Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-37 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
The Applicant submits that Groups I-V include only claims directed to a process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process as set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.475(b). Particularly, the claims are directed to a die assemblies configured to cool an extruded profile, a method for cooling an extruded profile using a die assembly, and systems for cooling an extruded profile using a die assembly.
This is not found persuasive because “an extruded profile” is not recited in the independent claim 1.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
While German Patent Document No. DE 102019001144 ("Jurgen") may include a coolant discharge (13), Jurgen is completely silent as to the structure of "an internal cavity extending from the inflow end to the outflow end; [and] an internal mandrel disposed within the internal cavity." Jurgen does not address such structures, because Jurgen is instead directed to a blowing head for the production of a blown film which does not include an internal mandrel disposed in an internal cavity, around which a material is shaped. As such, the above identified common technical feature constitutes a significant, novel contribution over the prior art.
This is not found persuasive because “around which a material is shaped” is not recited in the independent claim 1; and
The claim is rejected as filed; and the prior art of Jurgen discloses:
a die assembly (figs.1-3) (paragraphs 0026-0032) comprising:
an inflow end (figs.1-3: the top end of element (2) at melt feed (4));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end (figs.1-3: the top end of element (2) at melt outlet (6));
an internal cavity (figs.2-3: (16)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
an internal mandrel (figs.2-3: (9)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (figs.2-3: the top end of the element (9) proximate to outlet (6)); and
an internal cooling channel (figs.2-3: ((11), (12), (13, and (14)) within the internal mandrel, the internal cooling channel having an outlet (figs.2-3: (13)) disposed at or near the end of the internal mandrel.
Another prior art, Sadahide (JPH1076312A) discloses a die assembly (figs.1-3) (paragraphs 0013-0027) comprising:
an inflow end (fig.3: (14));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end (fig.3: the left end of element (1) that opposite to the element (14));
an internal cavity (fig.3: (10)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
an internal mandrel (fig.3: (11)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (fig.3: the left end of the element (11)); and
an internal cooling channel (fig.3: (17)) within the internal mandrel, the internal cooling channel having an outlet (figs.2-3: (13)) disposed at or near the end of the internal mandrel.
And another prior art, Takashi (JPH06198326A) discloses a die assembly (fig.1) (paragraphs 0014-0030) comprising:
an inflow end (fig.1: the left end at element (6));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end ((fig.1: the right end at element (E));
an internal cavity (fig.1: (14)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
an internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (fig.1: the end at element (25)); and
an internal cooling channel (fig.1: (26)) within the internal mandrel, the internal cooling channel having an outlet (fig.1: (26)) disposed at or near the end of the internal mandrel.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because poor quality and difficult to recognize the details.
Examiner requests a clean copy of the drawings with well-defined lines and preferably with typed numbers so that the drawings are clear and can be easily compared to the rest of the disclosure. Examiner requested a copy of the drawings with no solid shading area. Examiner requests a copy of cross sections drawings without shading.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7 , the phrase “the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity, the two or more internal mandrels” should be changed to “the die assembly includes two or more of the internal mandrel disposed within the internal cavity, the two or more of the internal mandrel”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jurgen (DE102019001144A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Jurgen discloses a die assembly (figs.1-3) (paragraphs 0026-0032) comprising:
an inflow end (figs.1-3: the top end of element (2) at melt feed (4));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end (figs.1-3: the top end of element (2) at melt outlet (6));
an internal cavity (figs.2-3: (16)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
an internal mandrel (figs.2-3: (9)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (figs.2-3: the top end of the element (9) proximate to outlet (6)); and
an internal cooling channel (figs.2-3: ((11), (12), (13, and (14)) within the internal mandrel, the internal cooling channel having an outlet (figs.2-3: (13)) disposed at or near the end of the internal mandrel.
Regarding claim 2, Jurgen discloses wherein the internal cooling channel includes another outlet (figs.2-3: (12)) disposed at the outflow end of the die assembly.
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadahide (JPH1076312A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Sadahide discloses a die assembly (figs.1-3) (paragraphs 0013-0027) comprising:
an inflow end (fig.3: (14));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end (fig.3: the end that opposite to the element (14));
an internal cavity (fig.3: (10)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
an internal mandrel (fig.3: (11)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (fig.3); and
an internal cooling channel (fig.3: (17)) within the internal mandrel, the internal cooling channel having an outlet (fig.3) disposed at or near the end of the internal mandrel.
Regarding claim 3, Sadahide discloses a bridge (fig.3: (4)) connecting the internal mandrel to an interior surface of the die assembly, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity (fig.3).
Regarding claim 4, Sadahide discloses wherein the internal cooling channel extends from an inlet disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to the outlet, such that the internal cooling channel extends through the die assembly, the bridge, and the internal mandrel (figs.2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Sadahide discloses an insulator lining an interior of the internal cooling channel (paragraph 0022).
Claim 1-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Takashi (JPH06198326A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Takashi discloses a die assembly (fig.1) (paragraphs 0014-0030) comprising:
an inflow end (fig.1: the left end at element (6));
an outflow end opposite the inflow end ((fig.1: the right end at element (E));
an internal cavity (fig.1: (14)) extending from the inflow end to the outflow end;
an internal mandrel (fig.1: (16)) disposed within the internal cavity, the internal mandrel having an end proximate to the outflow end of the die assembly (fig.1: the end at element (25)); and
an internal cooling channel (fig.1: (26)) within the internal mandrel, the internal cooling channel having an outlet (fig.1: (26)) disposed at or near the end of the internal mandrel.
Regarding claim 2, Takashi discloses wherein the internal cooling channel includes another outlet (fig.1: (25)) disposed at the outflow end of the die assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Takashi discloses a bridge (figs.1-2: (17)) connecting the internal mandrel to an interior surface of the die assembly, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity (figs.1-2) (paragraphs 0016-0020).
Regarding claim 4, Takashi discloses wherein the internal cooling channel extends from an inlet (figs.1-2: (24)) disposed on an exterior surface of the die assembly to the outlet, such that the internal cooling channel extends through the die assembly, the bridge, and the internal mandrel (figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Takashi discloses wherein: the inlet of the internal cooling channel is configured to receive a fluid into the internal cooling channel; the internal cooling channel is configured to allow the fluid to flow through the internal cooling channel within the die assembly, the bridge, and the internal mandrel to the outlet (paragraphs 0016-0020); and
the outlet is configured to disperse the fluid out of the internal cooling channel to cool an interior channel of an extruded profile (fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sadahide (JPH1076312A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Sadahide does not disclose wherein the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity, the two or more internal mandrels being connected to an interior surface of the die assembly by one or more bridges, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity.
However, Sadahide discloses a bridge (fig.3: (4)) connecting the internal mandrel to an interior surface of the die assembly, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity (fig.3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Sadahide to add internal mandrels and bridges as many times as needed, including wherein the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity, the two or more internal mandrels being connected to an interior surface of the die assembly by one or more bridges, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity, in order to increase productivity (MPEP 2144.04 VI, B).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takashi (JPH06198326A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Takashi does not disclose wherein the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity, the two or more internal mandrels being connected to an interior surface of the die assembly by one or more bridges, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity.
However, Takashi discloses Regarding claim 3, Takashi discloses a bridge (figs.1-2: (17)) connecting the internal mandrel to an interior surface of the die assembly, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity (figs.1-2) (paragraphs 0016-0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Takashi to add internal mandrels and bridges as many times as needed, including wherein the die assembly includes two or more internal mandrels disposed within the internal cavity, the two or more internal mandrels being connected to an interior surface of the die assembly by one or more bridges, the interior surface of the die assembly being formed by the internal cavity, in order to increase productivity (MPEP 2144.04 VI, B).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Takashi (JPH06198326A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Amba (US20200143987A1).
Regarding claim 8, Takashi does not disclose a temperature sensor channel extending into the die assembly from an opening on an exterior surface of the die assembly, the temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor.
Amba teaches a temperature sensor channel extending into the die assembly, the temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor (paragraph 0034).
Both of the prior arts of Takashi and Amba are related to an extruder having a cooling channel;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Takashi to have temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor as taught by Amba in order to maintain desired temperatures (Amba : paragraph 0034); thereby having a temperature sensor channel extending into the die assembly from an opening on an exterior surface of the die assembly, the temperature sensor channel configured to accommodate a temperature sensor.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725