DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 2026-09-15 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones et al. (US2013/0031984).
Regarding claim 12 Jones discloses:
A field device, comprising:
a housing (e.g. 10 Figure 5) having an inner space (e.g. shown Figure 5), a first electronics module (e.g. 20 Figure 4) secured in the inner space, a second electronics module (e.g. in 136 Figure 5) arranged in the inner space, a mechanical securement (e.g. 76 paragraph [0046]), by means of which the second electronics module is securable to the first electronics module along a defined plug-in vector to form a mechanical connection (e.g. described paragraph [0046] shown Figure 5), and an electrical plug contact (e.g. 122 Figure 5), via which the second electronics module is electrically contactable with the first electronics module correspondingly to the mechanical connection in the direction of the plug-in vector (e.g. described paragraph [0048], shown Figure 5), with a plug arrangement (e.g. triangle arrangement of 122 shown Figure 13), a socket arrangement (e.g. triangle arrangement of 76 shown Figure 4) corresponding to the plug arrangement, a first circuit board having a surface (e.g. 70 with 70a/70b Figure 5), on which either the plug arrangement or the socket arrangement is arranged in such a manner that the plugs, or sockets, are oriented in parallel with the surface (e.g. as would be understood from Figure 2, Figure 5, Figure 14), and a circuit board seat (e.g. 90 Figure 8) , which is arranged at one of the two electronic modules (e.g. shown Figure 5), with a first guide (e.g. between 99 Figure 4), by means of which the first circuit board is guidable in parallel with the plug-in vector (e.g. up/down in 130 Figure 2), and at least one end stop element (e.g. feature in which 92 extends Figure 5), which forms in the first guide counter to the plug-in vector an end stop for the corresponding plug (e.g. shown Figure 5), or socket, arrangement of the first circuit board, wherein that of the two arrangements, which is not secured on the first circuit board, is correspondingly arranged on that electronics module, to which the circuit board seat is not secured (e.g. shown Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13 Jones discloses:
the circuit board seat includes a second guide (e.g. 95 Figure 7), which is designed orthogonally to guide the corresponding plug or socket arrangement relative to the surface of the first circuit board.
Regarding claim 14 Jones discloses:
that electronics module, on which the circuit board seat is arranged, comprises a second circuit board (e.g. shown Figure 5), which is oriented orthogonally to the plug-in vector (e.g. shown Figure 5), and/or wherein the circuit board seat, and the corresponding arrangement, are arranged relative to the plug-in vector behind, or above, the second circuit board (e.g. shown Figure 5).
Regarding claim 15 Jones discloses:
the circuit board seat is designed as a component of a potting form for the second circuit board (e.g. described paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 16 Jones discloses:
the circuit board seat has on sides of that surface of the first circuit board, on which the corresponding arrangement is arranged, a yoke extending orthogonally to the plug-in vector (e.g. on which 70b rests Figure 5), and wherein such surface of the first circuit board is electrically connected with the second circuit board via a flexible circuit board or a flexible cable (e.g. 94 Figure 5).
Regarding claim 17 Jones discloses:
the yoke surrounds in the circuit board seat an inner surface (e.g. surface against 70b Figure 5), which is smaller than a minimum extent of the corresponding arrangement on the first circuit board (e.g. edges of 70b extend beyond 90 Figure 5).
Regarding claim 18 Jones discloses:
the circuit board seat includes an engagement hook (e.g. hooking heads of 92 shown Figure 5) opposite that surface of the first circuit board, on which the corresponding arrangement is arranged, such that the engagement hook forms in the first guide in the direction of the plug-in vector an end stop for the first circuit board after engagement (e.g. shown Figure 5).
Regarding claim 19 Jones discloses:
the engagement hook is designed in such a manner that in the engaged state it exerts a compressive force on the first circuit board orthogonally to the surface of the first circuit board (e.g. 92 holds 70 in place).
Regarding claim 20 Jones discloses:
at least that of the two arrangements, which is secured to the first circuit board, is designed as an SMD component or as a THT component (e.g. shown Figure 5).
Regarding claim 21 Jones discloses:
the mechanical securement of the electronic modules comprises at least three engagement tabs and corresponding projections (e.g. shown Figure 4 and Figure 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclose/teach similar circuit board housings as those disclosed in the present application.
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841