DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 and 01/07/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application 08/27/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 12, 14, 17, 24, 29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (US 2021/0211173), hereinafter Rahman.
Regarding Claim 1, Rahman teaches: A channel state information reporting method, the method being applied by a terminal and comprising: acquiring configuration information of a channel state information reference signal and configuration information for reporting channel state information: “In step 1502, the UE (e.g., 111-116 as illustrated in FIG. 1) receives configuration information for at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource that comprises P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports” (Rahman ¶ 0286); receiving the channel state information reference signal according to the configuration information of the channel state information reference signal: “In step 1506, the UE measures the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports” (Rahman ¶ 0288); and reporting the channel state information according to the configuration information for reporting the channel state information and based on a measurement of the channel state information reference signal: “In step 1510, the UE determines a CSI feedback based on the measurement for the Q precoding dimensions. In step 1512, the UE transmits, over an uplink (UL) channel, the determined CSI feedback” (Rahman ¶ 0290-0291).
Regarding Claim 2, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information comprises a precoding matrix: “The UE measures P.sub.CSIRS (or at least Q) beam formed CSI-RS ports, estimates (beam-formed) DL channel, and determines a precoding matrix for each FD unit t∈{0, 1, . . . , N.sub.3−1}” (Rahman ¶ 0196) “Note that Q is a number of (SD only or SD-FD) beamforming basis vectors or bases conveyed via P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports” (Rahman ¶ 0198), and a number of antenna ports to which the precoding matrix is applied is greater than a number of antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal: “there is a mapping between the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports and the Q precoding dimensions, and P.sub.CSIRS≠Q” (Rahman ¶ 0061) and “When Q≥P.sub.CSIRS, a CSI-RS port conveys more than one beamforming basis vector, i.e., each CSI-RS port is beam-formed using more than one beamforming basis vectors” (Rahman ¶ 0198), wherein a correspondence exists between the antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal and the antenna ports to which the precoding matrix is applied, and the correspondence is indicated through configuration information: “the UE receives configuration information for channel state information (CSI) feedback that is based on Q precoding dimensions, wherein: there is a mapping between the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports and the Q precoding dimensions, and P.sub.CSIRS≠Q” (Rahman ¶ 0287).
Regarding Claim 4, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein reporting the precoding matrix comprises: feeding back coefficients of X1 vectors, wherein a number of constituent elements of each of the X1 vectors is the number of antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal, X1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the coefficients of the X1 vectors indicate the precoding matrix: “the UE determines a measurement for the Q precoding dimensions based on the mapping and the measurement for the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports. In step 1510, the UE determines a CSI feedback based on the measurement for the Q precoding dimensions. In step 1512, the UE transmits, over an uplink (UL) channel, the determined CSI feedback” (Rahman ¶ 0289-0291).
Regarding Claim 5, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein reporting the precoding matrix comprises: feeding back coefficients of X2 vectors, wherein a number of constituent elements of each of the X2 vectors is the number of antenna ports to which the precoding matrix is applied, X2 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the coefficients of the X2 vectors indicate the precoding matrix: “Note that Q is a number of (SD only or SD-FD) beamforming basis vectors or bases conveyed via P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports. When P.sub.CSI-RS=Q, there is one-to-one mapping between the beamforming bases and CSI-RS ports, i.e., each CSI-RS port is beam-formed using one beamforming basis vector . . . For example, when P.sub.CSIRS,SD=P.sub.CSIRS and P.sub.CSIRS,FD=O.sub.f, then Q=P.sub.CSIRS,SD×P.sub.CSIRS,FD=O.sub.fP.sub.CSIRS, and each CSI-RS port conveys O.sub.f beamforming basis vectors, and hence is beam-formed using O.sub.f beamforming basis vectors. In one example, O.sub.f is fixed, e.g., O.sub.f=2. In one example, O.sub.f is configured from a set of supported values, e.g., {1,2} or {1,2,4} or {1,2,3} or {1,M}. In one example, the set of supported values is reported by the UE as part of the UE capability reporting” (Rahman ¶ 0198).
Regarding Claim 6, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information comprises a precoding matrix: “The UE measures P.sub.CSIRS (or at least Q) beam formed CSI-RS ports, estimates (beam-formed) DL channel, and determines a precoding matrix for each FD unit t∈{0, 1, . . . , N.sub.3−1}” (Rahman ¶ 0196) “Note that Q is a number of (SD only or SD-FD) beamforming basis vectors or bases conveyed via P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports” (Rahman ¶ 0198), and a number of antenna ports to which the precoding matrix is applied is equal to a number of antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal, wherein the number is denoted as Nt, and Nt is an integer greater than or equal to 1: “Note that Q is a number of (SD only or SD-FD) beamforming basis vectors or bases conveyed via P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports. When P.sub.CSI-RS=Q, there is one-to-one mapping between the beamforming bases and CSI-RS ports, i.e., each CSI-RS port is beam-formed using one beamforming basis vector . . . For example, when P.sub.CSIRS,SD=P.sub.CSIRS and P.sub.CSIRS,FD=O.sub.f, then Q=P.sub.CSIRS,SD×P.sub.CSIRS,FD=O.sub.fP.sub.CSIRS, and each CSI-RS port conveys O.sub.f beamforming basis vectors, and hence is beam-formed using O.sub.f beamforming basis vectors. In one example, O.sub.f is fixed, e.g., O.sub.f=2. In one example, O.sub.f is configured from a set of supported values, e.g., {1,2} or {1,2,4} or {1,2,3} or {1,M}. In one example, the set of supported values is reported by the UE as part of the UE capability reporting” (Rahman ¶ 0198).
Regarding Claim 12, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 10, wherein reporting the channel state information comprises: according to a measurement of the channel state information reference signal transmitted through the first part of antenna ports, feeding back a precoding matrix applied to antenna ports, wherein the number of the antenna ports is equal to a number of antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal: “In embodiment 1, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter codebookType set to ‘typeII-PortSelection-r17’ for CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SD. The UE is also configured with P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports (either in one CSI-RS resource or distributed across more than one CSI-RS resources) linked with the CSI reporting based on this new Type II port selection codebook. In one example, P.sub.CSIRS=Q . . . The UE measures P.sub.CSIRS (or at least Q) beam formed CSI-RS ports, estimates (beam-formed) DL channel, and determines a precoding matrix for each FD unit t∈{0, 1, . . . , N.sub.3−1}” (Rahman ¶ 0196).
Regarding Claim 14, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information comprises a precoding matrix, and a number of antenna ports to which the precoding matrix is applied is less than a number of antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal: “In embodiment 1, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter codebookType set to ‘typeII-PortSelection-r17’ for CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SD. The UE is also configured with P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports (either in one CSI-RS resource or distributed across more than one CSI-RS resources) linked with the CSI reporting based on this new Type II port selection codebook . . . In another example, P.sub.CSIRS≥Q . . . The UE measures P.sub.CSIRS (or at least Q) beam formed CSI-RS ports, estimates (beam-formed) DL channel, and determines a precoding matrix for each FD unit t∈{0, 1, . . . , N.sub.3−1}” (Rahman ¶ 0196).
Regarding Claim 17, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information comprises a precoding matrix generated by mapping a vector matrix A: “a UE is configured with higher layer parameter codebookType set to ‘typeII-PortSelection-r17’ for CSI reporting based on a new (Rel. 17) Type II port selection codebook in which the port selection (which is in SD) in Rel. 15/16 Type II port selection codebook is extended to FD in addition to SD. The UE is also configured with P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports (either in one CSI-RS resource or distributed across more than one CSI-RS resources) linked with the CSI reporting based on this new Type II port selection codebook. In one example, P.sub.CSIRS=Q. In another example, P.sub.CSIRS≥Q. In another example, P.sub.CSIRS≤Q. Here, Q=P.sub.CSIRS,SD×P.sub.CSIRS,FD. The UE measures P.sub.CSIRS (or at least Q) beam formed CSI-RS ports, estimates (beam-formed) DL channel, and determines a precoding matrix for each FD unit t∈{0, 1, . . . , N.sub.3−1}” (Rahman ¶ 0196), wherein the vector matrix A is formed by first coefficients: “The total number of CSI-RS ports is P.sub.CSIRS,SD×P.sub.CSIRS,FD=P.sub.CSIRS. Each CSI-RS port can be beam-formed/pre-coded using a pre-coding/beam-forming vector in SD or FD or both SD and FD. The pre-coding/beam-forming vector for each CSI-RS port can be derived based on UL channel estimation via SRS, assuming (partial) reciprocity between DL and UL channels” (Rahman ¶ 0195) in combination with a first group of vectors and a second group of vectors: “Let a parameter R indicate a number of PMI subbands in each CQI subband. As explained in Section 5.2.2.2.5 of [REF8], this parameter controls the total number of precoding matrices N.sub.3 indicated by the PMI as a function of the number of subbands in csi-ReportingBand (configured to the UE for CSI reporting), the subband size (N.sub.PRB.sup.SB) configured by the higher-level parameter subbandSize and of the total number of PRBs in the bandwidth part according to Table 5.2.1.4-2 [REF8], as follows: When R=1: One precoding matrix is indicated by the PMI for each subband in csi-ReportingBand. When R=2: For each subband in csi-ReportingBand that is not the first or last subband of a band-width part (BWP), two precoding matrices are indicated by the PMI: the first precoding matrix corresponds to the first N.sub.PRB.sup.SB/2 PRBs of the subband and the second precoding matrix corresponds to the last N.sub.PRB.sup.SB/2 PRBs of the subband. For each subband in csi-ReportingBand that is the first or last subband of a BWP” (Rahman ¶ 0185-0189).
Regarding Claim 24, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 17, wherein a number of constituent elements of each vector in the first group of vectors is determined by a number of antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal, and a number of constituent elements of each vector in the second group of vectors is determined by a number of the precoding matrixes: “Let a parameter R indicate a number of PMI subbands in each CQI subband. As explained in Section 5.2.2.2.5 of [REF8], this parameter controls the total number of precoding matrices N.sub.3 indicated by the PMI as a function of the number of subbands in csi-ReportingBand (configured to the UE for CSI reporting), the subband size (N.sub.PRB.sup.SB) configured by the higher-level parameter subbandSize and of the total number of PRBs in the bandwidth part according to Table 5.2.1.4-2 [REF8], as follows: When R=1: One precoding matrix is indicated by the PMI for each subband in csi-ReportingBand. When R=2: For each subband in csi-ReportingBand that is not the first or last subband of a band-width part (BWP), two precoding matrices are indicated by the PMI: the first precoding matrix corresponds to the first N.sub.PRB.sup.SB/2 PRBs of the subband and the second precoding matrix corresponds to the last N.sub.PRB.sup.SB/2 PRBs of the subband. For each subband in csi-ReportingBand that is the first or last subband of a BWP” (Rahman ¶ 0185-0189).
Regarding Claim 29, Rahman teaches: A channel state information receiving method, the method being applied by a base station and comprising: sending configuration information of a channel state information reference signal and configuration information for reporting channel state information: “In step 1502, the UE (e.g., 111-116 as illustrated in FIG. 1) receives configuration information for at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource that comprises P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports” (Rahman ¶ 0286); sending the channel state information reference signal according to the configuration information of the channel state information reference signal: “In step 1506, the UE measures the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports” (Rahman ¶ 0288); and receiving the channel state information reported according to the configuration information for reporting the channel state information and based on a measurement of the channel state information reference signal: “In step 1510, the UE determines a CSI feedback based on the measurement for the Q precoding dimensions. In step 1512, the UE transmits, over an uplink (UL) channel, the determined CSI feedback” (Rahman ¶ 0290-0291).
Regarding Claim 32, Rahman teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which is configured to store at least one program, wherein the at least one program is executed by at least one processor to implement the method of claim 1: “The memory 360 is coupled to the processor 340. Part of the memory 360 could include a random access memory (RAM), and another part of the memory 360 could include a Flash memory or other read-only memory (ROM)” (Rahman ¶ 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and in further view of Li et al. (US 2016/0080052), hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 7, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 6.
Rahman does not teach: wherein reporting the precoding matrix comprises: selecting Np antenna ports from Nt antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal, and feeding back channel states of the Np antenna ports, wherein Np is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and Np is less than Nt.
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches: wherein reporting the precoding matrix comprises: selecting Np antenna ports from Nt antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal, and feeding back channel states of the Np antenna ports, wherein Np is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and Np is less than Nt: “The UE derives N.sub.1 non-zero power CSI-RS ports and 2 zero power CSI-RS ports out of the N CSI-RS ports (N=N.sub.1+N.sub.2) with the subsampling parameters. The eNB transmits CSI-RS on the N.sub.1 non-zero power CSI-RS ports. The UE derives CQI/PMI/RI on the N CSI-RS ports while receiving only N.sub.1 port non-zero power CSI-RSs” (Li ¶ 0194-0195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Li for the purpose of reducing the number of needed CSI-RS transmissions. According to Li: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission” (Li ¶ 0177).
Regarding Claim 8, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 7.
Rahman does not teach: wherein the Np antenna ports selected from the Nt antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal indicate a manner for a base station side to restore the precoding matrix applied to Nt antenna ports.
Regarding Claim 8, Li teaches: wherein the Np antenna ports selected from the Nt antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal indicate a manner for a base station side to restore the precoding matrix applied to Nt antenna ports: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission. A UE's reconstruction of the channel based on received CSI-RS and its associated array pattern, and the corresponding derivation of CQI, RI and PMI. The UE's channel reconstruction may include 2D spatial filtering, linear interpolation and exploration, or simple DFT subsampling. An eNB's reconstruction of the channel based on the UE's feedback report, possibly combining uplink channel measuremen. The result is a scalable and FDD-enabling CSI feedback scheme for FD-MIMO, where the downlink channel is quantized according to a finite set of basis functions/vectors to reduce the number of coefficients that need to be quantized and reported from a UE to the eNB” (Li ¶ 0177-0180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Li for the purpose of reducing the number of needed CSI-RS transmissions. According to Li: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission” (Li ¶ 0177).
Regarding Claim 9, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 7.
Rahman does not teach: feeding back the channel states of the Np antenna ports comprises: feeding back coefficients of X1 vectors, wherein a number of constituent elements of each of the X1 vectors is Np, and X1 is a positive integer.
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches: feeding back the channel states of the Np antenna ports comprises: feeding back coefficients of X1 vectors, wherein a number of constituent elements of each of the X1 vectors is Np, and X1 is a positive integer: “The result is a scalable and FDD-enabling CSI feedback scheme for FD-MIMO, where the downlink channel is quantized according to a finite set of basis functions/vectors to reduce the number of coefficients that need to be quantized and reported from a UE to the eNB” (Li ¶ 0180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Li for the purpose of reducing the number of needed CSI-RS transmissions. According to Li: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission” (Li ¶ 0177).
Regarding Claim 10, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 1.
Rahman does not teach: antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal are divided into two parts, a first part of antenna ports is transmitted on a channel state information reference signal resource with non-zero power, and a second part of antenna ports is transmitted on the channel state information reference signal resource with zero power.
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches: antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal are divided into two parts, a first part of antenna ports is transmitted on a channel state information reference signal resource with non-zero power, and a second part of antenna ports is transmitted on the channel state information reference signal resource with zero power: “The UE derives N.sub.1 non-zero power CSI-RS ports and 2 zero power CSI-RS ports out of the N CSI-RS ports (N=N.sub.1+N.sub.2) with the subsampling parameters.The eNB transmits CSI-RS on the N.sub.1 non-zero power CSI-RS ports. The UE derives CQI/PMI/RI on the N CSI-RS ports while receiving only N.sub.1 port non-zero power CSI-RSs” (Li ¶ 0193-0195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Li for the purpose of reducing the number of needed CSI-RS transmissions. According to Li: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission” (Li ¶ 0177).
Regarding Claim 11, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 1.
Rahman does not teach: antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal are divided into two parts, a first part of antenna ports occupies a time-frequency resource on a channel state information reference signal resource, and a second part of antenna ports occupies no time-frequency resource on the channel state information reference signal resource.
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches: antenna ports for the channel state information reference signal are divided into two parts, a first part of antenna ports occupies a time-frequency resource on a channel state information reference signal resource, and a second part of antenna ports occupies no time-frequency resource on the channel state information reference signal resource: “The UE derives N.sub.1 non-zero power CSI-RS ports and 2 zero power CSI-RS ports out of the N CSI-RS ports (N=N.sub.1+N.sub.2) with the subsampling parameters.The eNB transmits CSI-RS on the N.sub.1 non-zero power CSI-RS ports. The UE derives CQI/PMI/RI on the N CSI-RS ports while receiving only N.sub.1 port non-zero power CSI-RSs” (Li ¶ 0193-0195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Li for the purpose of reducing the number of needed CSI-RS transmissions. According to Li: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission” (Li ¶ 0177).
Regarding Claim 25, Rachman teaches: The method of claim 17.
Rahman does not teach: reporting the precoding matrix comprises: reporting a first part of coefficients of the first coefficients, wherein a correspondence exists between the first part of coefficients and the first group of vectors or the second group of vectors.
Regarding Claim 25, Li teaches: reporting the precoding matrix comprises: reporting a first part of coefficients of the first coefficients, wherein a correspondence exists between the first part of coefficients and the first group of vectors or the second group of vectors: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission. A UE's reconstruction of the channel based on received CSI-RS and its associated array pattern, and the corresponding derivation of CQI, RI and PMI. The UE's channel reconstruction may include 2D spatial filtering, linear interpolation and exploration, or simple DFT subsampling. An eNB's reconstruction of the channel based on the UE's feedback report, possibly combining uplink channel measuremen. The result is a scalable and FDD-enabling CSI feedback scheme for FD-MIMO, where the downlink channel is quantized according to a finite set of basis functions/vectors to reduce the number of coefficients that need to be quantized and reported from a UE to the eNB” (Li ¶ 0177-0180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Li for the purpose of reducing the number of needed CSI-RS transmissions. According to Li: “An eNB signals UEs one or more pre-defined array pattern on which the CSI-RS is transmitted. The array pattern can be subsampled to reduce the amount of CSI-RS transmission” (Li ¶ 0177).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 2022/0069880), hereinafter Rahman’880.
Regarding Claim 26, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 17, wherein the channel state information comprises the precoding matrix: “the UE determines a measurement for the Q precoding dimensions based on the mapping and the measurement for the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports. In step 1510, the UE determines a CSI feedback based on the measurement for the Q precoding dimensions. In step 1512, the UE transmits, over an uplink (UL) channel, the determined CSI feedback” (Rahman ¶ 0289-0291).
Rahman does not teach: reporting the precoding matrix comprises: reporting a first part of coefficients of the first coefficients, wherein the first coefficients are divided into P groups of coefficients, the first part of coefficients comprises at least one group of coefficients among the P groups of coefficients, and P is a positive integer.
Regarding Claim 26, Rahman’880 teaches: reporting the precoding matrix comprises: reporting a first part of coefficients of the first coefficients, wherein the first coefficients are divided into P groups of coefficients, the first part of coefficients comprises at least one group of coefficients among the P groups of coefficients, and P is a positive integer: “receive, from a base station, codebook configuration information for reporting of information associated with a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), identify first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) and second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) based on the codebook configuration information, transmit, to the base station, the information associated with the PMI for indicating) the first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) and second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2), wherein, for each layer l=1, 2, . . . , v, each of two first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) corresponds to each of a first group of coefficients and a second group of coefficients, and wherein the first group of coefficients includes a first subset of the second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) with an index i=0, 1, . . . , L−1, and the second group of coefficients includes a second subset of the second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) with an index i=L, L+1, . . . , 2L−1” (Rahman’880 Claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Rahman’880 for the purpose of providing an efficient feedback method by reducing CRS overhead. According to Rahman’880: “To reduce CRS overhead, an eNodeB may transmit a CSI-RS with a smaller density in the time and/or frequency domain than a CRS” (Rahman’880 ¶ 0078).
Regarding Claim 27, Rahman teaches: The method of claim 26.
Rahman does not teach: the first part of coefficients is indicated by a base station or the terminal in groups, which comprises indicating an index number of a group corresponding to the first part of coefficients.
Regarding Claim 27, Rahman’880 teaches: the first part of coefficients is indicated by a base station or the terminal in groups, which comprises indicating an index number of a group corresponding to the first part of coefficients: “receive, from a base station, codebook configuration information for reporting of information associated with a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), identify first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) and second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) based on the codebook configuration information, transmit, to the base station, the information associated with the PMI for indicating) the first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) and second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2), wherein, for each layer l=1, 2, . . . , v, each of two first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) corresponds to each of a first group of coefficients and a second group of coefficients, and wherein the first group of coefficients includes a first subset of the second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) with an index i=0, 1, . . . , L−1, and the second group of coefficients includes a second subset of the second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) with an index i=L, L+1, . . . , 2L−1” (Rahman’880 Claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Rahman’880 for the purpose of providing an efficient feedback method by reducing CRS overhead. According to Rahman’880: “To reduce CRS overhead, an eNodeB may transmit a CSI-RS with a smaller density in the time and/or frequency domain than a CRS” (Rahman’880 ¶ 0078).
Regarding Claim 28, Rahman’880 teaches: The method of claim 26.
Rahman does not teach: wherein the first part of coefficients is indicated by a base station or the terminal in groups, which comprises indicating a number of groups corresponding to the first part of coefficients.
Regarding Claim 28, Rahman’880 teaches: wherein the first part of coefficients is indicated by a base station or the terminal in groups, which comprises indicating a number of groups corresponding to the first part of coefficients: “receive, from a base station, codebook configuration information for reporting of information associated with a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), identify first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) and second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) based on the codebook configuration information, transmit, to the base station, the information associated with the PMI for indicating) the first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) and second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2), wherein, for each layer l=1, 2, . . . , v, each of two first amplitude coefficients p.sub.l.sup.(1) corresponds to each of a first group of coefficients and a second group of coefficients, and wherein the first group of coefficients includes a first subset of the second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) with an index i=0, 1, . . . , L−1, and the second group of coefficients includes a second subset of the second amplitude coefficients p.sub.l,i,m.sup.(2) with an index i=L, L+1, . . . , 2L−1” (Rahman’880 Claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the claimed application to combine the disclosure of Rahman with Rahman’880 for the purpose of providing an efficient feedback method by reducing CRS overhead. According to Rahman’880: “To reduce CRS overhead, an eNodeB may transmit a CSI-RS with a smaller density in the time and/or frequency domain than a CRS” (Rahman’880 ¶ 0078).
Conclusion
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473