Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2026 with respect the prior art of Takashi (JPH06198326A) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “while Takashi may describe a single bridge
(17) including a cooling medium passage (26), Takashi is silent as to "a plurality of internal cooling channels... each internal cooling channel extending through the die assembly, a different bridge of the plurality of bridges, and the at least one internal mandrel" as claimed. Moreover, the Applicant respectfully submits that it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Takashi to include multiple bridges including a cooling medium passage, because the cooling channel as described in Takashi is provided for the exclusive purpose of supplying a cooling medium to the cooling medium outlets 25 for selectively forming a partition in the hollow section of the profile”. Conversely, as described in paragraph [0053] of the Applicant's specification, the inclusion of multiple bridges including cooling channels may uniformly prevent overheating of the work piece material (e.g., billet) inside the die assembly, increasing productivity of the extrusion process. Takashi is silent as to uniformly cooling a workpiece material. Moreover, any incidental cooling of the workpiece material obtained from the apparatus of Takashi would be severely diminished if not negated entirely when the switching device of Takashi is in the closed position. For at least these reasons, Takashi fails to disclose one or more features of claim 1 as amended. Accordingly, independent claim 1 and corresponding dependent claims 2, 3, and 5
In response to this argument, the claim is rejected as filed, and the prior art does not have to recognize the same advantages that are disclosed by the Applicant’s specification; rather the rejection is based on whether the cited prior art discloses every limitation of the claim expressly or inherently; and
claim 1 is required “a plurality of internal cooling channels within the at least one internal mandrel, each internal cooling channel having an outlet disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel, and each of the plurality of cooling channels extending from at least one inlet disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to a respective outlet disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel, such that each internal cooling channel extends through the die assembly, a different bridge of the plurality of bridges, and the at least one internal mandrel”;
the prior art of Takashi discloses an internal cooling channel (fig.1: (26)) within the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)), the internal cooling channel having an outlet (fig.1: (26)) disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)), and the cooling channel extending from at least one inlet (figs.1-2: (24)) disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to the outlet (fig.1: (26)) disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)), such that each internal cooling channel (fig.1: (26)) extends through the die assembly, the bridge (figs.1-2: (17)), and the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16));
Takashi does not disclose a plurality of internal cooling channels;
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Takashi to provide cooling channel extends through the die assembly, the bridge and the at least one internal mandrel as many as desired in order to enhance the cooling effect (Takashi: paragraph 0021), since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). (MPEP 2144.04 VI, B). thereby having a plurality of internal cooling channels within the at least one internal mandrel, each internal cooling channel having an outlet disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel, and each of the plurality of cooling channels extending from at least one inlet disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to a respective outlet disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel, such that each internal cooling channel extends through the die assembly, a different bridge of the plurality of bridges, and the at least one internal mandrel.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a die assembly for cooling an extruded metal profile” render the claim indefinite because:
as known in the art, the definition of the die is a specialized precision tool that alters the shape of a material;
So, it is unclear how “a die assembly” for “cooling an extruded metal profile”
Therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite, proper clarification is required in replying to this Office Action.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted “a die assembly for cooling an extruded metal profile” as ““a die assembly for producing an extruded metal profile”.
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi (JPH06198326A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Takashi discloses a die assembly for cooling an extruded metal profile, the die assembly (fig.1) (paragraphs 0014-0030) comprising:
an inflow end (fig.1: the left end at element (6));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end ((fig.1: the right end at element (E));
an internal cavity (fig.1: (14)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (fig.1: the end at element (25));
a plurality of bridges (figs.1-2: (17)) connecting the at least one internal mandrel to an interior surface of the die assembly;
an internal cooling channel (fig.1: (26)) within the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)), the internal cooling channel having an outlet (fig.1: (26)) disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)), and the cooling channel extending from at least one inlet (figs.1-2: (24)) disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to the outlet (fig.1: (26)) disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)), such that each internal cooling channel (fig.1: (26)) extends through the die assembly, the bridge (figs.1-2: (17)), and the at least one internal mandrel (fig.1: (16));
Takashi does not disclose a plurality of internal cooling channels;
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Takashi to provide cooling channel extends through the die assembly, the bridge and the at least one internal mandrel as many as desired in order to enhance the cooling effect (Takashi: paragraph 0021), since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (MPEP 2144.04 VI, B). Thereby having a plurality of internal cooling channels within the at least one internal mandrel, each internal cooling channel having an outlet disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel, and each of the plurality of cooling channels extending from at least one inlet disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to a respective outlet disposed at or near the end of the at least one internal mandrel, such that each internal cooling channel extends through the die assembly, a different bridge of the plurality of bridges, and the at least one internal mandrel.
Regarding claim 2, Takashi discloses wherein the internal cooling channel includes another outlet (fig.1: (25)) disposed at the outflow end of the die assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Takashi discloses wherein the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity (figs.1-2) (paragraphs 0016-0020).
Regarding claim 5, Takashi discloses wherein: the inlet of the internal cooling channel is configured to receive a fluid into the internal cooling channel; the internal cooling channel is configured to allow the fluid to flow through the internal cooling channel within the die assembly, the bridge, and the internal mandrel to the outlet (paragraphs 0016-0020); and
the outlet is configured to disperse the fluid out of the internal cooling channel to cool an interior channel of an extruded profile (fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Takashi does not disclose wherein the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity; the two or more internal mandrels being connected to the interior surface of the die assembly by the plurality of bridges, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity.
However, Takashi discloses the plurality of bridges (figs.1-2: (17)) connecting the internal mandrel to the interior surface of the die assembly, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity (figs.1-2) (paragraphs 0016-0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Takashi to add internal mandrels and bridges as many times as needed, including wherein the die assembly includes wherein the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity; the two or more internal mandrels being connected to the interior surface of the die assembly by the plurality of bridges, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity, in order to increase productivity (MPEP 2144.04 VI, B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi (JPH06198326A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Sadahide (JPH1076312A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Takashi does not disclose an insulator lining an interior of the internal cooling channel.
Sadahide teaches a die assembly (figs.1-3) (paragraphs 0013-0027) comprising an insulator lining an interior of an internal cooling channel (paragraph 0022).
Both of the prior arts of Takashi and Sadahide are related to an extruder having a cooling channel;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takashi to have the configuration of an insulator lining an interior of the internal cooling channel as taught by Sadahide, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takashi (JPH06198326A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Amba (US20200143987A1).
Regarding claim 8, Takashi does not disclose a temperature sensor channel extending into the die assembly from an opening on an exterior surface of the die assembly, the temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor.
Amba teaches a temperature sensor channel extending into the die assembly, the temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor (paragraph 0034).
Both of the prior arts of Takashi and Amba are related to an extruder having a cooling channel;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takashi to have temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor as taught by Amba in order to maintain desired temperatures (Amba : paragraph 0034); thereby having a temperature sensor channel extending into the die assembly from an opening on an exterior surface of the die assembly, the temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725