DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 14, and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220122580 A1 ZHAO; Pei et al. (hereinafter ZHAO).
Re claim 1, ZHAO teahces
1. A speech synthesizer, comprising: (synthesizer expressly fig. 5)
A processor with a speech analysis module to analyze and process natural language to formulate content of an utterance and an emotional module to perform emotional modeling of the utterance in synthetic speech; (hardware in fig. 14a-14b… and extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
a neural network with an AI system programmed with a generic algorithm; (a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
a microphone with recording; (mic 0041)
a memory storing a recording of natural and/or artificially spoken speech as acoustic data; (0108 and 0110 such as housing the neural network e.g. DNN 0104 using multiple emotions…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
wherein processor receives, analyzes, and processes the acoustic data stored in the memory; (0108 and 0110 such as housing the neural network e.g. DNN 0104 using multiple emotions…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
wherein the speech analysis module and the emotional module are connected to the neural network; (in fig. 5 a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
wherein the neutral network provides a suggestion for the emotional modeling with regard to content of the utterance; (creating an estimate or suggestion per se for emotion with a scale such as a strength of emotion via metric 0058 … using a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
wherein the AI system develops a suggestion for the emotional modeling on the basis of appropriate training data at least partly generated by human interaction; and (a human provides the input and the model is therefore trained, then the system is tasked in creating an estimate or suggestion per se for emotion with a scale such as a strength of emotion via metric 0058 … using a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
a speaker for reproducing synthetic speech. (0121 speaker using fig. 5 synthesis output)
Re claim 2, ZHAO teaches
2. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a speech processing model using a deep learning architecture to generate human-like text. (modeling human input to produce human output… a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Re claim 3, ZHAO teaches
3. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an interface to a library. (corpus for instance 0118-0121 with 0043…a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Re claim 4, ZHAO teaches
4. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a module to capture human emotions with a series of controllers, each of which can be assigned to different emotions. (emotions assigned to slots and different text as the text tags are controllers under BRI via a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Re claim 7, ZHAO teaches
7. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the memory stores acquired data for comparison with already existing data. (comparison of data 0077 0097…a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Re claim 9, ZHAO teaches
9. A method for speech synthesis, the method comprising: (synthesizer fig. 5)
playing back synthetic and/or human speech; (fig. 5 playing back human speech)
capturing one or more human responses to the speech in real time; (a command would be in real time, using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
converting the captured data into machine-processable data; (fig. 5 conversions)
storing the machine-processable data; (fig. 14a-b e.g. an interface with processor)
repeating the above multiplicity of times; (as in fig. 7 & 0078 nth number of repetitions e.g. a user using the device more than once)
forwarding the machine-processable data as training data to a neural network to provide solutions for speech synthesis via generic programming based on the machine-processable data; (a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
implementing suggestions for speech synthesis generated by the AI system by means of a suitably configured processor; and (a human provides the input and the model is therefore trained, then the system is tasked in creating an estimate or suggestion per se for emotion with a scale such as a strength of emotion via metric 0058 … using a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
broadcasting the synthesized speech. (0121 speaker using fig. 5 synthesis output)
Re claim 10, ZHAO teaches
10. The method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising capturing human response with regard to emotions including: admiration, pleasure, fear, annoyance, approval, compassion, confusion, curiosity, desire, disappointment, disapproval, disgust, embarrassment, agitation, anxiety, gratitude, sorrow, joy, love, nervousness, optimism, pride, and/or awareness. (e.g. 102, happy/joy, anger, etc. depending on context various interpretations, using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Re claim 11, ZHAO teaches
11. The method as claimed in claim 10, further comprising capturing and intensity of the human response. (creating an estimate or suggestion per se for emotion with a scale such as a strength of emotion via metric 0058 …a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Re claim 14, ZHAO teaches
14. The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the multiplicity of times is from 2 to 1,000 times. (as in fig. 7 0078 nth number of repetitions e.g. a user using the device more than once)
Re claim 15, ZHAO teaches
15. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor provides a classification of the various learned emotional models. (one or more models, several sub-models 0033 0053…a neural network e.g. DNN using multiple emotions 0104…extracting multiple emotions from speech and thus tagged emotion text 0067 0073 with 0102 using emotional models and speech processing to extract intent with emotion 0029 such as for a command 0057, as in fig. 5 using the ASR results into text from fig. 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220122580 A1 ZHAO; Pei et al. (hereinafter ZHAO) in view of US 20200074154 A1 el Kaliouby; Rana et al (hereinafter el Kaliouby).
Re claim 5, while ZHAO teaches speech synthesis with emotion, it fails to teach:
5. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the microphone includes a filter for noise selection. (el Kaliouby 0056 noise filtering while including or excluding inputs such as breathing sounds 0140 in learning models e.g. emotion-based 0093 in well-known multimedia compression schemes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHAO to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by el Kaliouby to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as using generalized concepts such as noise filtration to produce a cleaner signal in ZHAO using well-known noise filters as in el Kaliouby.
Re claim 6, while ZHAO teaches speech synthesis with emotion, it fails to teach:
6. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the microphone captures breathing sounds. (el Kaliouby 0056 noise filtering while including or excluding inputs such as breathing sounds 0140 in learning models e.g. emotion-based 0093 in well-known multimedia compression schemes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHAO to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by el Kaliouby to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as extracting breathing information as a form of emotional analysis, thereby contributing to data extraction of ZHAO to expand emotion into cognitive states, moods, mental states, emotional states, etc.
Re claim 8, while ZHAO teaches speech synthesis with emotion, it fails to teach:
8. The speech synthesizer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the memory compresses incoming data. (el Kaliouby 0056 noise filtering while including or excluding inputs such as breathing sounds 0140 in learning models e.g. emotion-based 0093 in well-known multimedia compression schemes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHAO to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by el Kaliouby to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as well-known multi-media compression to be able to handle streamed inputs in smaller amounts for communication e.g. H.264 to remove unnecessary data to reduce file size while maintaining quality of the audio (or video or both).
Re claim 13, while ZHAO teaches speech synthesis with emotion, it fails to teach:
13. The method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising identifying breathing sounds of the human speaker. (el Kaliouby 0056 noise filtering while including or excluding inputs such as breathing sounds 0140 in learning models e.g. emotion-based 0093 in well-known multimedia compression schemes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHAO to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by el Kaliouby to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as extracting breathing information as a form of emotional analysis, thereby contributing to data extraction of ZHAO to expand emotion into cognitive states, moods, mental states, emotional states, etc.
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 13is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220122580 A1 ZHAO; Pei et al. (hereinafter ZHAO) in view of US 20230127120 A1 CHANDRAN; Chakkaradeep Chinnakonda et al. (hereinafter CHANDRAN).
Re claim 12, while ZHAO teaches speech synthesis with emotion, it fails to teach:
12. The method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising identifying filler words in the speech. (removing filler words 0033-0034 0069)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHAO to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by el CHANDRAN to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as removing a filler word for a smoother more articulate output by tagging the filler word in the text so that the synthesizer can remove it for a more natural sounding output.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11605384 B1 Dalton; Steven et al.
AI driven emotional analysis in conversation
/MICHAEL COLUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 (571)-270-1847
Examiner FAX: (571)-270-2847
Michael.Colucci@uspto.gov