator parameters (a decoder creates reverberation properties provided by the reverberation parameters, paragraph [0094]);
obtain at least one input audio signal associated with the at least one acoustic environment (audio data processor 303 extracts audio data from the bitstream, paragraph [0091]); and
generate an output audio signal based on the application of the at least one reverberator to the at least one input audio signal (renderer 307 generates an audio signal with reverberation representing the reverberation properties, paragraph [0094]).
In regard to claim 12, Koppens discloses an indicator indicating that the reverberator parameters are to be determined from at least one reverberation parameter encoded into a scene payload (a flag indicating whether acoustic environment data is present, paragraph [0216]).
In regard to claim 13, Koppens discloses to initialize the at least one reverberator using the at least one reverberator parameter independent on whether at least one acoustic environment is a virtual acoustic environment or an augmented reality acoustic environment (VR and AR environments are not distinguished, paragraphs [0005] and [0012]).
In regard to claim 18, Koppens discloses a method for an apparatus for assisting spatial rendering in at least one acoustic environment (see Fig. 3), the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream (receiver 301 receives a bitstream, paragraph [0090]), the bitstream comprising: an identifier identifying the at least one acoustic environment (ID of the acoustic environment, paragraph [0216]); information defining at least one dimension of the at least one acoustic environment (geometric elements describing the region, paragraph [0216]); and a reverberation parameter part (reverberation properties, paragraph [0216]) comprising one of: an encoded at least one frequency band data or an encoded at least one reverberation parameter (offset and T60 times from diffuse to source energy ratios, provided per frequency, paragraph [0216]; note that the claim merely requires one of encoded frequency band data or encoded at least one reverberation parameter and that the reverberation parameters of Koppens could be considered one of encoded frequency band data (because the parameters are provided for a plurality of frequences) or reverberation parameters (because they provide, e.g. T60 times));
decoding the reverberation parameter part to generate decoded reverberation parameters (metadata processor 305 extracts the metadata including reverberation parameters from the bitstream, paragraph [0093]);
obtaining reverberator parameters from the decoded reverberation parameters (reverberation parameters are obtained from the metadata, paragraphs [0093-0094]);
initializing at least one reverberator based on the reverberator parameters (a decoder creates reverberation properties provided by the reverberation parameters, paragraph [0094]);
obtaining at least one input audio signal associated with the at least one acoustic environment (audio data processor 303 extracts audio data from the bitstream, paragraph [0091]); and
generating an output audio signal based on the application of the at least one reverberator to the at least one input audio signal (renderer 307 generates an audio signal with reverberation representing the reverberation properties, paragraph [0094]).
In regard to claim 22, Koppens discloses initializing the at least one reverberator using the at least one reverberator parameter independent on whether at least one acoustic environment is a virtual acoustic environment or an augmented reality acoustic environment (VR and AR environments are not distinguished, paragraphs [0005] and [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 14-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus for encoding an audio signal, wherein the apparatus obtains at least one reverberation parameter, converts the reverberation parameter into at least one frequency band data, compares resources required to transmit encoded frequency band data and encoded at least one reverberation parameter, and generates a bitstream that includes one or more of the encoded frequency band data and encoded at least one reverberation parameter based on the comparison.
As noted above, Koppens discloses reverberation parameters that are provided for plurality of frequencies. The frequencies are provided as indexes in a list of frequency grids defined in FreqGridData() (paragraph [0216]). The frequency grid data contains frequency grid definitions that can be referenced by index by any of the parameters in the bitstream (paragraphs [0167-0168]). The frequency grid may be defined based on octaves (paragraph [0074]). As disclosed by Koppens, using the frequency grid provides a “flexible approach” that allows the encoder “the freedom to select a format for the description of the frequency grid that is particularly suitable for the specific properties and their specific frequency dependency” (paragraphs [0185-0188]). Encoding the reverberation data according to the frequency grid, therefore, would encode the reverberation data in a flexible manner, where the reverberation parameters could be encoded according to octave bands (“frequency band data”) or at arbitrary frequencies.
However, Koppens does not disclose or suggest to encode reverberation parameters as both frequency band data and as a reverberation parameter, and then comparing the resources required to transmit the encoded frequency band data and encoded reverberation parameter, as required by claim 1.
The general concept of comparing different methods of encoding data according to the resources required is well known. For example, Norvell et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2025/0063162) disclose a method performed in an encoder that determines a bitrate for a predictive encoding mode and absolute encoding mode and selects one of the coding modes based on the comparison (see Abstract).
However, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest the application of this general concept to select between reverberation parameter data encoded as frequency band data or encoded as a reverberation parameter, as required by claim 1.
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 1, and is allowed for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As noted above, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an encoded bitstream that includes a selection between a reverberation parameter encoded as frequency band data or encoded as a reverberation parameter. Accordingly, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a bitstream that includes at least one indicator indicating that the bitstream comprises one of the encoded frequency band data or the encoded reverberation parameter, as required by claims 10-11 and 19-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Herre et al., Schwar et al., Koppens, Ye et al., Koppens et al., Eronen et al., Honma et al., Neukam et al., Liu et al., Liu et al., Lee et al., Ojala et al., and Coleman et al. disclose additional methods of encoding reverberation parameters into a bitstream.
BLA 3/6/26
/BRIAN L ALBERTALLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656