DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2024 and 07/06/2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOH et al. (US 20220029746 A1), hereinafter referenced as Noh, in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20210400668 A1), hereinafter referenced as Matsumura.
Regarding claims 7-8, Noh teaches a terminal (Para. [0007]-Noh discloses method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback in a wireless communication system. Fig. 16, Para. [0196]-Noh discloses the terminal may include a transceiver 1610, a memory 1620, and a processor 1630. Fig. 17, Para. [0202]-Noh discloses the base station may include a transceiver 1710, a memory 1720, and a processor 1730. Para. [0028]-Noh discloses computer program instructions may be loaded into a processor of a general-purpose computer, a special purpose computer, or another programmable data processing apparatus, the instructions, which are performed by a processor of a computer or another programmable data processing apparatus ... The computer program instructions may be stored in a computer-usable or computer-readable memory capable of directing a computer or another programmable data processing apparatus to implement a function) comprising:
capability information indicating support of uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission (Para. [0192]-Noh discloses assigning of different PUCCH resources per TRP, a restriction on the PUCCH resource indication may vary depending on whether the terminal has multi-panel support or multi-beam simultaneous transmission capability (or depending on UE capability support). For example, when the terminal simultaneously supports multi-panel/beam transmission or spatial relation/TCI state configuration during UL transmission, the terminal may be configured such that the PUCCHs to be transmitted to the cooperative TRPs have different panel/beam/spatial relation/TCI state in a same OFDM symbol); and
a processor that, when the UL simultaneous multi-panel transmission is configured, maps first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information to a first UL channel resource (Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh discloses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback ... When PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped), and
maps second HARQ-ACK information to a second UL channel resource (Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh discloses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback ... When PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped) that
overlaps the first UL channel resource in a time domain (Fig. 15, Para. [0021]-Noh discloses a method of configuring an HARQ-ACK codebook according to symbol-level overlapping of a plurality of PUCCH resources. Para. [0047]-Noh discloses resource block (RB) 1-20 or a physical resource block (PRB) is defined as N.sub.symb successive OFDM symbols 1-05 in the time domain),
the transmitter simultaneously transmits the first UL channel resource and the second UL channel resource by using different panels (Para. [0192]-Noh discloses assigning of different PUCCH resources per TRP, a restriction on the PUCCH resource indication may vary depending on whether the terminal has multi-panel support or multi-beam simultaneous transmission capability (or depending on UE capability support). For example, when the terminal simultaneously supports multi-panel/beam transmission or spatial relation/TCI state configuration during UL transmission, the terminal may be configured such that the PUCCHs to be transmitted to the cooperative TRPs have different panel/beam/spatial relation/TCI state in a same OFDM symbol. Para. [0142]-Noh discloses “cooperative transmission and reception point (TRP)” may be replaced by any one of various terms, such as “cooperative panel”, a “cooperative beam”), and
the first HARQ-ACK information and the first UL channel resource are associated with a control resource set (CORESET) pool index with a first value (Para. [0135]-Noh discloses cooperative communication capable of transmitting a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for a PDSCH transmitted from a plurality of points. For example, a method of determining the HARQ-ACK codebook determines the number of bits for the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to one PUCCH and HARQ-ACK feedback information, and thus a method for expanding the method is required to determine HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to two or more PUCCHs. Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh dislcoses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback. Para. [0128]-Noh discloses when PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped), and
the second HARQ- ACK information and the second UL channel resource are associated with a CORESET pool index with a second value (Para. [0135]-Noh discloses cooperative communication capable of transmitting a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for a PDSCH transmitted from a plurality of points. For example, a method of determining the HARQ-ACK codebook determines the number of bits for the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to one PUCCH and HARQ-ACK feedback information, and thus a method for expanding the method is required to determine HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to two or more PUCCHs. Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh dislcoses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback. Para. [0128]-Noh discloses when PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped).
Noh fails to explicitly teach a transmitter that transmits capability information.
However, Matsumura teaches a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission (Para. [0107]-Matsumura discloses the above-described specific UE capability information may indicate that a plurality of channels can be simultaneously transmitted, may indicate that a multi-panel (e.g., UL multi-panel) is provided (supported). Fig. 4, Para. [0190]-Matsumura discloses the transmitting/receiving section 220 may transmit capability information on the maximum number of beams capable of being simultaneously transmitted to the base station 10).
Noh and Matsumura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with next-generation mobile communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Noh to incorporate the teachings of Matsumura on uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission, with a motivation to indicate UE capability for uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission, and guarantee a hybrid automatic request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook may be efficiently configured, transmitted, and received in a wireless communication system, (Noh, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Noh teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station (Para. [0007]-Noh discloses method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback in a wireless communication system. Fig. 16, Para. [0196]-Noh discloses the terminal may include a transceiver 1610, a memory 1620, and a processor 1630. Fig. 17, Para. [0202]-Noh discloses the base station may include a transceiver 1710, a memory 1720, and a processor 1730. Para. [0028]-Noh discloses computer program instructions may be loaded into a processor of a general-purpose computer, a special purpose computer, or another programmable data processing apparatus, the instructions, which are performed by a processor of a computer or another programmable data processing apparatus ... The computer program instructions may be stored in a computer-usable or computer-readable memory capable of directing a computer or another programmable data processing apparatus to implement a function) the terminal comprising:
capability information indicating support of uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission (Para. [0192]-Noh discloses assigning of different PUCCH resources per TRP, a restriction on the PUCCH resource indication may vary depending on whether the terminal has multi-panel support or multi-beam simultaneous transmission capability (or depending on UE capability support). For example, when the terminal simultaneously supports multi-panel/beam transmission or spatial relation/TCI state configuration during UL transmission, the terminal may be configured such that the PUCCHs to be transmitted to the cooperative TRPs have different panel/beam/spatial relation/TCI state in a same OFDM symbol); and
a processor that, when the UL simultaneous multi-panel transmission is configured, maps first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information to a first UL channel resource (Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh discloses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback ... When PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped), and
maps second HARQ-ACK information to a second UL channel resource (Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh discloses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback ... When PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped) that
overlaps the first UL channel resource in a time domain (Fig. 15, Para. [0021]-Noh discloses a method of configuring an HARQ-ACK codebook according to symbol-level overlapping of a plurality of PUCCH resources. Para. [0047]-Noh discloses resource block (RB) 1-20 or a physical resource block (PRB) is defined as N.sub.symb successive OFDM symbols 1-05 in the time domain),
the transmitter simultaneously transmits the first UL channel resource and the second UL channel resource by using different panels (Para. [0192]-Noh discloses assigning of different PUCCH resources per TRP, a restriction on the PUCCH resource indication may vary depending on whether the terminal has multi-panel support or multi-beam simultaneous transmission capability (or depending on UE capability support). For example, when the terminal simultaneously supports multi-panel/beam transmission or spatial relation/TCI state configuration during UL transmission, the terminal may be configured such that the PUCCHs to be transmitted to the cooperative TRPs have different panel/beam/spatial relation/TCI state in a same OFDM symbol. Para. [0142]-Noh discloses “cooperative transmission and reception point (TRP)” may be replaced by any one of various terms, such as “cooperative panel”, a “cooperative beam”), the base station comprising:
a receiver that receives the first UL channel resource and the second UL channel resource that are simultaneously transmitted using the different panels (Para. [0192]-Noh discloses assigning of different PUCCH resources per TRP, a restriction on the PUCCH resource indication may vary depending on whether the terminal has multi-panel support or multi-beam simultaneous transmission capability (or depending on UE capability support). For example, when the terminal simultaneously supports multi-panel/beam transmission or spatial relation/TCI state configuration during UL transmission, the terminal may be configured such that the PUCCHs to be transmitted to the cooperative TRPs have different panel/beam/spatial relation/TCI state in a same OFDM symbol. Para. [0142]-Noh discloses “cooperative transmission and reception point (TRP)” may be replaced by any one of various terms, such as “cooperative panel”, a “cooperative beam”),
the first HARQ-ACK information and the first UL channel resource are associated with a control resource set (CORESET) pool index with a first value (Para. [0135]-Noh discloses cooperative communication capable of transmitting a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for a PDSCH transmitted from a plurality of points. For example, a method of determining the HARQ-ACK codebook determines the number of bits for the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to one PUCCH and HARQ-ACK feedback information, and thus a method for expanding the method is required to determine HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to two or more PUCCHs. Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh dislcoses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback. Para. [0128]-Noh discloses when PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped), and
the second HARQ-ACK information and the second UL channel resource are associated with a CORESET pool index with a second value (Para. [0135]-Noh discloses cooperative communication capable of transmitting a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for a PDSCH transmitted from a plurality of points. For example, a method of determining the HARQ-ACK codebook determines the number of bits for the HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to one PUCCH and HARQ-ACK feedback information, and thus a method for expanding the method is required to determine HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to two or more PUCCHs. Fig. 10, Para. [0127]-Noh dislcoses an example of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource assignment for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback. Para. [0128]-Noh discloses when PDSCH 10-05 that is DL data is scheduled based on DCI of PDCCH 10-00, the PDSCH is transmitted and slot information to which HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is mapped, and mapping information of PUCCH 10-10 of UL control channel where HARQ-ACK feedback information is transmitted are transmitted. In detail, a slot interval between the PDSCH that is DL data and the HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding thereto is indicated via a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and one of eight feedback timing offsets configured as a higher layer is indicated. Also, one of eight resources configured as a higher layer via a PUCCH resource indicator is indicated to transmit a PUCCH resource including a mapping symbol number, a location of a start symbol, a type of UL control channel PUCCH to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped).
Noh fails to explicitly teach a transmitter that transmits capability information.
However, Matsumura teaches a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission (Para. [0107]-Matsumura discloses the above-described specific UE capability information may indicate that a plurality of channels can be simultaneously transmitted, may indicate that a multi-panel (e.g., UL multi-panel) is provided (supported). Fig. 4, Para. [0190]-Matsumura discloses the transmitting/receiving section 220 may transmit capability information on the maximum number of beams capable of being simultaneously transmitted to the base station 10).
Noh and Matsumura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with next-generation mobile communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Noh to incorporate the teachings of Matsumura on uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission, with a motivation to indicate UE capability for uplink (UL) simultaneous multi-panel transmission, and guarantee a hybrid automatic request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook may be efficiently configured, transmitted, and received in a wireless communication system, (Noh, Para. [0008]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Yuan et al. (US 20260156640 A1)-discloses the UE may indicate a capability to support simultaneous transmission of different channel types using different antenna panels in a multi-panel operation, such as multiple uplink messages associated with respective transmission configuration indication (TCI) states. For example, the UE may indicate to the base station support for simultaneous transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) using a first antenna panel and transmission of a second PUSCH, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a second antenna panel …. …Fig. 1-2
KO et al. (US 20220304018 A1)-discloses simultaneous transmission across different panels is allowed to a UE supporting (having) a STxMP capability, and thus there is an advantage in that waste of resources (related to transmission of DCI for uplink channel transmission indication/scheduling) can be reduced and efficiency of uplink transmission can increase…. …Fig. 1-2
YUAN et al. (US 20250159704 A1)-discloses UE is configured to indicate its capability for uplink panel switching among different CCs. In some aspects, the UE indicates its capability for uplink panel switching per band (frequency band) combination. In some aspects, the UE indicates its capability for simultaneous multi-panel UL transmission on a single CC, on different CCs, or both. In some aspects, the UE indicates a minimum uplink panel switching gap duration.… …Fig. 1-2
YAO et al. (US 20240107563 A1)-discloses uplink signal includes at least one of a PUCCH, a PUSCH, or SRS. The capability can be at least one of multi-panel simultaneous transmission of uplink signals includes, for example, PUSCH and PUSCH corresponding to different panels, PUCCH and PUCCH corresponding to different panels, SRS and SRS corresponding to different panels, PUSCH and PUCCH corresponding to different panels, PUSCH and SRS corresponding to different panels, PUCCH and SRS corresponding to different panels…. …Fig. 1-2
Zhou et al. (US 20220322358 A1)-discloses Transmission of the first uplink TB may occur simultaneously (or overlap in at least a portion of a time duration) with transmission of the second uplink TB. Transmission of the first uplink TB may occur after transmission of the second uplink TB.…. …Fig. 1-2
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472