Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on April 7, 2026. The Applicants’ Amendment and Request for Reconsideration has been received and entered.
Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 16-23 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 have been amended.
The previous rejection of claims 6 and 20 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
The previous rejection of claims 6 and 20 under 35 USC 112(d) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments necessitated any new grounds of rejection.
The previous rejection of claims 6 and 20 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
The previous rejection of claims 6 and 20 under 35 USC 112(d) has been withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ argue at page 11 of Applicants’ Reply dated April 7, 2026 (hereinafter “Applicants’ Reply”), that the claims “do not recite a mental process” because “the human mind is not practically equipped to receive a data processing request or send such a data processing request.” Applicants further argue at page 11 that these elements “integrate any alleged abstract idea into the practical application of improving order state consistency in a system comprising multiple data centers.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C), “Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer.” Thus, merely reciting the use of a computer is not sufficient to recite a technological improvement. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) further indicates “In evaluating whether a claim that requires a computer recites a mental process, examiners should carefully consider the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification. For instance, examiners should review the specification to determine if the claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. In these situations, the claim is considered to recite a mental process.”
The Examiner notes that, both in the previous Office Action and below, the Examiner has identified the processor and the memory recited in claim 12 as being recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions). Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that the claimed invention is a concept performed in the human mind and applicants are merely claiming that concept performed on a generic computer.
Regarding the identified sending and receiving steps, both in the previous Office Action and below, the Examiner has identified the sending and receiving of data as activities which are considered well-understood, routine, and conventional per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) which identifies such activities as receiving or transmitting data over a network, using the Internet to gather data, and storing and retrieving information in memory to be computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions. See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPG2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)).
Regarding Applicants’ assertion that the claims are directed to the “practical application of improving order state consistency in a system comprising multiple data centers,” the Examiner respectfully notes that no technical solution is provided.
Per MPEP 2106.05(a), in order to constitute a technical improvement, the specification "must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology." Further, per MPEP 2106.05(a), "if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement."
Further, per MPEP 2106.05(a), improvements to computer functionality include a modification of conventional Internet hyperlink protocol to dynamically produce a dual-source hybrid webpage; inventive distribution of functionality within a network to filter Internet content; a method of rendering a halftone digital image; a distributed network architecture operating in an unconventional fashion to reduce network congestion while generating networking accounting data records; a memory system having programmable operational characteristics that are configurable based on the type of processor, which can be used with different types of processors without a tradeoff in processor performance; technical details as to how to transmit images over a cellular network or append classification information to digital image data; a particular structure of a server that stores organized digital images; a particular way of programming or designing software to create menus; a method that generates a security profile that identifies both hostile and potentially hostile operations, and can protect the user against both previously unknown viruses and "obfuscated code," which is an improvement over traditional virus scanning; an improved user interface for electronic devices that displays an application summary of unlaunched applications, where the particular data in the summary is selectable by a user to launch the respective application; a specific interface and implementation for navigating complex three-dimensional spreadsheets using techniques unique to computers; and a specific method of restricting software operation within a license.
Per MPEP 2106.05(a), some examples that the courts have said “may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality” include generating restaurant menus with functionally claimed features; accelerating a process of analyzing audit log data when the increased speed comes solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer; mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase; recording, transmitting, and archiving digital images by use of conventional or generic technology in a nascent but well-known environment, without any assertion that the invention reflects an inventive solution to any problem presented by combining a camera and a cellular telephone; affixing a barcode to a mail object in order to more reliably identify the sender and speed up mail processing, without any limitations specifying the technical details of the barcode or how it is generated or processed; instructions to display two sets of information on a computer display in a non-interfering manner, without any limitations specifying how to achieve the desired result; providing historical usage information to users while they are inputting data, in order to improve the quality and organization of information added to a database, because "an improvement to the information stored by a database is not equivalent to an improvement in the database’s functionality”; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly.
With this guidance in mind, the Examiner respectfully asserts that the instant claims are most similar to the non-eligible concept discussed above of a manual process, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase. Instead, the Examiner respectfully asserts that the instant claims are directed to using existing computers as tools to perform the abstract idea, i.e., selecting a data center from a database to send the order to. In other words, the solution is to have a single data center process the customer’s order to improve “order state consistency”. That is not a technical solution. There is no change or improvement to the system and, in fact, the computer operates as any other computer. Thus, the focus of the claims is not on a technical improvement to the computer functionality but is instead an alleged improvement in order routing, i.e., the abstract idea.
Thus, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicants have amended claim 1 to recite that the request is received “from a seller associated with the order.” As discussed further below, Dunston discloses this embodiment at least in paragraphs [0036] and [0047]. Applicants have also amended claim 1 to recite “sending the data processing request to the first data center for processing instead of to a data center corresponding to a geographic location of the seller in order to maintain a consistent order state associated with the order.” As discussed further below, Dunston discloses “sending the data processing request to the first data center for processing” at least in paragraphs [0049] and [0053].
The Examiner notes that the phrase “instead of to a data center corresponding to a geographic location of the seller in order to maintain a consistent order state associated with the order” is considered to be an intended use and is assigned little patentable weight because a data center corresponding to a geographical location of the seller was never determined or considered and then overwritten. Instead, this phrase is used as merely non-function descriptive language describing why this step occurs.
Applicants’ remaining arguments have been fully considered but they have either been addressed above or they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 9, 17-18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 17: Claim 3 recites “if the first data center is a data center corresponding to the first gateway device, the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center; or if the first data center is not a data center corresponding to the first gateway device, the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of a second data center, the second gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center, and the second data center is a data center other than the first data center.” It is unclear what is meant by a “gateway device is a service located on a server”. While a gateway may be a service, a gateway device is hardware. Hardware may include a service, i.e., hardware and software may both be part of a device. However, a device alone cannot be a service. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting a gateway device as including both hardware and necessary software to implement a service.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 4 and 18: Claim 4 recites “if the first data center is the data center corresponding to the first gateway device, the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of the first data center; or if the first data center is not the data center corresponding to the first gateway device, the first gateway device is an API in an API layer of a second data center, the second gateway device is an API in an API layer of the first data center, and the second data center is a data center other than the first data center.” It is unclear what is meant by a “gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer.” While a gateway may include an API in an API layer, a gateway device is hardware. Hardware may include a service, i.e., hardware and software may both be part of a device. However, a device alone cannot be an API in an API layer. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting a gateway device as including both hardware and necessary software to include an API.
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 9 and 23: Claim 9 recites “the region corresponding to the purchaser of the order.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting this portion of claim 9 as reciting “the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order.”
Claim 23 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims 1 and 12-13 recite a method, a device, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for processing a request. With respect to claim 1, claim elements determining a region and selecting a master data center corresponding to the region, as drafted, illustrate steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a mental process. That is, nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind.
Claims 12-13 recite similar limitations.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1 and 12-13 recite receiving and sending (transmitting) steps. These limitations are considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, claim 12 recites a processor and a memory. These elements are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, claims 1 and 12-13 recite receiving and sending (transmitting) steps. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), elements such as receiving or transmitting data over a network, using the Internet to gather data, and storing and retrieving information in memory are considered to be computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions. See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPG2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)).
Further, as discussed above, claim 12 recites a processor and a memory. These elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions). Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, claims 1 and 12-13 are directed to the abstract idea.
Claims 2-10 and 16-23 depend from claims 1 and 12. Claims 2 and 16 are directed to sending the data processing request to different servers which, as discussed above, is a function that is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are directed to the type of gateway and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claims 5 and 19 are directed to the type of request and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claims 5 and 19 are further directed to sending the data processing request which, as discussed above, is a function that is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Claims 6 and 20 are directed to the type of request and processing the request and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claims 7 and 21 are directed to modifying information and ceasing processing of the data processing request and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claims 8 and 22 are directed to extracting the region from the request and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claims 9 and 23 are directed to parsing the domain name information to obtain the region and are further directed to the abstract idea. Claim 10 is directed to determining the region based on registration information and is further directed to the abstract idea.
Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 12-13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0082954 A1 to Dunston (hereinafter “Dunston”).
Claims 1 and 12-13: Dunston discloses a “system and method for the sale and direct channel distribution of products and services over a global computer network such as the Internet.” (See Dunston, at least Abstract). Dunston further discloses that client/user computers are networked with one or more webservers; (See Dunston, at least para. [0037]). Dunston further discloses that each webserver communicates with servers at one or more warehouses. (See Dunston, at least para. [0040]). Dunston further discloses at least one processor and a memory (See Dunston, at least para. [0037], web server is a computing device). Dunston further discloses:
receiving, by a first gateway device and from a seller associated with the order, a data processing request for processing an order (See Dunston, at least para. [0036], client computer device may be used by a client/user such as a representative of the business entity; para. [0037], client/user computer may be networked with one or more host computers; each host computer acts as a web server/interface (i.e., a gateway); para. [0047], customer calls a distribution center to place an order and a representative at the distribution server may log onto the server using the client computer device);
determining a region corresponding to a geographic location of a purchaser associated with the order (See Dunston, at least para. [0048], distribution center called by the customer is associated with the base hub for that particular business entity; base hub is located in a geographical region in which the headquarters of the business entity is located; if the business entity is based in France, the base hub is located in France, i.e., region corresponding to the base hub location is associated with the customer who called the distribution center);
selecting, from predetermined configuration information, a master data center corresponding to the region as a first data center for processing the data processing request, wherein the predetermined configuration information indicates a respective master data center corresponding to at least one region (See Dunston, at least FIG. 1 and associated text, each web server has associated warehouses/warehouse servers; para. [0042], web server 200 includes a master client database for one or more clients/business entities; para. [0049], master client database includes information about the warehouses associated with the particular hub; master client database is searched to determine if the requested products are available in the local inventory of the warehouse associated with the particular hub, i.e., the base hub); and
sending the data processing request to the first data center for processing instead of to a data center corresponding to a geographic location of the seller in order to maintain a consistent order state associated with the order (See Dunston, at least para. [0049], if the requested products are available in the local inventory, the order is accepted by the particular hub, i.e., the base hub; para. [0053], order is routed to the server associated with the warehouse that had been selected for fulfilling the order, i.e., the order is fulfilled by the warehouse server corresponding to the web server associated with the distribution center called by the customer).
Claims 12-13 are rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 2 and 16: Dunston further discloses wherein sending the data processing request to the first data center for processing comprises:
if the first data center is a data center corresponding to the first gateway device, sending the data processing request to a first server for processing, the first server being a server of the first data center (See Dunston, at least para. [0039], web server may be a wireless gateway; para. [0042], web server 200 includes a master client database for one or more clients/business entities; para. [0049], master client database includes information about the warehouses associated with the particular hub; master client database is searched to determine if the requested products are available in the local inventory of the warehouse associated with the particular hub, i.e., the base hub; para. [0048], web site accessed by the customer is associated with the base hub for the business entity; base hub is located in a geographical region in which the headquarters of the business entity is located; if the business entity is based in France, the base hub is located in France; para. [0049], if the requested products are available in the local inventory, the order is accepted by the particular hub, i.e., the base hub; para. [0053], order is routed to the server associated with the warehouse that had been selected for fulfilling the order, i.e., the order is fulfilled by the warehouse server corresponding to the web server associated with the distribution center called by the customer); or
if the first data center is not a data center corresponding to the first gateway device, sending the data processing request to a second server for processing via a second gateway device, the second gateway device being a server of the first data center, and the second server being a server of the first data center (See Dunston, at least para. [0050, product is not currently available in the local inventory; para. [0051], next closest distribution center having an associated warehouse that has the requested product is determined by accessing the inventory records of the next closest distribution center; web server 200 communicates with each distribution center until the product is found at a warehouse associated with a selected distribution center; para. [0053], order is routed to the server associated with the warehouse that had been selected for fulfilling the order)..
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 5 and 19: Dunston further discloses wherein sending the data processing request to the first data center for processing comprises:
if the data processing request is a data write request or is a data read request with a real-time identification carried as a first identification, sending the data processing request to the first data center for processing, the data write request being configured to perform at least one of the following processing on the order: adding data, deleting data, or modifying data (See Dunston, at least para. [0053], order is routed to the server associated with the warehouse that had been selected for fulfilling the order; para. [0054], upon receipt of an order, associated database is updated; para. [0052], once order is taken, inventory of the selected warehouse is subtracted, i.e., data is added by adding the order and/or deleted by deleting the inventory or modified by modifying the inventory).
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 6 and 20: Dunston further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
if the data processing request is a data read request, and a real-time identification carried in the data read request is a second identification, processing the data read request via a second data center that is a data center other than the first data center (See Dunston, at least para. [0047], customer logs into a web site of the client/business by logging into a web server 200 and requests a product; para. [0050], if the product is not currently available, status of the product is determined and the status information is displayed to the user).
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8, 17, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunston as applied to claims 1-2, 12, and 16 above, and further in view of US 2017/0011449 A1 to Mueller et al. (hereinafter “Mueller”).
Claims 3 and 17: Dunston discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 16 discussed above.
Dunston further discloses if the first data center is a data center corresponding to the first gateway device (See Dunston, at least para. [0039], web server may be a wireless gateway; para. [0042], web server 200 includes a master client database for one or more clients/business entities); or if the first data center is not a data center corresponding to the first gateway device, and the second data center is a data center other than the first data center (See Dunston, at least para. [0050], product is not currently available in the local inventory; para. [0051], next closest distribution center having an associated warehouse that has the requested product is determined by accessing the inventory records of the next closest distribution center; web server 200 communicates with the each distribution center until the product is found at a warehouse associated with a selected distribution center; para. [0053], order is routed to the server associated with the warehouse that had been selected for fulfilling the order).
Dunston does not expressly disclose the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center; or the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of a second data center, the second gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center.
However, Mueller discloses a “method and a system for facilitating online shopping and customers' interaction with retail associates.” (See Mueller, at least Abstract). Mueller further discloses “A customer initiates a transaction request message, intending to buy a product, specifying the product's attributes and a preferred delivery option for the product. In an aspect, the RFS utilizes the transaction request message, a set of routing rules, and stored data, to select a specific retail store or distribution center to source the product from; and further selects an available retail associate located therein to serve the transaction.” (See Mueller, at least Abstract). Mueller further discloses:
the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center (See Mueller, at least para. [0146], Routing and Fulfilment server includes microservices such as API gateways that communicate with to other devices); or
the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of a second data center, the second gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center (See Mueller, at least para. [0146], Routing and Fulfilment server includes microservices such as API gateways that communicate with to other devices),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the global distribution system and method of Dunston the ability that the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center; or the first gateway device is a service loaded on a server of a second data center, the second gateway device is a service loaded on a server of the first data center as disclosed by Mueller since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “improve customers' overall experience during the process of online shopping through mobile applications.” (See Mueller, at least para. [0009]).
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 4 and 18: Dunston discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 16 discussed above.
Dunston further discloses if the first data center is the data center corresponding to the first gateway device (See Dunston, at least para. [0039], web server may be a wireless gateway; para. [0042], web server 200 includes a master client database for one or more clients/business entities); or if the first data center is not the data center corresponding to the first gateway device…and the second data center is a data center other than the first data center (See Dunston, at least para. [0050, product is not currently available in the local inventory; para. [0051], next closest distribution center having an associated warehouse that has the requested product is determined by accessing the inventory records of the next closest distribution center; web server 200 communicates with the each distribution center until the product is found at a warehouse associated with a selected distribution center; para. [0053], order is routed to the server associated with the warehouse that had been selected for fulfilling the order).
However, Dunston does not expressly disclose the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of the first data center; the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of a second data center; the second gateway device is an API in an API layer of the first data center.
However, Mueller discloses the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of the first data center; the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of a second data center; the second gateway device is an API in an API layer of the first data center (See Mueller, at least para. [0146], Routing and Fulfilment server includes microservices such as API gateways that communicate with to other devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the global distribution system and method of Dunston the ability that the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of the first data center; the first gateway device is an application programming interface (API) in an API layer of a second data center; the second gateway device is an API in an API layer of the first data center as disclosed by Mueller since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “improve customers' overall experience during the process of online shopping through mobile applications.” (See Mueller, at least para. [0009]).
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 8 and 22: Dunston discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 12 discussed above.
Dunston does not expressly disclose wherein the data processing request comprises the region, and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: extracting the region from a field of the data processing request.
However, Mueller discloses wherein the data processing request comprises the region (See Mueller, at least para. [0075], customer sends a transaction request message to buy a specific product, to the Routing and Fulfillment Server; para. [0076], customer indicates selected delivery option such as pick up from store or deliver to current location of the customer or ship to customer’s address; para. [0077], customer fills out Shipment Field with the address where customer wants the product shipped or the location of the customer where customer wants the product delivered), and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: extracting the region from a field of the data processing request (See Mueller, at least para. [0075], customer sends a transaction request message to buy a specific product, to the Routing and Fulfillment Server; para. [0076], customer indicates selected delivery option such as pick up from store or deliver to current location of the customer or ship to customer’s address; para. [0077], customer fills out Shipment Field with the address where customer wants the product shipped or the location of the customer where customer wants the product delivered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the global distribution system and method of Dunston the ability wherein the data processing request comprises the region, and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: extracting the region from a field of the data processing request as disclosed by Mueller since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “improve customers' overall experience during the process of online shopping through mobile applications.” (See Mueller, at least para. [0009]).
Claim 22 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunston as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of US 2002/0032787 A1 to Overton et al. (hereinafter “Overton”).
Dunston discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 12 discussed above.
Dunston does not expressly disclose modifying the predetermined configuration information; and during the modifying of the predetermined configuration information, ceasing processing of a data processing request for a region corresponding to a master data center that is being modified in the predetermined configuration information.
However, Overton discloses a “system and method for storing and retrieving location information across a network.” (See Overton, at least Abstract). Overton further discloses a location server that provides “responses to location queries and capable of scaling a plurality of location servers according to system performance and logistical requirements.” (See Overton, at least Abstract). Overton further discloses:
modifying the predetermined configuration information (See Overton, at least para. [0144], distribution of data among servers needs to be reconfigured); and
during the modifying of the predetermined configuration information, ceasing processing of a data processing request for a region corresponding to a master data center that is being modified in the predetermined configuration information (See Overton, at least para. [0144]-[0145], only one set of data needs to be split with another server; this dataset is identified as Set B in the original server; Server 1 checkpoints Set B and then copies Set B to Server 2; all operations directed to Set B after the checkpoint are dubbed Set C; Server 1 then freezes all operations on Set C and then copies Set C to Server 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the global distribution system and method of Dunston the ability of modifying the predetermined configuration information; and during the modifying of the predetermined configuration information, ceasing processing of a data processing request for a region corresponding to a master data center that is being modified in the predetermined configuration information as disclosed by Overton since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “to handle variable demand for resources.” (See Overton, at least para. [0007]).
Claim 21 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 9-10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunston as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of US 2003/0065571 A1 to Dutta et al. (hereinafter “Dutta”).
Claims 9 and 23: Dunston discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 12 discussed above.
Dunston does not expressly disclose wherein the data processing request comprises domain name information of a device that submits the data processing request, and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: parsing the domain name information to obtain the region corresponding to the purchaser of the order.
However, Dutta discloses “identifying the jurisdiction of a client that is accessing an e-commerce retailer's Web site in order to know which proper jurisdictional laws to apply to the commercial transaction over the network. Upon receiving a connection request from a client/buyer, the server/retailer determines the IP address of the client from the connection request. The e-commerce server utilizes the IP address of the client as a key into an IP address to physical location/jurisdiction database to determine the physical location and jurisdiction which encompasses the location of the physical network address of the client.” (See Dutta, at least Abstract). Dutta further discloses wherein the data processing request comprises domain name information of a device that submits the data processing request (See Dutta, at least FIGs. 2-3 and associated text; para. [0054], database server receives a client IP address; database extracts the physical location field to determine the jurisdiction), and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: parsing the domain name information to obtain the region corresponding to the purchaser of the order (See Dutta, at least FIGs. 2-3 and associated text; para. [0054], database server receives a client IP address; database extracts the physical location field to determine the jurisdiction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the global distribution system and method of Dunston the ability of wherein the data processing request comprises domain name information of a device that submits the data processing request, and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: parsing the domain name information to obtain the region corresponding to the purchaser of the order as disclosed by Dutta since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to let the “e-commerce server…[apply] the laws of the corresponding jurisdiction to further negotiate and/or close the sale transaction.” (See Dutta, at least Abstract).
Claim 23 is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 10: Dunston discloses all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above.
Dunston does not expressly disclose wherein the data processing request comprises identity information of the purchaser, and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: obtaining a region corresponding to the identity information from registration information as the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order, the registration information comprising a home region where identity information of at least one purchaser is registered.
However, Dutta discloses wherein the data processing request comprises identity information of the purchaser (See Dutta, at least FIGs. 2-3 and associated text; para. [0015], “IP addresses are allocated uniquely and are registered on a geographical basis according to allocation guidelines. Therefore, it is possible to locate, within a reasonable degree of accuracy, the jurisdiction of a buyer by the IP address of the client machine being used by the buyer in the e-commerce transaction”; para. [0054], “When the database server encounters a client IP address 401, the IP address may already be present in the database, or it may be absent from the database, 402. If the IP address is present, the physical location field 303 (FIG. 3) can easily be extracted by a database search on the IP address 301 (FIG. 3). This physical location is the jurisdiction 403. If the IP address is not in the database, the domain name is determined as explained earlier (nslookup or reverse lookup of domain name from IP address) 404. It is then determined if the domain name has a country name suffix, 405. If it does, the jurisdiction is the country name, 406. If the domain name does not have a country name suffix, the physical location is determined on the fly by finding the registrant information by consulting the Internet IP registrars over the Internet for the IP address 407. The physical location, i.e., jurisdiction, is determined from the IP address, and the entry is added to the database, 408”), and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: obtaining a region corresponding to the identity information from registration information as the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order (See Dutta, at least FIGs. 2-3 and associated text; para. [0015], “IP addresses are allocated uniquely and are registered on a geographical basis according to allocation guidelines. Therefore, it is possible to locate, within a reasonable degree of accuracy, the jurisdiction of a buyer by the IP address of the client machine being used by the buyer in the e-commerce transaction”; para. [0054], “When the database server encounters a client IP address 401, the IP address may already be present in the database, or it may be absent from the database, 402. If the IP address is present, the physical location field 303 (FIG. 3) can easily be extracted by a database search on the IP address 301 (FIG. 3). This physical location is the jurisdiction 403. If the IP address is not in the database, the domain name is determined as explained earlier (nslookup or reverse lookup of domain name from IP address) 404. It is then determined if the domain name has a country name suffix, 405. If it does, the jurisdiction is the country name, 406. If the domain name does not have a country name suffix, the physical location is determined on the fly by finding the registrant information by consulting the Internet IP registrars over the Internet for the IP address 407. The physical location, i.e., jurisdiction, is determined from the IP address, and the entry is added to the database, 408”), the registration information comprising a home region where identity information of at least one purchaser is registered (See Dutta, at least FIGs. 2-3 and associated text; para. [0015], “IP addresses are allocated uniquely and are registered on a geographical basis according to allocation guidelines. Therefore, it is possible to locate, within a reasonable degree of accuracy, the jurisdiction of a buyer by the IP address of the client machine being used by the buyer in the e-commerce transaction”; para. [0054], “When the database server encounters a client IP address 401, the IP address may already be present in the database, or it may be absent from the database, 402. If the IP address is present, the physical location field 303 (FIG. 3) can easily be extracted by a database search on the IP address 301 (FIG. 3). This physical location is the jurisdiction 403. If the IP address is not in the database, the domain name is determined as explained earlier (nslookup or reverse lookup of domain name from IP address) 404. It is then determined if the domain name has a country name suffix, 405. If it does, the jurisdiction is the country name, 406. If the domain name does not have a country name suffix, the physical location is determined on the fly by finding the registrant information by consulting the Internet IP registrars over the Internet for the IP address 407. The physical location, i.e., jurisdiction, is determined from the IP address, and the entry is added to the database, 408”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the global distribution system and method of Dunston the ability wherein the data processing request comprises identity information of the purchaser, and determining the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order comprises: obtaining a region corresponding to the identity information from registration information as the region corresponding to the geographic location of the purchaser of the order, the registration information comprising a home region where identity information of at least one purchaser is registered as disclosed by Dutta since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to let the “e-commerce server…[apply] the laws of the corresponding jurisdiction to further negotiate and/or close the sale transaction.” (See Dutta, at least Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anne M Georgalas/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689