DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2024 and 02/06/2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 18 and 22 recite the phrase, “The network node of claim 14, The method of claim 14,” which appears to be an error since both claims depend on the independent claim 14, which is drawn to a network node;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 18-26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 20220046661 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon.
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Jeon teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Figs. 29-30, Para. [0047-0048]-Jeon discloses method for configuring a plurality of configured grants. Para. [0069]-Jeon discloses apparatuses, systems, and/or methods ... implemented on one or more devices (e.g., wireless device, base station, eNB, gNB, computing device, etc.), in one or more networks. Fig. 15A, Para. [0188]-Jeon discloses communications between a wireless device and a base station. A wireless device 1502 and a base station 1504 may be part of a communication network ... communication network may comprise more than one wireless device and/or more than one base station. Para. [0194]-Jeon discloses the processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518, respectively, to carry out one or more of the functionalities), configured to cause the UE to:
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) updating one or more beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (BFD-RS) resources associated with at least one radio node of multiple radio nodes associated with the UE (Fig. 24, Para. [0270-0273]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... The wireless device 2402 may receive message(s) (e.g., RRC message(s)) comprising the one or more configuration parameters 2403 of one or more radio resource(s) of a cell, for example, before transitioning to and/or in (e.g., during) the non-connected state. The one or more configuration parameters 2403 may indicate one or more reference signals of the cell. The one or more reference signals may comprise one or more reference signals of the cell, for example, an SSB identified by an SSB index/identifier or a CSI-RS identified by a CSI-RS index/identifier (and/or CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of the cell. The one or more reference signals may comprise an SRS identified by an SRS index/identifier (e.g., SRS resource index/identifier, SRS resource set index/identifier, and/or a combination thereof). The reference signal(s) may indicate a particular beam used for a beam failure detection and/or beam failure recovery procedure(s) of the cell. Fig. 1, Para. [0053]-Jeon discloses the RAN 104 may comprise one or more base stations (not shown). As used throughout, the term “base station” may comprise one or more of: a base station, a node, a Node B (NB), an evolved NodeB (eNB), a gNB, an ng-eNB, a relay node (e.g., an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node), a donor node (e.g., a donor eNB, a donor gNB, etc.), an access point (e.g., a Wi-Fi access point), a transmission and reception point (TRP), a computing device, a device capable of wirelessly communicating, or any other device capable of sending and/or receiving signals. A base station may comprise one or more of each element listed above. For example, a base station may comprise one or more TRPs. Para. [0193]-Jeon discloses the base station 1504 may comprise multiple antennas (e.g., multiple antenna panels, multiple TRPs, etc.). The wireless device 1502 may comprise multiple antennas (e.g., multiple antenna panels, etc.). The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming. The wireless device 1502 and/or the base station 1504 may have a single antenna. (See also Fig. 12A, Para. [0150])); and
monitor for a BFD-RS on the one or more BFD-RS resources (Para. [0276]-Jeon discloses the at least one beam (e.g., DL RS) may be a configured beam for the beam failure detection of the cell. The at least one beam may be indicated by an identifier of a DL RS of the cell. The DL RS may be a radio link monitoring RS (or a beam failure detection RS) configured by an RRC message that the wireless device 2402 receives from the base station 2401 (e.g., via the cell). The DL RS may be an SSB and/or CSI-RS of the cell. Fig. 24, Para. [0272-0274]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may perform, with the base station 2401, one or more beam failure detections and/or beam failure recovery procedures in/during the non-connected state. The beam failure detection(s) and/or beam failure recovery procedure(s) may be referred to as radio link monitoring and/or link recovery procedure(s), respectively. The wireless device 2402 may determine the beam failure detection via the radio link monitoring procedure ... The wireless device 2402 may receive message(s) (e.g., RRC message(s)) comprising the one or more configuration parameters 2403 of one or more radio resource(s) of a cell ... The one or more configuration parameters 2403 in the message(s) may comprise indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with radio link monitoring (e.g., beam failure detection procedure) of the cell and/or link recovery (e.g., beam failure recovery procedure) of the cell. The radio link monitoring and/or link recovery may be for transmission and/or reception performed in/during the non-connected state. A reference signal configured for the radio link monitoring may be referred to as a radio link monitoring RS and/or beam failure detection resource (or DL RS). The wireless device 2402 may determine a beam failure detection of the cell, for example, based on monitoring (and/or measuring) a beam measurement quantity (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, BLER, and/or the like) of the reference signal configured for the radio link monitoring).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information configuring a first set of BFD-RS resources for a first radio node of the multiple radio nodes (Fig. 26, Para. [0290]-Jeon discloses beam failure detection and/or recovery procedure(s) ... A wireless device 2602 may receive, from a base station 2601, one or more messages (e.g., an RRC message 2603, such as an RRC release message). The RRC message 2603 may comprise configuration parameters of a cell. The configuration parameters may indicate one or more radio resource (e.g., PUR, as shown in FIG. 26) ... The configuration parameters may indicate at least one beam (e.g., corresponding to a DL RS) associated with the transmission and/or the reception ... A TCI and/or spatial relation information in the configuration parameters may indicate the association between the at least one beam and/or the transmission (and/or the reception). The configuration parameters may indicate one or more parameter values of beam failure detection. Fig. 1, Para. [0053]-Jeon discloses base station may comprise one or more TRPs. (See also Fig. 12A, Para. [0150]). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may measure at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP), for example, in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are configured. The at least one DL RS may comprise a synchronization signal (e.g., SSBs) and/or a CSI-RS, cell-specific RS(s), and the like) and
a second set of BFD-RS resources for a second radio node of the multiple radio nodes (Fig. 26, Para. [0290]-Jeon discloses beam failure detection and/or recovery procedure(s) ... A wireless device 2602 may receive, from a base station 2601, one or more messages (e.g., an RRC message 2603, such as an RRC release message). The RRC message 2603 may comprise configuration parameters of a cell. The configuration parameters may indicate one or more radio resource (e.g., PUR, as shown in FIG. 26) ... The configuration parameters may indicate at least one beam (e.g., corresponding to a DL RS) associated with the transmission and/or the reception ... A TCI and/or spatial relation information in the configuration parameters may indicate the association between the at least one beam and/or the transmission (and/or the reception). The configuration parameters may indicate one or more parameter values of beam failure detection. Fig. 1, Para. [0053]-Jeon discloses base station may comprise one or more TRPs. (See also Fig. 12A, Para. [0150]). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may measure at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP), for example, in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are configured. The at least one DL RS may comprise a synchronization signal (e.g., SSBs) and/or a CSI-RS, cell-specific RS(s), and the like),
the one or more BFD-RS resources are included in at least one of the first set of BFD-RS resources or the second set of BFD-RS resources (Fig. 26, Para. [0290]-Jeon discloses beam failure detection and/or recovery procedure(s) ... A wireless device 2602 may receive, from a base station 2601, one or more messages (e.g., an RRC message 2603, such as an RRC release message). The RRC message 2603 may comprise configuration parameters of a cell. The configuration parameters may indicate one or more radio resource (e.g., PUR, as shown in FIG. 26) ... The configuration parameters may indicate at least one beam (e.g., corresponding to a DL RS) associated with the transmission and/or the reception ... A TCI and/or spatial relation information in the configuration parameters may indicate the association between the at least one beam and/or the transmission (and/or the reception). The configuration parameters may indicate one or more parameter values of beam failure detection. Fig. 1, Para. [0053]-Jeon discloses base station may comprise one or more TRPs. (See also Fig. 12A, Para. [0150]). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may measure at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP), for example, in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are configured. The at least one DL RS may comprise a synchronization signal (e.g., SSBs) and/or a CSI-RS, cell-specific RS(s), and the like).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 2 and the network node of claim 15 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the configuration information includes a list of sets of BFD-RS resources per radio node of the multiple radio nodes (Fig. 26, Para. [0290]-Jeon discloses beam failure detection and/or recovery procedure(s) ... A wireless device 2602 may receive, from a base station 2601, one or more messages (e.g., an RRC message 2603, such as an RRC release message). The RRC message 2603 may comprise configuration parameters of a cell. The configuration parameters may indicate one or more radio resource (e.g., PUR, as shown in FIG. 26) ... The configuration parameters may indicate at least one beam (e.g., corresponding to a DL RS) associated with the transmission and/or the reception ... A TCI and/or spatial relation information in the configuration parameters may indicate the association between the at least one beam and/or the transmission (and/or the reception). The configuration parameters may indicate one or more parameter values of beam failure detection. Fig. 1, Para. [0053]-Jeon discloses base station may comprise one or more TRPs. (See also Fig. 12A, Para. [0150]). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may measure at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP), for example, in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are configured. The at least one DL RS may comprise a synchronization signal (e.g., SSBs) and/or a CSI-RS, cell-specific RS(s), and the like).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE includes one or more identifiers of the one or more BFD-RS resources (Para. [0274]-Jeon discloses reference signal configured for the radio link monitoring may be referred to as a radio link monitoring RS and/or beam failure detection resource (or DL RS). Para. [0271]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may receive message(s) (e.g., an RRC message, a MAC CE, DCI, and/or any combination(s) thereof) comprising one or more radio resource configuration parameters 2403 indicating an association between the one or more channel(s) and the first beam. The one or more radio resource configuration parameters 2403 may indicate that a beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. The first DL RS may represent and/or indicate the first beam. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource). Para. [0276]-Jeon discloses the at least one beam (e.g., DL RS) may be a configured beam for the beam failure detection of the cell. The at least one beam may be indicated by an identifier of a DL RS of the cell. The DL RS may be a radio link monitoring RS (or a beam failure detection RS) configured by an RRC message that the wireless device 2402 receives from the base station 2401 (e.g., via the cell). The DL RS may be an SSB and/or CSI-RS of the cell. (See also para. [0264])).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE indicates whether the one or more BFD-RS resources are updated for a single radio node or for the multiple radio nodes (Para. [0264]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that configured, re-configures, updates, and/or activates the TCI state(s) of a PDSCH and/or a PDCCH (e.g., CORESET). Para. [0269]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that may configure, re-configure, update, and/or activate the spatial relation information of a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or an SRS. Para. [0270-0271]-Jeon discloses wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. Para. [0263]-Jeon discloses the one or more TCI states (e.g., each of the one or more TCI states) may comprise at least one of following: one or more DL RS(s) (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), any combination thereof), cell index/identifier. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses he wireless device may measure a received signal strength of at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP) {Corresponding to the single or multiple radio node as identified by the total number of cell indices/identifiers}, for example, where the one or more uplink radio resources are configured).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE identifies the at least one radio node (Para. [0270-0271]-Jeon discloses wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. Para. [0263]-Jeon discloses the one or more TCI states (e.g., each of the one or more TCI states) may comprise at least one of following: one or more DL RS(s) (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), any combination thereof), cell index/identifier. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses he wireless device may measure a received signal strength of at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP) {Corresponding to the single or multiple radio node as identified by the total number of cell indices/identifiers}, for example, where the one or more uplink radio resources are configured).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE includes an indication of whether the one or more BFD-RS resources include a single BFD-RS resource or multiple BFD-RS resources (Para. [0274]-Jeon discloses reference signal configured for the radio link monitoring may be referred to as a radio link monitoring RS and/or beam failure detection resource (or DL RS). Para. [0271]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may receive message(s) (e.g., an RRC message, a MAC CE, DCI, and/or any combination(s) thereof) comprising one or more radio resource configuration parameters 2403 indicating an association between the one or more channel(s) and the first beam. The one or more radio resource configuration parameters 2403 may indicate that a beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. The first DL RS may represent and/or indicate the first beam. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource) {Where the total number of RS identifiers determines whether the BFD-RS resource is single or multiple}. Para. [0276]-Jeon discloses the at least one beam (e.g., DL RS) may be a configured beam for the beam failure detection of the cell. The at least one beam may be indicated by an identifier of a DL RS of the cell. The DL RS may be a radio link monitoring RS (or a beam failure detection RS) configured by an RRC message that the wireless device 2402 receives from the base station 2401 (e.g., via the cell). The DL RS may be an SSB and/or CSI-RS of the cell. (See also para. [0264])).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE includes an indication of whether a candidate BFD-RS resource, associated with a particular radio node, is updated (Para. [0264]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that configured, re-configures, updates, and/or activates the TCI state(s) of a PDSCH and/or a PDCCH (e.g., CORESET). Para. [0269]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that may configure, re-configure, update, and/or activate the spatial relation information of a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or an SRS. Para. [0270-0271]-Jeon discloses wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. Para. [0263]-Jeon discloses the one or more TCI states (e.g., each of the one or more TCI states) may comprise at least one of following: one or more DL RS(s) (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), any combination thereof), cell index/identifier. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses he wireless device may measure a received signal strength of at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP) {Where the cell indices/identifiers indicates the particular radio node's BFD-RS resource that was updated}, for example, where the one or more uplink radio resources are configured).
Regarding claims 10 and 28, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 26 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: update the one or more BFD-RS resources for a set of serving cells including at least one of: a serving cell indicated by the MAC-CE, or one or more other serving cells indicated by a configured serving cell list (Para. [0217]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 1812 may receive, from the base station 1811, message(s) (e.g., RRC message) comprising one or more configuration parameters for transmission of uplink data via the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., 1806) in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. Para. [0228]-Jeon discloses one or more configuration parameters may indicate a value of a time alignment timer (TAT) (e.g., example parameter name: TimeAlignmentTimer) for a cell (and/or a cell group comprising the cell) in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state are configured ... the wireless device may start (and/or re-start) the TAT based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving a timing advance command that indicates a timing advance offset value (e.g., a new and/or updated timing advance offset value) of the cell (and/or of cells in the cell group). The timing advance command may be received as a MAC CE and/or DCI. The timing advance command may indicate a timing advance offset value of a cell in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are. Para. [0272]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may perform the beam failure detection and/or beam failure recovery procedures in association with a cell, which may be the cell in which the wireless device 2402 is configured with one or more uplink radio resources in the non-connected state. Para. [0162]-Jeon discloses second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) (e.g., received by the wireless device) ... second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI). Para. [0092]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may measure received signal levels (e.g., reference signal levels, reference signal received power, reference signal received quality, received signal strength indicator, etc.) based on one or more signals sent from a serving cell and neighboring cells. Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the measurement(s) of the DL RS of the cell may be a serving cell measurement (e.g., RSRP)).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 10,
Jeon further teaches the serving cell indicated by the MAC-CE is indicated by the configured serving cell list (Para. [0228]-Jeon discloses one or more configuration parameters may indicate a value of a time alignment timer (TAT) (e.g., example parameter name: TimeAlignmentTimer) for a cell (and/or a cell group comprising the cell) ... the wireless device may start (and/or re-start) the TAT based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving a timing advance command that indicates a timing advance offset value (e.g., a new and/or updated timing advance offset value) of the cell (and/or of cells in the cell group). The timing advance command may be received as a MAC CE and/or DCI. The timing advance command may indicate a timing advance offset value of a cell in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are. Para. [0162]-Jeon discloses second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) (e.g., received by the wireless device) ... second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI). (See also Para. [0173] for C-RNTI or a TC-RNTI received from the base station). Para. [0290]-Jeon discloses message 2604 (e.g., a MAC CE) may comprise one or more fields indicating an identity of the wireless device, an indication of the beam failure, an identifier of the candidate beam, and/or a cell identifier of the cell. Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the measurement(s) of the DL RS (BFD-RS) of the cell may be a serving cell measurement (e.g., RSRP). Para. [0106]-Jeon discloses wireless device may be configured (e.g., via an RRC layer) with one or more downlink BWPs per serving cell and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs per serving cell and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell)).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 10,
Jeon further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, prior to updating the one or more BFD-RS resources, radio resource control (RRC) signaling indicating the configured serving cell list (Para. [0156]-Jeon discloses RRC messages may indicate ... cell-specific parameters. Para. [0216]-Jeon discloses wireless device 1812 may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the (pre-)configured grant(s) of a cell (e.g., 1805). Based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the one or more RRC messages, the wireless device may determine (and/or store) the (pre-)configured grant(s) for the cell. Para. [0263]-Jeon discloses the reception may be for receiving a response (e.g., RRC response ... The one or more TCI states (e.g., each of the one or more TCI states) may comprise at least one of following: one or more DL RS(s) (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), any combination thereof), cell index/identifier. (See also Para. [0290]). Para. [0106]-Jeon discloses wireless device may be configured {Corresponding to configuration prior to update transmission} (e.g., via an RRC layer) with one or more downlink BWPs per serving cell and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs per serving cell and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell). Para. [0120]-Jeon discloses PCell may be the serving cell that the wireless initially connects to or access to, for example, during or at an RRC connection establishment, an RRC connection reestablishment. Fig. 11B, Para. [0146]-Jeon discloses mapping of one or more CSI-RSs. The CSI-RSs may be mapped in the time and frequency domains. Each rectangular block shown in FIG. 11B may correspond to a resource block (RB) within a bandwidth of a cell. A base station may send/transmit one or more RRC messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters indicating one or more CSI-RSs. One or more of parameters may be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC and/or MAC signaling) for a CSI-RS resource configuration. Para. [0203]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells (e.g., a primary cell, one or more secondary cells)).
Regarding claims 13 and 25, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1 and the network node of claim 14 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE includes an indication of whether the one or more BFD-RS resources are activated or deactivated (Para. [0082]-Jeon discloses MAC CEs may comprise scheduling-related MAC CEs, such as buffer status reports and power headroom reports; activation/deactivation MAC CEs (e.g., MAC CEs for activation/deactivation of PDCP duplication detection, channel state information (CSI) reporting, sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and prior configured components)).
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Jeon teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Figs. 29-30, Para. [0047-0048]-Jeon discloses method for configuring a plurality of configured grants. Para. [0069]-Jeon discloses apparatuses, systems, and/or methods ... implemented on one or more devices (e.g., wireless device, base station, eNB, gNB, computing device, etc.), in one or more networks. Fig. 15A, Para. [0188]-Jeon discloses communications between a wireless device and a base station. A wireless device 1502 and a base station 1504 may be part of a communication network ... communication network may comprise more than one wireless device and/or more than one base station. Para. [0194]-Jeon discloses the processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518, respectively, to carry out one or more of the functionalities), configured to cause the network node to:
transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) updating one or more beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (BFD-RS) resources associated with at least one radio node of multiple radio nodes (Fig. 24, Para. [0270-0273]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... The wireless device 2402 may receive message(s) (e.g., RRC message(s)) comprising the one or more configuration parameters 2403 of one or more radio resource(s) of a cell, for example, before transitioning to and/or in (e.g., during) the non-connected state. The one or more configuration parameters 2403 may indicate one or more reference signals of the cell. The one or more reference signals may comprise one or more reference signals of the cell, for example, an SSB identified by an SSB index/identifier or a CSI-RS identified by a CSI-RS index/identifier (and/or CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of the cell. The one or more reference signals may comprise an SRS identified by an SRS index/identifier (e.g., SRS resource index/identifier, SRS resource set index/identifier, and/or a combination thereof). The reference signal(s) may indicate a particular beam used for a beam failure detection and/or beam failure recovery procedure(s) of the cell. Fig. 1, Para. [0053]-Jeon discloses the RAN 104 may comprise one or more base stations (not shown). As used throughout, the term “base station” may comprise one or more of: a base station, a node, a Node B (NB), an evolved NodeB (eNB), a gNB, an ng-eNB, a relay node (e.g., an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node), a donor node (e.g., a donor eNB, a donor gNB, etc.), an access point (e.g., a Wi-Fi access point), a transmission and reception point (TRP), a computing device, a device capable of wirelessly communicating, or any other device capable of sending and/or receiving signals. A base station may comprise one or more of each element listed above. For example, a base station may comprise one or more TRPs. Para. [0193]-Jeon discloses the base station 1504 may comprise multiple antennas (e.g., multiple antenna panels, multiple TRPs, etc.). The wireless device 1502 may comprise multiple antennas (e.g., multiple antenna panels, etc.). The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming. The wireless device 1502 and/or the base station 1504 may have a single antenna. (See also Fig. 12A, Para. [0150]); and
trigger or transmitting a BFD-RS based at least in part on the one or more BFD-RS resources (Para. [0276]-Jeon discloses the at least one beam (e.g., DL RS) may be a configured beam for the beam failure detection of the cell. The at least one beam may be indicated by an identifier of a DL RS of the cell. The DL RS may be a radio link monitoring RS (or a beam failure detection RS) configured by an RRC message that the wireless device 2402 receives from the base station 2401 (e.g., via the cell). The DL RS may be an SSB and/or CSI-RS of the cell. Fig. 24, Para. [0272-0274]-Jeon discloses the wireless device 2402 may perform, with the base station 2401, one or more beam failure detections and/or beam failure recovery procedures in/during the non-connected state. The beam failure detection(s) and/or beam failure recovery procedure(s) may be referred to as radio link monitoring and/or link recovery procedure(s), respectively. The wireless device 2402 may determine the beam failure detection via the radio link monitoring procedure ... The wireless device 2402 may receive message(s) (e.g., RRC message(s)) comprising the one or more configuration parameters 2403 of one or more radio resource(s) of a cell ... The one or more configuration parameters 2403 in the message(s) may comprise indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with radio link monitoring (e.g., beam failure detection procedure) of the cell and/or link recovery (e.g., beam failure recovery procedure) of the cell. The radio link monitoring and/or link recovery may be for transmission and/or reception performed in/during the non-connected state. A reference signal configured for the radio link monitoring may be referred to as a radio link monitoring RS and/or beam failure detection resource (or DL RS). The wireless device 2402 may determine a beam failure detection of the cell, for example, based on monitoring (and/or measuring) a beam measurement quantity (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, BLER, and/or the like) of the reference signal configured for the radio link monitoring).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon teaches the network node of claim 14,
Jeon further teaches the MAC-CE indicates a first BFD-RS resource is updated for a first radio node (Para. [0264]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that configured, re-configures, updates, and/or activates the TCI state(s) of a PDSCH and/or a PDCCH (e.g., CORESET). Para. [0269]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that may configure, re-configure, update, and/or activate the spatial relation information of a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or an SRS. Para. [0270-0271]-Jeon discloses wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. Para. [0263]-Jeon discloses the one or more TCI states (e.g., each of the one or more TCI states) may comprise at least one of following: one or more DL RS(s) (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), any combination thereof), cell index/identifier. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses he wireless device may measure a received signal strength of at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP) {Corresponding to the single or multiple radio node as identified by the total number of cell indices/identifiers}, for example, where the one or more uplink radio resources are configured) and
a second BFD-RS resource is updated for a second radio node (Para. [0264]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that configured, re-configures, updates, and/or activates the TCI state(s) of a PDSCH and/or a PDCCH (e.g., CORESET). Para. [0269]-Jeon discloses wireless device may receive one or more message(s) that may configure, re-configure, update, and/or activate the spatial relation information of a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or an SRS. Para. [0270-0271]-Jeon discloses wireless device 2402 may receive one or more other message(s) (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE, DCI, and/or a combination thereof) that may reconfigure, change, activate/deactivate, and/or update the beam configuration of the PUSCH, PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or PUCCH ... beam configuration (e.g., TCI state(s) and/or spatial relation information) of the channel(s) comprises a first DL RS of the plurality of DL RSs. Para. [0263]-Jeon discloses the one or more TCI states (e.g., each of the one or more TCI states) may comprise at least one of following: one or more DL RS(s) (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), any combination thereof), cell index/identifier. Para. [0268]-Jeon discloses reception of a DL RS {i.e. the BFD RS resource} indicated by the spatial relation information {i.e. the TCI, which comprise cell index/identifier} ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SSB index/identifier of an SSB ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises a CSI-RS index/identifier (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS resource index/identifier) of a CSI-RS ... the spatial relation information for the PUCCH comprises an SRS index/identifier of an SRS (e.g., SRS resource). Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses he wireless device may measure a received signal strength of at least one DL RS received from the cell (e.g., TRP) {Corresponding to the single or multiple radio node as identified by the total number of cell indices/identifiers}, for example, where the one or more uplink radio resources are configured).
Regarding claims 24 and 30, Jeon teaches the network node of claim 14 and the method of claim 29 respectively,
Jeon further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information indicating a configured serving cell list (Para. [0228]-Jeon discloses one or more configuration parameters may indicate a value of a time alignment timer (TAT) (e.g., example parameter name: TimeAlignmentTimer) for a cell (and/or a cell group comprising the cell) ... the wireless device may start (and/or re-start) the TAT based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving a timing advance command that indicates a timing advance offset value (e.g., a new and/or updated timing advance offset value) of the cell (and/or of cells in the cell group). The timing advance command may be received as a MAC CE and/or DCI. The timing advance command may indicate a timing advance offset value of a cell in/via which the one or more uplink radio resources are. Para. [0162]-Jeon discloses second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) (e.g., received by the wireless device) ... second message (e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device, a scheduling grant for transmission of the third message (e.g., Msg 3 1313), and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI). (See also Para. [0173] for C-RNTI or a TC-RNTI received from the base station). Para. [0290]-Jeon discloses message 2604 (e.g., a MAC CE) may comprise one or more fields indicating an identity of the wireless device, an indication of the beam failure, an identifier of the candidate beam, and/or a cell identifier of the cell. Para. [0239]-Jeon discloses the measurement(s) of the DL RS (BFD-RS) of the cell may be a serving cell measurement (e.g., RSRP). Para. [0106]-Jeon discloses wireless device may be configured (e.g., via an RRC layer) with one or more downlink BWPs per serving cell and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs per serving cell and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20220046661 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon, in view of Cirik et al. (US 20230180033 A1), hereinafter referenced as Cirik.
Regarding claims 4, 17 and 27, Jeon teaches the UE of claim 1, the network node of claim 14 and the method of claim 26 respectively,
Jeon fails to explicitly teach the MAC-CE includes a bitmap indicating the one or more BFD-RS resources.
However, Cirik teaches the MAC-CE includes a bitmap indicating the one or more BFD-RS resources (Figs. 20-21, Para. [0274]-Cirik discloses base station may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a coreset associated with an active TCI state. A base station may activate the active TCI state via the one or more RRC messages or one or more MAC CEs or one or more DCIs. The configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a bitmap indicating one or more monitoring occasions for a control channel repetition. Fig. 22, Para. [0285]-Cirik discloses The wireless device may monitor first floor (K/2) monitoring occasion(s) based on the first TCI state. the wireless device may monitor remaining monitoring occasion(s) based on the second TCI state within the monitoring periodicity. For example, the switching pattern may be a bitmap to indicate a TCI state in each monitoring occasion of the one or more monitoring occasions. Figs. 24-25, Para. [0431-433]-Cirik discloses the wireless device may receive an activation command indicating/updating/activating/selecting a single TCI state of the plurality of TCI states ... he wireless device may receive an activation command indicating/updating/activating/selecting at least two TCI states of the plurality of TCI states ... The wireless device may perform the BFD of the cell based on a respective reference signal (e.g., CSI-RS) indicated by each of the two TCI states (e.g., RS1 of TCI state 1 and RS2 of TCI state 2) selected TCI state).
Jeon and Cirik are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure based on detecting a beam failure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Cirik on bitmaps, with a motivation to indicate BFD-RS resources, and guarantee detection of and recovery from radio link failure, (Jeon, Para. [0090]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
MATSUMURA et al. (US 20240098526 A1)-discloses receiving section that receives a configuration of a first reference signal for beam failure detection (BFD) and receives a medium access control-control element (MAC CE); and a control section that updates the first reference signal based on the MAC CE…. …Fig. 1-5
JIA et al. (US 20250023695 A1)-discloses apparatus for configuring a beam failure detection reference signal includes: a memory that stores a plurality of instructions; and processor circuitry coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to: configure a first reference signal for beam failure detection by using radio resource control signaling; and configure or update the first reference signal by using media access control control element signaling…. …Fig. 1-5
Seungri Jin (US 20240283623 A1)-discloses method and device for activating a PDCCH reception beam for multiple carriers simultaneously, on the basis of an RRC message comprising a first list and a second list which are lists of serving cells to which update of a TCI state is to be simultaneously applied, and a MAC CE comprising an identifier of the serving cells, an identifier of a CORESET, and an identifier of a TCI state.… …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472