DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to preliminary amendment filed on 08/27/24, Which is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1-13, 15-17 & 20-23 are presented for examination.
Claims 4, 13 & 20-23 are amended.
Claims 14 & 18-19 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 08/27/24 & 09/11/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
7. The drawings filed on 08/27/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
8. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “IMPROVING RELIABILITY AND EFFECTIVENESS OF UPLINK TRANSMISSION”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
9. Claims 20-21 & 23 are objected to because of minor informalities:
10. Claim 20, recites, “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to collectively execute the method for transmitting information according to claim 1”.
11. It’s suggested to amend it to: “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to collectively execute operations, the operations comprising: ”
receiving a system message that comprises a plurality of candidate numerical values and is transmitted by a base station;
determining a first numerical value from the plurality of candidate numerical values; and
transmitting a first preamble sequence to the base station, wherein the first preamble sequence is configured to indicate the first numerical value.
12. Claims 21 & 23 are also objected to for the same reason as claim 20 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-6, 10-13 & 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (hereinafter referred as Hao) International Publication No. WO 2021/223508 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 22: Hao discloses a communication device/method (See FIG. 17; a communication device (i.e., terminal)), comprising:
one or more processors (See FIG. 17; a communication device (i.e., terminal) includes processor); and
a memory (See FIG. 17; a communication device (i.e., terminal) includes memory) that stores instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and the instructions cause the communication device to:
receive a system message that comprises a plurality of candidate numerical values and is transmitted by a base station (See FIG. 1, 5, Table 2Page 43; UE first receives system information in an initial access stage from a base station. The system information may comprise TA related information;
determine a first numerical value from the plurality of candidate numerical values (See Page 17; determining the TA based on received TA-related information and expressly defines TA as TA = N X G, where N is the first numerical value); and
transmit a first preamble sequence to the base station, wherein the first preamble sequence is configured to indicate the first numerical value (See Page 12; when TA-related information is transmitted over PRACH, it is represented by a random-access preamble index and/or PRACH occasion resource location. Different preamble indices represent different ranges of the target TA value).
Regarding claim 2: Hao discloses the method, wherein the system message comprises first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate an associated value of the first numerical value (See FIG. 1, 5, Table 2 & Page 43; TA related information).
Regarding claim 3: Hao discloses the method, wherein the associated value comprises at least one of a timing advance (TA) value corresponding to the terminal (See page 24; TA values corresponding to the terminal, including TA values used for terminal uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 4: Hao discloses the method, wherein determining the first numerical value from the plurality of candidate numerical values comprises: determining the first numerical value corresponding to the associated value from the plurality of candidate numerical values (See table 2; it provides target values of the first numerical value).
Regarding claim 5: Hao discloses the method, wherein the first numerical value has a correspondence relationship with the first preamble sequence (See Page 39; different Randon-access preamble indexes correspond to different TA ranges).
Regarding claim 6: Hao discloses the method, determining a first resource location corresponding to the first numerical value, wherein the first resource location is a resource location occupied by the first preamble sequence; and transmitting the first preamble sequence to the base station comprises: transmitting the first preamble sequence to the base station on the first resource location (See page 12; TA related information transmitted in PRACH is represented by random-access preamble index and/or PRACH occasion resource location).
Regarding claims 10 & 23: Hao discloses communication device (See FIG. 16; a communication device (i.e., a base station))/method, comprising:
one or more processors (See FIG. 16; a communication device (i.e., a base station) includes processor); and
a memory (See FIG. 16; a communication device (i.e., a base station) includes memory) that stores instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and the instructions cause the communication device to perform:
receiving a first preamble sequence transmitted by the terminal (See Page 12; when TA-related information is transmitted over PRACH, it is represented by a random-access preamble index and/or PRACH occasion resource location. Different preamble indices represent different ranges of the target TA value), wherein the first preamble sequence is configured to indicate a first numerical value determined by the terminal from the plurality of candidate numerical values (See Page 46; the base station configures multiple Ros and RACH preamble and that different combinations represent different TA parameter ranges/ranges); and
determining the first numerical value used by the terminal based on the first preamble sequence (See page 12; after receiving the PRACH transmission, the base station determines the preamble index and obtains to corresponding TA-related information from the received preamble).
Regarding claim 11: Hao discloses the method, wherein the system message comprises first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate an associated value of the first numerical value (See FIG. 1, 5, Table 2 & Page 43; TA related information).
Regarding claim 12: Hao discloses the method, wherein the associated value comprises at least one of a TA value corresponding to the terminal (See page 24; TA values corresponding to the terminal, including TA values used for terminal uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 13: Hao discloses the method, wherein determining the first numerical value used by the terminal based on the first preamble sequence comprises: determining the first numerical value corresponding to the first preamble sequence (See table 2; it provides target values of the first numerical value).
Regarding claim 20: Hao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See FIG. 17; a communication device (i.e., terminal) includes memory), storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed by one or more processors (See FIG. 17; a communication device (i.e., terminal) includes processor) cause the one or more processors to collectively execute:
receive a system message that comprises a plurality of candidate numerical values and is transmitted by a base station (See FIG. 1, 5, Table 2Page 43; UE first receives system information in an initial access stage from a base station. The system information may comprise TA related information;
determine a first numerical value from the plurality of candidate numerical values (See Page 17; determining the TA based on received TA-related information and expressly defines TA as TA = N X G, where N is the first numerical value); and
transmit a first preamble sequence to the base station, wherein the first preamble sequence is configured to indicate the first numerical value (See Page 12; when TA-related information is transmitted over PRACH, it is represented by a random-access preamble index and/or PRACH occasion resource location. Different preamble indices represent different ranges of the target TA value).
Regarding claim 21: Hao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See FIG. 16; a communication device (i.e., a base station) includes memory), storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors (See FIG. 16; a communication device (i.e., a base station) includes processor) to collectively execute:
receiving a first preamble sequence transmitted by the terminal (See Page 12; when TA-related information is transmitted over PRACH, it is represented by a random-access preamble index and/or PRACH occasion resource location. Different preamble indices represent different ranges of the target TA value), wherein the first preamble sequence is configured to indicate a first numerical value determined by the terminal from the plurality of candidate numerical values (See Page 46; the base station configures multiple Ros and RACH preamble and that different combinations represent different TA parameter ranges/ranges); and
determining the first numerical value used by the terminal based on the first preamble sequence (See page 12; after receiving the PRACH transmission, the base station determines the preamble index and obtains to corresponding TA-related information from the received preamble).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 7-9 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, in view of Mehmet et al. (hereinafter referred as Mehmet) US International Publication No. WO 2021/230815 A1.
Regarding claim 7: Hao discloses receiving a first update message transmitted by the base station, wherein the first update message comprises a new numerical value reconfigured by the base station for the terminal (See Page 49; a new TA value supplied by the base station in message 2 and further reaches the base station sending TA update information including TA_New or Delta TA, in message 4).
Hao does not explicitly disclose determining that a variation of a TA value corresponding to the terminal exceeds a preset threshold; transmitting a reconfiguration request message to the base station, wherein the reconfiguration request message is configured to request the base station to reconfigure a numerical value for the terminal.
However, Mehmet from the same field of endeavor discloses determining that a variation of a TA value corresponding to the terminal exceeds a preset threshold (See Pages 11-12; the UE monitors the TA/KI value and initiates a TA report when the TA/KI value is outside a hysteresis range, is greater/lower than a predetermined threshold deviates from a threshold by at least a predefined amount);
transmitting a reconfiguration request message to the base station, wherein the reconfiguration request message is configured to request the base station to reconfigure a numerical value for the terminal (See Pages 10-11; teaches RRC/MAC signaling and UE-initiated TA reporting to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining that a variation of a TA value corresponding to the terminal exceeds a preset threshold; transmitting a reconfiguration request message to the base station, wherein the reconfiguration request message is configured to request the base station to reconfigure a numerical value for the terminal as taught by Mehmet in the system of Hao to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (See abstract; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Hao and Mehmet disclose the method.
Furthermore, Mehmet discloses the method, further comprising: receiving a second update message that is cyclically transmitted by the base station, wherein the second update message comprises a new numerical value reconfigured by the base station for the terminal (See Page 12; the UE transmit its TA report to the network node “periodically or non-periodically” in response to expiration of a timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a second update message that is cyclically transmitted by the base station, wherein the second update message comprises a new numerical value reconfigured by the base station for the terminal as taught by Mehmet in the system of Hao to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (See abstract; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Hao and Mehmet disclose the method.
Furthermore, Hao discloses the method, receiving a third update message transmitted by the base station, wherein the third update message comprises a plurality of new candidate numerical values reconfigured by the base station for the terminal (See Page 28; TA/first-numerical-value sequence together wit its network TA-update signaling); determining a second numerical value from the plurality of new candidate numerical values (See Page 32; selection of a target value from the candidate TA values); and transmitting second indication information to the base station, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the second numerical value (See Mehmet; Pages 9-12; UE TA report/quantized TA index signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting second indication information to the base station, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the second numerical value as taught by Mehmet in the system of Hao to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (See abstract; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Hao and Mehmet disclose the method.
Furthermore, Mehmet discloses the method, further comprising: receiving a reconfiguration request message transmitted by the terminal, wherein the reconfiguration request message is configured to request the base station to reconfigure a numerical value for the terminal; and transmitting a first update message to the terminal (See Pages 10-11; TA update), wherein the first update message comprises a new numerical value reconfigured by the base station for the terminal (See Hao Page 49; a new TA value supplied by the base station in message 2 and further reaches the base station sending TA update information including TA_New or Delta TA, in message 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a reconfiguration request message transmitted by the terminal, wherein the reconfiguration request message is configured to request the base station to reconfigure a numerical value for the terminal; and transmitting a first update message to the terminal as taught by Mehmet in the system of Hao to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (See abstract; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Hao and Mehmet disclose the method.
Furthermore, Mehmet discloses the method, further comprising: transmitting a second update message to the terminal cyclically, wherein the second update message comprises a new numerical value reconfigured by the base station for the terminal (See Page 12; the UE transmit its TA report to the network node “periodically or non-periodically” in response to expiration of a timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting a second update message to the terminal cyclically, wherein the second update message comprises a new numerical value reconfigured by the base station for the terminal as taught by Mehmet in the system of Hao to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (See abstract; lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Hao and Mehmet disclose the method.
Furthermore, Hao discloses the method, transmitting a third update message to the terminal, wherein the third update message comprises a plurality of new candidate numerical values reconfigured by the base station for the terminal (See Page 28; TA/first-numerical-value sequence together with its network TA-update signaling); receiving second indication information transmitted by the terminal to the base station, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate a second numerical value, and the second numerical value is determined by the terminal from the plurality of new candidate numerical values (See Mehmet; Pages 9-12; UE TA report/quantized TA index signaling); and determining the second numerical value used by the terminal based on the second indication information (See Page 32; selection of a target value from the candidate TA values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving second indication information transmitted by the terminal to the base station, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate a second numerical value, and the second numerical value is determined by the terminal from the plurality of new candidate numerical values as taught by Mehmet in the system of Hao to perform auto-compensation of time delays in signaling and a TA value is indicated in the TA report (See abstract; lines 4-5).
Conclusion
17. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Agiwal et al. 2022/0279596 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for selecting random…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. QIU et al. 2022/0217790 A1 (Title: System and method for configuring ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Lin et al. 2021/0153193 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for uplink timing determination in a wireless ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469