DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 08/27/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 08/27/2024 and 11/03/2025 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 08/27/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by JP 2012178237 to Morishima (Morishima, machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Morishima discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode group in which a positive electrode and a negative electrode are spirally wound in a winding direction with a separator interposed therebetween (claim 1, Fig. 1), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (para 24), wherein the negative electrode includes a reverse winding portion at an end portion of the wound electrode group at a starting side of winding, the reverse winding portion being a portion that does not oppose the positive electrode and is spirally wound in a direction opposite to the winding direction portion 11a, the top surface of the negative electrode faces a separator 30, the bottom surface faces another round of the negative electrode core (Fig. 1) . As such, instant claim 1 is anticipated by Morishima.
Regarding claim 8: since Morishima discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary Li-ion battery(para 15, 18 and 24), the claimed processes are inherently present. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2012178237 to Morishima (Morishima, machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Morishima discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. In addition, Morishima teaches less than 0.5 laps as appeared on Fig. 1. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spirally winding of the portion in order to obtain a battery capable sufficiently maintain a capacity in in the case of short circuit.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2012178237 to Morishima (Morishima, machine translation) in view of JP 2000311701 to Akoin (Akoin, machine translation).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Morishima discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Morishima does not expressly disclose wherein the wound electrode group has an inner diameter of 5 mm or less.
Akoin teaches a lithium-ion battery wherein electrodes wound in spiral shape (para 4, 25). Akoin also teaches a minor diameter of the wound group in the range from 2 mm to 6 mm (para 15). Therefore, such structural design is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the minor diameter of the wound group of Morishima in the range disclosed by Akoin in order to minimize a size of the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record- JP 2012178237, JP 2000311701, US 20220223854 US 20220173386, US 20190097237-fail to teach or suggest each and every limitation of claim 3. Claims 4 and 5 depend from claim 3 directly or indirectly and objected as well.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751