DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buehl 7,806,490.
Regarding claim 1, Buehl discloses a display device (such as monitor, see Field of invention), comprising: a display module outputting an image (module – television/computer inherently outputs image, see Background of invention); a cover bottom (15, Fig 1) covering a rear surface of the display module (rear surface of monitor/module once placed at 15, Fig 1); a moving bracket (12, Fig 1) positioned on the rear surface of the cover bottom (long vertical portion attached behind 15 – not labeled – Fig 1) and having a variable size of an area exposed under the display module (see Fig 1 with respect to Fig 2 exposed portion); an antenna module mounted on the moving bracket (col 6 lines 61-67); a driving unit (16, Fig 5) driving the moving bracket in a vertical direction (see Figs 1-7), the driving unit comprising: a motor (14, Fig 4) providing a rotational force (via 115 or 117, Figs 5, 6); and a rack gear (117, Fig 7) moving in the vertical direction by receiving the rotational force of the motor (see Fig 6) and fastened to the moving bracket (Fig 6), an IR sensor sensing (col 6 lines 65-67) a remote control signal (col 7 line 1) for turning on/off the display module (col 7 lines 1-10); and a controller (106, Fig 2) configured to drive the motor to move downward the moving bracket from an upper position to lower position (; col 7 line 1; col 8 lines 65-67) when the display module turning on (col 9 lines 1-4), wherein the IR sensor is disposed at a lower end portion of the moving bracket so as to be exposed in a front direction in the upper position and the lower position (note IR sensor disposed on bracket in/at 104, see Fig 1 with respect to Fig 2); and, wherein the antenna is located on the back of the display module when the moving bracket is in the upper position (note antenna disposed on back of module just below 15 at 104, Fig 2), and is located below the display module when the moving bracket is in the lower position (see Figs 1, 2).
Regarding claim 2, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein an axis of the motor is vertically disposed (along 17, Fig 2) and wherein the driving unit comprises a first gear (120, Fig 5) coupled to a rotational shaft of the motor (shaft off 14, Fig 5); a second gear (121, Fig 5) rotating by engaging with the first gear (Fig 5) and having a horizontal direction as an axis (Figs 5, 6); and a third gear (122, Fig 5) rotating about the horizontal direction based on rotation of the second gear and rotating by engaging with the rack gear (see Figs 5-7).
Regarding claim 3, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the first gear is a worm shaft and wherein the second gear is a worm gear (see Figs 5, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 2, comprising a shaft member (col 7 line 55) having the second gear positioned at one end portion thereof and the third gear positioned at the other side thereof (Figs 5-7), wherein a first stepped portion is formed at both sides of the third gear (at top/bottom 117, Fig 5) and wherein the rack gear comprises a second stepped portion having a shape related to a stepped portion of the third gear (see Figs 4-7).
Regarding claim 5, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the rack gear comprises a pair of gear parts spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction (see Figs 5, 6) and wherein a pair of the third gears are provided to correspond to positions of the gear parts, respectively (Figs 5-7).
Regarding claim 6, Buehl discloses display device of claim 1, wherein the rack gear is coupled to a center of the moving bracket (as depicted in Fig 5) and wherein the display device further comprises vertical guides (at sides of 81, Fig 6) positioned at both sides of the moving bracket, respectively (Figs 5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the moving bracket moves between a first position and a second position (as in Figs 1, 2), wherein the moving bracket further comprises a position sensor generating a braking signal by detecting whether at least one of the first position or the second position is reached (during motion from stored position at 19 to the raised position at 24, col 4 lines 40-45), and wherein the controller stops driving the motor in response to the braking signal of the position sensor (col 7 lines 13-20).
Regarding claim 12, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a printed circuit board located on the back of the cover bottom (located within receiver circuit for example, col 6 lines 65-67); and a cable (110, Fig 2) connecting the printed circuit board to the IR sensor, and the antenna (Figs 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buehl 7,806,490.
Regarding claim 10, Buehl discloses the display device of claim 1, except wherein a diameter of the motor is equal to or smaller than 10 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was made to include a diameter of equal to or smaller than 10 mm, in order to have a desired structural rigidness for the motor to handle the required lift weight of the display module, thereby optimizing reliability; and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841