DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, 15 and 30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20240313828 A1), hereinafter referenced as Elshafie, in view of Walker et al. (US 20250093487 A1), hereinafter referenced as Walker.
Regarding claim 1, Aijaz teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (Para. [0006-0008]-Elshafie discloses method for wireless communications by a first wireless node. The method generally includes receiving one or more first reference signals (RSs) as reflections off a RIS {Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface} from a second wireless node; generating a key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first RSs; and communicating, based on the key, with the second wireless node ... method for wireless communications by a network entity. The method generally includes receiving one or more RSs indicative of a key from a first wireless node; reflecting the one or more RSs with one or more elements at a RIS to a second wireless node; and reflecting one or more messages encrypted with the key between the first wireless node and the second wireless node ... implemented in a first wireless node. The first wireless node generally includes a transceiver, a memory, and at least one processor. The transceiver is configured to receive one or more first RSs as reflections off a RIS from a second wireless node. The at least one processor is coupled to the memory, and the at least one processor and the memory are configured to generate a key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first RSs. The transceiver is configured to communicate, based on the key, with the second wireless node. Para. [0009]-Elshafie discloses network entity generally includes a RIS controller coupled to a RIS. The RIS controller and the RIS are configured to receive one or more RSs indicative of a key from a first wireless node; reflect the one or more RSs with one or more elements at the RIS to a second wireless node; and reflect one or more messages encrypted with the key between the first wireless node and the second wireless node. Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130) to cause the network entity to:
receive an indication of a set of resources allocated to a user equipment (UE) according to … a configured grant (Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. The scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities. That is, for scheduled communication, subordinate entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity. Base stations are not the only entities that may function as a scheduling entity. In some examples, a UE may function as a scheduling entity and may schedule resources for one or more subordinate entities (e.g., one or more other UEs), and the other UEs may utilize the resources scheduled by the UE for wireless communication);
receive an indication of a weighting matrix for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller),
the weighting matrix corresponding to a plurality of transmission occasions in the set of resources allocated to the UE (Fig. 7B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions ... Additional clusters, transmission occasions, or sequence arrangements may be used in addition to or instead of those illustrated. For example, multiple clusters may be used during a transmission occasion. In certain cases, the clusters may be arranged in the sequence from multiple RISs ..., multiple precodings may be arranged across the sequence in addition to or instead of the clusters. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller. Fig. 7A, Para. [0090]-Elshafie discloses first cluster 702a includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; the second cluster 702b is arranged adjacent to the first cluster 702a and includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; and the third cluster 702c is arranged below the first and second clusters 702a, 702b and includes eight elements 402 arranged in a two-by-four matrix ... , and a RIS may be configured with alternative or additional clusters having alterative or additional element array or matrix arrangements); and
apply different portions of the weighting matrix to a set of reflective elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface for the plurality of transmission occasions (Fig. 2, Para. [0050]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 may reconfigure the phase or amplitude changes by applying a precoding weight to RIS elements to enable the RIS 114 to re-radiate an output beam at different directions given a particular input beam. Fig. 7B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions ... Additional clusters, transmission occasions, or sequence arrangements may be used in addition to or instead of those illustrated. For example, multiple clusters may be used during a transmission occasion. In certain cases, the clusters may be arranged in the sequence from multiple RISs ..., multiple precodings may be arranged across the sequence in addition to or instead of the clusters. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller. Fig. 7A, Para. [0090]-Elshafie discloses first cluster 702a includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; the second cluster 702b is arranged adjacent to the first cluster 702a and includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; and the third cluster 702c is arranged below the first and second clusters 702a, 702b and includes eight elements 402 arranged in a two-by-four matrix ... , and a RIS may be configured with alternative or additional clusters having alterative or additional element array or matrix arrangements. Para. [0072-0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate the particular elements at the RIS to use for reflecting the signals via a bitmap. The indication of the sequence of clusters and/or the indication of the elements may include a bitmap associated with the elements at the RIS, where the bitmap may indicate which elements are enabled and/or disabled for reflecting. Assuming there is an array of one by N (1×N) elements (just one dimension for Y-axis), a bitmap with N elements (e.g., N=11) can be used to indicate to the RIS to activate certain elements ... the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase).
Elshafie fails to teach semi-persistent scheduling.
However, Walker teaches receive an indication of a set of resources allocated to a user equipment (UE) according to a semi-persistent scheduling or a configured grant (Figs. 2-3, Para. [0177-0179]-Walker discloses transmitter device 10 may also indicate its allocated resources. This option may be implemented similar as a dynamic resource allocation process in 5G or other standard communication systems ..., the transmitter device 10 replies to the receiver device 20 with a downlink control information (DCI) message including the allocated resources (e.g., time (timeslot, slot offset k2, . . . ), frequency, etc.) ... to use a semi-persistent scheduled resource allocation in which the transmitter device 10 sends the allocated resources for the radar session in a secure RRC message. Para. [0301]-Walker discloses embodiments may be implemented to provide network equipment for 5G/6G/xG cellular networks or a new product class of (low-cost/mid-cost) reconfigurable intelligent surfaces).
Elshafie and Walker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with reconfigurable intelligent surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie to incorporate the teachings of Walker on semi-persistent scheduling, with a motivation for indication of transmission resources, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Elshafie in view of Walker teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Elshafie further teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit a feedback message (Para. [0063]-Elshafie discloses communications through a RIS between a BS and UE and/or between UEs, for example, at the physical layer of a protocol stack. For example, a BS and/or UE may be able to securely encrypt physical layer messages (e.g., downlink control information (DCI), uplink control information (UCI), radio resource control (RRC) messages, medium access control (MAC) messages, and/or sidelink control information (SCI)) and/or channels (e.g., physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)),
receiving the indication of the weighting matrix is based at least in part on transmitting the feedback message (Para. [0079]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may send an acknowledgement (ACK) message to the second wireless node to enable the second wireless node to verify whether the key has been successfully obtained at the first wireless node or acknowledge receipt of the key at the first wireless node. For example, the first wireless node may send an ACK message (such as 1 bit-ACK) scrambled by the key to the second wireless node to acknowledge the reception of the key. That is, the first wireless node may transmit, to the second wireless node, an acknowledgement encrypted with the key. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Regarding claim 12, Elshafie in view of Walker teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Elshafie further teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive the indication of the weighting matrix in multiple stages of control information (Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller) comprising
a first stage of control information common to the reconfigurable intelligent surface and the UE (Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 is depicted as a separate network entity in communication with the RIS 114 to facilitate understanding, aspects of the present disclosure may be applied to the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130. Fig. 2, Para. [0043]-Elshafie discloses the RIS 114 may assist the communications, by receiving and re-radiate radio signals, between the BS 110 and UE 120. For example, the RIS 114 may re-radiate the transmissions from one of the BS 110 or UE 120 to the other using reflection, refraction, or other passive or active mechanisms. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller) and
a second stage of control information specific to the reconfigurable intelligent surface (Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 is depicted as a separate network entity in communication with the RIS 114. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Regarding claim 15, Elshafie in view of Walker teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Elshafie further teaches to: receive the indication of the set of resources allocated to the UE according to the configured grant (Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. The scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities. That is, for scheduled communication, subordinate entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity. Base stations are not the only entities that may function as a scheduling entity. In some examples, a UE may function as a scheduling entity and may schedule resources for one or more subordinate entities (e.g., one or more other UEs), and the other UEs may utilize the resources scheduled by the UE for wireless communication),
radio resource control signaling or a medium access control-control element comprise the indication of the set of resources and the indication of the weighting matrix (Para. [0082]-Elshafie discloses for control-plane traffic, the protocol stack may include a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) layer, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, the PDCP layer, the RLC layer, the MAC layer, and the PHY layer. The PHY layer may provide the transmission waveform (e.g., an OFDM using a cyclic prefix) for user-plane or control-plane traffic via over the air resources (e.g., time-domain resources, frequency-domain resources, and/or spatial domain) between a UE and BS and/or between UEs. Para. [0044]-Elshafie discloses medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) is a MAC layer communication structure that may be used for control command exchange between wireless nodes. Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Claims 2-5, 14, 16-24, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20240313828 A1), hereinafter referenced as Elshafie, in view of Walker et al. (US 20250093487 A1), hereinafter referenced as Walker, and further in view of Echigo et al. (US 20240340826 A1), hereinafter referenced as Echigo.
Regarding claim 2, Elshafie in view of Walker teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Elshafie further teaches apply the weighting matrix to the set of reflective elements according to the periodicity of transmission occasions (Fig. 2, Para. [0050]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 may reconfigure the phase or amplitude changes by applying a precoding weight to RIS elements to enable the RIS 114 to re-radiate an output beam at different directions given a particular input beam. Fig. 7B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions ... Additional clusters, transmission occasions, or sequence arrangements may be used in addition to or instead of those illustrated. For example, multiple clusters may be used during a transmission occasion. In certain cases, the clusters may be arranged in the sequence from multiple RISs ..., multiple precodings may be arranged across the sequence in addition to or instead of the clusters. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller. Fig. 7A, Para. [0090]-Elshafie discloses first cluster 702a includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; the second cluster 702b is arranged adjacent to the first cluster 702a and includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; and the third cluster 702c is arranged below the first and second clusters 702a, 702b and includes eight elements 402 arranged in a two-by-four matrix ... , and a RIS may be configured with alternative or additional clusters having alterative or additional element array or matrix arrangements).
Elshafie fails to teach periodicity of transmission occasion.
However, Echigo teaches to apply the different portions of the weighting matrix are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive first signaling indicating a periodicity of transmission occasions for applying the different portions of the weighting matrix (Para. [0107]-Echigo discloses different TA values may be assigned to an Index (TA value Index), and the TA value Index applied for each X or for each group constituted by X may be configured for the UE 200 by signaling (such as RRC) of a higher layer. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of uplink signals}. Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” ... may be interchangeably used. Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS)).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on transmission occasion, with a motivation to indicate periodicity, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claims 3 and 24, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 2 and the apparatus of claim 23 respectively,
Elshafie fails to teach periodicity of transmission occasion.
However, Echigo teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive second signaling indicating an updated periodicity of transmission occasions for applying the different portions of the weighting matrix (Para. [0116]-Echigo discloses when a new TA value is additionally configured or an existing TA value is updated, a difference from the reference TA value may be configured. Para. [0107]-Echigo discloses different TA values may be assigned to an Index (TA value Index), and the TA value Index applied for each X or for each group constituted by X may be configured for the UE 200 by signaling (such as RRC) of a higher layer. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal. Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” ... may be interchangeably used. Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS)),
the second signaling comprises downlink control information signaling (Para. [0211]-Echigo discloses the notification of information may be performed by physical layer signaling (for example, Downlink Control Information (DCI), Uplink Control Information (UCI), higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling, broadcast information (Master Information Block (MIB), System Information Block (SIB)), other signals, or a combination thereof. RRC signaling may also be referred to as RRC messages, and may be, for example, RRC Connection Setup messages, RRC Connection Reconfiguration messages, and the like).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on transmission occasion, with a motivation to indicate updated periodicity, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
Elshafie further teaches a size of the downlink control information signaling corresponds to a number of different portions of the weighting matrix (Para. [0075]-Elshafie discloses the DCI and/or SCI used for signaling the ON/OFF pattern to the RIS controller. Para. [0072-0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate the particular elements at the RIS to use for reflecting the signals via a bitmap. The indication of the sequence of clusters and/or the indication of the elements may include a bitmap associated with the elements at the RIS, where the bitmap may indicate which elements are enabled and/or disabled for reflecting. Assuming there is an array of one by N (1×N) elements (just one dimension for Y-axis), a bitmap with N elements (e.g., N=11) can be used to indicate to the RIS to activate certain elements ... the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Regarding claim 5, Elshafie in view of Walker teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Elshafie fails to teach transmission configuration indicator.
However, Echigo teaches to: receive an indication of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for at least one transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS)),
the TCI state associated with the weighting matrix (Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on TCI, with a motivation to receive TCI for transmission occasion, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Elshafie in view of Walker teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Elshafie fails to explicitly teach transmission configuration indicator.
However, Echigo teaches to: receive an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indices for the plurality of transmission occasions (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS)),
the applying the different portions of the weighting matrix to the set of reflective elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface is in accordance with the one or more TCI indices (Fig. 2, Para. [0046-0056]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface) may be interpreted as a type of reflector that improves various radio performances while controlling the reflection or transmission of radio waves … he RIS 300 may be referred to as a battery-less device, a metamaterial functional device, an Intelligent Reflecting Surface (IRS) ... (Metamaterial Function) ... A function of reflecting signals sent from a radio base station or a UE (e.g., a phase change) ... A function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on transmission configuration indicator, with a motivation to configure the RIS elements based on TCI indices, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Elshafie teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (Para. [0006-0008]-Elshafie discloses method for wireless communications by a first wireless node. The method generally includes receiving one or more first reference signals (RSs) as reflections off a RIS {Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface} from a second wireless node; generating a key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first RSs; and communicating, based on the key, with the second wireless node ... method for wireless communications by a network entity. The method generally includes receiving one or more RSs indicative of a key from a first wireless node; reflecting the one or more RSs with one or more elements at a RIS to a second wireless node; and reflecting one or more messages encrypted with the key between the first wireless node and the second wireless node ... implemented in a first wireless node. The first wireless node generally includes a transceiver, a memory, and at least one processor. The transceiver is configured to receive one or more first RSs as reflections off a RIS from a second wireless node. The at least one processor is coupled to the memory, and the at least one processor and the memory are configured to generate a key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first RSs. The transceiver is configured to communicate, based on the key, with the second wireless node. Para. [0009]-Elshafie discloses network entity generally includes a RIS controller coupled to a RIS. The RIS controller and the RIS are configured to receive one or more RSs indicative of a key from a first wireless node; reflect the one or more RSs with one or more elements at the RIS to a second wireless node; and reflect one or more messages encrypted with the key between the first wireless node and the second wireless node. Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130) to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a set of resources allocated to the UE according to … or a configured grant (Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. The scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities. That is, for scheduled communication, subordinate entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity. Base stations are not the only entities that may function as a scheduling entity. In some examples, a UE may function as a scheduling entity and may schedule resources for one or more subordinate entities (e.g., one or more other UEs), and the other UEs may utilize the resources scheduled by the UE for wireless communication).
Elshafie fails to teach semi-persistent scheduling.
However, Walker teaches receive an indication of a set of resources allocated to the UE according to a semi-persistent scheduling or a configured grant (Figs. 2-3, Para. [0177-0179]-Walker discloses transmitter device 10 may also indicate its allocated resources. This option may be implemented similar as a dynamic resource allocation process in 5G or other standard communication systems ..., the transmitter device 10 replies to the receiver device 20 with a downlink control information (DCI) message including the allocated resources (e.g., time (timeslot, slot offset k2, . . . ), frequency, etc.) ... to use a semi-persistent scheduled resource allocation in which the transmitter device 10 sends the allocated resources for the radar session in a secure RRC message. Para. [0301]-Walker discloses embodiments may be implemented to provide network equipment for 5G/6G/xG cellular networks or a new product class of (low-cost/mid-cost) reconfigurable intelligent surfaces).
Elshafie and Walker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with reconfigurable intelligent surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie to incorporate the teachings of Walker on semi-persistent scheduling, with a motivation for indication of transmission resources, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Elshafie fails to explicitly teach transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states.
However, Echigo teaches receive an indication of a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponding to a weighting matrix for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal),
the plurality of TCI states corresponding to a plurality of transmission occasions in the set of resources allocated to the UE (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used); and
apply different TCI states of the plurality of TCI states to the plurality of transmission occasions to communicate with a network entity over the set of resources via the reconfigurable intelligent surface (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on transmission configuration indicator, with a motivation to communicate via the RIS, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Elshafie further teaches to: transmit signaling over the set of resources via the reconfigurable intelligent surface (Fig. 2, Para. [0050]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 may reconfigure the phase or amplitude changes by applying a precoding weight to RIS elements to enable the RIS 114 to re-radiate an output beam at different directions given a particular input beam. Fig. 7B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions ... Additional clusters, transmission occasions, or sequence arrangements may be used in addition to or instead of those illustrated. For example, multiple clusters may be used during a transmission occasion. In certain cases, the clusters may be arranged in the sequence from multiple RISs ..., multiple precodings may be arranged across the sequence in addition to or instead of the clusters. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller. Fig. 7A, Para. [0090]-Elshafie discloses first cluster 702a includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; the second cluster 702b is arranged adjacent to the first cluster 702a and includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; and the third cluster 702c is arranged below the first and second clusters 702a, 702b and includes eight elements 402 arranged in a two-by-four matrix ... , and a RIS may be configured with alternative or additional clusters having alterative or additional element array or matrix arrangements. Para. [0072-0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate the particular elements at the RIS to use for reflecting the signals via a bitmap. The indication of the sequence of clusters and/or the indication of the elements may include a bitmap associated with the elements at the RIS, where the bitmap may indicate which elements are enabled and/or disabled for reflecting. Assuming there is an array of one by N (1×N) elements (just one dimension for Y-axis), a bitmap with N elements (e.g., N=11) can be used to indicate to the RIS to activate certain elements ... the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase).
Regarding claim 18, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Elshafie further teaches to: receive signaling over the set of resources via the reconfigurable intelligent surface (Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130. Fig. 2, Para. [0050]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 may reconfigure the phase or amplitude changes by applying a precoding weight to RIS elements to enable the RIS 114 to re-radiate an output beam at different directions given a particular input beam. Fig. 7B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions ... Additional clusters, transmission occasions, or sequence arrangements may be used in addition to or instead of those illustrated. For example, multiple clusters may be used during a transmission occasion. In certain cases, the clusters may be arranged in the sequence from multiple RISs ..., multiple precodings may be arranged across the sequence in addition to or instead of the clusters. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller. Fig. 7A, Para. [0090]-Elshafie discloses first cluster 702a includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; the second cluster 702b is arranged adjacent to the first cluster 702a and includes four elements 402 arranged in a two-by-two matrix; and the third cluster 702c is arranged below the first and second clusters 702a, 702b and includes eight elements 402 arranged in a two-by-four matrix ... , and a RIS may be configured with alternative or additional clusters having alterative or additional element array or matrix arrangements. Para. [0072-0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate the particular elements at the RIS to use for reflecting the signals via a bitmap. The indication of the sequence of clusters and/or the indication of the elements may include a bitmap associated with the elements at the RIS, where the bitmap may indicate which elements are enabled and/or disabled for reflecting. Assuming there is an array of one by N (1×N) elements (just one dimension for Y-axis), a bitmap with N elements (e.g., N=11) can be used to indicate to the RIS to activate certain elements ... the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase).
Regarding claim 19, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Elshafie further teaches the network entity comprises another UE (Para. [0055]-Elshafie discloses the reflection or refraction direction may be controlled by a base station, network controller, or a UE (e.g., a sidelink monitoring UE)), and
Elshafie fails to explicitly teach transmission configuration indicator.
However, Echigo teaches to: receive the indication of the plurality of TCI states corresponding to the weighting matrix in sidelink control information (Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal. Para. [0232]-Echigo discloses a configuration in which communication between a base station and a mobile station is replaced by communication between a plurality of mobile stations (for example, it may be called device-to-device (D2D), vehicle-to-everything (V2X)).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on TCI, with a motivation to receive TCI via sidelink, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Elshafie further teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive the indication of the set of resources allocated to the UE according to the configured grant (Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. The scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities. That is, for scheduled communication, subordinate entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity. Base stations are not the only entities that may function as a scheduling entity. In some examples, a UE may function as a scheduling entity and may schedule resources for one or more subordinate entities (e.g., one or more other UEs), and the other UEs may utilize the resources scheduled by the UE for wireless communication),
radio resource control signaling or a medium access control-control element comprise the indication of the set of resources and the indication of the weighting matrix (Para. [0082]-Elshafie discloses for control-plane traffic, the protocol stack may include a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) layer, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, the PDCP layer, the RLC layer, the MAC layer, and the PHY layer. The PHY layer may provide the transmission waveform (e.g., an OFDM using a cyclic prefix) for user-plane or control-plane traffic via over the air resources (e.g., time-domain resources, frequency-domain resources, and/or spatial domain) between a UE and BS and/or between UEs. Para. [0044]-Elshafie discloses medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) is a MAC layer communication structure that may be used for control command exchange between wireless nodes. Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Regarding claim 21, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Elshafie further teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive the indication of the plurality of TCI states corresponding to the weighting matrix in a stage of control information common to the reconfigurable intelligent surface and the UE (Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 is depicted as a separate network entity in communication with the RIS 114 to facilitate understanding, aspects of the present disclosure may be applied to the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130. Fig. 2, Para. [0043]-Elshafie discloses the RIS 114 may assist the communications, by receiving and re-radiate radio signals, between the BS 110 and UE 120. For example, the RIS 114 may re-radiate the transmissions from one of the BS 110 or UE 120 to the other using reflection, refraction, or other passive or active mechanisms. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Regarding claim 22, Elshafie teaches apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (Para. [0006-0008]-Elshafie discloses method for wireless communications by a first wireless node. The method generally includes receiving one or more first reference signals (RSs) as reflections off a RIS {Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface} from a second wireless node; generating a key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first RSs; and communicating, based on the key, with the second wireless node ... method for wireless communications by a network entity. The method generally includes receiving one or more RSs indicative of a key from a first wireless node; reflecting the one or more RSs with one or more elements at a RIS to a second wireless node; and reflecting one or more messages encrypted with the key between the first wireless node and the second wireless node ... implemented in a first wireless node. The first wireless node generally includes a transceiver, a memory, and at least one processor. The transceiver is configured to receive one or more first RSs as reflections off a RIS from a second wireless node. The at least one processor is coupled to the memory, and the at least one processor and the memory are configured to generate a key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first RSs. The transceiver is configured to communicate, based on the key, with the second wireless node. Para. [0009]-Elshafie discloses network entity generally includes a RIS controller coupled to a RIS. The RIS controller and the RIS are configured to receive one or more RSs indicative of a key from a first wireless node; reflect the one or more RSs with one or more elements at the RIS to a second wireless node; and reflect one or more messages encrypted with the key between the first wireless node and the second wireless node. Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130) to cause the network entity to:
transmit an indication of a set of resources allocated to a user equipment (UE) according to … a configured grant (Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. The scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities. That is, for scheduled communication, subordinate entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity. Base stations are not the only entities that may function as a scheduling entity. In some examples, a UE may function as a scheduling entity and may schedule resources for one or more subordinate entities (e.g., one or more other UEs), and the other UEs may utilize the resources scheduled by the UE for wireless communication).
Elshafie fails to teach semi-persistent scheduling.
However, Walker teaches transmit an indication of a set of resources allocated to a user equipment (UE) according to a semi-persistent scheduling or a configured grant (Figs. 2-3, Para. [0177-0179]-Walker discloses transmitter device 10 may also indicate its allocated resources. This option may be implemented similar as a dynamic resource allocation process in 5G or other standard communication systems ..., the transmitter device 10 replies to the receiver device 20 with a downlink control information (DCI) message including the allocated resources (e.g., time (timeslot, slot offset k2, . . . ), frequency, etc.) ... to use a semi-persistent scheduled resource allocation in which the transmitter device 10 sends the allocated resources for the radar session in a secure RRC message. Para. [0301]-Walker discloses embodiments may be implemented to provide network equipment for 5G/6G/xG cellular networks or a new product class of (low-cost/mid-cost) reconfigurable intelligent surfaces).
Elshafie and Walker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with reconfigurable intelligent surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie to incorporate the teachings of Walker on semi-persistent scheduling, with a motivation for indication of transmission resources, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Elshafie fails to explicitly teach transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states.
However, Echigo teaches transmit an indication of a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponding to a weighting matrix for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal),
the plurality of TCI states corresponding to a plurality of transmission occasions in the set of resources allocated to the UE (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used); and
communicate with the UE over the set of resources via the reconfigurable intelligent surface (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used),
the communicating is based at least in part on the plurality of TCI states (Para. [0074]-Echigo discloses control signals transmitted/received by the UE 200 and various reference signals transmitted/received by the UE. Para. [0130]-Echigo discloses UE 200 may determine the TA value by referring to the RS {received} having a spatial relation during transmission and the RS that is QCL (a relation sharing the same channel property among different antenna ports) that is connected by a TCI-state. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses RIS 300 in which the beams semi-statically change ..., the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of the uplink signals each with a TCI -see Para. [0093]}. Para. [0056]-Echigo discloses function related to a beam control (Examples: Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)-state, a function of controlling Quasi Co-Location (QCL), selection and application of a beam, selection and application of a spatial filter/precoding weight). Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS). Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” “transmitting power,” “phase rotation,” “antenna port,” “antenna port group,” “layer,” “number of layers,” “rank,” “resource,” “resource set,” “resource group”, “beam,” “beam width,” “beam angle,” “antenna,” “antenna element,” “panel,” and the like may be interchangeably used).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on transmission configuration indicator, with a motivation to communicate via the RIS, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 23, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 22,
Elshafie fails to teach periodicity of transmission occasions.
However, Echigo teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit first signaling indicating a periodicity of transmission occasions for applying one or more different portions of the weighting matrix to a set of reflective elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface for the plurality of transmission occasions (Para. [0107]-Echigo discloses different TA values may be assigned to an Index (TA value Index), and the TA value Index applied for each X or for each group constituted by X may be configured for the UE 200 by signaling (such as RRC) of a higher layer. Para. [0092-0097]-Echigo discloses the control unit 270 may configure the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation with the uplink signal. That is, the control unit 270 may determine the TA value of the uplink signal based on the spatial relation between the uplink signal and the predetermined RS, ... The spatial relation may mean, for example, that the UE 200 can transmit the uplink signal (specifically, such as PUCCH) using the same beam BM used to receive the corresponding downlink signal ... the control unit 270 may configure different TA values for each predetermined time (or period). The predetermined time (or period) may be, for example, a periodicity of an SSB (SS/PBCH Block) constituted by a Synchronization Signal (SS) and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), a repetition periodicity of a Time Division Duplex (TDD) pattern. Para. [0167]-Echigo discloses the UE 200 may configure the TA value at a fixed time/period (for example, SSB periodicity, TDD pattern, predetermined number of radio frames/slots/symbols, and the like) and apply the TA value configured within an interval including a transmission occasion of the relevant uplink signal {plurality of uplink signals}. Para. [0195]-Echigo discloses “precoding,” “precoder,” “weight (precoding weight),” “Quasi Co-Location (QCL),” “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” “spatial relation,” “spatial domain filter,” ... may be interchangeably used. Para. [0004]-Echigo discloses radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS)).
Echigo is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of radio communication systems, dealing with radio communications using a reflector (Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface: RIS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker to incorporate the teachings of Echigo on periodicity of transmission occasion, with a motivation to apply weighting matrix to RIS elements, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Claims 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20240313828 A1), hereinafter referenced as Elshafie, in view of Walker et al. (US 20250093487 A1), hereinafter referenced as Walker, and further in view of Echigo et al. (US 20240340826 A1), hereinafter referenced as Echigo, and further in view of LIM et al. (US 20250106845 A1), hereinafter referenced as Lim.
Regarding claim 25, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 22,
Elshafie fails to teach priority indicator.
However, Lim teaches to: transmit a priority indicator for the set of resources (Para. [0350-0351]-Lim discloses Upon receiving a UE capability report request from the base station, the UE constitutes UE capability according to band information and RAT type requested by the base station … When the UE receives, from the base station, a list of LTE and/or NR bands as the UE capability request, the UE constitutes a band combination (BC) regarding EN-DC and NR stand-alone (SA). In other words, the UE constitutes candidate list of BCs regarding the EN-DC and NR SA, based on bands requested from the base station by FreqBandList. Priorities of the bands are in an order stated in FreqBandList. Para. [0007]-Lim discloses providing coverage in terahertz bands of 6G mobile communication technologies, multi-antenna transmission technologies such as full dimensional MIMO (FD-MIMO), array antennas and large-scale antennas, metamaterial-based lenses and antennas for improving coverage of terahertz band signals, high-dimensional space multiplexing technology using orbital angular momentum (OAM), and reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)).
Lim is considered to be analogous because it is in the same communication network, dealing with transmitting uplink in wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo to incorporate the teachings of Lim on priority indicator, with a motivation to transmit priority indicator, and guarantee improvements in NR and LTE technology, (Elshafie, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 27, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 22,
Elshafie further teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit the indication of the plurality of TCI states corresponding to the weighting matrix in multiple stages of control information (Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller) comprising
a first stage of control information common to the reconfigurable intelligent surface and the UE (Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 is depicted as a separate network entity in communication with the RIS 114 to facilitate understanding, aspects of the present disclosure may be applied to the RIS controller 116 being integrated or co-located with the BS 110a, RIS 114, UE 120a, and/or network controller 130. Fig. 2, Para. [0043]-Elshafie discloses the RIS 114 may assist the communications, by receiving and re-radiate radio signals, between the BS 110 and UE 120. For example, the RIS 114 may re-radiate the transmissions from one of the BS 110 or UE 120 to the other using reflection, refraction, or other passive or active mechanisms. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller) and
a second stage of control information specific to the reconfigurable intelligent surface (Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-Elshafie discloses the RIS controller 116 is depicted as a separate network entity in communication with the RIS 114. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Regarding claim 29, Elshafie in view of Walker and Echigo teaches the apparatus of claim 22,
Elshafie further teaches the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit the indication of the set of resources allocated to the UE according to the configured grant (Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. The scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities. That is, for scheduled communication, subordinate entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity. Base stations are not the only entities that may function as a scheduling entity. In some examples, a UE may function as a scheduling entity and may schedule resources for one or more subordinate entities (e.g., one or more other UEs), and the other UEs may utilize the resources scheduled by the UE for wireless communication),
radio resource control signaling or a medium access control-control element comprise the indication of the set of resources and the indication of the weighting matrix (Para. [0082]-Elshafie discloses for control-plane traffic, the protocol stack may include a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) layer, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, the PDCP layer, the RLC layer, the MAC layer, and the PHY layer. The PHY layer may provide the transmission waveform (e.g., an OFDM using a cyclic prefix) for user-plane or control-plane traffic via over the air resources (e.g., time-domain resources, frequency-domain resources, and/or spatial domain) between a UE and BS and/or between UEs. Para. [0044]-Elshafie discloses medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) is a MAC layer communication structure that may be used for control command exchange between wireless nodes. Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses first wireless node may signal a sequence of RIS element cluster pattern to be used at a symbol (or min-slot, slot, half frame) level ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. For example, the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). Figs. 7A-B, Para. [0094]-Elshafie discloses the transmission occasions T1-T3 may be consecutive and/or non-consecutive time domain resources. That is, one or more time domain resources may be arranged between adjacent transmission occasions. Para. [0153]-Elshafie discloses a scheduling entity (e.g., a BS) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. Para. [0073]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a precoding (e.g., beamforming) for the RIS to use for reflecting or re-radiating the signals ..., the first wireless node may transmit, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting at least one of the first RSs or the second RSs ..., the precoding indicated may be a precoding matrix and/or precoding weights (e.g., scale factors and/or phase shifter weights) to use for re-radiating the RSs in a particular spatial direction during the key extraction phase. Para. [0058]-Elshafie discloses for an array of RIS elements, such as an m×n rectangular matrix, for example, a respective precoding weight may be generated or specified for each of the RIS element by the RIS controller).
Allowable Subject matter
Claims 6, 8-11, 13, 26 and 28 are allowable.
Dependent claims [6, 8-11, 13] and [26, 28], which depend on claims 1 and 22 respectively are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a comprehensive search has been performed and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on the claims as recited, i.e. “…receive a priority indicator for the set of resources; and determine a communication resolution for the plurality of transmission occasions in accordance with the priority indicator,” as recited in claim 6; “…apply zero value weights of the weighting matrix to the set of reflective elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface based at least in part on transmitting a negative acknowledgement message, wherein the feedback message comprises the negative acknowledgement message and the indication of the weighting matrix comprises the zero value weights,” as recited in claim 8; “…apply a default transmission configuration indicator (TCI) for the plurality of transmission occasions based at least in part on transmitting a negative acknowledgement message, wherein the feedback message comprises the negative acknowledgement message,” as recited in claim 9 and its dependent claims 10-11; “…receive control information comprising the indication of the weighting matrix, wherein a size of the control information is based at least in part on a maximum number of transmission occasions in the plurality of transmission occasions,” as recited in claim 13; “…receive a feedback message, wherein transmitting the indication of the plurality of TCI states corresponding to the weighting matrix is based at least in part on receiving the feedback message,” as recited in claim 26; and “…transmit control information comprising an indication of the weighting matrix, wherein a size of the control information is based at least in part on a maximum number of transmission occasions in the plurality of transmission occasions,” as recited in claim 28 respectively. The closest prior art found is as follows:
LIM et al. (US 20250106845 A1), which in Para. [0350-0351]-Lim discloses Upon receiving a UE capability report request from the base station, the UE constitutes UE capability according to band information and RAT type requested by the base station … When the UE receives, from the base station, a list of LTE and/or NR bands as the UE capability request, the UE constitutes a band combination (BC) regarding EN-DC and NR stand-alone (SA). In other words, the UE constitutes candidate list of BCs regarding the EN-DC and NR SA, based on bands requested from the base station by FreqBandList. Priorities of the bands are in an order stated in FreqBandList. Para. [0007]-Lim discloses providing coverage in terahertz bands of 6G mobile communication technologies, multi-antenna transmission technologies such as full dimensional MIMO (FD-MIMO), array antennas and large-scale antennas, metamaterial-based lenses and antennas for improving coverage of terahertz band signals, high-dimensional space multiplexing technology using orbital angular momentum (OAM), and reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS). However, LIM et al. (US 20250106845 A1) fails to teach the limitations of the incumbent claims 6, 8-11, 13, 26 and 28 as recited;
ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20240313828 A1), which in Para. [0075]-Elshafie discloses the DCI and/or SCI used for signaling the ON/OFF pattern to the RIS controller. Para. [0071]-Elshafie discloses the first wireless node may indicate a first cluster of elements at a first transmission occasion (e.g., a symbol or sequence of symbols) and a second cluster of elements at a second transmission occasion (e.g., a subsequent symbol or sequence of symbols). However, ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20240313828 A1) fails to teach the limitations of the incumbent claims 6, 8-11, 13, 26 and 28 as recited;
Echigo et al. (US 20240340826 A1), which in Para. [0211]-Echigo discloses the notification of information may be performed by physical layer signaling (for example, Downlink Control Information (DCI), Uplink Control Information (UCI), higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling, broadcast information (Master Information Block (MIB), System Information Block (SIB)), other signals, or a combination thereof. RRC signaling may also be referred to as RRC messages, and may be, for example, RRC Connection Setup messages, RRC Connection Reconfiguration messages. However, Echigo et al. (US 20240340826 A1) fails to teach the limitations of the incumbent claims 6, 8-11, 13, 26 and 28 as recited.
Neither LIM et al. (US 20250106845 A1), ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20240313828 A1) nor Echigo et al. (US 20240340826 A1) teaches the combined limitations of claims 6, 8-11, 13, 26 and 28, as recited. Hence, the claims are allowable.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
LY et al. (US 20240106515 A1)-discloses Fig. 2, Para. [0092-0093]-Ly discloses the indication of the first beam configuration may correspond to a control message 240 (e.g., a DCI or MAC-CE message) that indicates a first TCI state 230. The UE 115-a may identify the first beam configuration (e.g., a first beam 220-a) in accordance with the indicated first TCI state 230. In some cases, the base station 105-a may transmit a first source reference signal (e.g., synchronization signal block (SSB) or CSI-RS) via the first MS 205 (where the source reference signal is associated with the first RIS 205). The UE 115-a may receive a downlink message 225 from the base station 105-a via the first MS 205 based on a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship identified between the source reference signal based on the first TCI state 230 ... The indication of the second TCI state 235 (e.g., an uplink TCI state) that the UE 115-a is to use for uplink communications in the radio frame may be transmitted in the same control message 240 in which the indication of the first beam configuration (e.g., the first TCI state 230) is transmitted or in a separate control message (e.g., a separate DCI or MAC-CE).…. …Fig. 1-2
Kumagai et al. (US 20220338179 A1)-discloses to ensure sufficient transmission occasions or LBT occasions while maintaining the size of the DCI as much as possible in multi-TTI grant in NR-U. Furthermore, in the embodiments of the present invention, an object is to ensure sufficient transmission occasions or LBT occasions while maintaining the size of configured-grant type 2 DCI for transmitting a notification of a time domain resource assignment as much as possible in configured-grant in NR-U…. …Fig. 1-2
LIM et al. (US 20250167946 A1)-discloses Non-coherent joint transmission (NC-JT) supporting non-coherent precoding between the respective cells, TRPs, and/or beams may require individual precoding, MCS, resource allocation, TCI indication, etc. according to channel characteristics for each link between the UE and the respective cells, TRPs, and/or beams.… …Fig. 1-2
Agiwal et al. (US 20220322207 A1)-discloses a base station in a wireless communication system is provided. The base station includes a transceiver, and a processor operably connected with the transceiver, the processor configured to identify a type of a sidelink configured grant to allocate sidelink resources, and transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via the transceiver, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a sidelink configured grant type 2, wherein in case that a number of consecutive out-of-sync indications are received by the UE from lower layers, a timer is started, and wherein resources of the sidelink configured grant type 2 are not used by the UE while the timer is running…. …Fig. 1-2
YI et al. (US 20220322394 A1)-discloses Para. [0083]-Yi discloses transmission of an uplink data channel (PUSCH) in a 5G system will be described in detail. PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled by a UL grant in DCI or may be performed by a configured grant Type 1 or configured grant Type 2. Dynamic scheduling for PUSCH transmission may be indicated by DCI format 0_0 or 0_1…. …Fig. 1-2
Matsumura et al. (US 20250097981 A1)-discloses Uplink control information (UCI) including at least one of channel state information (CSI), transmission confirmation information (for example, which may be also referred to as Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK), ACK/NACK; … [0512] … the terms such as “precoding,” a “precoder,” a “weight (precoding weight),” “quasi-co-location (QCL),” a “Transmission Configuration Indication state (TCI state),” a “spatial relation,” a “spatial domain filter,” a “transmit power,” “phase rotation,” an “antenna port,” an “antenna port group,” a “layer,” “the number of layers,” a “rank,” a “resource,” a “resource set,” a “resource group,” a “beam,” a “beam width,” a “beam angular degree,” an “antenna,” an “antenna element,” a “panel,” and so on can be used interchangeably; [0089] It is considered to use existing FR2 to expand the area and use a frequency band higher than that for existing FR2. To enable these, improvement of beam management in addition to multi-TRP, reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), and the like is preferable…. …Fig. 1-2
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472