DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 08/28/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/28/2024 are acknowledged.
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 08/28/2024 is recognized.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 10 is directed to a method, whereas claim 17 is directed to a coupler (apparatus). A dependent claim must further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends and must be of the same statutory class as the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanula (US 4,597,499), in view of Solomon (US 5,005,715).
Regarding claim 1, Hanula discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
Coupler for a railway vehicle, the coupler comprising a front portion (20) comprising a coupler head (21), a rear portion (30) comprising a mounting structure (31) for mounting on a railway vehicle, (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 7-18, 30-45, Col. 4, ll. 32-58, Col. 5, ll. 20-67, Col. 6, ll. 1-42, Claim 10, and Figs. 1-2, teaches a rotary coupling system for railroad cars, including rotary Connecter C (i.e., coupler head) mounted in yoke A, where the rotary connector corresponds to the rear mounting structure).
a coupler shank (26) comprising a through hole (27) (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 20-45, Col. 4, ll. 32-68, Col. 5, ll. 1-18, Col. 6, ll. 1-42, and Figs. 1-2, teaches connecter shank 42 having aligned pivot pin openings 44/aperture. The pivot pin passes through aligned openings in the connector and yoke).
the coupler shank (26) being pivotably arranged on a pin (32) extending through the through hole (27) (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 1, ll. 30-45, Col. 4, ll. 32-68, Col. 5, ll. 20-67, Col. 6, ll. 1-42, Claim 10, and Figs. 1-2, teaches pivot pin D extending through aligned openings in the yoke, rotary connector, and coupler shank).
wherein one of the coupler shank (26) and the pin (32) is connected to the coupler head (21) of the front portion (20) (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 4, ll. 32-68, Col. 5, ll. 20-45, and Figs. 1-2, teaches that Connector C is connected to coupler B by pivot pin D).
and the other of the coupler shank (26) and the pin (32) is connected to the mounting structure (31) of the rear portion (30), (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 4, ll. 32-68, Col. 5, ll. 1-18, and Figs. 1-2, teaches that the pivot pin extends through the yoke and connector to interconnect both. And further teaches pivot pin D connects rotary connector C to yoke A. therefore, connecting the coupler head to the mounting structure.).
the biasing device (40) being configured to bias the pin (32) to one side of the through hole (27). (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 32-68, Col. 3, ll. 20-67, Col. 5, ll. 58-68, Col. 6, ll. 1-18, and Figs. 1-2, teaches biasing the retainer block, where compression spring 68 acting on retainer block E, which urges the pivot pin D toward one side of the opening to compensate for wear, and maintain pin position).
Hanula does not explicitly disclose:
a through hole having a first width (wi), and the pin (32) having a second width (w2) that is smaller than the first width (wi) of the through hole (27),
wherein the coupler (10) further comprises a biasing device (40) arranged in the through hole (27) of the coupler shank (26),
However, Solomon teaches:
a through hole having a first width (wi), and the pin (32) having a second width (w2) that is smaller than the first width (wi) of the through hole (27), (Solomon, Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 63-68, Col. 3, ll. 1-8, and Fig. 3, teaches apertures 16 and 20 receiving pin 22 in a loose-fitting manner. Therefore, teaches that the aperture has a width larger that the pin width/diameter).
wherein the coupler (10) further comprises a biasing device (40) arranged in the through hole (27) of the coupler shank (26), (Solomon, Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 1-14, Col. 3, ll. 16-59, and Figs. 1-3, teaches an articulated railroad car connector including resilient spring members 60 acting on pressure plate 56 adjacent the coupling pin to bias the coupling pin toward the bearing block and maintain proper relationship).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Hanula’s coupler by positioning the biasing arrangement at the pivot pin opening region as taught by Solomon, in order to improve reliability of the coupling assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Hanula and Solomon disclose the limitations of claim 1. Hanula disclose:
Coupler according to claim 1 or 2, wherein the biasing device (40) comprises a mechanical spring (41) configured to act on the pin (32). (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 32-68, Col. 3, ll. 20-67, Col. 5, ll. 58-68, Col. 6, ll. 1-18, and Figs. 1-2, teaches a retainer block biased by a spring. The spring urges the retainer block into engagement with the pivot pin, thereby biasing the pin. Therefore, teaches a biasing device comprising a mechanical spring configured to act on the pin).
Claims 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanula (US 4,597,499), in view of Solomon (US 5,005,715), and further in view of Westman (US 2013/0146558).
Regarding claim 2, Hanula and Solomon disclose the limitations of claim 1. Westman discloses:
Coupler according to claim 1, wherein the coupler head (20) comprises a hook plate (22) that is biased towards an uncoupled state with a hook plate spring force (HF), and wherein a biasing device force (BF) of the biasing device (40) on the pin (32) is larger than the hook plate spring force (HF) on the hook plate (22). (Westman, Abstract, Paras. [0006]-[0010], [0022]-[0025], teaches a Coupler head, hooking rod (i.e., hook plate) pivotally connected in the coupler head, and leaf spring 13 arranged in the coupler head, where the leaf spring biases the hooking rod toward its engaged/disengaged position (hooked up/non-coupled). Hanula teaches a biasing device acting on the pin, while Westman teaches a hook plate biased by a leaf spring. Further selecting the relative spring forces to exceed the hook plate spring force would have been a matter of routine optimization to ensure reliable retention of the pivot pin while maintaining the operation of the hook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the leaf spring-biased hook mechanism as taught by Westman, in order to ensure reliable retention and operation of the coupling assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Hanula, Solomon and Westman disclose the limitations of claim 2. Hanula discloses:
Coupler according to claim 2, wherein the biasing device (40) comprises a mechanical spring (41) configured to act on the pin (32). (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 32-68, Col. 3, ll. 20-67, Col. 5, ll. 58-68, Col. 6, ll. 1-18, and Figs. 1-2, teaches a spring loaded retainer block urged by compression spring 68. The spring continuously biases the retainer block into engagement with pivot pin D, and urging the pivot pin toward one side of the opening to compensate for wear and maintain proper pin positioning. Therefore, teaches biasing device including a mechanical spring).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 4, 6-7, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanula (US 4,597,499), in view of Solomon (US 5,005,715), and further in view of Lietonen (US 2021/0146737).
Regarding claim 4, Hanula and Solomon disclose the limitations of claims 1, 3. Lietonen discloses:
Coupler according to claim 3, wherein the biasing device (40) comprises a device head (42) and the mechanical spring (41) is configured to push the device head (42) towards the pin (32), and wherein the biasing device (40) further comprises a guide pin (43) for aligning the biasing device (40) with a guide opening (28) in the through hole (27) of the shank (26). Hanula in view of Solomon teach the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. (Lietonen, Abstract, Paras. [0019]-[0022], [0036]-[0041], [0045]-[0050], Figs. 1A-4B, teaches that the intermediate member carries an end plate/end surface that is acted by springs (i.e., spring loaded device head). The springs extend between the frame and the intermediate member and urge the intermediate member in the longitudinal direction, where the spring pushes the spring contacting head toward the movable rod. And further teaches that the guide pin sliding within the guide opening to guide movement of the intermediate member where the guide pin cooperating with an elongated guide opening to guide and align the movement of the spring-biased member within the surrounding structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Dunn’s control system to modify the biasing device of Hanula in view of Solomon, to include the spring guiding arrangement as taught by Lietonen, in order to improve guided linear motion while maintaining the wear compensating biasing function.
Regarding claim 6, Hanula and Solomon disclose the limitations of claim 1. Lietonen discloses:
Coupler according to any previous claim, further comprising at least one mounting portion (45) for mounting the biasing device (40) on the coupler shank (26). Hanula in view of Solomon teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. (Lietonen, Abstract, Paras. [0019]-[0022], [0036]-[0041], [0045]-[0050], Figs. 1A-4B, teaches a spring-biased mechanism including structural mounting portions, such as shoulders, stoppers, and mounting interfaces, where the spring assembly is mounted and retained relative to the surrounding structure while allowing guided movement of the movable members).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 4 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Hanula, Solomon and Lietonen disclose the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
Method for overhauling a coupler for a railway vehicle, the method comprising - providing (101) a coupler according to any of Method for overhauling a coupler for a railway vehicle, the method comprising - providing (101) a coupler according to any of - removing (102) the biasing device (40) from the coupler, and- mounting (103) a replacement biasing device (40') in the through hole (27) of the coupler (10). Hanula in view of Solomon teach providing a coupler and the spring biased pin arrangement as discussed above. (Lietonen, Abstract, Paras. [0019]-[0022], [0036]-[0041], [0045]-[0050], Figs. 1A-4B, teaches a spring-biased mechanism that is inserted into and retained within a guide opening of the supporting structure, with components assembled through the opening and retained by cooperating structural features. The arrangement permits removal and reinstallation of the spring assembly during maintenance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to remove a worn or damaged biasing device from the coupler of Hanula modified by Solomon, as a routine maintenance process as taught by Lietonen, in order to ensure reliable retention and operation of the coupling assembly.
Regarding claim 19, Hanula, Solomon and Lietonen disclose the limitations of claim 4. Lietonen discloses:
Coupler according to claim 4, further comprising at least one mounting portion (45) for mounting the biasing device (40) on the coupler shank (26). (Lietonen, Abstract, Paras. [0011]-[0013], [0019]-[0022], [0036]-[0050], Figs. 1A-4B, teaches a spring-biased mechanism mounted to a machine frame through dedicated structural mounting portions. And an intermediate member supporting the spring assembly and including structural shoulders, stopper elements, guide surfaces, and mounting interfaces for securing and retaining the spring biased mechanism relative to the surrounding structure while permitting guided longitudinal movement, where mounting interfaces constitute mounting portions for mounting the spring biased assembly to the supporting structure).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 4 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 20, Hanula and Solomon disclose the limitations of claim 3. Lietonen discloses:
Coupler according to claim 3, further comprising at least one mounting portion (45) for mounting the biasing device (40) on the coupler shank (26). (Lietonen, Abstract, Paras. [0011]-[0013], [0019]-[0022], [0036]-[0050], Figs. 1A-4B, teaches a spring-biased mechanism mounted to a supporting structure by structural mounting portions. Teaches shoulders, stopper elements, guide structures, and mounting interfaces that retain and support the spring biased assembly while allowing controlled guided movement of the movable member, where the structural interfaces constitute mounting portions for mounting the spring biased assembly to the supporting structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the spring biased pin arrangement of Hanula in view of Solomon to incorporate structural mounting portions as taught by Lietonen, in order to improve structural integrity, and provide ease of assembly.
Claims 5, 8-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanula (US 4,597,499), in view of Solomon (US 5,005,715), and further in view of Lietonen (US 2021/0146737), and Girard (US 9,121,523).
Regarding claim 5, Hanula, Solomon and Lietonen disclose the limitations of claim 4. Girard discloses:
Coupler according to claim 4, wherein the guide pin (43) comprises a threaded portion (47) and wherein the biasing device (40) further comprises a nut (44) for cooperating with the threaded portion (47) of the guide pin (43) for pre-tensioning the mechanical spring (41) of the biasing device (40). Hanula in view of Solomon teach providing a coupler including the guide pin and the spring biased pin arrangement as discussed above. (Girard, Abstract, Col. 7, ll. 38-67 , Col. 8, ll. 40-65 , teaches a spring capture assembly including cooperating threaded members such as threads 71, 74, 88, and a threaded nut 92, where manipulation of the nut compresses (pretensions) the compression spring 50 before maintenance or assemblies. And further taches that the threaded member and cooperating nut permits controlled compression and presetting of the spring, therefore, facilitating safe assembly, maintenance, and consistent spring preload).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the biasing device of Hanula-Solomon to employ Girad’s threaded preload arrangement, in order to adjust spring pretension and easier maintenance.
Regarding claim 8, Hanula, Solomon and Lietonen disclose the limitations of claim 7. Girard discloses:
Method according to claim 7, further comprising removing (104) a mechanical spring (41) from the biasing device (40) and mounting a replacement mechanical spring (41') in the biasing device (40) to create the replacement biasing device (40'). Hanula in view of Solomon teach a method for overhauling a railway coupler including removing the biasing device from the coupler for maintenance as applied to claim 7. (Girard, Abstract, Col. 7, ll. 1-67 , Col. 8, ll. 1-29 , Figs. 4A-7B, teaches servicing a spring-biased mechanism by capturing a compressed spring, disassembling the spring-biased mechanism, removing the spring, and replacing or servicing components before reassembly. And further teaches a spring-capture assembly that permits safe disassembly of spring-biased mechanism, including compressing the spring, removing, accessing the compression spring, and replacing or maintaining the components without uncontrolled spring release).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the overhaul method of Hanula-Solomon to employ removing the mechanical spring from the biasing device and installing a replacement spring as taught by Girad, in order to extend the service life of the coupler.
Regarding claim 9, Hanula, Solomon and Lietonen disclose the limitations of claim 7. Girard discloses:
Method according to claim 7 or 8, further comprising pre-tensioning (105) the replacement biasing device (40'). Hanula in view of Solomon teach a method for overhauling a railway coupler including removing the biasing device from the coupler for maintenance as applied to claim 7. (Girard, Abstract, Col. 6, ll. 20-67, Col. 7, ll. 30-67 , Col. 8, ll. 1-43 , Figs. 4A-7B, teaches pre-tensioning/preloading the replacement spring before returning the mechanism to service. And further teaches that a threaded tool cooperates with a threaded spring retainer such that manipulation of the threaded connection compresses/preloads the compression spring before reassembly. Advancing the threaded nut or rotating the threaded tool compresses the spring to a predetermined preload before the spring-biased mechanism is reassembled. Therefore, teaches pre-tensioning the replacement spring before completion of the service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the overhaul method of Hanula-Solomon to employ pre-tensioning the replacement biasing device after replacement of the spring as taught by Girad, in order to ensure that the spring is installed with the appropriate force, and improves safe assembly.
Regarding claim 10, Hanula, Solomon, Lietonen and Girard disclose the limitations of claim 8. Girard discloses:
Method according to claim 8, further comprising pre-tensioning (105) the replacement biasing device (40'). (Girard, Abstract, Col. 6, ll. 20-67, Col. 7, ll. 30-67 , Col. 8, ll. 1-43 , Figs. 4A-7B, teaches servicing a spring biased mechanism by removing the compression spring, replacing or servicing the spring, and compressing/preloading the replacement spring before assembly. And further teaches that a threaded tool cooperates with a threaded spring retainer such that manipulation of the threaded connection compresses (preloads) the replacement spring before the mechanism is returned to service. Therefore, teaches pre-tensioning the replacement biasing device after replacement of the mechanical spring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the overhaul method of Hanula-Solomon to employ pre-tensioning the replacement biasing device after replacement of the spring as taught by Girad, in order to ensure that the spring is installed with the appropriate force, and improves safe assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Hanula, Solomon, Lietonen and Girard disclose the limitations of claim 5. Hanula discloses:
Coupler according to claim 5, further comprising at least one mounting portion (45) for mounting the biasing device (40) on the coupler shank (26). (Hanula, Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 32-68, Col. 3, ll. 20-67, Col. 5, ll. 58-68, Col. 6, ll. 1-18, and Figs. 1-2, teaches a spring biased pin retainer block selectively insertable into and retained within the yoke pivot pin opening. The retainer block is mounted in a covering relationship with the yoke opening and secured thereto by a locking member. The retainer block includes structural portions that mount the biasing device relative to the coupler shank while permitting the spring biased member to engage the pivot pin. Therefore, teaches at least one mounting portion for mounting the biasing device on the coupler shank). Solomon provides the articulated railway coupler context.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Hanaway (US 7,896,179) teaches a knuckle pin retainer for a railroad car coupler adapted for disposition in an aperture formed by a knuckle coupler assembly for connecting adjacent railroad car.
Clark (US 2018/0065649) teaches a draft gear assembly for use with railcars having coupler members including front and back ends and comprises a yoke, a coupler follower, a front resilient member, an intermediate stop member, and a back resilient member.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615