DETAILED ACTION
Election Restriction
Applicant’s election (without traverse) of Species A1 (i.e., “containers” per FIG. 1 - FIG. 4), and Species B1 (i.e., “interconnection mechanism” among “pair of container halves” per FIG. 5A - FIG. 5C) in the reply filed on January 9, 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the aforementioned reply. Claims 1-34 are pending and claims 1-2, 8-12, 17-21, 26-29 will be examined. The election is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-12, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Corbett et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20140252032A1) hereinafter CORBETT.
Regarding claim 1, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D below) a container C1-01 comprising:
a closure C5B-01 including a closure sealing surface C5B-02;
a molded fiber container body 110; and
a collar 512 bonded to the molded fiber container body 110, the collar 512 configured to provide a sealing surface C5B-03 corresponding to the closure sealing surface C5B-02 to seal the container C1-01 when the closure C5B-01 is attached to the bonded collar 512 and molded fiber container body 110.
Regarding claim 2, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein:
the closure C5B-01 includes another closure sealing surface C19B-01, the closure sealing surface C5B-02 connected to the another closure sealing surface C19B-01; and
the collar 512 configured to provide another sealing surface C19B-02 corresponding to the another closure sealing surface C19B-01 to seal the container C1-01 when the closure C5B-01 is attached to the bonded collar 512 and molded fiber container body 110,
wherein the closure sealing surface C5B-02 and the another closure sealing surface C19B-01 are substantially perpendicular.
Regarding claim 9, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the molded fiber container body 110 includes a pair of container halves C10-01, the pair of container halves C10-01 including an interconnection mechanism 5019 configured to bond the pair of container halves C10-01.
Regarding claim 10, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the interconnection mechanism 5019 is configured to bond the pair of container halves C10-01 at least mechanically.
Regarding claim 11, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the interconnection mechanism 5019 is configured to bond the pair of container halves C10-01 at least mechanically and adhesively.
Regarding claim 12, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the interconnection mechanism 5019 is interlocking tabs 5019.
Regarding claim 17, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, further comprising:
a barrier layer 210 on an internal surface of the container body 110 to create a seal.
Regarding claim 18, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01 comprising:
a pair of molded fiber container halves C10-01; and
an interconnection mechanism 5019 configured to bond the pair of container halves C10-01 to form a molded fiber container body 110.
Regarding claim 19, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the interconnection mechanism 5019 is configured to bond the pair of container halves C10-01 at least mechanically.
Regarding claim 20, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the interconnection mechanism 5019 is configured to bond the pair of container halves C10-01 at least mechanically and adhesively.
Regarding claim 21, CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the interconnection mechanism 5019 is interlocking tabs 5019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CORBETT.
Regarding claim 8, CORBETT (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein the molded fiber container body 110 includes a pair of container halves C10-01, further comprising:
a polymer (page 51, para. [0137], line 7-9) configured to be bonded on a seam area 220 between the pair of container halves C10-01.
CORBETT fails to teach a tape configured to be bonded on a seam area 220 between the pair of container halves C10-01.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified polymer with a tape in the container C1-01 of CORBETT since these are regarded as mechanical equivalents intended for securement purposes. MPEP 2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose [R-01.2024]
Regarding claim 26, CORBETT (as applied to claim 18 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. CORBETT teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, further comprising:
a polymer (page 51, para. [0137], line 7-9) configured to be bonded on a seam area 220 between the pair of container halves C10-01.
CORBETT fails to teach a tape configured to be bonded on a seam area 220 between the pair of container halves C10-01.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified polymer with a tape in the container C1-01 of CORBETT since these are regarded as mechanical equivalents intended for securement purposes. MPEP 2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose [R-01.2024]
Regarding claim 27, CORBETT (as applied to claim 26 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. CORBETT further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, further comprising: a barrier layer 210 on an internal surface of the pair of molded fiber container halves C10-01.
Regarding claim 28, CORBETT (as applied to claim 27 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. CORBETT further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, further comprising:
a closure C5B-01 including a closure sealing surface C5B-02; and
a collar 512 bonded to the molded fiber container body 110, the collar 512 configured to provide a sealing surface C5B-03 corresponding to the closure sealing surface C5B-02 to seal the container C1-01 when the closure C5B-01 is attached to the bonded collar 512 and molded fiber container body 110.
Regarding claim 29, CORBETT (as applied to claim 28 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. CORBETT further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2, FIG. 5B, FIG. 10, FIG. 13, FIG. 19B, FIG. 28A, FIG. 30D above) container C1-01, wherein:
the closure C5B-01 includes another closure sealing surface C19B-01, the closure sealing surface C5B-02 connected to the another closure sealing surface C19B-01; and
the collar 512 configured to provide another sealing surface C19B-02 corresponding to the another closure sealing surface C19B-01 to seal the container C1-01 when the closure C5B-01 is attached to the bonded collar 512 and molded fiber container body 110,
wherein the closure sealing surface C5B-02 and the another closure sealing surface C19B-01 are substantially perpendicular.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Corbett et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20190135479A1): Teaches a “container” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Verpackungswerk Colordruck W M (German Patent Application Publication DE202004010291U1): Teaches a “packing” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Corbett et al. (W. I. P. O. Patent Application Publication WO2017181095A1): Teaches a “container” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735