DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 and 07/29/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 08/27/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 15-16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention, the prior art being Goyal et al. (US 2022/0295442), hereinafter Goyal.
Regarding Claim 1, Goyal teaches: A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory: “the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and/or other peripherals 138, among others” (Goyal ¶ 0041) and configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from a network node, a first control signaling indicating transmission of sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS) by the first UE in at least one of a periodic manner, a semi-persistent manner, or an aperiodic manner: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may receive a PRS transmission and reporting configuration, e.g., one or more of sidelink resources, periodicities, target WTRU IDs, threshold values, etc. The anchor WTRU may transmit a PRS on the configured resources, for example, using the sidelink channel towards one or more target WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0007); and transmit, to a second UE, a second control signaling including SL PRS based at least in part on the received first control signaling: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 2, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a base station: “The WTRU may receive the configuration from a network entity such as a gNB, eNB, base station, positioning server etc” (Goyal ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 3, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 1, wherein the first control signaling indicates transmission of SL PRS by the first UE in the semi-persistent manner: “The measurement report configuration may include parameters that indicate the reference sources (e.g., nodes or entities, such as BSs or WTRUs) used for producing the measurement (e.g. BS(PSSS)/UE(SRS), UE(PRACH)/UE(SRS), etc.). The measurement report may be configured as aperiodic, semi-periodic, or periodic” (Goyal ¶ 0115), and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network node, a third control signaling indicating to activate transmission of SL PRS by the first UE in the semi-persistent manner: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115); and initiate, in response to the third control signaling, transmission of SL PRS by the first UE to the second UE in the semi-persistent manner: “Positioning measurement and reporting may be initiated by a positioning server, for example, in order to determine the positions of the target WTRUs using the positioning measurements on the reference signals transmitted by anchor WTRUs. Positioning measurement and reporting may be repeated, e.g., to account for changes in the network, for example, movement of the WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0135).
Regarding Claim 4, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network node, a fourth control signaling indicating to deactivate transmission of SL PRS by the first UE in the semi-persistent manner: “PRS activation/deactivation techniques may be provided. One or more of the following may apply. A reference WTRU's PRS transmissions may be configured as aperiodic, semi-periodic, or periodic. Configuration of the reference WTRU's PRS transmissions may be performed by higher layer configuration (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0114); and cease, in response to the fourth control signaling, transmission of SL PRS by the first UE in the semi-persistent manner: “In examples, the reference WTRU may be provided with a PRS transmission configuration that is activated/de-activated by higher layer signaling (e.g. RRC, NRPP, etc.). The reference WTRU may be provided with a PRS transmission configuration that is activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0114).
Regarding Claim 5, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: transmit, to the second UE, a third control signaling indicating SL PRS transmission in at least one of the periodic, the semi-persistent, or the aperiodic manner based on the first control signaling: “For the purpose of group formation, a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel (e.g., which may be sent via sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.) from one or more anchor WTRUs. The target WTRU may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP) on the reference signals received over the sidelink. The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs; an indication of a slot, symbol, and/or sub-frame offset; an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated” (Goyal ¶ 0127); and receive, from the second UE and based at least in part on the third control signaling, a fourth control signaling indicating a PRS measurement: “The target WTRU may be configured with a number of measurements (e.g., N measurements) to perform and report, e.g., for a period” (Goyal ¶ 0128).
Regarding Claim 6, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network node, a third control signaling indicating a configured grant (CG) configuration within a positioning frequency layer corresponding to a positioning resource set: “For the purpose of group formation, a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel (e.g., which may be sent via sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.) from one or more anchor WTRUs. The target WTRU may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP) on the reference signals received over the sidelink. The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs; an indication of a slot, symbol, and/or sub-frame offset; an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated” (Goyal ¶ 0127); and transmit the second control signaling within a CG resource indicated by the CG configuration: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 7, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network node, a third control signaling indicating activation or deactivation of a configured grant (CG) resource for the SL PRS, the third control signaling further indicating a positioning resource identifier within a positioning resource set: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115); and activate or deactivate, in accordance with the third control signaling, the CG resource for the SL PRS: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 8, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 7, wherein the third control signaling comprises a downlink control information (DCI) signaling: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115)
Regarding Claim 9, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from the network node, a third control signaling indicating one or more of a periodic positioning resource for transmitting the second control signaling, a semi-persistent positioning resource for transmitting the second control signaling, or an aperiodic positioning resource for transmitting the second control signaling: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may receive a PRS transmission and reporting configuration, e.g., one or more of sidelink resources, periodicities, target WTRU IDs, threshold values, etc. The anchor WTRU may transmit a PRS on the configured resources, for example, using the sidelink channel towards one or more target WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0007) and “For the purpose of group formation, a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel (e.g., which may be sent via sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.) from one or more anchor WTRUs. The target WTRU may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP) on the reference signals received over the sidelink. The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs; an indication of a slot, symbol, and/or sub-frame offset; an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated” (Goyal ¶ 0127); and transmit the second control signaling using the indicated one or more of the periodic positioning resource, the semi-persistent positioning resource, and the aperiodic positioning resource: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 11, Goyal teaches: A base station for wireless communication: “The WTRU may receive the configuration from a network entity such as a gNB, eNB, base station, positioning server etc” (Goyal ¶ 0003), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause: “The processes and techniques described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor. Examples of computer-readable media include, but are not limited to, electronic signals (transmitted over wired and/or wireless connections) and/or computer-readable storage media” (Goyal ¶ 0081) the base station to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first control signaling indicating transmission of sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS) by the UE in at least one of a periodic manner, a semi-persistent manner, or an aperiodic manner: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may receive a PRS transmission and reporting configuration, e.g., one or more of sidelink resources, periodicities, target WTRU IDs, threshold values, etc. The anchor WTRU may transmit a PRS on the configured resources, for example, using the sidelink channel towards one or more target WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0007); and transmit, to the UE, a second control signaling indicating one or more of a periodic positioning resource for transmitting the second control signaling, a semi-persistent positioning resource for transmitting the second control signaling, or an aperiodic positioning resource for transmitting the second control signaling: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 13, Goyal teaches: The base station of claim 11, wherein the first control signaling indicates transmission of SL PRS by the UE in the semi-persistent manner: “The measurement report configuration may include parameters that indicate the reference sources (e.g., nodes or entities, such as BSs or WTRUs) used for producing the measurement (e.g. BS(PSSS)/UE(SRS), UE(PRACH)/UE(SRS), etc.). The measurement report may be configured as aperiodic, semi-periodic, or periodic” (Goyal ¶ 0115), and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to the UE, a third control signaling: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115) indicating to activate transmission of SL PRS by the UE in the semi-persistent manner: “Positioning measurement and reporting may be initiated by a positioning server, for example, in order to determine the positions of the target WTRUs using the positioning measurements on the reference signals transmitted by anchor WTRUs. Positioning measurement and reporting may be repeated, e.g., to account for changes in the network, for example, movement of the WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0135).
Regarding Claim 15, Goyal teaches: The base station of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to the UE, a third control signaling indicating, for the SL PRS, a configured grant (CG) configuration within a positioning frequency layer corresponding to a positioning resource set: “For the purpose of group formation, a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel (e.g., which may be sent via sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.) from one or more anchor WTRUs. The target WTRU may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP) on the reference signals received over the sidelink. The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs; an indication of a slot, symbol, and/or sub-frame offset; an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated” (Goyal ¶ 0127).
Regarding Claim 16, Goyal teaches: The base station of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to the UE, a third control signaling indicating activation or deactivation of a configured grant (CG) resource for the SL PRS, the third control signaling further indicating a positioning resource identifier within a positioning resource set: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115) and “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 18, Goyal teaches: The base station of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to the UE, a fourth control signaling indicating activation or deactivation of a positioning resource within a positioning resource set for the SL PRS: “PRS activation/deactivation techniques may be provided. One or more of the following may apply. A reference WTRU's PRS transmissions may be configured as aperiodic, semi-periodic, or periodic. Configuration of the reference WTRU's PRS transmissions may be performed by higher layer configuration (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0114).
Regarding Claim 19, Goyal teaches: A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE: “the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and/or other peripherals 138, among others” (Goyal ¶ 0041) to: receive, from a second UE, a first control signaling including sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS) in at least one of a periodic manner, a semi-persistent manner, or an aperiodic manner: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may receive a PRS transmission and reporting configuration, e.g., one or more of sidelink resources, periodicities, target WTRU IDs, threshold values, etc. The anchor WTRU may transmit a PRS on the configured resources, for example, using the sidelink channel towards one or more target WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0007); receive, from the second UE, a second control signaling indicating SL PRS transmission in at least one of the periodic, the semi-persistent, or the aperiodic manner based on the first control signaling: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123); and transmit, to the second UE and based at least in part on the second control signaling, a third control signaling indicating a PRS measurement: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115).
Regarding Claim 20, Goyal teaches: The first UE of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first UE to: receive the first control signaling within a configured grant (CG) configuration within a positioning frequency layer corresponding to a positioning resource set: “For the purpose of group formation, a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel (e.g., which may be sent via sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.) from one or more anchor WTRUs. The target WTRU may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP) on the reference signals received over the sidelink. The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs; an indication of a slot, symbol, and/or sub-frame offset; an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated” (Goyal ¶ 0127).
Regarding Claim 21, Goyal teaches: A processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured: “the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and/or other peripherals 138, among others” (Goyal ¶ 0041) to cause the processor to: receive, from a network node, a first control signaling indicating transmission of sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS) by the processor in at least one of a periodic manner, a semi-persistent manner, or an aperiodic manner: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may receive a PRS transmission and reporting configuration, e.g., one or more of sidelink resources, periodicities, target WTRU IDs, threshold values, etc. The anchor WTRU may transmit a PRS on the configured resources, for example, using the sidelink channel towards one or more target WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0007); and transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a second control signaling including SL PRS based at least in part on the received first control signaling: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Regarding Claim 22, Goyal teaches: The processor of claim 21, wherein the first control signaling indicates transmission of SL PRS by the processor in the semi-persistent manner: “The measurement report configuration may include parameters that indicate the reference sources (e.g., nodes or entities, such as BSs or WTRUs) used for producing the measurement (e.g. BS(PSSS)/UE(SRS), UE(PRACH)/UE(SRS), etc.). The measurement report may be configured as aperiodic, semi-periodic, or periodic” (Goyal ¶ 0115), and the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: receive, from the network node, a third control signaling indicating to activate transmission of SL PRS by the processor in the semi-persistent manner: “The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be activated/de-activated by higher layer control-signaling (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.). The measurement report may be configured by higher layer control signaling and/or activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0115); and initiate, in response to the third control signaling, transmission of SL PRS by the processor to the UE in the semi-persistent manner: “Positioning measurement and reporting may be initiated by a positioning server, for example, in order to determine the positions of the target WTRUs using the positioning measurements on the reference signals transmitted by anchor WTRUs. Positioning measurement and reporting may be repeated, e.g., to account for changes in the network, for example, movement of the WTRUs” (Goyal ¶ 0135).
Regarding Claim 23, Goyal teaches: The processor of claim 22, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: receive, from the network node, a fourth control signaling indicating to deactivate transmission of SL PRS by the processor in the semi-persistent manner: “PRS activation/deactivation techniques may be provided. One or more of the following may apply. A reference WTRU's PRS transmissions may be configured as aperiodic, semi-periodic, or periodic. Configuration of the reference WTRU's PRS transmissions may be performed by higher layer configuration (e.g., RRC, NRPP, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0114); and cease, in response to the fourth control signaling, transmission of SL PRS by the first UE in the semi-persistent manner: “In examples, the reference WTRU may be provided with a PRS transmission configuration that is activated/de-activated by higher layer signaling (e.g. RRC, NRPP, etc.). The reference WTRU may be provided with a PRS transmission configuration that is activated/de-activated by lower layer control signaling (e.g. MAC-CE, DCI, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0114).
Regarding Claim 24, Goyal teaches: The processor of claim 21, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: receive, from the network node, a third control signaling indicating a configured grant (CG) configuration within a positioning frequency layer corresponding to a positioning resource set: “For the purpose of group formation, a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel (e.g., which may be sent via sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.) from one or more anchor WTRUs. The target WTRU may perform measurements (e.g., RSRP) on the reference signals received over the sidelink. The target WTRU may be configured with the reference signals via a measurement configuration, e.g., a measurement configuration received from a BS. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs; an indication of a slot, symbol, and/or sub-frame offset; an indication of a periodicity over which the transmission may be repeated” (Goyal ¶ 0127); and transmit the second control signaling within a CG resource indicated by the CG configuration: “A WTRU (e.g., an anchor WTRU) may transmit reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.), for example, over the sidelink (e.g., a sidelink channel), e.g., for the purpose of group formation. The configuration for reference signal transmissions may be provided to the WTRU (e.g., by the network entity). In examples, the reference signal transmission configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources) to transmit the reference signals (e.g., sidelink synchronization signals, such as, PSSS, SSSS, or DMRS in PSBCH, or sidelink CSI-RS, or sidelink PRSs, etc.)” (Goyal ¶ 0123).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473 /B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473