DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/24 & 01/12/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12-21 and 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0214954 herein after referenced as Lim).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 25, Lim discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; and memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to: and A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007, the UE (i.e. reads on apparatus and reads on UE) may perform a fourth PUSCH transmission (i.e. reads on for wireless communication) operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission; Lim, [0084] discloses Scheduling information for uplink data or physical uplink shared channel PUSCH or downlink data or physical downlink data channel PDSCH in the 5G system is transmitted from the base station through DCI to the UE; Lim, [0548] discloses Further, the processor 2605 may control a series of processes for the UE to operate according to the above-described embodiments. … The processor may perform control operations on the component(s) of the UE by executing a program stored in the memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for complex devices such as the UE to include a processor executing a program stored in memory in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
receive first control signaling that includes information indicative of a sounding reference signal configuration, the sounding reference signal configuration indicating (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses and the base station receiving the UE capability report 1901 transmits (i.e. reads on receive first control signaling that includes), to the UE, configuration information (i.e. reads on information indicative of) for PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI 1902. In this case, the transmitted configuration information may include, e.g., the repeated transmission method, number of repeated transmissions, transmission beam mapping unit or scheme, whether a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields may be supported, a plurality of SRS resource sets (i.e. reads on a sounding reference signal configuration, the sounding reference signal configuration indicating sounding reference signal resource sets) for codebook or non-codebook, and transient offset-related information when changing transmission beams described below in the following second embodiment … If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007, the UE may perform a fourth PUSCH transmission operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission).
one of multi-transmission reception point communications (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007 (i.e. reads on during one of multi-transmission reception point communications), the UE (i.e. reads on the apparatus) may perform a fourth PUSCH transmission (i.e. reads on communication between) operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs (i.e. reads on and a respective transmission reception point and reads on based on a set of multiple transmission reception points) through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or single virtual transmission reception point communication”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
receive second control signaling that triggers the apparatus (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received (i.e. reads on receive second control signaling) by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007, the UE may perform (i.e. reads on that triggers the apparatus) a fourth PUSCH transmission (i.e. reads on for uplink communication) operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH (i.e. reads on and communicate the uplink communication) with a plurality of TRPs (i.e. reads on with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points) through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission; Lim, [0084] discloses Scheduling information for uplink data or physical uplink shared channel PUSCH or downlink data or physical downlink data channel PDSCH in the 5G system is transmitted from the base station through DCI to the UE).
Lim discloses in one embodiment that the UE receives SRS configuration information from the base station that includes a plurality of SRS resource sets and performs PUSCH transmission with a plurality of TRPs based on a received DCI but fails to explicitly recite in the same embodiment that the plurality of SRS resource sets includes at least three SRS resource sets and that the DCI triggers a selection of the SRS resource sets for a corresponding TRP in order to perform the PUSCH transmission and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “the sounding reference signal configuration indicating at least three sounding reference signal resource sets,” and “each of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets being associated with communication between the apparatus and a respective transmission reception point” and “receive second control signaling that triggers the apparatus to select one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for uplink communication; and communicate the uplink communication with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points based at least in part on the selected one or more sounding reference signal resource sets.”
In a different embodiment, Lim discloses:
the sounding reference signal configuration indicating at least three sounding reference signal resource sets, (Lim, [0507] discloses More specifically, for the UE which repeatedly transmits the PUSCH based on multiple TRPs, the base station may configure higher layer parameters (i.e. reads on the sounding reference signal configuration) for transmitting the PUSCH through each TRP as described above in connection with the first embodiment e.g., two or more SRS resource sets (i.e. reads on indicating at least three sounding reference signal resource sets) in which usage is ‘codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’ are configured or two or more transmit power parameter sets are configured; Lim, [0560] discloses The embodiments herein are provided merely for better understanding of the present invention, and the present invention should not be limited thereto or thereby. In other words, it is apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that various changes may be made thereto without departing from the scope of the disclosure. Further, the embodiments may be practiced in combination. For example, the base station and the UE may be operated in a combination of parts of an embodiment and another embodiment. For example, some of the first and second embodiments of the disclosure may partially be combined and be operated by the base station and the UE).
each of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets being associated with communication between the apparatus and a respective transmission reception point (Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set (i.e. reads on each of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets), the UE (i.e. reads on the apparatus) may perform PUSCH repeated transmission (i.e. reads on being associated with communication between) considering a single TRP for TRP2 (i.e. reads on and a respective transmission reception point). In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0386] discloses When a plurality of SRS resources are indicated using an enhanced SRI field, the transmit power adjustment parameter of SRS resource is set per SRS resource set. Thus, each SRS resource may be present in a different SRS resource set to set a different transmit power adjustment parameter for each TRP. Accordingly, there may be two or more SRS resource sets in which the higher layer signaling ‘usage’ is set to codebook or non-codebook).
receive second control signaling that triggers the apparatus to select one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for uplink communication; (Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit (i.e. reads on receive), to the UE (i.e. reads on the apparatus), a single DCI (i.e. reads on second control signaling that triggers) including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set (i.e. reads on to select one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets), and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission (i.e. reads on for uplink communication) considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2; Lim, [0205] discloses For example, the base station may trigger the aperiodic SRS transmission through DCI to the UE. The base station may indicate one of aperiodic SRS resource triggers aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger through the SRS request field of DCI. The UE may understand that the SRS resource set including the aperiodic SRS resource trigger indicated through the DCI in the aperiodic SRS resource trigger list among the configuration information of the SRS resource set has been triggered. The UE may transmit the SRS resource referenced by the triggered SRS resource set).
and communicate the uplink communication with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points based at least in part on the selected one or more sounding reference signal resource sets (Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the selected one or more sounding reference signal resource sets), the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission (i.e. reads on and communicate the uplink communication) considering a single TRP for TRP2 (i.e. reads on with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points). In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lim to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Lim, [0560]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a UE performing single TRP or multi-TRP PUSCH transmission based on information received from a base station as taught by Lim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a UE performing single TRP or multi-TRP PUSCH transmission based on information received from a base station with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Lim) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a UE performing single TRP or multi-TRP PUSCH transmission based on information received from a base station (i.e. as taught by Lim) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 26, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 1) and The method of claim 25, further comprising: (see claim 25).
determine a respective precoder for each of the one or more transmission reception points based at least in part on a respective sounding reference signal resource set of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets associated with each of the one or more transmission reception points, wherein to communicate the uplink communication is further based at least in part on the determined respective precoder for each of the one or more transmission reception points (Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers; Lim, [0380] discloses Unlike the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering a single TRP, the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs may be required to differently apply the transmission beam and the transmission precoder to transmission to the respective TRPs. Accordingly, the UE may receive an indication of a plurality of SRIs or TPMI through the DCI and apply them to the respective PUSCH repeated transmissions, thereby performing PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs; Lim, [0217] discloses the base station selects one of the SRS resources transmitted by the UE and instructs the UE to perform PUSCH transmission using transmission beam information about the corresponding SRS resource. In this case, in codebook-based PUSCH transmission, the SRI is used as information for selecting an index of one SRS resource and is included in the DCI. Additionally, the base station includes information indicating the TPMI and rank to be used by the UE for PUSCH transmission in the DCI. The UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying the precoder indicated by the rank and TPMI indicated by the transmission beam of the SRS resource using the SRS resource indicated by the SRI; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0392] discloses The UE may map the transmission beam and the transmission precoder to each of the activated configured grant PUSCH repeated transmissions according to the transmission beam mapping method in the following second embodiment by using the plurality of SRIs or TPMIs indicated by a single DCI).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 27, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 1) and The method of claim 25, further comprising: (see claim 25).
determine a respective quantity of sounding reference signal resources, (Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2; Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a respective quantity of sounding reference signal ports, a respective quantity of demodulation reference signals, or any combination thereof”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 1).
determine a respective beam (Lim, [0358] discloses For example, codebook-based PUSCH transmission may determine the UE's transmission beam by the SRI and TPMI transferred from the base station, i.e., a single TRP, to the UE; Lim, [0380] discloses Unlike the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering a single TRP, the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs may be required to differently apply the transmission beam and the transmission precoder to transmission to the respective TRPs. Accordingly, the UE may receive an indication of a plurality of SRIs or TPMI through the DCI and apply them to the respective PUSCH repeated transmissions, thereby performing PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs; Lim, [0217] discloses the base station selects one of the SRS resources transmitted by the UE and instructs the UE to perform PUSCH transmission using transmission beam information about the corresponding SRS resource. In this case, in codebook-based PUSCH transmission, the SRI is used as information for selecting an index of one SRS resource and is included in the DCI. Additionally, the base station includes information indicating the TPMI and rank to be used by the UE for PUSCH transmission in the DCI. The UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying the precoder indicated by the rank and TPMI indicated by the transmission beam of the SRS resource using the SRS resource indicated by the SRI; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a respective transmission configuration indicator”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the received second control signaling schedules the multi-transmission reception point communications (Lim, [0507] discloses Thereafter, two or more SRS resource indicators hereinafter, SRI fields may be indicated by scheduling DCI for repeatedly transmitting the PUSCH through multiple TRPs or when the higher layer parameter for configured grant PUSCH considering multiple TRPs is configured, the higher layer parameter for transmitting the corresponding configured grant PUSCH is configured; Lim, [0540] discloses In this case, the UE may identify, e.g., the SRI field indicated by the DCI or higher layer configured grant configuration for scheduling the PUSCH to grasp whether PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs is performed. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or single virtual transmission reception point communication”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 5).
determine that the received second control signaling schedules the multi-transmission reception point communications based at least in part on an indication in the received second control signaling; and select a first sounding reference signal resource set or a second sounding reference signal resource set, or both, based at least in part on that the received second control signaling schedules the multi-transmission reception point communications, wherein, to communicate the uplink communication, the processor is configured to: communicate the uplink communication with a first transmission reception point or a second transmission reception point, or both, using the selected first sounding reference signal resource set or the selected second sounding reference signal resource set, or both (Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same).
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 6, (see claim 6).
wherein a sounding reference signal resource indicator field or a precoding information and number of layers indicator field, or both, associated with the received second control signaling corresponds to the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point, or both associated with the set of multiple transmission reception points (Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers; Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1).
an antenna coupled with the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive third control signaling activating the multi-transmission reception point communications or the single virtual transmission reception point communication for the uplink communication, the third control signaling comprising a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), wherein to communicate the uplink communication with one or more transmission reception points is further based at least in part on the received third control signaling (Lim, [0426] discloses As another example, when a plurality of antenna modules for beam formation are included in the UE, and the plurality of antenna modules are installed in different positions, a panel corresponding to each antenna module may be configured; Lim, [0383] discloses The UE may receive a MAC-CE for enhanced SRI or TPMI field support from the base station to support a PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI. The corresponding MAC-CE contains information instructing to change the interpretation of the codepoint of the DCI field so that for a specific codepoint of the SRI field in the DCI, a plurality of transmission beams are indicated or, for a specific codepoint of the TPMI field, a plurality of transmission precoders may be indicated; Lim, [0204] discloses For example, the base station may activate or deactivate semi-persistent SRS transmission through higher layer signaling to the UE. The base station may instruct to activate the SRS resource set through MAC CE signaling, and the UE may transmit the SRS resource referenced by the activated SRS resource set. The SRS resource set activated through MAC CE signaling may be limited to the SRS resource set in which the resourceType is set to semi-persistent; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 10).
ignore the received second control signaling that triggers the apparatus to select the one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for uplink communication based at least in part on the received third control signaling (Lim, [0383] discloses The UE may receive a MAC-CE for enhanced SRI or TPMI field support from the base station to support a PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI. The corresponding MAC-CE contains information instructing to change the interpretation of the codepoint of the DCI field so that for a specific codepoint of the SRI field in the DCI, a plurality of transmission beams are indicated or, for a specific codepoint of the TPMI field, a plurality of transmission precoders may be indicated; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2).
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 10).
select at least two sounding reference signal resource set from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for the uplink communication based at least in part on the received third control signaling activating the multi-transmission reception point communications for the uplink communication, wherein, to communicate the uplink communication, the processor is configured to: communicate the uplink communication with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point using the selected at least two sounding reference signal resource sets (Lim, [0383] discloses The UE may receive a MAC-CE for enhanced SRI or TPMI field support from the base station to support a PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI. The corresponding MAC-CE contains information instructing to change the interpretation of the codepoint of the DCI field so that for a specific codepoint of the SRI field in the DCI, a plurality of transmission beams are indicated or, for a specific codepoint of the TPMI field, a plurality of transmission precoders may be indicated; Lim, [0204] discloses For example, the base station may activate or deactivate semi-persistent SRS transmission through higher layer signaling to the UE. The base station may instruct to activate the SRS resource set through MAC CE signaling, and the UE may transmit the SRS resource referenced by the activated SRS resource set. The SRS resource set activated through MAC CE signaling may be limited to the SRS resource set in which the resourceType is set to semi-persistent; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers).
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the sounding reference signal configuration corresponds to codebook-based wireless communication (Lim, [0199] discloses A configuration for the use of the SRS resource referenced by the SRS resource set and may be set to one of ‘beamManagement,’ ‘codebook,’ ‘nonCodebook,’ and ‘antennaSwitching.’).
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the sounding reference signal configuration corresponds to non-codebook-based wireless communication (Lim, [0199] discloses A configuration for the use of the SRS resource referenced by the SRS resource set and may be set to one of ‘beamManagement,’ ‘codebook,’ ‘nonCodebook,’ and ‘antennaSwitching.’).
Regarding claim 16 and claim 28, Lim discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication: a processor; and memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to: and A method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005 (i.e. reads on apparatus and reads on network entity), and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007, the UE may perform a fourth PUSCH transmission (i.e. reads on for wireless communication) operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission; Lim, [0084] discloses Scheduling information for uplink data or physical uplink shared channel PUSCH or downlink data or physical downlink data channel PDSCH in the 5G system is transmitted from the base station through DCI to the UE; Lim, [0554] discloses The processor 2705 may control a series of processes for the base station to operate according to the above-described embodiments. … The processor 2705 may perform control operations on the component(s) of the base station by executing a program stored in the memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for complex devices such as the base station to include a processor executing a program stored in memory in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
output first control signaling that includes information indicative of a sounding reference signal configuration, the sounding reference signal configuration indicating (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses and the base station receiving the UE capability report 1901 transmits (i.e. reads on output first control signaling that includes), to the UE, configuration information (i.e. reads on information indicative of) for PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI 1902. In this case, the transmitted configuration information may include, e.g., the repeated transmission method, number of repeated transmissions, transmission beam mapping unit or scheme, whether a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields may be supported, a plurality of SRS resource sets (i.e. reads on a sounding reference signal configuration, the sounding reference signal configuration indicating sounding reference signal resource sets) for codebook or non-codebook, and transient offset-related information when changing transmission beams described below in the following second embodiment … If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007, the UE may perform a fourth PUSCH transmission operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission).
one of multi-transmission reception point communications (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007 (i.e. reads on during one of multi-transmission reception point communications), the UE (i.e. reads on UE) may perform a fourth PUSCH transmission (i.e. reads on communication between) operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs (i.e. reads on and a respective transmission reception point and reads on based on a set of multiple transmission reception points) through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or single virtual transmission reception point communication”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
and output second control signaling that triggers the UE (Lim, Fig. 19 & [0425] discloses If the UE receives a configuration capable of supporting a plurality of SRI or TPMI fields from the base station 2005, and the plurality of SRI or TPMI fields in the DCI received (i.e. reads on receive second control signaling) by the UE indicate the codepoint meaning multi-TRP-based repeated transmission 2007, the UE may perform (i.e. reads on that triggers the UE) a fourth PUSCH transmission (i.e. reads on for uplink communication) operation 2009. The fourth PUSCH transmission operation is an operation that repeatedly transmits the PUSCH with a plurality of TRPs (i.e. reads on with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points) through the codepoint indicating multiple TRP transmissions among the codepoints in each field, i.e., using two transmission beams, while using two SRI fields for the case of non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission and the two SRI and TPMI fields for the case of codebook-based PUSCH transmission; Lim, [0084] discloses Scheduling information for uplink data or physical uplink shared channel PUSCH or downlink data or physical downlink data channel PDSCH in the 5G system is transmitted from the base station through DCI to the UE).
Lim discloses in one embodiment that the UE receives SRS configuration information from the base station that includes a plurality of SRS resource sets and performs PUSCH transmission with a plurality of TRPs based on a received DCI but fails to explicitly recite in the same embodiment that the plurality of SRS resource sets includes at least three SRS resource sets and that the DCI triggers a selection of the SRS resource sets for a corresponding TRP in order to perform the PUSCH transmission and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “the sounding reference signal configuration indicating at least three sounding reference signal resource sets” and “each of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets being associated with communication between a user equipment (UE) and a respective transmission reception point” and “and output second control signaling that triggers the UE to select one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for uplink communication with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points.”
In a different embodiment, Lim discloses:
the sounding reference signal configuration indicating at least three sounding reference signal resource sets (Lim, [0507] discloses More specifically, for the UE which repeatedly transmits the PUSCH based on multiple TRPs, the base station may configure higher layer parameters (i.e. reads on the sounding reference signal configuration) for transmitting the PUSCH through each TRP as described above in connection with the first embodiment e.g., two or more SRS resource sets (i.e. reads on indicating at least three sounding reference signal resource sets) in which usage is ‘codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’ are configured or two or more transmit power parameter sets are configured; Lim, [0560] discloses The embodiments herein are provided merely for better understanding of the present invention, and the present invention should not be limited thereto or thereby. In other words, it is apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that various changes may be made thereto without departing from the scope of the disclosure. Further, the embodiments may be practiced in combination. For example, the base station and the UE may be operated in a combination of parts of an embodiment and another embodiment. For example, some of the first and second embodiments of the disclosure may partially be combined and be operated by the base station and the UE).
each of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets being associated with communication between a user equipment (UE) and a respective transmission reception point (Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set (i.e. reads on each of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets), the UE (i.e. reads on the UE) may perform PUSCH repeated transmission (i.e. reads on being associated with communication between) considering a single TRP for TRP2 (i.e. reads on and a respective transmission reception point). In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0386] discloses When a plurality of SRS resources are indicated using an enhanced SRI field, the transmit power adjustment parameter of SRS resource is set per SRS resource set. Thus, each SRS resource may be present in a different SRS resource set to set a different transmit power adjustment parameter for each TRP. Accordingly, there may be two or more SRS resource sets in which the higher layer signaling ‘usage’ is set to codebook or non-codebook).
and output second control signaling that triggers the UE to select one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for uplink communication with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points (Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit (i.e. reads on output), to the UE (i.e. reads on the UE), a single DCI (i.e. reads on second control signaling that triggers) including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set (i.e. reads on to select one or more sounding reference signal resource sets from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets), and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission (i.e. reads on for uplink communication) considering a single TRP for TRP2 (i.e. reads on with one or more transmission reception points of the set of multiple transmission reception points). In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2; Lim, [0205] discloses For example, the base station may trigger the aperiodic SRS transmission through DCI to the UE. The base station may indicate one of aperiodic SRS resource triggers aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger through the SRS request field of DCI. The UE may understand that the SRS resource set including the aperiodic SRS resource trigger indicated through the DCI in the aperiodic SRS resource trigger list among the configuration information of the SRS resource set has been triggered. The UE may transmit the SRS resource referenced by the triggered SRS resource set).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lim to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Lim, [0560]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a UE performing single TRP or multi-TRP PUSCH transmission based on information received from a base station as taught by Lim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a UE performing single TRP or multi-TRP PUSCH transmission based on information received from a base station with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Lim) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a UE performing single TRP or multi-TRP PUSCH transmission based on information received from a base station (i.e. as taught by Lim) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 17 and claim 29, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, (see claim 16) and The method of claim 28, (see claim 28).
wherein a respective precoder for each of the one or more transmission reception points is based at least in part on a respective sounding reference signal resource set of the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets associated with each of the one or more transmission reception points (Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers; Lim, [0380] discloses Unlike the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering a single TRP, the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs may be required to differently apply the transmission beam and the transmission precoder to transmission to the respective TRPs. Accordingly, the UE may receive an indication of a plurality of SRIs or TPMI through the DCI and apply them to the respective PUSCH repeated transmissions, thereby performing PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs; Lim, [0217] discloses the base station selects one of the SRS resources transmitted by the UE and instructs the UE to perform PUSCH transmission using transmission beam information about the corresponding SRS resource. In this case, in codebook-based PUSCH transmission, the SRI is used as information for selecting an index of one SRS resource and is included in the DCI. Additionally, the base station includes information indicating the TPMI and rank to be used by the UE for PUSCH transmission in the DCI. The UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying the precoder indicated by the rank and TPMI indicated by the transmission beam of the SRS resource using the SRS resource indicated by the SRI; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0392] discloses The UE may map the transmission beam and the transmission precoder to each of the activated configured grant PUSCH repeated transmissions according to the transmission beam mapping method in the following second embodiment by using the plurality of SRIs or TPMIs indicated by a single DCI).
Regarding claim 18 and claim 30, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, (see claim 16) and The method of claim 28, (see claim 28).
wherein each of the one or more transmission reception points is associated with a respective quantity of sounding reference signal resources(Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2; Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a respective quantity of sounding reference signal ports, or a respective quantity of demodulation reference signals, or any combination thereof”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, (see claim 16).
wherein each of the one or more transmission reception points is associated with a respective beam (Lim, [0358] discloses For example, codebook-based PUSCH transmission may determine the UE's transmission beam by the SRI and TPMI transferred from the base station, i.e., a single TRP, to the UE; Lim, [0380] discloses Unlike the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering a single TRP, the PUSCH repeated transmission method considering multiple TRPs may be required to differently apply the transmission beam and the transmission precoder to transmission to the respective TRPs. Accordingly, the UE may receive an indication of a plurality of SRIs or TPMI through the DCI and apply them to the respective PUSCH repeated transmissions, thereby performing PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs; Lim, [0217] discloses the base station selects one of the SRS resources transmitted by the UE and instructs the UE to perform PUSCH transmission using transmission beam information about the corresponding SRS resource. In this case, in codebook-based PUSCH transmission, the SRI is used as information for selecting an index of one SRS resource and is included in the DCI. Additionally, the base station includes information indicating the TPMI and rank to be used by the UE for PUSCH transmission in the DCI. The UE performs PUSCH transmission by applying the precoder indicated by the rank and TPMI indicated by the transmission beam of the SRS resource using the SRS resource indicated by the SRI; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a respective transmission configuration indicator”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: (see claim 16).
an antenna, wherein the outputted second control signaling schedules the multi- transmission reception point communications (Lim, Fig. 7 & [0426] discloses As another example, when a plurality of antenna modules for beam formation are included in the UE, and the plurality of antenna modules are installed in different positions, a panel corresponding to each antenna module may be configured and Fig. 7 shows the base station forming beams; Lim, [0507] discloses Thereafter, two or more SRS resource indicators hereinafter, SRI fields may be indicated by scheduling DCI for repeatedly transmitting the PUSCH through multiple TRPs or when the higher layer parameter for configured grant PUSCH considering multiple TRPs is configured, the higher layer parameter for transmitting the corresponding configured grant PUSCH is configured; Lim, [0540] discloses In this case, the UE may identify, e.g., the SRI field indicated by the DCI or higher layer configured grant configuration for scheduling the PUSCH to grasp whether PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs is performed. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or single virtual transmission reception point communication”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 21, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, (see claim 20).
wherein a sounding reference signal resource indicator field or a precoding information and number of layers indicator field, or both, associated with the outputted second control signaling corresponds to a first transmission reception point or a second transmission reception point, or both associated with the set of multiple transmission reception points based at least in part on the outputted second control signaling scheduling the multi-transmission reception point communications (Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers; Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have).
Regarding claim 23, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, (see claim 16).
wherein the sounding reference signal configuration corresponds to codebook-based wireless communication (Lim, [0199] discloses A configuration for the use of the SRS resource referenced by the SRS resource set and may be set to one of ‘beamManagement,’ ‘codebook,’ ‘nonCodebook,’ and ‘antennaSwitching.’).
Regarding claim 24, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, (see claim 16).
wherein the sounding reference signal configuration corresponds to non-codebook-based wireless communication (Lim, [0199] discloses A configuration for the use of the SRS resource referenced by the SRS resource set and may be set to one of ‘beamManagement,’ ‘codebook,’ ‘nonCodebook,’ and ‘antennaSwitching.’).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0214954 herein after referenced as Lim) in view of BALIGH et al. (US Patent Publication 2017/0331645 herein after referenced as Baligh).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 5).
determine that the received second control signaling schedules the single (Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2).
Lim discloses performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP but fails to explicitly disclose a virtual TRP and therefore fails to disclose “the single virtual transmission reception point communication” and “a virtual transmission reception point”.
In a related field of endeavor, Baligh discloses:
the single virtual transmission reception point communication; a virtual transmission reception point (Baligh, Fig. 24 & [0207] discloses The method begins at 2400 with the UE determining an assigned SRS channel comprising a sequence, resource element pattern, and time frequency location based on a VTRP identifier of a VTRP serving the UE. The method continues at 2402 with transmitting an SRS using the assigned SRS channel; Baligh, [0110] discloses In some embodiments, the CSI-RS allocation is virtual TRP point VTRP-based. A VTRP consists of a group of TRPs that collectively serve a group of UEs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lim to incorporate the teachings of Baligh for the purpose of providing the system with a means to identify and utilize a virtual TRP that collectively serves a group of UEs (Baligh, [0110] & [0207]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lim, [0560]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP as taught by Lim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP, wherein the single TRP is a virtual TRP comprising a plurality of TRPs as taught by Baligh) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP (i.e. as taught by both Lim & Baligh) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Lim in view of Baligh discloses:
The apparatus of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein a sounding reference signal resource indicator field or a precoding information and number of layers indicator field, or both, associated with the received second control signaling corresponds to the third transmission reception point associated with the set of multiple transmission reception points (Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers; Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 10).
select at least one sounding reference signal resource set from the at least three sounding reference signal resource sets for the uplink communication based at least in part on the received third control signaling activating the singlereception point communication for the uplink communication, wherein, to communicate the uplink communication, the processor is configured to: communicate the uplink communication with a(Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have; Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0400] discloses In this case, upon PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI as in the 1-4th embodiment, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields to indicate the SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. In this case, each of the plurality of SRI fields may be interpreted in the same manner as the 3GPP standard NR Release 15/16. More specifically, the first SRI field may select the SRS resource in the first SRS resource set, and the second SRI field may select the SRS resource in the second SRS resource set; Lim, [0396] discloses During repeated PUSCH transmission considering multiple TRPs based on a single DCI, a plurality of SRIs indicated by a single DCI may be selected from SRS resources present in different SRS resource sets. For example, if two SRIs are indicated by a single DCI, the first SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #1, and the second SRI may be selected from SRS resource set #2).
Lim discloses performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP but fails to explicitly disclose a virtual TRP and therefore fails to disclose “the single virtual transmission reception point communication” and “a virtual transmission reception point”.
In a related field of endeavor, Baligh discloses:
the single virtual transmission reception point communication; a virtual transmission reception point (Baligh, Fig. 24 & [0207] discloses The method begins at 2400 with the UE determining an assigned SRS channel comprising a sequence, resource element pattern, and time frequency location based on a VTRP identifier of a VTRP serving the UE. The method continues at 2402 with transmitting an SRS using the assigned SRS channel; Baligh, [0110] discloses In some embodiments, the CSI-RS allocation is virtual TRP point VTRP-based. A VTRP consists of a group of TRPs that collectively serve a group of UEs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lim to incorporate the teachings of Baligh for the purpose of providing the system with a means to identify and utilize a virtual TRP that collectively serves a group of UEs (Baligh, [0110] & [0207]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lim, [0560]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP as taught by Lim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP, wherein the single TRP is a virtual TRP comprising a plurality of TRPs as taught by Baligh) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP (i.e. as taught by both Lim & Baligh) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 22, Lim discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, (see claim 20).
wherein a sounding reference signal resource indicator field or a precoding information and number of layers indicator field, or both, associated with the outputted second control signaling corresponds to a(Lim, [0411] discloses If the first SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP2. If the second SRI field indicates the codepoint indicating a reserved value, and the second SRI field indicates the SRS resource of the second SRS resource set, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP for TRP1. If both the SRI fields indicate the SRS resource of each SRS resource set, not the codepoint indicating a reserved value, the UE may perform PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs. In this case, the UE may identify layer information and TPMI index information from the first TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP1 and identify the TPMI index information from the second TPMI field to perform PUSCH repeated transmission for TRP2. In this case, upon PUSCH transmission for TRP1 and TRP2, the layers may be set to be the same; Lim, [0213] discloses if dynamically scheduled by codebook-based PUSCH DCI format 0_1 or semi-statically configured by configured grant, the UE determines a precoder for PUSCH transmission based on the SRS resource indicator SRI, transmission precoding matrix indicator TPMI, and transmission rank e.g. number of PUSCH transmission layers; Lim, [0404] discloses The UE may support a dynamic switching method of receiving a single DCI including a plurality of SRI fields and a plurality of TPMI fields and determining PUSCH repeated transmission considering multiple TRPs or PUSCH repeated transmission considering a single TRP based on the received single DCI. The UE may support dynamic switching using a reserved value that does not have any meaning among values that the plurality of TPMI fields or SRI fields included in the received DCI may have).
Lim discloses performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP but fails to explicitly disclose a virtual TRP and therefore fails to disclose “a virtual transmission reception point” and “single virtual transmission reception point communication”.
In a related field of endeavor, Baligh discloses:
a virtual transmission reception point; single virtual transmission reception point communication (Baligh, Fig. 24 & [0207] discloses The method begins at 2400 with the UE determining an assigned SRS channel comprising a sequence, resource element pattern, and time frequency location based on a VTRP identifier of a VTRP serving the UE. The method continues at 2402 with transmitting an SRS using the assigned SRS channel; Baligh, [0110] discloses In some embodiments, the CSI-RS allocation is virtual TRP point VTRP-based. A VTRP consists of a group of TRPs that collectively serve a group of UEs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lim to incorporate the teachings of Baligh for the purpose of providing the system with a means to identify and utilize a virtual TRP that collectively serves a group of UEs (Baligh, [0110] & [0207]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lim, [0560]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP as taught by Lim) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP, wherein the single TRP is a virtual TRP comprising a plurality of TRPs as taught by Baligh) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing communication with a single TRP and with multiple TRP (i.e. as taught by both Lim & Baligh) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645