DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 and 04/29/2026 filed after the mailing date of the application on 08/27/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2020/0274665), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches: A transmission method, the method being applied to a transmitting side and comprising: performing M repeated transmissions on a first symbol, wherein the first symbol comprises a symbol of X pilots, X is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013); and performing N repeated transmissions on a second symbol, wherein the second symbol comprises a data symbol, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “The subframes used by the terminal device for transmission mean that the terminal device may transmit data by using the subframes, but may not necessarily transmit data by using all the subframes. Specifically, if pilot detection is performed, but no pilot is detected, or a metric value of a detected pilot is less than a maximum value of pilot detection metric values of the preceding K−1 subframes, it is considered that the subframe is a retransmission subframe” (Wang ¶ 0089).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein a value of M is greater than a value of N: “In the first configuration mode, the terminal device sends the same pilot in each of the first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in the remaining K-N transmissions. K≥2, and N is a positive integer less than K. N may be 1 or any value between 1 and K. For example, N may be 1. To be specific, the terminal device sends the pilot only in the first transmission, and does not send a pilot in remaining (K−1) transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0071), or in other words the number of first transmissions using the first pilot can be greater than the number of second transmissions.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein a value of N is greater than a value of M: “In the first configuration mode, the terminal device sends the same pilot in each of the first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in the remaining K-N transmissions. K≥2, and N is a positive integer less than K. N may be 1 or any value between 1 and K. For example, N may be 1. To be specific, the terminal device sends the pilot only in the first transmission, and does not send a pilot in remaining (K−1) transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0071), or in other words the number of first transmissions using the first pilot can be greater than the number of second transmissions.
Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein performing the M repeated transmissions on the first symbol comprises: performing M1 repeated transmissions on the first symbol according to a first repeated transmission mode: “in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), and then performing M2 repeated transmissions on a symbol obtained after the M1 repeated transmissions of the first symbol according to a second repeated transmission mode: “in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), wherein M1 and M2 are each an integer greater than or equal to 1, and M=M1*M2: M1 and M2 would therefore be the first N of the K repeated transmissions and the remaining K-N repeated transmissions of the K transmissions respectively. This would mean that Wang teaches M1*M2 (K * K-N) when the taught scenario of N = K/2 is the configuration of the repeated transmissions.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein performing the M repeated transmissions on the first symbol comprises: transmitting the first symbol on H transmission resources, wherein transmitting the first symbol on the H transmission resources comprises: performing, on each transmission resource of the H transmission resources, Q repeated transmissions on the first symbol, wherein H is an integer greater than or equal to 1, Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and M=H*Q: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), or in other words Wang teaches the transmitting of the K (H) repeated transmissions by transmitting the one or more first symbol once on each of the K repeated transmissions (Q = 1), thus Wang teaches M = H * Q where Q = 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein performing the M repeated transmissions on the first symbol comprises: transmitting the first symbol on J transmission resources, wherein transmitting the first symbol on the J transmission resources comprises: performing, on each transmission resource of the J transmission resources, M repeated transmissions on a symbol of at least one pilot of the X pilots, wherein J is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), or in other words Wang teaches the transmitting of the K (J) repeated transmissions by transmitting the one or more first symbol once on each of the K repeated transmissions (Q = 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein performing the N repeated transmissions on the second symbol comprises: performing N1 repeated transmissions on the second symbol according to a third repeated transmission mode: “in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), and then performing N2 repeated transmissions on a symbol obtained after the N1 repeated transmissions of the second symbol according to a fourth repeated transmission mode, wherein N1 and N2 are each an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N=N1*N2: “in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), wherein N1 and N2 are each an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N=N1*N2: M1 and M2 would therefore be the first N of the K repeated transmissions and the remaining K-N repeated transmissions of the K transmissions respectively. This would mean that Wang teaches N1*N2 (K * K-N) when the taught scenario of N = K/2 is the configuration of the repeated transmissions.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein performing the N repeated transmissions on the second symbol comprises: transmitting the second symbol on P transmission resources, wherein transmitting the second symbol on the P transmission resources comprises: performing, on each transmission resource of the P transmission resources, T repeated transmissions on the second symbol, wherein P is an integer greater than or equal to 1, T is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N=P*T: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), or in other words Wang teaches the transmitting of the K (H) repeated transmissions by transmitting the one or more first symbol once on each of the K repeated transmissions (Q = 1), thus Wang teaches M = H * Q where Q = 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein performing the N repeated transmissions on the second symbol comprises: transmitting the second symbol on V transmission resources, wherein the second symbol comprises W sets of data symbols, and transmitting the second symbol on the V transmission resources comprises: performing, on each transmission resource of the V transmission resources, N repeated transmissions on at least one set of data symbols among the W sets of data symbols, wherein V is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and W is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013), or in other words Wang teaches the transmitting of the K (J) repeated transmissions by transmitting the one or more first symbol once on each of the K repeated transmissions (Q = 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the data symbol comprises at least one piece of the following information: payload, identification information, information of at least one pilot of the X pilots, sequence information, or transmission resource information: “The terminal device sends the pilots based on the determined configuration mode when performing the K repeated transmissions. The network device receives the pilots sent by the terminal device based on the configuration mode determined based on the configuration information. In this embodiment, the terminal device repeatedly sends a same data packet for K time” (Wang ¶ 0067-0068) which describes a payload.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches: A transmission method, the method being applied to a receiving side and comprising: acquiring a symbol obtained after M repeated transmissions of a first symbol, wherein the first symbol comprises a symbol of X pilots, X is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013); and acquiring a symbol obtained after N repeated transmissions of a second symbol, wherein the second symbol comprises a data symbol, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “The subframes used by the terminal device for transmission mean that the terminal device may transmit data by using the subframes, but may not necessarily transmit data by using all the subframes. Specifically, if pilot detection is performed, but no pilot is detected, or a metric value of a detected pilot is less than a maximum value of pilot detection metric values of the preceding K−1 subframes, it is considered that the subframe is a retransmission subframe” (Wang ¶ 0089).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 14, wherein a value of M is greater than a value of N: “In the first configuration mode, the terminal device sends the same pilot in each of the first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in the remaining K-N transmissions. K≥2, and N is a positive integer less than K. N may be 1 or any value between 1 and K. For example, N may be 1. To be specific, the terminal device sends the pilot only in the first transmission, and does not send a pilot in remaining (K−1) transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0071), or in other words the number of first transmissions using the first pilot can be greater than the number of second transmissions; or a value of N is greater than a value of M: “In the first configuration mode, the terminal device sends the same pilot in each of the first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in the remaining K-N transmissions. K≥2, and N is a positive integer less than K. N may be 1 or any value between 1 and K. For example, N may be 1. To be specific, the terminal device sends the pilot only in the first transmission, and does not send a pilot in remaining (K−1) transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0071), or in other words the number of first transmissions using the first pilot can be greater than the number of second transmissions.
Regarding Claim 18, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 14, further comprising: detecting the symbol obtained after the M repeated transmissions of the first symbol: “Specifically, the network device receives a signal of each subframe. The network device first determines a type of a current subframe through pilot detection. A specific demodulation and decoding process is as follows” (Wang ¶ 0076) and the symbol obtained after the N repeated transmissions of the second symbol to acquire a detection result of the symbol obtained after the M repeated transmissions of the first symbol and the symbol obtained after the N repeated transmissions of the second symbol: “The network device demodulates and decodes a data signal in the current subframe based on the channel estimation result. Alternatively, the network device may combine a data signal in the current subframe and data signals in preceding k−k0 subframes, and then perform demodulation and decoding” (Wang ¶ 0079).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 18, further comprising: acquiring at least one piece of the following information according to the detection result: payload, identification information, information of at least one pilot of the X pilots, sequence information, or transmission resource information: “The terminal device sends the pilots based on the determined configuration mode when performing the K repeated transmissions. The network device receives the pilots sent by the terminal device based on the configuration mode determined based on the configuration information. In this embodiment, the terminal device repeatedly sends a same data packet for K time” (Wang ¶ 0067-0068) which describes a payload.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang teaches: An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory configured to store at least one program; wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor: “the terminal device includes a processor, a memory, a radio frequency circuit, an antenna, and an input/output apparatus. The processor is mainly configured to: process a communication protocol and communication data, control the terminal device, execute a software program, process data of the software program, and the like. The memory is mainly configured to store the software program and the data” (Wang ¶ 0183), causes the at least one processor to perform the following: performing M repeated transmissions on a first symbol, wherein the first symbol comprises a symbol of X pilots, X is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “the processing unit is configured to determine a configuration mode of one or more pilots used for K repeated transmissions, where the configuration mode includes at least one of the following modes: a first configuration mode, a second configuration mode, or a third configuration mode; and in the first configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a same pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and does not send a pilot in remaining K-N transmissions; in the second configuration mode, the communications apparatus sends a first pilot in each of first N of the K repeated transmissions, and sends a second pilot in each of remaining K-N transmissions” (Wang ¶ 0013); and performing N repeated transmissions on a second symbol, wherein the second symbol comprises a data symbol, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “The subframes used by the terminal device for transmission mean that the terminal device may transmit data by using the subframes, but may not necessarily transmit data by using all the subframes. Specifically, if pilot detection is performed, but no pilot is detected, or a metric value of a detected pilot is less than a maximum value of pilot detection metric values of the preceding K−1 subframes, it is considered that the subframe is a retransmission subframe” (Wang ¶ 0089).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing at least one program which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform the method according to any one of claim 1: “the terminal device includes a processor, a memory, a radio frequency circuit, an antenna, and an input/output apparatus. The processor is mainly configured to: process a communication protocol and communication data, control the terminal device, execute a software program, process data of the software program, and the like. The memory is mainly configured to store the software program and the data” (Wang ¶ 0183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1 and 14 above in further view of Bhattad et al. (US 2018/0248671), hereinafter Bhattad.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang does not teach: the first symbol further comprises a part of data symbols, and the second symbol comprises a remaining data symbol of the data symbols except the part of data symbols.
Regarding Claim 2, Bhattad teaches: the first symbol further comprises a part of data symbols, and the second symbol comprises a remaining data symbol of the data symbols except the part of data symbols: “Transmission component 2912 may transmit a first portion of an uplink transmission using at least a portion of the first number of slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes to base station 2950. In an aspect, the uplink transmission may have a duration longer than the first set of contiguous uplink subframes. In another aspect, the first portion of the uplink transmission may be transmitted using all slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes. In a further aspect, transmission component 2912 may transmit the first portion of the uplink transmission using at least the portion of the first number of slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes by transmitting the first portion of the uplink transmission using all symbols in a first slot in the first number of slots and a first subset of symbols in a second slot in the first number of slots” (Bhattad ¶ 0270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Wang with Bhattad to achieve the predictable result of allowing for an uplink transmission of a length greater than the length of a configured set of uplink subframes. According to Bhattad: “n one aspect, the first set of contiguous uplink subframes may include a first number of slots. The apparatus may also transmit a first portion of an uplink transmission using at least a portion of the first number of slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes, wherein the uplink transmission has a duration longer than the first set of contiguous uplink subframes” (Bhattad ¶ 0012).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang does not teach: the first symbol further comprises a part of data symbols, and the second symbol comprises a remaining data symbol of the data symbols except the part of data symbols.
Regarding Claim 15, Bhattad teaches: the first symbol further comprises a part of data symbols, and the second symbol comprises a remaining data symbol of the data symbols except the part of data symbols: “Transmission component 2912 may transmit a first portion of an uplink transmission using at least a portion of the first number of slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes to base station 2950. In an aspect, the uplink transmission may have a duration longer than the first set of contiguous uplink subframes. In another aspect, the first portion of the uplink transmission may be transmitted using all slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes. In a further aspect, transmission component 2912 may transmit the first portion of the uplink transmission using at least the portion of the first number of slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes by transmitting the first portion of the uplink transmission using all symbols in a first slot in the first number of slots and a first subset of symbols in a second slot in the first number of slots” (Bhattad ¶ 0270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Wang with Bhattad to achieve the predictable result of allowing for an uplink transmission of a length greater than the length of a configured set of uplink subframes. According to Bhattad: “n one aspect, the first set of contiguous uplink subframes may include a first number of slots. The apparatus may also transmit a first portion of an uplink transmission using at least a portion of the first number of slots in the first set of contiguous uplink subframes, wherein the uplink transmission has a duration longer than the first set of contiguous uplink subframes” (Bhattad ¶ 0012).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Bhattad et al. (US 2018/0248671), hereinafter Bhattad.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1.
Wang does not teach: performing the M repeated transmissions on the first symbol comprises: spreading the first symbol by using a sequence of a length of L to obtain a spread symbol, and performing U repeated transmissions on the spread symbol, wherein L is an integer greater than 1, U is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and M=L*U.
Regarding Claim 6, Shirzai teaches: performing the M repeated transmissions on the first symbol comprises: spreading the first symbol by using a sequence of a length of L to obtain a spread symbol, and performing U repeated transmissions on the spread symbol, wherein L is an integer greater than 1, U is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and M=L*U: “The method further comprises defining groups 515 of one or more information symbols in a predetermined manner. The method further comprises obtaining 520 a spreading code of a specified length. For example, the spreading code length may be dynamically specified by the eNB. The method further comprises spreading 525 each group of information symbols using the obtained spreading code. The method further comprises transmitting 530 the spread information symbols in one or more LTE resource blocks. The method further comprises repeating 535 transmission of the data in separate spreading blocks, optionally using different encodings” (Shirazi ¶ 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Wang with Shirazi for the purpose of preventing repetition vs turbo coding degradation. According to Shirazi: “A third option is to use spreading codes of different lengths for different UEs. An example of such spreading codes is OVSF (Hadamard Codes). This may reduce a potential repetition vs. turbo coding degradation. The eNB may be configured to select UEs with similar path loss to be able to balance transmitter powers to address the near-far problem” (Shirazi ¶ 0106).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches: The transmission method according to claim 1.
Wang does not teach: performing the N repeated transmissions on the second symbol comprises: spreading the second symbol by using a sequence of a length of G to obtain a spread symbol, and performing R repeated transmissions on the spread symbol, wherein G is an integer greater than 1, R is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N=G*R..
Regarding Claim 10, Shirzai teaches: performing the N repeated transmissions on the second symbol comprises: spreading the second symbol by using a sequence of a length of G to obtain a spread symbol, and performing R repeated transmissions on the spread symbol, wherein G is an integer greater than 1, R is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N=G*R.: “The method further comprises defining groups 515 of one or more information symbols in a predetermined manner. The method further comprises obtaining 520 a spreading code of a specified length. For example, the spreading code length may be dynamically specified by the eNB. The method further comprises spreading 525 each group of information symbols using the obtained spreading code. The method further comprises transmitting 530 the spread information symbols in one or more LTE resource blocks. The method further comprises repeating 535 transmission of the data in separate spreading blocks, optionally using different encodings” (Shirazi ¶ 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Wang with Shirazi for the purpose of preventing repetition vs turbo coding degradation. According to Shirazi: “A third option is to use spreading codes of different lengths for different UEs. An example of such spreading codes is OVSF (Hadamard Codes). This may reduce a potential repetition vs. turbo coding degradation. The eNB may be configured to select UEs with similar path loss to be able to balance transmitter powers to address the near-far problem” (Shirazi ¶ 0106).
Conclusion
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473