DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-10, 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 20210051589 A1), hereinafter “Nam”.
Per claim 1 and 27:
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches ‘An apparatus’ (Nam: [0035]: “an apparatus”); ‘for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)’ (Nam: [FIG.4]: “USER EQUIPTMENT”; [FIG.1]: wireless communication network), ‘comprising: a memory’ (Nam: [FIG.4]: “MEMORY”); ‘one or more processors’ (Nam: [FIG.4]: “Processor”); ‘coupled to the memory’ (Nam: [0066]: “The memory 404 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 406. The instructions 406 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 402, cause the processor 402 to perform the operations”);
‘configured to:
receive a wake-up indication, for a discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycle period that indicates to perform a transmission associated with at least one of scheduling, energy transfer, or relaying’ (Nam: [FIG.8A]: “BS”-> “UE”: “PDCCH: WUS”; [0007]: “wake-up signal (WUS)”; [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State”, “WUS Occasion”, “Potential ON Duration” => DTX cycle period; [0004]: “DRX is a technique in which a UE may enter a sleep mode for a certain period of time and enter a wake-up mode for another period of time … Similarly, discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0019]: “FIG. 6 illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration”; [0062]: “The wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 can indicate to the associated UE or group of UEs details as to how the UE should perform the PDCCH monitoring during the associated on-duration(s) if the UE is to enter an active state … an aperiodic channel state reference signal (A-CSI-RS) triggering, a PDCCH monitoring reduction, a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, or a secondary cell (Scell) wake-up. Additionally, the wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during a wake-up on-duration associated with a corresponding WUS”; [0090]: “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 830 based on information in the WUS”; [0053]: “The BS 105 may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE 115 via a PDCCH”; [0059]: “During the on-duration 240, the UE is an active state … transmit UL data to the BS”; WUS includes scheduling parameters such as UL/DL scheduling grants, BWP, Scell wake up etc);
‘perform the transmission during the DTX cycle period’ (Nam: [0053]: “The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant”).
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 recites the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘initiate, by default, an inactive state of the UE’ (Nam: [0006]: “the default wake-up configuration may cause the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring (e.g., remain in sleep mode) during an on-duration associated with the WUS occasion”, initiate an inactive (sleep) state of the UE by default);
‘initiate an active state of the UE, for an active DTX cycle period, based at least in part on receiving the wake-up indication’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0062]: “the wake-up indicators 310, 320, 330 can indicate to the associated UE … enter an active state during one or more on-durations associated with the WUS occasion in which the wake-up DCI is transmitted”, initiate an active state based on receiving the wake-up indication).
Regarding claim 5, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘initiate, by default, an active state of the UE’ (Nam: [0006]: “the default wake-up configuration may cause the UE to actively perform PDCCH monitoring during the on-duration associated with the WUS occasion”, initiate an active state of the UE by default);
‘initiate an inactive state of the UE, for an inactive DTX cycle period, based at least in part on receiving a sleep indication’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0062]: “the wake-up indicators 310, 320, 330 can indicate to the associated UE … to remain in a sleep state … during one or more on-durations associated with the WUS occasion in which the wake-up DCI is transmitted”, initiate an inactive state based on receiving a sleep indication).
Regarding claim 6, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the wake-up indication includes one or more scheduling parameters’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0062]: “The wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 can indicate to the associated UE or group of UEs details as to how the UE should perform the PDCCH monitoring during the associated on-duration(s) if the UE is to enter an active state … an aperiodic channel state reference signal (A-CSI-RS) triggering, a PDCCH monitoring reduction, a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, or a secondary cell (Scell) wake-up. Additionally, the wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during a wake-up on-duration associated with a corresponding WUS”; [0090]: “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 830 based on information in the WUS”; [0053]: “The BS 105 may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE 115 via a PDCCH”; include scheduling parameters such as UL/DL scheduling grants, BWP, Scell wake up etc.);
Regarding claim 9, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the wake-up indication indicates which of the scheduling’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0090]: “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 830 based on information in the WUS”; [0053]: “The BS 105 may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE 115 via a PDCCH … The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant”; [0062]: “The wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 can indicate to the associated UE or group of UEs details as to how the UE should perform the PDCCH monitoring during the associated on-duration(s) if the UE is to enter an active state … the wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during a wake-up on-duration associated with a corresponding WUS”, indicate resources scheduling such as UL scheduling grant during a wake-up on duration associated with a WUS; [0004]: “discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0058]: “the WUS configuration can indicate to the UE resources (e.g., search space including time and frequency resources, periodicity, channel, BWP, frequency carrier, etc.) associated with a WUS occasion, WUS format”);
‘energy transfer, or relaying is to be performed’ (these are optional).
Regarding claim 10, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘initiate an active state of the UE or an inactive state of the UE, according to a default configuration or a configuration received from a network node, based at least in part on not being able to decode the wake-up indication’ (Nam: [0085]: “the default wake-up configuration may instruct the UE to execute … a secondary cell (Scell) wake-up in one or more on-durations associated with the WUS occasion 760 when the UE does not receive and/or detect a WUS from the BS during WUS occasion” => upon UE does not detect (not being able to decode) a WUS, initiate an active state (Scell wake-up) according to a default configuration; [0086]: “the default wake-up configuration may instruct the UE to … utilize a sleep state in one or more on-durations associated with the WUS occasion 760 when the UE does not receive and/or detect a WUS from the BS during WUS occasion” => upon UE does not detect (not being able to decode) a WUS, initiate a sleep (inactive) state according to a default configuration).
Regarding claim 13, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘transmit an acknowledgement message or a negative acknowledgement message based at least in part on receiving the wake-up indication’ (Nam: [FIG.8A]: “BS”-> “UE”: “PDCCH: WUS”; [0053]: “the UE 115 may employ hybrid automatic request (HARQ) techniques for communications to improve reliability”, UE would transmit a HARQ ACK/NACK based on receiving the WUS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 16-19, 22, 26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, in view of Agarwal et al. (US 20170171908 A1), hereinafter “Agarwal”.
Per claim 2 and 28:
Regarding claim 2, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘transmit configuration information that indicates one or more active DTX cycle periods for the UE and one or more inactive DTX cycle periods for the UE’ (Nam: [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State”, ‘Potential ON Duration” => DTX cycle periods; [0058]: “duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period”; [0004]: “discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0059]: “During the on-duration 240, the UE is an active state … transmit UL data to the BS”). However, Nam fails to expressly teach UE transmits a configuration information about DTX cycle periods for the UE.
Agarwal in the same field of endeavor teaches UE transmits its desired DTX cycle periods to network (Agarwal: [0035]: “UEs may transmit a gap size request indicating a desired sleep duration between TOs. Base stations may schedule an on duration dynamically based at least in part on the request from UE”; [FIG.2]: “Dynamic DTX”, “ON”, “TO”; [FIG.3]: “Transmission Opportunity” (TO), “Dynamic On Duration”, “RULT”, “UL Grant”; [0006]: “the device may transmit a request for UL transmission (RULT)”; [0032]: “The DTX cycle may determine how frequently the UE wakes up to transmit uplink (UL) data”; [0038]: “Wireless communication system 100 may support dynamic DTX configurations to enable reduced UL latency and reduced power consumption. For example, wireless communication system 100 may support both regularly scheduled DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period) and dynamic DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agarwal’s teaching with that of Nam in order to reduce UL latency and power consumption by dynamic DTX (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 recites the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 2 (discussed above).
Combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches ‘wherein the configuration information indicates that the UE can perform the scheduling, energy transfer, or relaying during the one or more active DTX cycle periods, and that the UE cannot perform the scheduling, energy transfer, or relaying during the one or more inactive DTX cycle periods’ (Nam: [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State” => cannot perform transmission, “Potential ON Duration” => can perform transmission; [0058]: “duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period”; [0004]: “discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0053]: “The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant”, transmit UL signal based on UL scheduling grant. Agarwal: FIG.3]: “Transmission Opportunity” (TO), “Dynamic On Duration”, “RULT”, “UL Grant”; [0032]: “The DTX cycle may determine how frequently the UE wakes up to transmit uplink (UL) data” => can perform UL transmission based on UL grant (scheduling) during TO periods and cannot perform UL transmission during sleep (inactive) periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agarwal’s teaching of dynamic DTX with that of Nam in order to reduce UL latency and power consumption by dynamic DTX (Agarwal: [0038]: “Wireless communication system 100 may support dynamic DTX configurations to enable reduced UL latency and reduced power consumption”).
Regarding claim 16, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam does not expressly teach, but Agarwal teaches ‘transmit an indication of a duration of the DTX cycle period’ (Agarwal: [0035]: “UEs may transmit a gap size request indicating a desired sleep duration between TOs”; [FIG.3]: “Transmission Opportunity” (TO), “Dynamic On Duration”, “RULT”, “UL Grant”; [0038]: “Wireless communication system 100 may support dynamic DTX configurations to enable reduced UL latency and reduced power consumption. For example, wireless communication system 100 may support both regularly scheduled DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period) and dynamic DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agarwal’s teaching with that of Nam in order to reduce UL latency and power consumption by dynamic DTX.
Per claim 17 and 29:
Regarding claim 17, Nam teaches ‘An apparatus’ (Nam: [0035]: “an apparatus”); ‘for wireless communication at a network node’ (Nam: [FIG.5]: “BASE STATION”; [FIG.1]: wireless communication network); ‘comprising: a memory’ (Nam: [FIG.5]: “MEMORY”); ‘one or more processors’ (Nam: [FIG.5]: “Processor”); ‘coupled to the memory’ (Nam: [0075]: “instructions 506 stored in the memory 504 and executed by the processor”);
‘configured to:
receive discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycle information from a user equipment (UE) that indicates one or more active DTX cycle periods and one or more inactive DTX cycle periods’ (Nam: [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State”, “WUS Occasion”, “Potential ON Duration” => DTX cycle period; [0058]: “duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period”; [0004]: “DRX is a technique in which a UE may enter a sleep mode for a certain period of time and enter a wake-up mode for another period of time … Similarly, discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0019]: “FIG. 6 illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration”; [0059]: “During the on-duration 240, the UE is an active state … transmit UL data to the BS”). However, Nam fails to expressly teach network node receives a configuration information about DTX cycle periods from a UE;
‘transmit a wake-up indication, for an active DTX cycle period of the one or more active DTX cycle periods, that indicates for the UE to perform a transmission associated with at least one of scheduling, energy transfer, or relaying’ (Nam: [FIG.8A]: “BS”-> “UE”: “PDCCH: WUS”; [0007]: “wake-up signal (WUS)”; [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State”, “WUS Occasion”, “Potential ON Duration” => DTX cycle period; [0004]: “DRX is a technique in which a UE may enter a sleep mode for a certain period of time and enter a wake-up mode for another period of time … Similarly, discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0019]: “FIG. 6 illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration”; [0062]: “The wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 can indicate to the associated UE or group of UEs details as to how the UE should perform the PDCCH monitoring during the associated on-duration(s) if the UE is to enter an active state … an aperiodic channel state reference signal (A-CSI-RS) triggering, a PDCCH monitoring reduction, a bandwidth part (BWP) switch, or a secondary cell (Scell) wake-up. Additionally, the wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during a wake-up on-duration associated with a corresponding WUS”; [0090]: “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 830 based on information in the WUS”; [0053]: “The BS 105 may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE 115 via a PDCCH”; [0059]: “During the on-duration 240, the UE is an active state … transmit UL data to the BS”; WUS includes scheduling parameters such as UL/DL scheduling grants, BWP, Scell wake up etc).
Agarwal in the same field of endeavor teaches Base station (network node) receives the desired DTX cycle periods for the UE from a UE (Agarwal: [0035]: “UEs may transmit a gap size request indicating a desired sleep duration between TOs. Base stations may schedule an on duration dynamically based at least in part on the request from UE”; [FIG.2]: “Dynamic DTX”, “ON”, “TO”; [FIG.3]: “Transmission Opportunity” (TO), “Dynamic On Duration”, “RULT”, “UL Grant”; [0006]: “the device may transmit a request for UL transmission (RULT)”; [0032]: “The DTX cycle may determine how frequently the UE wakes up to transmit uplink (UL) data”; [0038]: “Wireless communication system 100 may support dynamic DTX configurations to enable reduced UL latency and reduced power consumption. For example, wireless communication system 100 may support both regularly scheduled DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period) and dynamic DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agarwal’s teaching with that of Nam in order to reduce UL latency and power consumption by dynamic DTX (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 recites the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Per claim 18 and 30:
Regarding claim 18, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (discussed above).
Combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches ‘wherein the DTX cycle information indicates that the UE can perform the scheduling, energy transfer, or relaying during the one or more active DTX cycle periods, and that the UE cannot perform the scheduling, energy transfer, or relaying during the one or more inactive DTX cycle periods’ (Nam: [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State” => cannot perform transmission, “Potential ON Duration” => can perform transmission; [0058]: “duty cycle with an active/on-period or an inactive/sleep-period”; [0004]: “discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0053]: “The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant”, transmit UL signal based on UL scheduling grant. Agarwal: FIG.3]: “Transmission Opportunity” (TO), “Dynamic On Duration”, “RULT”, “UL Grant”; [0032]: “The DTX cycle may determine how frequently the UE wakes up to transmit uplink (UL) data” => can perform UL transmission based on UL grant (scheduling) during TO periods and cannot perform UL transmission during sleep (inactive) periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agarwal’s teaching of dynamic DTX with that of Nam in order to reduce UL latency and power consumption by dynamic DTX (Agarwal: [0038]: “Wireless communication system 100 may support dynamic DTX configurations to enable reduced UL latency and reduced power consumption”).
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 recites the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above).
Regarding claim 22, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the wake-up indication indicates which of the scheduling’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0090]: “the UE performs PDCCH monitoring for the PDCCH signaling 830 based on information in the WUS”; [0053]: “The BS 105 may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE 115 via a PDCCH … The UE 115 may transmit a UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to a UL scheduling grant”; [0062]: “The wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 can indicate to the associated UE or group of UEs details as to how the UE should perform the PDCCH monitoring during the associated on-duration(s) if the UE is to enter an active state … the wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 may include PDCCH monitoring parameters, such as PDCCH monitoring duration, PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of candidates for PDCCH blind decoding, for PDCCH monitoring during a wake-up on-duration associated with a corresponding WUS”, indicate resources scheduling such as UL scheduling grant during a wake-up on duration associated with a WUS; [0004]: “discontinuous transmission (DTX) is a technique that may be utilized by a UE to refrain from transmitting signals in certain situations”; [0058]: “the WUS configuration can indicate to the UE resources (e.g., search space including time and frequency resources, periodicity, channel, BWP, frequency carrier, etc.) associated with a WUS occasion, WUS format”);
‘energy transfer, or relaying is to be performed’ (these are optional).
Regarding claim 26, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (discussed above).
Nam does not expressly teach, but Agarwal teaches ‘receive an indication of a duration of the DTX cycle period’ (Agarwal: [0035]: “UEs may transmit a gap size request indicating a desired sleep duration between TOs”; [FIG.3]: “Transmission Opportunity” (TO), “Dynamic On Duration”, “RULT”, “UL Grant”; [0038]: “Wireless communication system 100 may support dynamic DTX configurations to enable reduced UL latency and reduced power consumption. For example, wireless communication system 100 may support both regularly scheduled DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period) and dynamic DTX on durations or transmission opportunities (i.e., associated with a DTX sleep period)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Agarwal’s teaching with that of Nam in order to reduce UL latency and power consumption by dynamic DTX.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Zhou et al. (US 20240015659 A1), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Regarding claim 7, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 6 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the one or more relaying parameters comprise a transmit power configuration or parameter, a buffer requirement, a maximum number of transmission ports, a maximum number of bandwidth parts for data transmission, a number of packets to be relayed, an indication of a duplex mode’ (these are optional);
‘an indication of a time domain pattern’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State”, “Offset”, “Potential On Duration” => indication of time domain pattern; [0045]: “multi-hop configurations by communicating with another user device which relays its information to the network”). However, Nam fails to expressly teach about relaying parameters.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor teaches expected sleep parameters about relaying (Zhou: [0123]: “the relay UE may re-determine expected sleep parameters, including an expected duration of the sleep state and an expected duration of the wakeup state, and send the expected sleep parameters to the CN. Here, although the relay UE sends only the expected sleep parameters, the expected sleep parameters implicitly indicate an expected start time of a next wakeup state of the relay UE, since the expected duration of the sleep state actually determines the start time of the next wakeup state”; [Abstract]: “according to a sleep parameter and a start time of the next wake-up state of a relay user equipment (UE) … The wireless communication method enables a relay UE to provide services for a remote UE while saving, in a NTN network, the energy of the relay UE and the remote UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou’s teaching with that of Nam in order to save energy for the relay UE and the remote UE (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam as applied to claim 6 above, in view of combination of Gschwantner et al. (US 20230010616 A1), hereinafter “Gschwantner” and Khan et al. (US 20180109150 A1), hereinafter “Khan”.
Regarding claim 8, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 6 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the one or more energy transfer parameters comprise a required charging rate’ (this is optional);
‘a transmit power configuration or parameter’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0003]: “These systems may be capable of supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources (e.g., time, frequency, and power)”). However, Nam fails to expressly teaches Wake-up indication indicates transmit power for energy transfer parameters;
‘a casting indication, a maximum number of transmission ports, a maximum number of bandwidth parts for energy transfer, a configured grant or a dynamic grant for the energy transfer, a band of operation for performing the energy transfer, an indication of a duplex mode, or a number of expected energy transmissions or occasions’ (these are optional).
However, Gschwantner in the same field of endeavor teaches wake-up signal for energy transfer (Gschwantner: [FIG.1]; [Abstract]: “the device comprising: a signal generating module for generating a wake-up signal in the first electrical network; a transformer which is designed to transmit the wake-up signal and electrical power from a first transformer winding on the first electrical network to a second transformer winding on the second electrical network”; [0006]: “The function of the invention is the transmission of a wake-up signal and electrical energy, by means of a transformer, from a first electrical network to a second electrical network”).
And, Khan in the same field of endeavor teaches transmit power level (parameter) for energy transfer (Khan: [0004]: “a transmission power level, for transmitting a wireless energy transfer (WET) signal from the base station to a device”; [FIG.3]: “Jointly Selection of Antenna and Transmission Power”, “Wireless Energy Transfer (WET)”; [0014]: “energy is transferred to the device by transmitting the WET to the device through multiple transmit antennas. The transmission power level of the WET signals should be great enough to provide enough energy to the device 120 that the device 120 can activate itself. However, the transmission power level should not be so great that energy is wasted”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Gschwantner and Khan with that of Nam for the wake-up signal to indicate a transmit power configuration or parameter for the energy transfer parameters in order to efficiently control the transmission power for energy transfer (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam as applied to claim 10 above, in view of combination of Hsu et al. (US 20100165835 A1), hereinafter “Hsu” and Casati et al. (US 20200029201 A1), hereinafter “Casati”.
Regarding claim 11, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 10 (discussed above).
Nam does not expressly teach ‘transmit, to the network node, an indication of whether the UE will use the default configuration or the configuration received from the network node’.
However, Hsu in the same field of endeavor teaches UE can be configured with a default DTX configuration (Hsu: [FIG.1]: “UE”-> “FAILURE RECOVERY MODULE”; [0056]: “failure recovery module 112 can be configured with a default DTX/DRX state configuration”).
And, Casati in the same field of endeavor teaches UE transmits an indication that UE is using default configuration to the network node (Casati: [0047]: “the network node may receive an explicit indication from the UE that the UE is using the default configuration”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Hsu and Casati for UE to transmit, to the network node, an indication of whether the UE will use the default configuration or the configuration received from the network node in order to notify network node about the DTX configuration which UE is using.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chang et al. (US 20160088681 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 12, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam does not expressly teach, but Chang in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘extend a duration of the DTX cycle period, wherein the DTX cycle period is an active DTX cycle period’ (Chang: [0013]: “extending the DTX active time of the UE from the active time extension time point, where an extended length is the active time extension duration”; [Abstract]: “acquiring extension information of a DTX active time of a base station; and adjusting a DTX active time of the UE according to the extension information … thereby ultimately ensuring QoS of the UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chang’s teaching with that of Nam in order to ensure QoS of the UE (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (US 20190274017 A1), hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding claim 14, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam does not expressly teach, but Wang in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘transmit an indication of whether the UE is capable of performing the scheduling, energy transfer’ (these are optional); ‘relaying’ (Wang: [0013]: “sending, by the relay terminal, a relay capability indication message to a base station, where the relay capability indication message is used to indicate a relay capability and/or a relay location of the relay terminal; receiving relay configuration information sent by the base station, where the relay configuration information is used to instruct to enable a relay function of the relay terminal; and enabling the relay function of the relay terminal as instructed by the relay configuration information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s teaching with that of Nam in order to enable the relay function (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ganesan et al. (US 20230284136 A1), hereinafter “Ganesan”.
Regarding claim 15, Nam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Nam does not expressly teach, but Ganesan in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘wherein the wake-up indication that indicates to perform the transmission is a wake-up indication that indicates to perform a transmission associated with at least one of sidelink scheduling’ (Ganesan: [0110]: “transmission of a SL wake-up signal (“WUS”). In the eighth embodiment, a gNB, based on a sidelink buffer status report and uplink buffer status report, may signal in a wakeup indication whether it schedules uplink, sidelink, or both in a next occurrence of a DRX cycle on-duration and/or active period for Uu and SL”, WUS indicates to perform a transmission associated with sidelink scheduling);
‘sidelink energy transfer, sidelink relaying, radio link scheduling, radio link energy transfer, or radio link relaying’ (these are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan’s teaching with that of Nam in order to support SL WUS (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Nam and Agarwal as applied to claim 19 above, in view of Zhou.
Regarding claim 20, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 19 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the one or more relaying parameters comprise a transmit power configuration or parameter, a buffer requirement, a maximum number of transmission ports, a maximum number of bandwidth parts for data transmission, a number of packets to be relayed, an indication of a duplex mode’ (these are optional);
‘an indication of a time domain pattern’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [FIG.6]: “UE Sleep State”, “Offset”, “Potential On Duration” => indication of time domain pattern; [0045]: “multi-hop configurations by communicating with another user device which relays its information to the network”). However, combination of Nam and Agarwal fails to expressly teach about relaying parameters.
Zhou in the same field of endeavor teaches expected sleep parameters about relaying (Zhou: [0123]: “the relay UE may re-determine expected sleep parameters, including an expected duration of the sleep state and an expected duration of the wakeup state, and send the expected sleep parameters to the CN. Here, although the relay UE sends only the expected sleep parameters, the expected sleep parameters implicitly indicate an expected start time of a next wakeup state of the relay UE, since the expected duration of the sleep state actually determines the start time of the next wakeup state”; [Abstract]: “according to a sleep parameter and a start time of the next wake-up state of a relay user equipment (UE) … The wireless communication method enables a relay UE to provide services for a remote UE while saving, in a NTN network, the energy of the relay UE and the remote UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou’s teaching with that of combination of Nam and Agarwal in order to save energy for the relay UE and the remote UE (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Nam and Agarwal as applied to claim 19 above, in view of combination of Gschwantner and Khan.
Regarding claim 21, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 19 (discussed above).
Nam teaches ‘wherein the one or more energy transfer parameters comprise a required charging rate’ (this is optional);
‘a transmit power configuration or parameter’ (Nam: [FIG.3]: “Wake-Up DCI”; [0003]: “These systems may be capable of supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources (e.g., time, frequency, and power)”). However, combination of Nam and Agarwal fails to expressly teaches Wake-up indication indicates transmit power for energy transfer parameters;
‘a casting indication, a maximum number of transmission ports, a maximum number of bandwidth parts for energy transfer, a configured grant or a dynamic grant for the energy transfer, a band of operation for performing the energy transfer, an indication of a duplex mode, or a number of expected energy transmissions or occasions’ (these are optional).
However, Gschwantner in the same field of endeavor teaches wake-up signal for energy transfer (Gschwantner: [FIG.1]; [Abstract]: “the device comprising: a signal generating module for generating a wake-up signal in the first electrical network; a transformer which is designed to transmit the wake-up signal and electrical power from a first transformer winding on the first electrical network to a second transformer winding on the second electrical network”; [0006]: “The function of the invention is the transmission of a wake-up signal and electrical energy, by means of a transformer, from a first electrical network to a second electrical network”).
And, Khan in the same field of endeavor teaches transmit power level (parameter) for energy transfer (Khan: [0004]: “a transmission power level, for transmitting a wireless energy transfer (WET) signal from the base station to a device”; [FIG.3]: “Jointly Selection of Antenna and Transmission Power”, “Wireless Energy Transfer (WET)”; [0014]: “energy is transferred to the device by transmitting the WET to the device through multiple transmit antennas. The transmission power level of the WET signals should be great enough to provide enough energy to the device 120 that the device 120 can activate itself. However, the transmission power level should not be so great that energy is wasted”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Gschwantner and Khan with that of Nam for the wake-up signal to indicate a transmit power configuration or parameter for the energy transfer parameters in order to efficiently control the transmission power for energy transfer (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Nam and Agarwal as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Chang.
Regarding claim 23, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (discussed above).
Combination of Nam and Agarwal does not expressly teach, but Chang in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘extend a duration of the DTX cycle period, wherein the DTX cycle period is an active DTX cycle period’ (Chang: [0013]: “extending the DTX active time of the UE from the active time extension time point, where an extended length is the active time extension duration”; [Abstract]: “acquiring extension information of a DTX active time of a base station; and adjusting a DTX active time of the UE according to the extension information … thereby ultimately ensuring QoS of the UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chang’s teaching with that of combination of Nam and Agarwal in order to ensure QoS of the UE (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Nam and Agarwal as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 24, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (discussed above).
Combination of Nam and Agarwal does not expressly teach, but Wang in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘transmit an indication of whether the UE is capable of performing the scheduling, energy transfer’ (these are optional); ‘relaying’ (Wang: [0013]: “sending, by the relay terminal, a relay capability indication message to a base station, where the relay capability indication message is used to indicate a relay capability and/or a relay location of the relay terminal; receiving relay configuration information sent by the base station, where the relay configuration information is used to instruct to enable a relay function of the relay terminal; and enabling the relay function of the relay terminal as instructed by the relay configuration information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s teaching with that of combination of Nam and Agarwal in order to enable the relay function (see reference quotes in element above).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Nam and Agarwal as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Ganesan.
Regarding claim 25, combination of Nam and Agarwal teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (discussed above).
Combination of Nam and Agarwal does not expressly teach, but Ganesan in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘wherein the wake-up indication that indicates to perform the transmission is a wake-up indication that indicates to perform a transmission associated with at least one of sidelink scheduling’ (Ganesan: [0110]: “transmission of a SL wake-up signal (“WUS”). In the eighth embodiment, a gNB, based on a sidelink buffer status report and uplink buffer status report, may signal in a wakeup indication whether it schedules uplink, sidelink, or both in a next occurrence of a DRX cycle on-duration and/or active period for Uu and SL”, WUS indicates to perform a transmission associated with sidelink scheduling);
‘sidelink energy transfer, sidelink relaying, radio link scheduling, radio link energy transfer, or radio link relaying’ (these are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ganesan’s teaching with that of combination of Nam and Agarwal in order to support SL WUS (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130128788 A1 see [FIG.2A]-[FIG.15], [0073]-[0079];
US 20120170485 A1 see [FIG.4]-[FIG.8], [Abstract], [0009]-[0066];
US 20250081288 A1 see [0006]-[0024], [0096]-[0099], [0159]-[0176];
US 20210266837 A1 see [FIG.9], [0004], [0147];
US 20200037396 A1 see [FIG.6], [FIG.15], [0182]-[0214];
US 20160366700 A1 see [FIG.6], [Abstract], [0014]-[0095];
US 20210400584 A1 see [FIG.4]-[FIG.6], [Abstract], [0028]-[0042].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462