DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on August 27, 2024. Claim 13 has been canceled. Claims 1-12 are pending and presented for examination.
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Examiner's note: It is recommended to amend the abstract to briefly describe the claimed invention according to the above guidelines.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a communication interface for…”, “a test unit for carrying out …”, and “an evaluation unit to…” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehresh et al “Mehresh”, US-PGPub. No. 20220038487 in view of Salyers et al “Salyers”, US-PGPub. No. 20170331827.
As per claims 1 and 8, Mehresh teaches a method and a system for carrying out a security test of a device (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0016]; each security assessment device (100A, 100N) may include functionality for performing any security assessment processes of the physical asset(s) (160) to assess the security risk of the physical assets), the system comprising:
a communication interface for a data connection to the device (Fig. 5 – communication interface 512, Paragraph(s) [0044], [0077-0078]);
a test unit for carrying out an information technology (IT) security test to acquire a data feedback from the device (Paragraph(s) [0002], [0038], [0048]; obtaining, by a security assessment coordination manager, a physical asset security assessment request for a set of physical assets. Alternatively, the physical asset security assessment request is obtained in response to a policy that specifies a schedule for initiating the security assessments on the set of physical assets on a frequent basis);
an evaluation unit to evaluate the data feedback in consideration of the acquired device status (Paragraph(s) [0065]; the security assessment process includes performing the series of tasks on the allocated computing devices and/or any applications installed in the security assessment device. Mehresh further teaches the administrative clients (120) may further communicate with the security assessment coordination manger (140) by providing physical asset state information associated with the physical assets being assessed (Paragraph(s) [0020])).
Mehresh fails to explicitly teach but Salyers teaches an acquisition means for optical and/or acoustic acquisition of a status of the device (Paragraph(s) [0008-0009], [0149-0150]; at least one security assessment device may comprise at least one acoustic monitoring device and at least one camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicants' invention to combine the teachings of Mehresh and Salyers in order to allow a managed access system to detect potential threats, identify the threat, and process relevant filtering and coordinate information for display and dissemination that enables the security assessment device to appropriate mitigation actions (see Salyers – Paragraph [0150]).
As per claims 2 and 10, Mehresh fails to explicitly teach but Salyers teaches wherein acquiring a device status includes using a camera and/or a microphone (Paragraph(s) [0149-0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicants' invention to combine the teachings of Mehresh and Salyers in order to allow a managed access system to detect potential threats, identify the threat, and process relevant filtering and coordinate information for display and dissemination that enables the security assessment device to appropriate mitigation actions (see Salyers – Paragraph [0150]).
As per claim 3, Mehresh teaches wherein the data feedback comprises feedback data, whether feedback data were received, and/or whether fewer feedback data were received than expected (Paragraph(s) [0004], [0056]).
As per claim 4, Mehresh teaches using the acquired device status to derive an item of security information from the data feedback on the device status (Paragraph(s) [0004], [0055]).
As per claim 5, Mehresh teaches using the acquired device status to operate the device based on the device status (Paragraph(s) [0057]).
As per claim 6, Mehresh teaches using the acquired device status to put the device in a safe operating mode, subject it to a software update, take it out of operation, switch it off, and/or put it in an idle status (Paragraph(s) [0057], [0059]).
As per claim 7, Mehresh fails to explicitly teach but Salyers teaches wherein acquiring the device status includes receiving an acoustic signal of the device (Paragraph(s) [0149-0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicants' invention to combine the teachings of Mehresh and Salyers in order to allow a managed access system to detect potential threats, identify the threat, and process relevant filtering and coordinate information for display and dissemination that enables the security assessment device to appropriate mitigation actions (see Salyers – Paragraph [0150]).
As per claim 9, Mehresh teaches wherein:
the device comprises a graphic and/or acoustic user interface (Paragraph(s) [0078-0079]); and
the acquisition means monitors the user interface (Paragraph(s) [0052], [0077]).
As per claim 11, Mehresh teaches an actuator to operate the device based on the device status (Paragraph(s) [0039]).
As per claim 12, Mehresh teaches wherein the device includes a user interface (Paragraph(s) [0078]) and the actuator operates the user interface (Paragraph(s) [0039], [0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
/MOHAMED A. WASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454