DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: a wireless transceiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, the processor and the memory being configured to: (Page 13, lines 35-36, line 38; Page 14, line 1, lines 14-16: Figure 9 illustrates an apparatus configured to carry out the functions described above in connection with the terminal device 120. The apparatus may comprise a communication control circuitry 50 such as at least one processor, and at least one memory. The apparatus may further comprise a communication interface (TX/RX) 66 comprising hardware and/or software for realizing communication connectivity according to one or more communication protocols.)
receive a CSI configuration type (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 9, lines 14-17: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report. Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats.)
and report a quantization scheme to quantize the CSI report quantity based on a total number of payload bits available to report the CSI report quantity (Page 7, lines 18-22: The number of bits may be defined by specifying an appropriate quantization granularity for the elements of the channel matrix. In another embodiment, the spatial granularity may refer to whether the terminal device transmits a CQI per spatial channel or one CQI for all spatial channels. In this context, the quantization granularity may specify the word length for the CQI reporting. Page 9, lines 14-22: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report, wherein the plurality of candidate transmission formats differ from one another in at least one of the following characteristics…. a number of bits for quantizing contents of the channel measurement report. Page 11, lines 29-32: the terminal device generates the channel measurement report and the indicator indicating the feedback scheme and transmits the channel measurement report and the indicator in an uplink control message to the access node in step 700.)
Wang does not explicitly teach to receive a CSI configuration type and an identification of a CSI report quantity associated with a first number of channel measurement resources (CMRs).
However, Kim teaches to receive a CSI configuration type and an identification of a CSI report quantity associated with a first number of channel measurement resources (CMRs) (Abstract: A method by which a terminal transmits channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, according to one embodiment of the disclosure, can comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, CSI related configuration information including a first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report configuration; calculating a channel quality indicator (CQI)….and reporting, to the base station, first CSI including the first interference-based CQI. Paragraph [0203]: ii) Information related to CSI resource configuration may be expressed as CSI-ResourceConfig IE. Information related to a CSI resource configuration defines a group which includes at least one of an NZP (non zero power) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set or a CSI-SSB resource set. In other words, the information related to a CSI resource configuration may include a CSI-RS resource set list and the CSI-RS resource set list may include at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set list, a CSI-IM resource set list or a CSI-SSB resource set list. Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive a CSI configuration type and an identification of a CSI report quantity associated with a first number of channel measurement resources (CMRs), as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang further teaches wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 9, lines 14-17: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report. Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats.)
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), or semipersistent (SP).
However, Kim teaches wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), or semipersistent (SP) (Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), or semipersistent (SP), as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang further teaches wherein the CSI configuration type are received from a network and the quantization scheme is reported to the network (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 7, lines 18-22: The number of bits may be defined by specifying an appropriate quantization granularity for the elements of the channel matrix. In another embodiment, the spatial granularity may refer to whether the terminal device transmits a CQI per spatial channel or one CQI for all spatial channels. In this context, the quantization granularity may specify the word length for the CQI reporting. Page 9, lines 14-22: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report, wherein the plurality of candidate transmission formats differ from one another in at least one of the following characteristics…. a number of bits for quantizing contents of the channel measurement report Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats. Page 11, lines 29-32: the terminal device generates the channel measurement report and the indicator indicating the feedback scheme and transmits the channel measurement report and the indicator in an uplink control message to the access node in step 700.)
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the CSI configuration type and the identification of the CSI report quantity are received from a network.
However, Kim teaches wherein the CSI configuration type and the identification of the CSI report quantity are received from a network (Abstract: A method by which a terminal transmits channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, according to one embodiment of the disclosure, can comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, CSI related configuration information including a first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report configuration; calculating a channel quality indicator (CQI)….and reporting, to the base station, first CSI including the first interference-based CQI. Paragraph [0203]: ii) Information related to CSI resource configuration may be expressed as CSI-ResourceConfig IE. Information related to a CSI resource configuration defines a group which includes at least one of an NZP (non zero power) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set or a CSI-SSB resource set. In other words, the information related to a CSI resource configuration may include a CSI-RS resource set list and the CSI-RS resource set list may include at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set list, a CSI-IM resource set list or a CSI-SSB resource set list. Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CSI configuration type and the identification of the CSI report quantity are received from a network, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang further teaches to select the quantization scheme from a set of quantization scheme options preconfigured at a network access node (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 7, lines 18-22: The number of bits may be defined by specifying an appropriate quantization granularity for the elements of the channel matrix. In another embodiment, the spatial granularity may refer to whether the terminal device transmits a CQI per spatial channel or one CQI for all spatial channels. In this context, the quantization granularity may specify the word length for the CQI reporting. Page 9, lines 14-22: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report, wherein the plurality of candidate transmission formats differ from one another in at least one of the following characteristics…. a number of bits for quantizing contents of the channel measurement report Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats. Page 11, lines 29-32: the terminal device generates the channel measurement report and the indicator indicating the feedback scheme and transmits the channel measurement report and the indicator in an uplink control message to the access node in step 700.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang further teaches wherein the total number of payload bits to report the quantization scheme is determined by total number of a set of quantization scheme options preconfigured at a network access node (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 7, lines 18-22: The number of bits may be defined by specifying an appropriate quantization granularity for the elements of the channel matrix. In another embodiment, the spatial granularity may refer to whether the terminal device transmits a CQI per spatial channel or one CQI for all spatial channels. In this context, the quantization granularity may specify the word length for the CQI reporting. Page 9, lines 14-22: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report, wherein the plurality of candidate transmission formats differ from one another in at least one of the following characteristics…. a number of bits for quantizing contents of the channel measurement report Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats. Page 11, lines 30-32: the terminal device generates the channel measurement report and the indicator indicating the feedback scheme and transmits the channel measurement report and the indicator in an uplink control message to the access node in step 700.)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang does not explicitly teach to report the first number of CMRs.
However, Kim teaches to report the first number of CMRs (Abstract: A method by which a terminal transmits channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, according to one embodiment of the disclosure, can comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, CSI related configuration information including a first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report configuration; calculating a channel quality indicator (CQI) on the basis of the assumption that a first channel measurement resource (CMR) related to the first CSI report configuration is an IMR and that a first interference measurement resource (IMR) related to the first CSI report configuration is a CMR; and reporting, to the base station, first CSI including the first interference-based CQI. Paragraph [0203]: ii) Information related to CSI resource configuration may be expressed as CSI-ResourceConfig IE. Information related to a CSI resource configuration defines a group which includes at least one of an NZP (non zero power) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set or a CSI-SSB resource set. In other words, the information related to a CSI resource configuration may include a CSI-RS resource set list and the CSI-RS resource set list may include at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set list, a CSI-IM resource set list or a CSI-SSB resource set list. Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported. Paragraph [0227]: In other words, a CMR (channel measurement resource) may be a NZP CSI-RS for CSI acquisition. Paragraph [0389]: In step S1820, the terminal may calculate the first CSI based on the first CMR and the first IMR for the first TRP (or based on the first CSI report configuration). The first CSI may include a first CQI calculated based on assuming the first CMR as the CMR and assuming the first IMR as the IMR (i.e., calculated based on {the first CMR, the first IMR}). In addition, when interference-based CQI calculation/reporting is configured, the terminal may calculate the first interference-based CQI calculated based on assuming the first IMR as the CMR and assuming the first CMR as the IMR (i.e., calculated based on {first IMR, first CMR}). Paragraph [0390]: In step S1830, the terminal may transmit the first interference-based CQI together with or separately from the first CSI to the base station. Also see Table 10, Paragraphs [0343] – [0344]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report the first number of CMRs, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that the terminal calculates and reports the CSI based on the channel measurement resources (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0227], [389], [0390]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 18, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 18);
Wang does not explicitly teach to report the first number of CMRs, in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic or semipersistent, by at least one of: reporting an identifier of an option selected from a plurality of options preconfigured to the wireless communication device by a network access node, reporting the first number of CMRs using a second number of bits based on the first number of CMRs associated with a CSI report, reporting the first number of CMRs together with the CSI report, or reporting a default value of the first number of CMRs.
However, Kim teaches to report the first number of CMRs, in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic or semipersistent, by reporting the first number of CMRs together with the CSI report (Abstract: A method by which a terminal transmits channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, according to one embodiment of the disclosure, can comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, CSI related configuration information including a first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report configuration; calculating a channel quality indicator (CQI) on the basis of the assumption that a first channel measurement resource (CMR) related to the first CSI report configuration is an IMR and that a first interference measurement resource (IMR) related to the first CSI report configuration is a CMR; and reporting, to the base station, first CSI including the first interference-based CQI. Paragraph [0203]: ii) Information related to CSI resource configuration may be expressed as CSI-ResourceConfig IE. Information related to a CSI resource configuration defines a group which includes at least one of an NZP (non zero power) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set or a CSI-SSB resource set. In other words, the information related to a CSI resource configuration may include a CSI-RS resource set list and the CSI-RS resource set list may include at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set list, a CSI-IM resource set list or a CSI-SSB resource set list. Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported. Paragraph [0227]: In other words, a CMR (channel measurement resource) may be a NZP CSI-RS for CSI acquisition. Paragraph [0389]: In step S1820, the terminal may calculate the first CSI based on the first CMR and the first IMR for the first TRP (or based on the first CSI report configuration). The first CSI may include a first CQI calculated based on assuming the first CMR as the CMR and assuming the first IMR as the IMR (i.e., calculated based on {the first CMR, the first IMR}). In addition, when interference-based CQI calculation/reporting is configured, the terminal may calculate the first interference-based CQI calculated based on assuming the first IMR as the CMR and assuming the first CMR as the IMR (i.e., calculated based on {first IMR, first CMR}). Paragraph [0390]: In step S1830, the terminal may transmit the first interference-based CQI together with or separately from the first CSI to the base station. Also see Table 10, Paragraphs [0343] – [0344]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report the first number of CMRs, in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic or semipersistent, by reporting the first number of CMRs together with the CSI report, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that the terminal calculates and reports the CSI based on the channel measurement resources (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0227], [389], [0390]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 18, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 18);
Wang does not explicitly teach to report, in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, the first number of CMRs by at least one of: reporting an identifier of an option selected from a plurality of options preconfigured to the wireless communication device by a network access node, reporting the first number of CMRs using a second number of bits based on the first number of CMRs associated with the CSI report, or reporting the first number of CMRs together with the CSI report.
However, Kim teaches to report, in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, the first number of CMRs by reporting the first number of CMRs together with the CSI report (Abstract: A method by which a terminal transmits channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, according to one embodiment of the disclosure, can comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, CSI related configuration information including a first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report configuration; calculating a channel quality indicator (CQI) on the basis of the assumption that a first channel measurement resource (CMR) related to the first CSI report configuration is an IMR and that a first interference measurement resource (IMR) related to the first CSI report configuration is a CMR; and reporting, to the base station, first CSI including the first interference-based CQI. Paragraph [0203]: ii) Information related to CSI resource configuration may be expressed as CSI-ResourceConfig IE. Information related to a CSI resource configuration defines a group which includes at least one of an NZP (non zero power) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set or a CSI-SSB resource set. In other words, the information related to a CSI resource configuration may include a CSI-RS resource set list and the CSI-RS resource set list may include at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set list, a CSI-IM resource set list or a CSI-SSB resource set list. Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported. Paragraph [0227]: In other words, a CMR (channel measurement resource) may be a NZP CSI-RS for CSI acquisition. Paragraph [0389]: In step S1820, the terminal may calculate the first CSI based on the first CMR and the first IMR for the first TRP (or based on the first CSI report configuration). The first CSI may include a first CQI calculated based on assuming the first CMR as the CMR and assuming the first IMR as the IMR (i.e., calculated based on {the first CMR, the first IMR}). In addition, when interference-based CQI calculation/reporting is configured, the terminal may calculate the first interference-based CQI calculated based on assuming the first IMR as the CMR and assuming the first CMR as the IMR (i.e., calculated based on {first IMR, first CMR}). Paragraph [0390]: In step S1830, the terminal may transmit the first interference-based CQI together with or separately from the first CSI to the base station. Also see Table 10, Paragraphs [0343] – [0344]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report, in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, the first number of CMRs by reporting the first number of CMRs together with the CSI report, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that the terminal calculates and reports the CSI based on the channel measurement resources (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0227], [389], [0390]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches a method at a wireless communication device, the method comprising: receiving a CSI configuration type; and reporting a quantization scheme to quantize the CSI report quantity based on a total number of payload bits available to report the CSI report quantity (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang does not explicitly teach receiving a CSI configuration type and an identification of a CSI report quantity associated with a first number of channel measurement resources (CMRs).
However, Kim teaches receiving a CSI configuration type and an identification of a CSI report quantity associated with a first number of channel measurement resources (CMRs) (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive a CSI configuration type and an identification of a CSI report quantity associated with a first number of channel measurement resources (CMRs), as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Wang further teaches wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP) (see rejection for claim 2);
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), or semipersistent (SP).
However, Kim teaches wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), or semipersistent (SP) (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CSI configuration type is periodic (P), aperiodic (AP), or semipersistent (SP), as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Wang further teaches wherein the CSI configuration type are received from a network and the quantization scheme is reported to the network (see rejection for claim 3);
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the CSI configuration type and the identification of the CSI report quantity are received from a network.
However, Kim teaches wherein the CSI configuration type and the identification of the CSI report quantity are received from a network (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the CSI configuration type and the identification of the CSI report quantity are received from a network, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
Wang further teaches selecting the quantization scheme from a set of quantization scheme options preconfigured at a network access node (see rejection for claim 7);
Claims 4, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of He et al. (US2021/0160830A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to receive the total number of payload bits via radio resource control (RRC) signaling in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic.
However, He teaches to receive the total number of payload bits via radio resource control (RRC) signaling in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic (Paragraph [0018]: Alternatively, a reserved PUCCH resource can be indicated explicitly via signaling to the UE (e.g. RRC signaling), or by a combination of implicit and explicit signaling. In addition, for simultaneous transmission of multi-CCs HARQ-ACK and multi-CCs P-CSI using PUCCH format X, the maximum allowed P-CSI payload may be RRC configurable.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive the total number of payload bits via radio resource control (RRC) signaling in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, as taught by He in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the allowed payload for transmitting the periodic CSI (P-CSI) can be configured by the base station via RRC signaling, in order to improve uplink throughput performance (He: Paragraphs [0015], [0018]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, the total number of payload bits via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, He teaches receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, the total number of payload bits via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, the total number of payload bits via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, as taught by He in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the allowed payload for transmitting the periodic CSI (P-CSI) can be configured by the base station via RRC signaling, in order to improve uplink throughput performance (He: Paragraphs [0015], [0018]).
Claims 5, 6, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of Harrison et al. (US2024/0137911A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to receive, in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, the total number of payload bits via at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configured a CSI report, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that activated the CSI report, or a first downlink control information (DCI) that triggered the CSI report.
However, Harrison teaches to receive, in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, the total number of payload bits via, a first downlink control information (DCI) that triggered the CSI report (Paragraph [0125]: Semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated or deactivated dynamically by using DCI. The reference network node to wireless device transmission scheme (used to compute CSI), CSI feedback type and other related CSI parameters such as CSI-RS resource are also indicated in the DCI. Paragraph [0126]: More specifically, the wireless device can be configured with multiple CSI reporting settings using higher layer signaling from the network node and the DCI that activates semi-persistent CSI reporting selects one of the CSI report settings. A CSI report setting contains a transmission scheme, CSI feedback type and other related CSI parameters. Paragraph [0127]: The PUSCH resource is allocated dynamically in the DCI based on the CSI payload size according to the reference transmission scheme and CSI feedback type.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive, in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, the total number of payload bits via, a first downlink control information (DCI) that triggered the CSI report, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the control signaling can configure CSI in semi-persistent CSI reporting for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0123] – [0127]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to receive the total number of payload bits via a DCI that triggered the CSI report in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic.
However, Harrison teaches to receive the total number of payload bits via a DCI that triggered the CSI report in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic (Paragraph [0061]: Aperiodic CSI-RS Transmission: This is a “one-shot” CSI-RS transmission that can happen in any subframe. One-shot signifies that CSI-RS transmission only happens once per trigger. The CSI-RS resources (i.e., the resource element locations which consist of subcarrier locations and OFDM symbol locations) for aperiodic CSI-RS are semi-statically configured. The transmission of aperiodic CSI-RS is triggered by dynamic signaling through the PDCCH. The triggering may also include selecting a CSI-RS resource from multiple CSI-RS resources. Paragraph [0066]: PUSCH resources carrying aperiodic CSI reporting are dynamically allocated through uplink grants carried over the PDCCH or the enhanced PDCCH (EPDCCH), and can occupy a variable number of PRBs, use modulation states such as QPSK, 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and 64 QAM, as well as multiple spatial layers. So the PUSCH is more flexible in terms of resource allocation in adapting to UCI payload size. Paragraph [0072]: Aperiodic CSI Reporting: This type of CSI reporting involves a single-shot (i.e., one time) CSI report by the wireless device which is dynamically triggered by the network node, e.g. by the DCI in the PDCCH. Some of the parameters related to the configuration of the aperiodic CSI report is semi-statically configured from the network node to the wireless device but the triggering is dynamic.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive the total number of payload bits via a DCI that triggered the CSI report in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the control signaling can configure CSI reporting for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0061], [0066], [0072], [0122] – [0123]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, the total number of payload bits via at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configured a CSI report, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that activated the CSI report, or a first downlink control information (DCI) that triggered the CSI report.
However, Harrison teaches receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, the total number of payload bits via a first downlink control information (DCI) that triggered the CSI report (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, the total number of payload bits via a first downlink control information (DCI) that triggered the CSI report, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the control signaling can configure CSI in semi-persistent CSI reporting for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0123] – [0127]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, the total number of payload bits via a DCI that triggered the CSI report.
However, Harrison teaches receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, the total number of payload bits via a DCI that triggered the CSI report (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, in response to the CSI configuration type being aperiodic, the total number of payload bits via a DCI that triggered the CSI report, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the control signaling can configure CSI reporting for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0061], [0066], [0072], [0122] – [0123]).
Claims 9, 10, 11, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of Salem et al. (US2023/0283342A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to at least one of: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to report for each respective layer 1-RSRP (L1-RSRP) or respective signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the first number of CMRs, whether a reported value of the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR is an absolute value or a differential value, or report for each respective L1-RSRP or respective SINR of the first number of CMRs, a quantity of a number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR.
However, Salem teaches to report for each respective layer 1-RSRP (L1-RSRP) or respective signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the first number of CMRs, whether a reported value of the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR is an absolute value or a differential value, or report for each respective L1-RSRP or respective SINR of the first number of CMRs, a quantity of a number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR (Paragraph [0041]: Because generally for parameters in a CSI report, the differential quantity has a smaller range of values than the raw values of the CSI quantity, a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value; for example, for L1-RSRP, the raw value has 7 bits while the differential value has 4 bits. Paragraph [0044]: if the higher layer CSI quantity nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, or if the higher layer CSI quantity groupBasedBeamReporting is configured as ‘enabled’, UE uses differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest measured value of L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with 1 dB step size, and the differential L1-RSRP is quantized to a 4-bit value. The differential L1-RSRP value is computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest measured L1-RSRP value which is part of the same L1-RSRP reporting instance. Paragraph [0073]: For L1-RSRP/L1-SINR, if the joint quantization across reports is enabled and the higher layer CSI quantity nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, or if the higher layer CSI quantity groupBasedBeamReporting is configured as ‘enabled’, the UE shall use differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest measured value of L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with 1 dB step size. This value is taken as reference for all RSRP values. The report in which the largest RSRP value was computed, is indicated as a reference via a novel reference report indication. The largest RSRP value in the other reports are quantized differentially to a lower number of bits (e.g. 4 bits). All other RSRP values are quantized differentially to 4 bits with respect to the largest RSRP value per reports. Also see paragraphs [0090] - [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report for each respective layer 1-RSRP (L1-RSRP) or respective signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the first number of CMRs, whether a reported value of the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR is an absolute value or a differential value, or report for each respective L1-RSRP or respective SINR of the first number of CMRs, a quantity of a number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR, as taught by Salem in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value (Salem: Paragraphs [0041], [0044], [0073]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang, Kim, and Salem teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to identify the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR that serves as a basis for the differential value in a given reporting instance, in response to the reported value being the differential value.
However, Salem teaches to identify the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR that serves as a basis for the differential value in a given reporting instance, in response to the reported value being the differential value (Paragraph [0041]: Because generally for parameters in a CSI report, the differential quantity has a smaller range of values than the raw values of the CSI quantity, a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value; for example, for L1-RSRP, the raw value has 7 bits while the differential value has 4 bits. Paragraph [0044]: if the higher layer CSI quantity nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, or if the higher layer CSI quantity groupBasedBeamReporting is configured as ‘enabled’, UE uses differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest measured value of L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with 1 dB step size, and the differential L1-RSRP is quantized to a 4-bit value. The differential L1-RSRP value is computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest measured L1-RSRP value which is part of the same L1-RSRP reporting instance. Paragraph [0073]: For L1-RSRP/L1-SINR, if the joint quantization across reports is enabled and the higher layer CSI quantity nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, or if the higher layer CSI quantity groupBasedBeamReporting is configured as ‘enabled’, the UE shall use differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest measured value of L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with 1 dB step size. This value is taken as reference for all RSRP values. The report in which the largest RSRP value was computed, is indicated as a reference via a novel reference report indication. The largest RSRP value in the other reports are quantized differentially to a lower number of bits (e.g. 4 bits). All other RSRP values are quantized differentially to 4 bits with respect to the largest RSRP value per reports. Also see paragraphs [0090] - [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to identify the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR that serves as a basis for the differential value in a given reporting instance, in response to the reported value being the differential value, as taught by Salem in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value (Salem: Paragraphs [0041], [0044], [0073]).
Regarding clam 11, the combination of Wang, Kim, and Salem teaches the wireless communication device of claim 9, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to report a dynamic range of the quantization scheme and a step-size between adjacent L1- RSRP or SINR codepoints in a given reporting instance, in addition to reporting the quantity of the number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR.
However, Salem teaches to report a dynamic range of the quantization scheme and a step-size between adjacent L1- RSRP or SINR codepoints in a given reporting instance, in addition to reporting the quantity of the number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR (Paragraph [0041]: Because generally for parameters in a CSI report, the differential quantity has a smaller range of values than the raw values of the CSI quantity, a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value; for example, for L1-RSRP, the raw value has 7 bits while the differential value has 4 bits. Paragraph [0044]: Additionally, the dynamic range of the CQI for single and joint TRP transmission is low enough to enable differential quantization without loss of performance. The same observation may be extended to L1-RSRP where, if the higher layer CSI quantity nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, or if the higher layer CSI quantity groupBasedBeamReporting is configured as ‘enabled’, UE uses differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest measured value of L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with 1 dB step size, and the differential L1-RSRP is quantized to a 4-bit value. The differential L1-RSRP value is computed with 2 dB step size with a reference to the largest measured L1-RSRP value which is part of the same L1-RSRP reporting instance. Paragraph [0073]: For L1-RSRP/L1-SINR, if the joint quantization across reports is enabled and the higher layer CSI quantity nrofReportedRS is configured to be larger than one, or if the higher layer CSI quantity groupBasedBeamReporting is configured as ‘enabled’, the UE shall use differential L1-RSRP based reporting, where the largest measured value of L1-RSRP is quantized to a 7-bit value in the range [−140, −44] dBm with 1 dB step size. This value is taken as reference for all RSRP values. The report in which the largest RSRP value was computed, is indicated as a reference via a novel reference report indication. The largest RSRP value in the other reports are quantized differentially to a lower number of bits (e.g. 4 bits). All other RSRP values are quantized differentially to 4 bits with respect to the largest RSRP value per reports. Also see paragraphs [0090] - [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report a dynamic range of the quantization scheme and a step-size between adjacent L1- RSRP or SINR codepoints in a given reporting instance, in addition to reporting the quantity of the number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR, as taught by Salem in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value (Salem: Paragraphs [0041], [0044], [0073]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising at least one of: (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach reporting for each respective layer 1-RSRP (L1-RSRP) or respective signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the first number of CMRs, whether a reported value of the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR is an absolute value or a differential value, or reporting for each respective L1-RSRP or respective SINR of the first number of CMRs, a quantity of a number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR.
However, Salem teaches reporting for each respective layer 1-RSRP (L1-RSRP) or respective signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the first number of CMRs, whether a reported value of the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR is an absolute value or a differential value, or reporting for each respective L1-RSRP or respective SINR of the first number of CMRs, a quantity of a number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR (see rejection for claim 9);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide reporting for each respective layer 1-RSRP (L1-RSRP) or respective signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of the first number of CMRs, whether a reported value of the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR is an absolute value or a differential value, or reporting for each respective L1-RSRP or respective SINR of the first number of CMRs, a quantity of a number of bits used to quantize the respective L1-RSRP or the respective SINR, as taught by Salem in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that a quantization of the differential value of the CSI quantity will have fewer bits than the raw value (Salem: Paragraphs [0041], [0044], [0073]).
Claims 12, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of He et al. (US2021/0160830A1) and Harrison et al. (US2024/0137911A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang further teaches to configure, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme; and select, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 7, lines 18-22: The number of bits may be defined by specifying an appropriate quantization granularity for the elements of the channel matrix. In another embodiment, the spatial granularity may refer to whether the terminal device transmits a CQI per spatial channel or one CQI for all spatial channels. In this context, the quantization granularity may specify the word length for the CQI reporting. Page 9, lines 14-22: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report, wherein the plurality of candidate transmission formats differ from one another in at least one of the following characteristics…. a number of bits for quantizing contents of the channel measurement report Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats. Page 11, lines 30-32: the terminal device generates the channel measurement report and the indicator indicating the feedback scheme and transmits the channel measurement report and the indicator in an uplink control message to the access node in step 700.)
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to configure, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic; and select, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic.
However, He teaches to configure, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic (Paragraph [0018]: Alternatively, a reserved PUCCH resource can be indicated explicitly via signaling to the UE (e.g. RRC signaling), or by a combination of implicit and explicit signaling. In addition, for simultaneous transmission of multi-CCs HARQ-ACK and multi-CCs P-CSI using PUCCH format X, the maximum allowed P-CSI payload may be RRC configurable.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to configure, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, as taught by He in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the allowed payload for transmitting the periodic CSI (P-CSI) can be configured by the base station via RRC signaling, in order to improve uplink throughput performance (He: Paragraphs [0015], [0018]).
The combination of Wang, Kim, and He does not explicitly teach to select, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic.
However, Harrison teaches to select, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic (Paragraph [0061]: Aperiodic CSI-RS Transmission: This is a “one-shot” CSI-RS transmission that can happen in any subframe. One-shot signifies that CSI-RS transmission only happens once per trigger. The CSI-RS resources (i.e., the resource element locations which consist of subcarrier locations and OFDM symbol locations) for aperiodic CSI-RS are semi-statically configured. The transmission of aperiodic CSI-RS is triggered by dynamic signaling through the PDCCH. The triggering may also include selecting a CSI-RS resource from multiple CSI-RS resources. Paragraph [0066]: PUSCH resources carrying aperiodic CSI reporting are dynamically allocated through uplink grants carried over the PDCCH or the enhanced PDCCH (EPDCCH), and can occupy a variable number of PRBs, use modulation states such as QPSK, 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and 64 QAM, as well as multiple spatial layers. So the PUSCH is more flexible in terms of resource allocation in adapting to UCI payload size. Paragraph [0072]: Aperiodic CSI Reporting: This type of CSI reporting involves a single-shot (i.e., one time) CSI report by the wireless device which is dynamically triggered by the network node, e.g. by the DCI in the PDCCH. Some of the parameters related to the configuration of the aperiodic CSI report is semi-statically configured from the network node to the wireless device but the triggering is dynamic. Paragraph [0125]: Semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated or deactivated dynamically by using DCI. The reference network node to wireless device transmission scheme (used to compute CSI), CSI feedback type and other related CSI parameters such as CSI-RS resource are also indicated in the DCI. Paragraph [0126]: More specifically, the wireless device can be configured with multiple CSI reporting settings using higher layer signaling from the network node and the DCI that activates semi-persistent CSI reporting selects one of the CSI report settings. A CSI report setting contains a transmission scheme, CSI feedback type and other related CSI parameters. Paragraph [0127]: The PUSCH resource is allocated dynamically in the DCI based on the CSI payload size according to the reference transmission scheme and CSI feedback type.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to select, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang, Kim, and He, so that the CSI in semi-persistent CSI reporting can be configured for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0123] – [0127]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
Wang further teaches configuring, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme; and selecting, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme (see rejection for claim 12);
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach configuring, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic; and selecting, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic.
However, He teaches configuring, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic (see rejection for claim 12);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide configuring, by an associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, as taught by He in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the allowed payload for transmitting the periodic CSI (P-CSI) can be configured by the base station via RRC signaling, in order to improve uplink throughput performance (He: Paragraphs [0015], [0018]).
The combination of Wang, Kim, and He does not explicitly teach selecting, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic.
However, Harrison teaches selecting, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic (see rejection for claim 12);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting, from a plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting, the quantization scheme in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang, Kim, and He, so that the CSI in semi-persistent CSI reporting can be configured for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0123] – [0127]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of He et al. (US2021/0160830A1), Harrison et al. (US2024/0137911A1) and Echigo et al. (US2025/0219693A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang, Kim, He, and Harrison teaches the wireless communication device of claim 12, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 12);
The combination of Wang, Kim, and He does not explicitly teach to limit a range of the quantization scheme to a subset of the plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic and a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) activating a semipersistent CSI report or a downlink control information (DCI) triggering an aperiodic CSI report.
However, Harrison teaches to limit a range of the quantization scheme to a subset of the plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic; a downlink control information (DCI) triggering an aperiodic CSI report (Paragraph [0061]: Aperiodic CSI-RS Transmission: This is a “one-shot” CSI-RS transmission that can happen in any subframe. One-shot signifies that CSI-RS transmission only happens once per trigger. The CSI-RS resources (i.e., the resource element locations which consist of subcarrier locations and OFDM symbol locations) for aperiodic CSI-RS are semi-statically configured. The transmission of aperiodic CSI-RS is triggered by dynamic signaling through the PDCCH. The triggering may also include selecting a CSI-RS resource from multiple CSI-RS resources. Paragraph [0066]: PUSCH resources carrying aperiodic CSI reporting are dynamically allocated through uplink grants carried over the PDCCH or the enhanced PDCCH (EPDCCH), and can occupy a variable number of PRBs, use modulation states such as QPSK, 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), and 64 QAM, as well as multiple spatial layers. So the PUSCH is more flexible in terms of resource allocation in adapting to UCI payload size. Paragraph [0072]: Aperiodic CSI Reporting: This type of CSI reporting involves a single-shot (i.e., one time) CSI report by the wireless device which is dynamically triggered by the network node, e.g. by the DCI in the PDCCH. Some of the parameters related to the configuration of the aperiodic CSI report is semi-statically configured from the network node to the wireless device but the triggering is dynamic. Paragraph [0125]: Semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated or deactivated dynamically by using DCI. The reference network node to wireless device transmission scheme (used to compute CSI), CSI feedback type and other related CSI parameters such as CSI-RS resource are also indicated in the DCI. Paragraph [0126]: More specifically, the wireless device can be configured with multiple CSI reporting settings using higher layer signaling from the network node and the DCI that activates semi-persistent CSI reporting selects one of the CSI report settings. A CSI report setting contains a transmission scheme, CSI feedback type and other related CSI parameters. Paragraph [0127]: The PUSCH resource is allocated dynamically in the DCI based on the CSI payload size according to the reference transmission scheme and CSI feedback type.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to limit a range of the quantization scheme to a subset of the plurality of quantization schemes that are pre-configured by the associated CSI report setting in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent or aperiodic; a downlink control information (DCI) triggering an aperiodic CSI report, as taught by Harrison in the combined system of Wang, Kim, and He, so that the CSI in semi-persistent CSI reporting can be configured for better spectral efficiency (Harrison: Paragraphs [0123] – [0127]).
The combination of Wang, Kim, He, and Harrison doe not explicitly teach a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) activating a semipersistent CSI report.
However, Echigo teaches a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) activating a semipersistent CSI report (Paragraph [0178]: Which is to be reported between first CSI (for example, the encoded CSI feedback) and second CSI (for example, the conventional CSI feedback) may be notified to the UE using DCI used for triggering/MAC CE used for activation. The DCI used for triggering (for example, triggering DCI) may be used for triggering of the aperiodic CSI report, and the MAC CE used for activation (activation MAC CE) may be used for activation of the semi-persistent CSI report.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) activating a semipersistent CSI report, as taught by Echigo in the combined system of Wang, Kim, He, and Harrison, so that the network may indicate or configure for the UE, information related to the CSI to be fed back as a report by the UE (Echigo: Paragraphs [0145], [0178]).
Claims 14, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of Echigo et al. (US2025/0219693A1), and Niu et al. (US2023/0299826A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 1);
Wang further teaches to report the quantization scheme together with a CSI report (Page 6, lines 10-14: Referring to Figure 3, the process in the access node comprises: providing the terminal device with a resource budget for transmittal of a channel measurement report from the terminal device to the access node (block 300); and receiving the channel measurement report from the terminal device according to a feedback scheme selected by the terminal device in compliance with the resource budget (block 302). Page 7, lines 18-22: The number of bits may be defined by specifying an appropriate quantization granularity for the elements of the channel matrix. In another embodiment, the spatial granularity may refer to whether the terminal device transmits a CQI per spatial channel or one CQI for all spatial channels. In this context, the quantization granularity may specify the word length for the CQI reporting. Page 9, lines 14-22: In an embodiment, the terminal device selects a transmission format of the channel measurement report on the basis of the resource budget and a result of the channel measurements. The resource budget may define a plurality of candidate transmission formats for the channel measurement report, wherein the plurality of candidate transmission formats differ from one another in at least one of the following characteristics…. a number of bits for quantizing contents of the channel measurement report Page 9, lines 23-24: the candidate transmission formats may specify a periodic transmission format and an aperiodic transmission format. Page 9, lines 33-34: The access node may indicate the resource budget that may limit the available set of candidate transmission formats. Page 11, lines 29-32: the terminal device generates the channel measurement report and the indicator indicating the feedback scheme and transmits the channel measurement report and the indicator in an uplink control message to the access node in step 700.)
Wang does not explicitly teach in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, semipersistent, or aperiodic.
However, Kim teaches in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, semipersistent, or aperiodic (Paragraph [0205]: iii) Information related to a CSI report configuration includes a report configuration type (reportConfigType) parameter representing a time domain behavior and a report quantity (reportQuantity) parameter representing CSI-related quantity for a report. The time domain behavior may be periodic, aperiodic or semi-persistent. Paragraph [0212]: As a time domain behavior of CSI measurement and reporting, aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic CM (channel measurement) and IM (interference measurement) are supported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, semipersistent, or aperiodic, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach to report the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic or semipersistent.
However, Echigo teaches to report the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent (Paragraph [0178]: Which is to be reported between first CSI (for example, the encoded CSI feedback) and second CSI (for example, the conventional CSI feedback) may be notified to the UE using DCI used for triggering/MAC CE used for activation. The DCI used for triggering (for example, triggering DCI) may be used for triggering of the aperiodic CSI report, and the MAC CE used for activation (activation MAC CE) may be used for activation of the semi-persistent CSI report. Paragraph [0205]: The encoded CSI feedback related parameters may include CSI encoder parameters (for example, CSI encoder parameters) and at least one of the quantization parameters (for example, the quantization parameters), for example. The CSI encoder parameters may include at least one of auto-encoder selection (for example, auto-encoder selection) and a compression rate (for example, a compression rate). The quantization parameters (for example, quantization parameters) may include at least one of a quantization function (for example, a quantization function) and a quantization level (for example, a quantization level). Paragraph [0211]: The encoded CSI feedback related parameters may be implicitly indicated by a parameter (for example, an RRC configuration parameter) included in certain higher layer parameters related to the trigger state of the CSI and triggering DCI/activation MAC CE. The certain higher layer parameters may be CSI-SemiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerState/CSI-SemiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, as taught by Echigo in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the network may indicate or configure for the UE, information related to the CSI to be fed back as a report by the UE (Echigo: Paragraphs [0145], [0178]).
The combination of Wang, Kim, and Echigo does not explicitly teach to report the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic.
However, Niu teaches to report the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic (Paragraph [0212]: Additionally or alternatively, the base station may utilize RRC configuration or MAC CE signaling to enable L1-RSSI feedback for the UE. Accordingly, the UE may, in response to the signaling, send or transmit a quantized L1-RSSI. Paragraph [0213]: According to some embodiments, the UE may be configured by higher layers (e.g., RRC or MAC-CE) to perform periodic CSI reporting via PUCCH transmissions. The periodic CSI reporting may further correspond to CSI reporting settings and associated CSI resource settings which may also be configured via higher layers. In addition to including the L1-RSSI report as part of the CCA procedure, the L1-RSSI quantization may correspond to 1-bit quantization comparison to an EDT. In some embodiments, this 1-bit quantization comparison may be used to minimize the payload size of the PUCCH. Additionally or alternatively, the PUCCH resource used to report the quantized L1-RSSI may further include a PUCCH resource index configured by higher layer signaling such RRC or MAC CE signaling, according to some embodiments.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to report the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, as taught by Niu in the combined system of Wang, Kim, and Echigo, so that the UE can perform periodic CSI reporting, and transmit a quantized L1-RSSI feedback (Niu: Paragraphs [0212], [0213]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 21);
Wang further teaches reporting the quantization scheme together with a CSI report (see
rejection for claim 14);
Wang does not explicitly teach in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, semipersistent, or aperiodic.
However, Kim teaches in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, semipersistent,
or aperiodic (see rejection for claim 14);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, semipersistent, or aperiodic, as taught by Kim in the system of Wang, so that receiving/transmitting of channel state information can be accommodated to support services with increased transmission rates (Kim: Paragraphs [0002] – [0004], [0203], [0205], [0212]).
The combination of Wang and Kim does not explicitly teach reporting the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic or semipersistent.
However, Echigo teaches reporting the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent (see rejection for claim 14);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide reporting the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being semipersistent, as taught by Echigo in the combined system of Wang and Kim, so that the network may indicate or configure for the UE, information related to the CSI to be fed back as a report by the UE (Echigo: Paragraphs [0145], [0178]).
The combination of Wang, Kim, and Echigo does not explicitly teach reporting the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic.
However, Niu teaches reporting the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic (see rejection for claim 14);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide reporting the quantization scheme via a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) in response to the CSI configuration type being periodic, as taught by Niu in the combined system of Wang, Kim, and Echigo, so that the UE can perform periodic CSI reporting, and transmit a quantized L1-RSSI feedback (Niu: Paragraphs [0212], [0213]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of Echigo et al. (US2025/0219693A1), Niu et al. (US2023/0299826A1), and Song et al. (US2023/0163824A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang, Kim, Echigo, and Niu teaches the wireless communication device of claim 14, wherein the quantization scheme is reported via the MAC-CE, the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 14);
The combination of Wang, Kim, Echigo, and Niu does not explicitly teach the quantization scheme is a default quantization scheme, report a value in the MAC-CE that indicates that the default quantization scheme is used.
However, Song teaches the quantization scheme is a default quantization scheme, report a value in the MAC-CE that indicates that the default quantization scheme is used (Paragraph [0057]: In some example embodiments, the trigger may indicate a one-bit quantizing scheme for the reference signal. For example the trigger may be transmitted to the UE 110 via Downlink Control Information (DCI) or Medium Access Control Control Elememt (MAC CE). Paragraph [0089]: In some example embodiments, the first device may receive, from the second device, a trigger for initiating the quantizing and transmitting the set of parameters, the trigger at least indicating a predetermined quantizing scheme for the reference signal. Paragraph [0090]: In some example embodiments, the trigger is comprised in downlink control information or in a control element for medium access control.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the quantization scheme is a default quantization scheme, report a value in the MAC-CE that indicates that the default quantization scheme is used, as taught by Song in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Echigo, and Niu, in order to enhance performance while reducing overhead (Song: Paragraphs [0047], [0057], [0089], [0090]).
Claims 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO2017196363A1) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0103697A1), and further in view of Echigo et al. (US2025/0219693A1), Niu et al. (US2023/0299826A1), Song et al. (US2023/0163824A1), and Yang et al. (US2024/0187048A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang, Kim, Echigo, Niu, and Song teaches the wireless communication device of claim 15, wherein the quantization scheme is reported via the MAC-CE, and wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 15);
The combination of Wang, Kim, Echigo, Niu, and Song does not explicitly teach to identify an alternative quantization scheme in the MAC-CE in response to determining to use the alternative quantization scheme, different from the default quantization scheme.
However, Yang teaches to identify an alternative quantization scheme in the MAC-CE in response to determining to use the alternative quantization scheme, different from the default quantization scheme (Paragraph [0137]: A second quantization scheme is defined based on a number of bits to be utilized for the quantization to define an alphabet for the quantization, and the second quantization scheme may have more bits than the first quantization scheme. The UE may convert the second coefficient to a corresponding value in the alphabet for the quantization with the second quantization scheme. The UE may then utilize the quantized values for reporting the values of the LC coefficients in a CSI report transmitted to a base station. Paragraph [0159]: Multiple quantizer designs are described herein. For example, the quantizer designs may include LC coefficient quantization that can be through a fixed quantizer (specified in the specification), parameterized quantizers with parameters configurable by gNB and/or reported by the UE. A UE can report a UE defined quantizer to the base station. To allow better quantization, UE-defined quantizer(s) can be provided to the base station with RRC signaling and/or MAC CE and/or CSI report. In addition, multiple versions (all UE defined, UE defined+specified, multiple parameterized, etc.) can be concurrently active, and the UE can refer to the quantizer version in a CSI report.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to identify an alternative quantization scheme in the MAC-CE in response to determining to use the alternative quantization scheme, different from the default quantization scheme, as taught by Yang in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Echigo, Niu, and Song, so that better quantization can be achieved through UE-defined quantizing from multiple versions (Yang: Paragraphs [0039], [0040], [0137], [0159]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang, Kim, Echigo, Niu, Song, and Yang teaches the wireless communication device of claim 16, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: (see rejection for claim 16);
The combination of Wang, Kim, Niu, Song and Yang does not explicitly teach to receive a confirmation indicating receipt of the MAC-CE.
However, Echigo teaches to receive a confirmation indicating receipt of the MAC-CE (Paragraph [0198]: When the UE receives the DCI/MAC CE indicating the encoded CSI or the non-encoded CSI, the indicated encoded CSI/non-encoded CSI report may be applied from slot #N+k. Slot #N may be a DCI slot for indication or a slot in which a PUCCH report of a HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH on which the MAC CE is transmitted is performed, and k may be an integer value defined in a specification.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to receive a confirmation indicating receipt of the MAC-CE, as taught by Echigo in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Niu, Song and Yang, so that so that the network may indicate to the UE, information related to the CSI to be fed back as a report by the UE (Echigo: Paragraphs [0145], [0198]).
The combination of Wang, Kim, Echigo, Niu, and Song does not explicitly teach to apply the alternative quantization scheme during a remainder of a reporting instance and onward in time until notified to use a next quantization scheme.
However, Yang teaches to apply the alternative quantization scheme during a remainder of a reporting instance and onward in time until notified to use a next quantization scheme (Paragraph [0137]: A second quantization scheme is defined based on a number of bits to be utilized for the quantization to define an alphabet for the quantization, and the second quantization scheme may have more bits than the first quantization scheme. The UE may convert the second coefficient to a corresponding value in the alphabet for the quantization with the second quantization scheme. The UE may then utilize the quantized values for reporting the values of the LC coefficients in a CSI report transmitted to a base station. Paragraph [0159]: Multiple quantizer designs are described herein. For example, the quantizer designs may include LC coefficient quantization that can be through a fixed quantizer (specified in the specification), parameterized quantizers with parameters configurable by gNB and/or reported by the UE. A UE can report a UE defined quantizer to the base station. To allow better quantization, UE-defined quantizer(s) can be provided to the base station with RRC signaling and/or MAC CE and/or CSI report. In addition, multiple versions (all UE defined, UE defined+specified, multiple parameterized, etc.) can be concurrently active, and the UE can refer to the quantizer version in a CSI report.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to apply the alternative quantization scheme during a remainder of a reporting instance and onward in time until notified to use a next quantization scheme, as taught by Yang in the combined system of Wang, Kim, Echigo, Niu, and Song, so that better quantization can be achieved through quantizing from multiple versions (Yang: Paragraphs [0039], [0040], [0137], [0159]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461