DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0341409 to Yamabi et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamabi discloses (e.g., Figs. 1 and 6 and their descriptions, including at least paragraphs [0080]–[0116]) a laminated film (e.g., photoelectric conversion device 100, not explicitly described as a laminate, but reasonably considered on in view of its generally layered structure), comprising: an optical functional layer (e.g., microlens 2, while not explicitly described as an optical functional layer, microlens array 2 achieves the optical function of redirecting light, consistent with Applicant’s description of the optical functional layer “having a function of changing a direction of light” in paragraph [0004] of Applicant’s specification as-filed; also paragraph [0074] of Yamabi teaches that “the functional film 5 may be a multi-functional film having various optical and/or mechanical functions [and] can be referred to as an optical film”) having a first main surface and a second main surface (e.g., lower and upper surfaces, Fig. 1), the first main surface having an uneven structure and having a height of unevenness of from 10 nm to 100 μm (e.g., lens curvatures, paragraph [0075], from 300 nm to 3 µm); a porous layer (e.g., functional film 5, described as porous, paragraph [0126] to control refractive index) arranged on the first main surface of the optical functional layer (Fig. 1); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (e.g., paragraph [0297], plate 4 is bonded to functional film 5 using adhesive curable binding member, reasonably suggesting an adhesive, and where selecting a specific type of adhesive, such as pressure-sensitive, would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results based on known characteristics, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features) arranged on the porous layer on a side opposite to the optical functional layer (paragraph [0297]; Fig. 1), wherein the optical functional layer comprises a reflection-type hologram film, a microlens array film, or a prism film (microlens array 2), and wherein the porous layer has a refractive index of from 1.15 to 1.30 (e.g., paragraph [0113]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein the porous layer contains a silicon compound (e.g., paragraph [0121]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein the porous layer has a porosity of from 20 vol % to 60 vol % (e.g., paragraph [0129], abutting the claimed range, also teaching that adjusting porosity adjusts refractive index, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the porosity to achieve a desired refractive index).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein the porous layer has a thickness of from 30 nm to 5 μm (paragraph [0095]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein the porous layer is formed of one or a plurality of kinds of constituent units each forming a fine pore structure, and the constituent units are chemically bonded to each other through a catalytic action (e.g., paragraphs [0131]–[0189], teaching plurality of hollow particles having shells and pores; paragraphs [0245] and [0249] suggest chemically bonding silica particles).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein the constituent unit of the porous layer is a constituent unit having at least one shape selected from the group consisting of: a particle shape; a fiber shape; a rod shape; and a flat plate shape (e.g., Figs. 4, 7, and 8 and their descriptions).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein bonding between the constituent units of the porous layer includes a hydrogen bond or a covalent bond (paragraph [0249]).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamabi would have rendered obvious wherein the porous layer is directly formed on the first main surface of the optical functional layer (e.g., Fig. 1).
Claims 9–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamabi in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0033687 to Hattori et al. (including an inventive entity differing by at least one inventor from the inventorship of the pending application).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamabi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×105 (Pa) or more and 1.0×106 (Pa) or less.
Hattori discloses an optical laminate, similar to Yamabi, and Hattori teaches that a storage modulus of elasticity of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is from 1.3×105 (Fa) to 1.0×107 (Pa) as a suitable configuration (e.g., paragraph [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Yamabi such that the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×105 (Pa) or more and 1.0×106 (Pa) or less, as suggested by Hattori, as a suitable configuration, particularly where Yamabi is silent regarding the further details (e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Yamabi and Hattori would have rendered obvious another pressure-sensitive adhesive layer as the outermost layer on a second main surface side of the optical functional layer (e.g., second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 32 of Hattori, described starting in paragraph [0101]), and the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer having a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×104 (Pa) or more and 9.0×104 (Pa) or less (paragraph [0102] of Hattori; where Hattori teaches including two adhesive layers on either side of the device so that it can be manufactured using a lamination process for its efficiency, paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamabi discloses (e.g., Figs. 1 and 6 and their descriptions, including at least paragraphs [0080]–[0116]) a laminated film (e.g., photoelectric conversion device 100, not explicitly described as a laminate, but reasonably considered on in view of its generally layered structure), comprising: an optical functional layer (e.g., microlens 2, while not explicitly described as an optical functional layer, microlens array 2 achieves the optical function of redirecting light, consistent with Applicant’s description of the optical functional layer “having a function of changing a direction of light” in paragraph [0004] of Applicant’s specification as-filed; also paragraph [0074] of Yamabi teaches that “the functional film 5 may be a multi-functional film having various optical and/or mechanical functions [and] can be referred to as an optical film”) having a first main surface and a second main surface (e.g., lower and upper surfaces, Fig. 1), the first main surface having an uneven structure and having a height of unevenness of from 200 nm to 10 μm (e.g., lens curvatures, paragraph [0075], from 300 nm to 3 µm); a porous layer (e.g., functional film 5, described as porous, paragraph [0126] to control refractive index) directly formed on the first main surface of the optical functional layer (Fig. 1); a first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (e.g., paragraph [0297], plate 4 is bonded to functional film 5 using adhesive curable binding member, reasonably suggesting an adhesive, and where selecting a specific type of adhesive, such as pressure-sensitive, would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results based on known characteristics, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features) arranged on the porous layer on a side opposite to the optical functional layer (paragraph [0297]; Fig. 1), wherein the optical functional layer comprises a reflection-type hologram film, a microlens array film, or a prism film (microlens array 2), wherein the porous layer contains a silicon compound (e.g., paragraph [0121]), has a porosity of from 20 vol % to 60 vol % (e.g., paragraph [0129], abutting the claimed range, also teaching that adjusting porosity adjusts refractive index, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the porosity to achieve a desired refractive index), and has a refractive index of from 1.15 to 1.30 (e.g., paragraph [0113]).
Yamabi does not explicitly disclose a second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer as the outermost layer on a second main surface side of the optical functional layer, and wherein the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×105 (Pa) or more and 1.0×106 (Pa) or less, and wherein the second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×104 (Pa) or more and 9.0×104 (Pa) or less.
Hattori discloses an optical laminate, similar to Yamabi, and Hattori teaches a second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer as the outermost layer on a second main surface side of the optical functional layer, and wherein the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×105 (Pa) or more and 1.0×106 (Pa) or less, and wherein the second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×104 (Pa) or more and 9.0×104 (Pa) or less (e.g., teaches that a storage modulus of elasticity of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is from 1.3×105 (Fa) to 1.0×107 (Pa) as a suitable configuration, e.g., paragraph [0098]; also where Hattori teaches including two adhesive layers on either side of the device so that it can be manufactured using a lamination process for its efficiency, paragraph [0096], and paragraph [0102] of Hattori teaches a second adhesive storage modulus of elasticity within the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Yamabi to include a second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer as the outermost layer on a second main surface side of the optical functional layer, and wherein the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×105 (Pa) or more and 1.0×106 (Pa) or less, and wherein the second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of elasticity of 1.0×104 (Pa) or more and 9.0×104 (Pa) or less, as suggested by Hattori, as a suitable configuration, and as a way to improve manufacturing efficiency.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871