DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to preliminary amendment filed on 12/8/2025, claims 1- 20 are amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0385692 A1).
Regarding claim 10, A method of a first access point (AP) ([0158] and [0198] wherein serving AP as AP here and SR MLD as a STA here), comprising:
transmitting a beacon frame including information indicating that a data group addressed buffered unit(BU)to be transmitted to a first station (STA) exists in the first AP (see [0198].. When the SR MLD receives a Beacon frame where a bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a TIM element that corresponds to the SR MLD is set to 1; further see [0023].. a partial virtual bitmap and a bit in the partial virtual bitmap corresponds to the AID is set to indicate if the first state is a nondelivery-enabled access category and the AP MLD has buffered buffer units (BU) of the first access category for the non-AP MLD.); and
transmitting a data frame including the group addressed BU data unit to one or more stations (STAs) including a first STA operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) operation state (see [0198].. The serving AP MLD initiates a DL transmission Data1 1216 to the SR MLD on Link 1 1210. The AP STA responds with a BA frame 1218. Before all the buffered frames are transmitted to the SR MLD (EOSP=0 and/or MD=1), the SR MLD sends another Trigger frame Trg2 1222 to indicate switching of an operating link from Link 1 1210 to Link 2 1240. After receiving Ack frame 1224 for Trg2 1222, the SR MLD switches its operating link to Link 2 1240 during T0 period. At T0 time after transmitting Ack frame, the AP MLD continues DL data frame transmission on Link 2 by transmitting DATA2 1242. The MLD STA responds with a BA frame 1240.),
wherein an operation state of the first STA is the EMLSR operation state or a listening operation state (see [0158] and [0198].. the SR MLD sends another Trigger frame Trg2 1222 to indicate switching of an operating link from Link 1 1210 (i.e. active mode of STA) to Link 2 1240. After receiving Ack frame 1224 for Trg2 1222, the SR MLD switches its operating link to Link 2 1240 during T0 period. At T0 time after transmitting Ack frame, the AP MLD continues DL data frame transmission on Link 2 by transmitting DATA2 1242. The MLD STA responds with a BA frame 1240.).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon teaches as per claim 10, wherein, in the EMLSR operation state, the first STA performs transmitting and receiving operations of a frame; see [0158]… in SR MLD can only transmit and receive on one link at a time. i.e., active mode is possible on one link only, current power save operation causes problems such as: if the SR MLD is in active mode for more than one link, and if an AP MLD has a frame to transmit to the SR MLD, the AP MLD does not know which link the SR MLD can receive the frame. Therefore, embodiments will be described that define mechanisms so that the AP MLD may identify on which link the SR MLD is ready to receive a DL frame..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7- 9, 15, 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0377856 A1) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0007168 A1), hereafter Alfred.
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches a method of a first station (STA) (see [0014].. a method performed by a multi-link device (MLD) station..; further see [0051].. The WLAN 10 includes a plurality of client stations (STA) 25…client STA multi-link devices(MLD) where one NON-AP MLD (i.e. first STA) includes multiple affiliated STAs.), comprising:
transitioning an operation state of the first STA from a listening operation state to an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) operation state in consideration of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of a first access point (AP) (see [0010].. wherein MLD station type includes one of enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) station..; further see [0013].. wherein a power save operation transmitted in one of the multiple links is applies to all of the multiple links.; further see [0090] For the reception of the beacon, an EMLSR/EMLMR NON-AP MLD that associates with an EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD and gets its link ready to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT in a link where the associated EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD transmits its beacons; further see [0091]);
receiving, from the first AP, a beacon frame in the EMLSR operation state (already described above see [0090] For the reception of the beacon, an EMLSR/EMLMR NON-AP MLD that associates with an EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD and gets its link ready to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT in a link where the associated EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD transmits its beacons; further see [0091]); but Chu is silent about
in response to the beacon frame indicating that a data unit to be transmitted to the first STA exists in the first AP; and
receiving, from the first AP, a data frame including the data unit in the EMLSR operation state.
However Alfred teaches in [0007] In some implementations, the first link is an anchor link (i.e. single link of the multi-link association and the second link is an auxiliary link of the multi-link association. [0041] about , the signaling to activate the second link includes a traffic indication from the AP MLD that indicates buffered downlink traffic for the second link; now in context with [0147] refer to [0137] about example signaling to activate a link of a multi-link association using a broadcast addressed frame. In this example, the non-AP MLD 120 may periodically wake up an auxiliary link 134 to receive broadcast frames (such as Beacon Frames 410) and determine whether the Beacon Frame 410 includes an indicator to activate the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. STS is in operation with anchor link i.e. EMLSR state receives the frame 410). For example, the broadcast frame may indicate traffic associated with a TID that is mapped to the auxiliary link 134. Initially, the non-AP MLD 120 may have the auxiliary link 134 in a deactivated state 411, such that the STA interface for the auxiliary link 134 is in a power saving mode or doze state. Upon detecting the indicator in a Beacon Frame 410 to activate the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. see in context with [0007, 0041]), the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 413 the auxiliary link 134. Data 415 may be sent via both the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134. In some implementations, the non-AP MLD 120 may send a message to the AP MLD 110 to indicate which links (such as one or both of the anchor link 132 (i.e. EMLSR operation) and the auxiliary link 134) that non-AP MLD 120 will be available to receive the data 415. After the data 415 has been transmitted, at some point the non-AP MLD 120 may deactivate 419 the auxiliary link 134 to conserve power.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Alfred with the teachings of Chu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein in response to the beacon frame indicating that a data unit to be transmitted to the first STA exists in the first AP; and receiving, from the first AP, a data frame including the data unit in the EMLSR operation state; greater way resources can be utilized/managed to carry out power saving operation in the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first STA and a second STA are affiliated with a STA multi-link device (MLD), the STA MLD is an EMLSR STA MLD, the first AP and a second AP are affiliated with an AP MLD, the first STA and the first AP operate in a first link, and the second STA and the second AP operate in a second link; Chu see Fig. 2 regarding AP1 and AP2 and STA1 and STA1 and links 240 and 242; see [0071].
Regarding claim 8, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 1, wherein, in the EMLSR operation state, the first STA performs transmitting and receiving operations of a frame; Chu see [0071] and Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 9, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 1, wherein when the first STA is in the EMLSR operation state, a power saving (PS) state of the first STA is an awake state, and when the first STA is in the listening operation state, the PS state of the first STA is a doze state or the awake state; chu see [0075]... the STAs in different links of the MLD in the eMLSR/eMLMR Mode may be in different power save modes, i.e., Active mode or Power Save mode. The STAs in different links of a MLD in the eMLSR/eMLMR Mode that is in Power Save mode may be in different power save states, i.e., Awake or Doze. The power save mode change and power save state change announced in one link is applied to the link only. One optimization to this may include, when only one link is in Active mode and other links are in Doze state, the special frame exchange initiated by special control frame (e.g., MU-RTS/CTS) for the radio switch in an active link is not needed; further see Alfred [0147].. diagram 503 of an enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) technique for an MLD that has a single radio with multiple available antennas. .. these messages may be sent using single antenna (SS=1) communication. When sending the data 542 to the AP MLD 110 (or receiving data from the AP MLD 110), the non-AP MLD 120 may deactivate one of the links so that multiple antennas may be used with the single radio on just one of the links. In the example of FIG. 5C, the non-AP MLD 120 deactivates 539 the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. listening state) and uses the antenna that was previously configured in 1×1 mode for that link with the antenna that was previously configured in 1×1 mode for the anchor link 132 (i.e. EMLSR state ) to form a 2×2 mode using both antennas on the anchor link 132. The non-AP MLD 120 may send the data 542 using the 2×2 mode. During UL MIMO communication 520, because the non-AP MLD 120 in this example is a single-radio device, it cannot transmit or receive via the auxiliary link 134; now refer to [0106].. ks may be dynamically activated or deactivated based on throughput requirements, speed, or quality of service. When the auxiliary link is activated, the STA interface for that link may be in an awake state such that it is fully powered and able to transmit or receive data. When the auxiliary link is deactivated, the STA interface for that link may be in a doze state in which the STA interface consumes very low power and is unable to transmit or receive data; further see [0128].. Thus, anchor link may be the link that is currently activated and which the non-AP MLD 120 has a STA interface in an active or awake state. Those links which are associated with a STA interface in a doze state may be designated as auxiliary links. The designation of which link is the anchor link may be implicit based on activation of a link; further see [0135, 0137].
Regarding claim 15, Chu teaches a first station (STA) comprising a processor, wherein the processor causes the first STA to perform (see [0014].. a method performed by a multi-link device (MLD) station..; further see [0051].. The WLAN 10 includes a plurality of client stations (STA) 25…client STA multi-link devices(MLD) where one NON-AP MLD (i.e. first STA) includes multiple affiliated STAs.):
transitioning an operation state of the first STA from a listening operation state to an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) operation state in consideration of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of a first access point (AP) (see [0010].. wherein MLD station type includes one of enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) station..; further see [0013].. wherein a power save operation transmitted in one of the multiple links is applies to all of the multiple links.; further see [0090] For the reception of the beacon, an EMLSR/EMLMR NON-AP MLD that associates with an EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD and gets its link ready to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT in a link where the associated EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD transmits its beacons; further see [0091]);
receiving, from the first AP, a beacon frame in the EMLSR operation state (already described above see [0090] For the reception of the beacon, an EMLSR/EMLMR NON-AP MLD that associates with an EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD and gets its link ready to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT in a link where the associated EMLSR/EMLMR AP MLD transmits its beacons; further see [0091]); but Chu is silent about
in response to the beacon frame indicating that a data unit to be transmitted to the first STA exists in the first AP; and
receiving, from the first AP, a data frame including the data unit in the EMLSR operation state.
However Alfred teaches in [0007] In some implementations, the first link is an anchor link (i.e. single link of the multi-link association and the second link is an auxiliary link of the multi-link association. [0041] about , the signaling to activate the second link includes a traffic indication from the AP MLD that indicates buffered downlink traffic for the second link; now in context with [0147] refer to [0137] about example signaling to activate a link of a multi-link association using a broadcast addressed frame. In this example, the non-AP MLD 120 may periodically wake up an auxiliary link 134 to receive broadcast frames (such as Beacon Frames 410) and determine whether the Beacon Frame 410 includes an indicator to activate the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. STS is in operation with anchor link i.e. EMLSR state receives the frame 410). For example, the broadcast frame may indicate traffic associated with a TID that is mapped to the auxiliary link 134. Initially, the non-AP MLD 120 may have the auxiliary link 134 in a deactivated state 411, such that the STA interface for the auxiliary link 134 is in a power saving mode or doze state. Upon detecting the indicator in a Beacon Frame 410 to activate the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. see in context with [0007, 0041]), the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 413 the auxiliary link 134. Data 415 may be sent via both the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134. In some implementations, the non-AP MLD 120 may send a message to the AP MLD 110 to indicate which links (such as one or both of the anchor link 132 (i.e. EMLSR operation) and the auxiliary link 134) that non-AP MLD 120 will be available to receive the data 415. After the data 415 has been transmitted, at some point the non-AP MLD 120 may deactivate 419 the auxiliary link 134 to conserve power.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Alfred with the teachings of Chu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein in response to the beacon frame indicating that a data unit to be transmitted to the first STA exists in the first AP; and receiving, from the first AP, a data frame including the data unit in the EMLSR operation state; greater way resources can be utilized/managed to carry out power saving operation in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 15, wherein the first STA and a second STA are affiliated with a STA multi-link device (MLD), the STA MLD is an EMLSR STA MLD, the first AP and a second AP are affiliated with an AP MLD, the first STA and the first AP operate in a first link, and the second STA and the second AP operate in a second link; Chu see Fig. 2 regarding AP1 and AP2 and STA1 and STA1 and links 240 and 242; see [0071].
Regarding claim 20, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 15, wherein, in the EMLSR operation state, the first STA performs transmitting and receiving operations of a frame; Chu see [0071] and Fig. 2.
Claim(s) 2- 6, 16- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0377856 A1) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0007168 A1), hereafter Alfred and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0389149 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 1, further Alfred teaches comprising:
Transmitting a power saving (PS)-poll frame to the first AP (see [0146].. A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. ….);
in response to determining that transmission of the data unit is delayed after transmitting the PS-Poll frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the EMLSR operation state to the listening operation state (see [0146].. AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 (i.e. EMLSR one) and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. listening operation mode) and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520….); But Chu is silent about
receiving, from the first AP, an initial control frame in the listening operation state; and
after receiving the initial control frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the listening operation state to the EMLSR operation state,
wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame.
However Kim states receiving, from the first AP, an initial control frame in the listening operation state; and
after receiving the initial control frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the listening operation state to the EMLSR operation state; see in context with claim 1 teaches in claim 2 regarding wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode (i.e. EMLSR state) or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame; further see claim 3 ..transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.. Further Kim states about wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame; see claim 2… the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Chu in view of Alfred to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, from the first AP, an initial control frame in the listening operation state; and after receiving the initial control frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the listening operation state to the EMLSR operation state, wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame; greater way resources can be used/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Chu in view of Alfred and Kim teaches as per claim 2, wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame, a clear-to-send (CTS) frame as a response to the MU-RTS frame is transmitted by the first STA, and the data frame is received after transmitting the CTS frame; Kim teaches in [0018]... and the STA operating in the listening mode may receive the data frame after receiving the initial control frame; now refer to [0094].. initial control frame may be a multi-user (MU)-RTS trigger frame..; now see [0095] The eMLSR STA may receive the MU-RTS trigger frame from the AP, and transmit a CTS frame in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame.
Regarding claim 4, Chu in view of Alfred and Kim teaches as per claim 2, wherein when an acknowledgment (ACK) frame is received in response to the PS-Poll and the data frame is not received within a preset time from a reception time of the ACK frame, transmission of the data unit is determined to be delayed; Alfred see [0146].. . A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. The AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520. (i.e. here the data frame is not received within a preset time from a reception time of the ACK frame, transmission of the data unit is determined to be delayed).
Regarding claim 5, Chu in view of Alfred and Kim teaches as per claim 2, wherein when an ACK frame is received instead of the data frame in response to the PS-Poll frame, transmission of the data unit is determined to be delayed; Alfred see [0146].. . A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. The AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520..
Regarding claim 6, Chu in view of Alfred and Kim teaches as per claim 2, wherein when transmission of the data unit is determined to be delayed after transmitting the PS-Poll frame, the operation state of the first STA is maintained in the EMLSR operation state for reception of the data frame; Alfred see [0146].. . A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. The AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520..
Regarding claim 16, Chu in view of Alfred teaches as per claim 15, further Alfred teaches about wherein the processor causes the first STA to perform:
Transmitting a power saving (PS)-poll frame to the first AP (see [0146].. A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. ….);
in response to determining that transmission of the data unit is delayed after transmitting the PS-Poll frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the EMLSR operation state to the listening operation state (see [0146].. AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 (i.e. EMLSR one) and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 (i.e. listening operation mode) and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520….); But Chu is silent about
receiving, from the first AP, an initial control frame in the listening operation state; and
after receiving the initial control frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the listening operation state to the EMLSR operation state,
wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame.
However Kim states receiving, from the first AP, an initial control frame in the listening operation state; and
after receiving the initial control frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the listening operation state to the EMLSR operation state; see in context with claim 1 teaches in claim 2 regarding wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode (i.e. EMLSR state) or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame; further see claim 3 ..transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.. Further Kim states about wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame; see claim 2… the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Chu in view of Alfred to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, from the first AP, an initial control frame in the listening operation state; and after receiving the initial control frame, transitioning the operation state of the first STA from the listening operation state to the EMLSR operation state, wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame; greater way resources can be used/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Chu in view of Alfred and Kim teaches as per claim 16, wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame, a clear-to-send (CTS) frame as a response to the MU-RTS frame is transmitted by the first STA, and the data frame is received after transmitting the CTS frame; Kim teaches in [0018]... and the STA operating in the listening mode may receive the data frame after receiving the initial control frame; now refer to [0094].. initial control frame may be a multi-user (MU)-RTS trigger frame..; now see [0095] The eMLSR STA may receive the MU-RTS trigger frame from the AP, and transmit a CTS frame in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame.
Regarding claim 18, Chu in view of Alfred and Kim teaches as per claim 16, wherein when transmission of the data unit is determined to be delayed after transmitting the PS-Poll frame, the operation state of the first STA is maintained in the EMLSR operation state for reception of the data frame; Alfred see [0146].. . A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. The AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520..
Claim(s) 11- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0385692 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0389149 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon teaches asper claim 10, further comprising:
Receiving a power saving (PS)-Poll frame from the first STA (see [0067].. the STA shall issue a PS-Poll frame or a trigger frame if the STA is using U-APSD and all ACs are delivery-enabled to retrieve the buffered BU…); and
In response to determining that the operation state of the first STA has transitioned from the EMLSR operation state to the listening operation state after PS-Poll frame is received (see [0114].. When the non-AP MLD identifies that the corresponding bit is equal to 1 in the virtual bitmap of the TIM element, STAs on one or more links (within the pair of links) are supposed to send a PS-Poll frame or a U-APSD trigger frame to the serving AP(s) to indicate that the one or more STAs are awake and ready to receive the buffered BU…), but fails to state about transmitting an initial control frame to the first STA operating in the listening operation state, wherein the data frame is transmitted to the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state, according to the initial control frame.
However Kim states transmitting an initial control frame to the first STA operating in the listening operation state, wherein the data frame is transmitted to the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state, according to the initial control frame; see in context with claim 1 teaches in claim 2 regarding wherein the STA is configured to operate in a receiving mode (i.e. EMLSR state) or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame without receiving the initial control frame, and the STA operating in the listening mode receives the data frame after receiving the initial control frame; further see claim 3 ..transitioning an operating mode of the STA from the listening mode to the receiving mode at a start time of the rTWT SP.. Further Kim states about wherein the data frame is received by the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state after receiving the initial control frame; see claim 2… the STA operating in the receiving mode receives the data frame.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Kwon to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein transmitting an initial control frame to the first STA operating in the listening operation state, wherein the data frame is transmitted to the first STA operating in the EMLSR operation state, according to the initial control frame; greater way resources can be used/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Kwon in view of Kim teaches as per claim 11, wherein the initial control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame, a clear-to-send (CTS) frame as a response to the MU-RTS frame is received from the first STA, and the data frame is transmitted after received the CTS frame; Kim teaches in [0018]... and the STA operating in the listening mode may receive the data frame after receiving the initial control frame; now refer to [0094].. initial control frame may be a multi-user (MU)-RTS trigger frame..; now see [0095] The eMLSR STA may receive the MU-RTS trigger frame from the AP, and transmit a CTS frame in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon in view of Kim teaches as per claim 11, wherein when an acknowledgment (ACK) frame is transmitted in response to the PS-Poll and the first AP does not transmit the data frame within a preset time from a transmission time of the ACK frame, the operation state of the first STA is determined to have been transitioned from the EMLSR operation state to the listening operation state; Alfred see [0146].. . A non-AP MLD 120 may send a power save poll (PS-Poll, or PSP 517), a quality of service null (QoS Null), an RTS, or other message via the anchor link 132 to initiate an uplink communication. The AP MLD 110 may respond with an acknowledgement 518 or other message to indicate that the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134 are available for multi-link UL communication. Based on the ACK message 518, the non-AP MLD 120 may activate 514 the auxiliary link 134 and transmit UL data 521 and 522 via the anchor link 132 and the auxiliary link 134, respectively. As described in FIG. 5A, there may be a delay 523 before transmission of the data 522 on the auxiliary link 134 to provide time for activation 514 of the auxiliary link 134 and the SS for UL MIMO 520. (i.e. here first AP does not transmit the data frame within a preset time from a transmission time of the ACK frame).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Chu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0377856 A1) teaches about.. For example, if an AP wants to use the fully functional radio, it may send a control frame that is long enough for the EMLSR NON-AP MLD to switch from the lesser capable radio to the fully functional radio, that may then transmit data to the AP. In one implementation, one non-AP EMLMR MLD has multiple radios in multiple links to monitor the links. When its associated AP MLD transmits initial frame in one link, the EMLMR non-AP MLD switch its radios of the other links to the link so that in the remaining time of the TXOP, more Nss can be used; see [0059].
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479