DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on September 9, 2021 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has not shown that unity of invention is lacking. This is not found persuasive because EP ‘374 teaches a composition wherein component A may be a calcium silicate compound and that a retarder such as dextrin and cellulose may be added to the calcium silicate destrin. In the case where the hardening initiator of EP ‘374 is formed into a slurry, the hardening initiator preferably contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a dextrin and a cellulose derivative. Among these, a dextrin, or a combination of a dextrin and a cellulose derivative is preferred. The dextrin retards the setting of cement and thereby can enhance the stability of the ready mixed composition.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at page 21, line 20 the following is recited “Error! Reference source not found”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3,587,374.
EP teaches a hardening initiator for cementitious compositions, wherein the initiator may comprise a blocked calcium silicate (see para 0022 and 0075). EP discloses that the compound is formed into a slurry (see para 0040). Dextrin and cellulose derivatives are the blocking agents (see claim 6).
EP meets the limitations of the claims other than exemplifying the composition. However, no unobviousness is seen in this difference because EP teaches all of the materials required to produce a long-term stabilized aqueous initiator composition.
With respect to shelf life of the composition, it would be reasonable to expect that the composition of EP would meet this difference because it teaches the components necessary to prepare the blocked calcium silicate cement and teaches that it may be in slurry form.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113816701.
CN teaches a grouting material comprising (B) a slurry of silicate cement, composite additives and water (see abstract). The (B) slurry is composed of a cement: water ratio of 100 parts cement: (28 to 36) parts water. The (B) powder is 80-95 parts of silicate cement and 5-20 parts of the compound additive containing 10-20 parts of sodium gluconate (see page 2, last two lines through page 3, lines 1-2; page 7, last line). The sodium gluconate can prolong the condensation hardening of the silicate cement, so as to ensure the storage time of the (B) slurry (see page 5, third full paragraph).
The main mineral of the silicate cement is tricalcium silicate and dicalcium silicate (see page 4, penultimate paragraph). CN meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
CN teaches a two-slurry composition, however, no unobviousness is seen in this difference because each support is prepared separately.
With respect to the amount of sodium gluconate and the proportions of claim 11, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the proportions of these components through routine experimentation for the best results. As to optimization of results, a patent will not be granted based upon the optimization of result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to the silicate cement being free of aluminate clinker phases and free of lime, CN does not teach that Slurry (B) has any of these components.
With respect to shelf life, CN teaches that the sodium gluconate improves storage of the cement. Thus, since CN teaches the same components it would be reasonable to expect that the composition would have a shelf life of at least six months. Also, since CN teaches the same components as that of the present invention it would be reasonable to expect that the composition has a pH of above 10.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18842131/20261015