DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on August 27, 2024 in which claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-22 are presented for examination; of which, claims 1, 5-7, 12-13, 16-17 were amended; claims 10-11 and 14-15 were canceled; claims 18-22 were newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 27, 2026; May 23, 2025 and August 27, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-13, 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 disclose “a precoding matrix determination method” ((Ref. paras [0032-0033]) D1 discloses a method for channel state information (CSI) feedback from a user equipment to a base station. The channel state information includes precoding matrix indication), comprising: “obtaining, by a base station, channel characteristic information qk,t” (Ref. para[0077] and Fig. 4A, "payload n(t)") Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that a payload n(t) is received at the decoder of the network device, i.e. the base station) and “a compression rate parameter γ from a user equipment (UE)” ((Ref. para[0081] and Fig. 4A, elements 422, 424), Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses encoders and decoders having aligned parameters. Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 further disclose that an uplink payload size is determined based on uplink budget and reconstruction quality. This determination is identical to the determination of a "compression rate". Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 further discloses that the user equipment (encoding device) sends an index of a selected encoder to the network device based on the determination. This index is an implicit indication of the compression rate employed by the encoding device) “wherein k is used to indicate a kth UE and t is used to indicate a timestamp” (Ref. para [0077] and Fig. 4A, "payload n(t)") The time is explicitly indicated in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1. The fact that each signal is associated with a given user is implicit in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1); and “determining, by the base station, precoding matrices Ft and Wt based on the compression rate parameter γ and the channel characteristic information qk, t” (Ref. paras[0032-0033] Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that CSI, including several precoding matrices, can be determined from the decoded channel information).
Claims 2 and 8: Known from Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 (Ref. paras [0076-0077], [0087] and Fig. 4A).
Claim 3: Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that the decoder comprises multiple sub-networks (Ref. Fig. 4A).
Claim 4 (detailed parallel LSTM + residual modules, phase shifter Ot, different matrix sizes): These are predictable design choices.
Claims 5, 6, 9 (training at BS, analog sub-networks, parameter distribution): Standard end-to-end training and parameter sharing in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1. Distributing trained parameters to UEs is obvious. Receiving parameters from the network side is known from Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 (Ref. para [0175] and Fig. 11, step 1106a).
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 17, Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 disclose “a precoding matrix determination method” ((Ref. paras [0032-0033]) D1 discloses a method for channel state information (CSI) feedback from a user equipment to a base station. The channel state information includes precoding matrix indication), comprising: “determining, by a user equipment (UE), channel characteristic information hk,t” (Ref. para[0077] and Fig. 4A, "payload n(t)") Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that a payload n(t) is received at the decoder of the network device, i.e. the base station) and “a compression rate parameter γ from a user equipment (UE)” ((Ref. para[0081] and Fig. 4A, elements 422, 424), “wherein k is used to indicate a kth UE and t is used to indicate a timestamp corresponding to the channel information hk,t” (Ref. para [0077] and Fig. 4A, "payload n(t)") The time is explicitly indicated in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1. The fact that each signal is associated with a given user is implicit in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1); and “determining, by the UE, channel characteristic information qₖ,t based on the channel estimation information hₖ,t, wherein a dimension of the channel characteristic information qₖ,t is lower than a dimension of the channel estimation information hₖ,t” (Ref. paras[0032-0033] Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that CSI, including several precoding matrices, can be determined from the decoded channel information); and “sending, by the UE, the channel characteristic information qₖ,t and a compression rate parameter γ to a base station” Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses encoders and decoders having aligned parameters. Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 further disclose that an uplink payload size is determined based on uplink budget and reconstruction quality. This determination is identical to the determination of a "compression rate". Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 further discloses that the user equipment (encoding device) sends an index of a selected encoder to the network device based on the determination. This index is an implicit indication of the compression rate employed by the encoding device)
Regarding claims 12 and 18 Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 disclose “a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor” ((Ref. paras [0032-0033]) D1 discloses a method for channel state information (CSI) feedback from a user equipment to a base station. The channel state information includes precoding matrix indication), the device configured to: “obtain channel characteristic information qk,t” (Ref. para[0077] and Fig. 4A, "payload n(t)") Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that a payload n(t) is received at the decoder of the network device, i.e. the base station) and “and a compression rate parameter Y from a user equipment (UE),” ((Ref. para[0081] and Fig. 4A, elements 422, 424), Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses encoders and decoders having aligned parameters. Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 further disclose that an uplink payload size is determined based on uplink budget and reconstruction quality. This determination is identical to the determination of a "compression rate". Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 further discloses that the user equipment (encoding device) sends an index of a selected encoder to the network device based on the determination. This index is an implicit indication of the compression rate employed by the encoding device) “wherein k is used to indicate a kth UE and t is used to indicate a timestamp” (Ref. para [0077] and Fig. 4A, "payload n(t)") The time is explicitly indicated in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046 A1. The fact that each signal is associated with a given user is implicit in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1); and “determine precoding matrices Ft and Wt based on the compression rate parameter Y and the channel characteristic information qk,t₂” (Ref. paras[0032-0033] Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that CSI, including several precoding matrices, can be determined from the decoded channel information).
Claim 18 Known from Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 (Ref. paras [0076-0077], [0087] and Fig. 4A).
Claim 19: Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 discloses that the decoder comprises multiple sub-networks (Ref. Fig. 4A).
Claim 20 (detailed parallel LSTM+ residual modules, phase shifter Ot, different matrix sizes): These are predictable design choices.
Claims 21-22 (training at BS, analog sub-networks, parameter distribution): Standard end-to-end training and parameter sharing in Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1. Distributing trained parameters to UEs is obvious. Receiving parameters from the network side is known from Manolakos et al. WO2022040046A1 (Ref. para [0175] and Fig. 11, step 1106a).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
September 14, 2026