This office action is in response to application filed on 08/28/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04 and 12/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 19, 20, 23, 24, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ren et al (US20220094412A1) (hereinafter "Ren").
Regarding claim 1, Ren discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and ([0029] The processor is coupled to a memory, and may be configured to execute instructions in the memory, to implement the method according to any one of the first aspect and the possible implementations of the first aspect.)
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to ([0029] The communications apparatus includes a processor.):
receive a configuration ([0141] It should be noted that, in the embodiments of this application, each codebook in a codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity. [0142] In an implementation, the network device may directly indicate the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity by using signaling. [0143] In another implementation, the network device may alternatively indicate, by using signaling, a configuration related to the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity. … In this case, that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity” may be replaced with that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a configuration of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity”.) associated with a non-orthogonal discrete Fourier transform (DFT) codebook for channel state information (CSI) in a time domain; and ([0007] The method includes a terminal device generates first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate one or more component features of a time-varying feature and a weighting coefficient of each component feature, and the one or more component features and the weighting coefficient of each component feature are used to represent the time-varying feature of a channel, and the terminal device sends the first indication information to a network device. [0016] With reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some implementations, when the first indication information is used to indicate the one or more component features of the time-varying feature, the first indication information is specifically used to indicate an index of a time domain vector corresponding to each component feature in a predefined codebook. [0088] Optionally, time domain vectors in a same codebook are all oversampled DFT vectors. … The codebook may be defined as a non-orthogonal codebook.)
transmit a CSI report based at least in part on the non-orthogonal DFT codebook ([0242] Alternatively, the terminal device may determine the codebook and report the used codebook when reporting the first indication information, for example, report an index of the used codebook or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor. [0295] Operation 330: The terminal device sends the first indication information. Correspondingly, the network device receives the first indication information. [0296] For example, the first indication information may be carried in a channel state information (CSI) report, or may be carried in other signaling.)
Regarding claim 2, Ren discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a quantity of bases for the codebook ([0242] The codebook used to determine the one or more time domain vectors may be indicated by the network device to the terminal device by using signaling, for example, an index of the codebook is indicated, or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor are indicated.).
Regarding claim 5, Ren discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates an oversampling factor, and a quantity of bases for the codebook is based on the basis length and the oversampling factor ([0242] Alternatively, the terminal device may determine the codebook and report the used codebook when reporting the first indication information, for example, report an index of the used codebook or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor.).
Regarding claim 6, Ren discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a bin size for the codebook ([0024] To obtain a more accurate feedback of the terminal device, codebooks with a plurality of different dimensions may be defined. A codebook with a higher dimension is more accurate than a codebook with a lower dimension. The terminal device may perform channel measurement by using codebooks of different precision, to obtain feedbacks of different precision. [0244] It should be noted that a dimension of the codebook used to determine the time domain vector corresponds to a dimension of the spatial-frequency coefficient vector. For example, if the length of the spatial-frequency coefficient vector is N, the dimension of the codebook used to determine the time domain vector may also be N.).
Regarding claim 19, Ren discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a memory; and ([0029] The processor is coupled to a memory, and may be configured to execute instructions in the memory, to implement the method according to any one of the first aspect and the possible implementations of the first aspect.)
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to ([0029] The communications apparatus includes a processor.):
transmit a configuration ([0141] It should be noted that, in the embodiments of this application, each codebook in a codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity. [0142] In an implementation, the network device may directly indicate the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity by using signaling. [0143] In another implementation, the network device may alternatively indicate, by using signaling, a configuration related to the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity. … In this case, that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity” may be replaced with that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a configuration of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity”.) associated with a non-orthogonal discrete Fourier transform (DFT) codebook for channel state information (CSI) in a time domain; and ([0007] The method includes a terminal device generates first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate one or more component features of a time-varying feature and a weighting coefficient of each component feature, and the one or more component features and the weighting coefficient of each component feature are used to represent the time-varying feature of a channel, and the terminal device sends the first indication information to a network device. [0016] With reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some implementations, when the first indication information is used to indicate the one or more component features of the time-varying feature, the first indication information is specifically used to indicate an index of a time domain vector corresponding to each component feature in a predefined codebook. [0088] Optionally, time domain vectors in a same codebook are all oversampled DFT vectors. … The codebook may be defined as a non-orthogonal codebook.)
receive a CSI report based at least in part on the non-orthogonal DFT codebook ([0242] Alternatively, the terminal device may determine the codebook and report the used codebook when reporting the first indication information, for example, report an index of the used codebook or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor. [0295] Operation 330: The terminal device sends the first indication information. Correspondingly, the network device receives the first indication information. [0296] For example, the first indication information may be carried in a channel state information (CSI) report, or may be carried in other signaling.).
Regarding claim 20, Ren discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a quantity of bases for the codebook ([0242] The codebook used to determine the one or more time domain vectors may be indicated by the network device to the terminal device by using signaling, for example, an index of the codebook is indicated, or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor are indicated.).
Regarding claim 23, Ren discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates an oversampling factor, and a quantity of bases for the codebook is based on the basis length and the oversampling factor ([0242] Alternatively, the terminal device may determine the codebook and report the used codebook when reporting the first indication information, for example, report an index of the used codebook or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor.).
Regarding claim 24, Ren discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a bin size for the codebook ([0024] To obtain a more accurate feedback of the terminal device, codebooks with a plurality of different dimensions may be defined. A codebook with a higher dimension is more accurate than a codebook with a lower dimension. The terminal device may perform channel measurement by using codebooks of different precision, to obtain feedbacks of different precision. [0244] It should be noted that a dimension of the codebook used to determine the time domain vector corresponds to a dimension of the spatial-frequency coefficient vector. For example, if the length of the spatial-frequency coefficient vector is N, the dimension of the codebook used to determine the time domain vector may also be N.).
Regarding claim 29, Ren discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a configuration ([0141] It should be noted that, in the embodiments of this application, each codebook in a codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity. [0142] In an implementation, the network device may directly indicate the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity by using signaling. [0143] In another implementation, the network device may alternatively indicate, by using signaling, a configuration related to the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity. … In this case, that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity” may be replaced with that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a configuration of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity”.) associated with a non-orthogonal discrete Fourier transform (DFT) codebook for channel state information (CSI) in a time domain; and ([0007] The method includes a terminal device generates first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate one or more component features of a time-varying feature and a weighting coefficient of each component feature, and the one or more component features and the weighting coefficient of each component feature are used to represent the time-varying feature of a channel, and the terminal device sends the first indication information to a network device. [0016] With reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some implementations, when the first indication information is used to indicate the one or more component features of the time-varying feature, the first indication information is specifically used to indicate an index of a time domain vector corresponding to each component feature in a predefined codebook. [0088] Optionally, time domain vectors in a same codebook are all oversampled DFT vectors. … The codebook may be defined as a non-orthogonal codebook.)
transmitting a CSI report based at least in part on the non-orthogonal DFT codebook ([0242] Alternatively, the terminal device may determine the codebook and report the used codebook when reporting the first indication information, for example, report an index of the used codebook or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor. [0295] Operation 330: The terminal device sends the first indication information. Correspondingly, the network device receives the first indication information. [0296] For example, the first indication information may be carried in a channel state information (CSI) report, or may be carried in other signaling.).
Regarding claim 30, Ren discloses a method, comprising:
transmitting a configuration ([0141] It should be noted that, in the embodiments of this application, each codebook in a codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity. [0142] In an implementation, the network device may directly indicate the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity by using signaling. [0143] In another implementation, the network device may alternatively indicate, by using signaling, a configuration related to the value of the measurement duration, the pilot time-domain density, the quantity of pilot transmissions, or the pilot transmission periodicity. … In this case, that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a value of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time-domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity” may be replaced with that “each codebook in the codebook set corresponds to a configuration of one or more of the following, including measurement duration, a pilot time domain density, a quantity of pilot transmissions, or a pilot transmission periodicity”.) associated with a non-orthogonal discrete Fourier transform (DFT) codebook for channel state information (CSI) in a time domain; and ([0007] The method includes a terminal device generates first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate one or more component features of a time-varying feature and a weighting coefficient of each component feature, and the one or more component features and the weighting coefficient of each component feature are used to represent the time-varying feature of a channel, and the terminal device sends the first indication information to a network device. [0016] With reference to the first aspect or the second aspect, in some implementations, when the first indication information is used to indicate the one or more component features of the time-varying feature, the first indication information is specifically used to indicate an index of a time domain vector corresponding to each component feature in a predefined codebook. [0088] Optionally, time domain vectors in a same codebook are all oversampled DFT vectors. … The codebook may be defined as a non-orthogonal codebook.)
receiving a CSI report based at least in part on the non-orthogonal DFT codebook ([0242] Alternatively, the terminal device may determine the codebook and report the used codebook when reporting the first indication information, for example, report an index of the used codebook or an index of the codebook and an oversampling factor. [0295] Operation 330: The terminal device sends the first indication information. Correspondingly, the network device receives the first indication information. [0296] For example, the first indication information may be carried in a channel state information (CSI) report, or may be carried in other signaling.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Jeong et al (US20110110339A1) (hereinafter "Jeong").
Regarding claim 3, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a basis length for the codebook.
However, Jeong discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a basis length for the codebook ([0072] In the fourth method, a codebook itself of a corresponding parameter is transmitted in every group configuration message transmission. In this method, the BS transmits a resource size codebook of a resource corresponding to each bitmap index to the MS in every group configuration message transmission, and transmits the resource allocation bitmap to the MS on the basis of the resource size codebook.).
Ren and Jeong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for wireless resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Jeong to create the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a basis length for the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resource allocation overhead.
Regarding claim 21, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a basis length for the codebook.
However, Jeong discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a basis length for the codebook ([0072] In the fourth method, a codebook itself of a corresponding parameter is transmitted in every group configuration message transmission. In this method, the BS transmits a resource size codebook of a resource corresponding to each bitmap index to the MS in every group configuration message transmission, and transmits the resource allocation bitmap to the MS on the basis of the resource size codebook.).
Ren and Jeong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for wireless resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Jeong to create the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a basis length for the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resource allocation overhead.
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Hao et al (US20210320704A1) (hereinafter "Hao").
Regarding claim 4, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the basis length is greater than or equal to a quantity of bins with observed CSI reference signal instances associated with the CSI report.
However, Hao discloses the apparatus, wherein the basis length is greater than or equal to a quantity of bins with observed CSI reference signal instances associated with the CSI report ([0044] OFDM and SC-FDM partition the system bandwidth into multiple (K) orthogonal subcarriers, which are also commonly referred to as tones, bins, etc. … The spacing between adjacent subcarriers may be fixed, and the total number of subcarriers (K) may be dependent on the system bandwidth. [0083] The number of codebooks in the list is equal to the total number of CSI-RS resources and/or port groups in all of the CSI-RS resources in the CSI report configuration.).
Ren and Hao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel state information report configuration utilizing a codebook list.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Hao to create the apparatus, wherein the basis length is greater than or equal to a quantity of bins with observed CSI reference signal instances associated with the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure sufficient granularity to support high resolution CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 22, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the basis length is greater than or equal to a quantity of bins with observed CSI reference signal instances associated with the CSI report.
However, Hao discloses the apparatus, wherein the basis length is greater than or equal to a quantity of bins with observed CSI reference signal instances associated with the CSI report ([0044] OFDM and SC-FDM partition the system bandwidth into multiple (K) orthogonal subcarriers, which are also commonly referred to as tones, bins, etc. … The spacing between adjacent subcarriers may be fixed, and the total number of subcarriers (K) may be dependent on the system bandwidth. [0083] The number of codebooks in the list is equal to the total number of CSI-RS resources and/or port groups in all of the CSI-RS resources in the CSI report configuration.).
Ren and Hao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel state information report configuration utilizing a codebook list.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Hao to create the apparatus, wherein the basis length is greater than or equal to a quantity of bins with observed CSI reference signal instances associated with the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure sufficient granularity to support high resolution CSI reporting.
Claims 7 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Rahman et al (WO2022045804A1) (hereinafter "Rahman").
Regarding claim 7, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the codebook, to use for the CSI report.
However, Rahman discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the codebook, to use for the CSI report (Pg. 3, Para. 4: The method comprises: receiving information about a channel state information (CSI) report based on a, the comprising components, and one of the components being a matrix Wf comprising a first of Mv basis vectors; determining whether Wf is turned ON or OFF; determining Wf when Wf is turned ON; determining remaining codebook components; determining the CSI report based on: the remaining components, when Wf is turned OFF, and the remaining components and the determined Wf when is turned ON; and transmitting the CSI report.).
Ren and Rahman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for CSI reporting based on a codebook.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Rahman to create the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the codebook, to use for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit the possible precoding matrices a UE can select from or to determine the codebook components to build the CSI report.
Regarding claim 25, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the codebook, to use for the CSI report.
However, Rahman discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the codebook, to use for the CSI report (Pg. 3, Para. 4: The method comprises: receiving information about a channel state information (CSI) report based on a, the comprising components, and one of the components being a matrix Wf comprising a first of Mv basis vectors; determining whether Wf is turned ON or OFF; determining Wf when Wf is turned ON; determining remaining codebook components; determining the CSI report based on: the remaining components, when Wf is turned OFF, and the remaining components and the determined Wf when is turned ON; and transmitting the CSI report.).
Ren and Rahman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for CSI reporting based on a codebook.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Rahman to create the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the codebook, to use for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit the possible precoding matrices a UE can select from or to determine the codebook components to build the CSI report.
Claims 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Zhan et al (US20230231600A1) (hereinafter "Zhan").
Regarding claim 8, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected oversampling group of the codebook and a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the selected oversampling group, to use for the CSI report.
However, Zhan discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected oversampling group of the codebook and a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the selected oversampling group, to use for the CSI report ([0038] In some embodiments, an eType-II codebook configuration may exploit a frequency domain correlation in W.sub.2 to implement feedback compression. For example, in a system with 2 L spatial domain (SD) beams and N.sub.3 subbands, a frequency compression matrix W.sub.f having a size N.sub.3×M may be selected (e.g., from the columns of an oversampled DFT codebook to form an orthogonal subset of a basis set of the codebook). The frequency compression matrix W.sub.f may be applied (e.g., at each layer) to the LCC matrix W.sub.2 to obtain a matrix of linear combination coefficients {tilde over (W)}.sub.2 as follows:).
Ren and Zhan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for determining precoding information for beamforming.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Zhan to create the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected oversampling group of the codebook and a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the selected oversampling group, to use for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 26, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected oversampling group of the codebook and a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the selected oversampling group, to use for the CSI report.
However, Zhan discloses the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected oversampling group of the codebook and a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the selected oversampling group, to use for the CSI report ([0038] In some embodiments, an eType-II codebook configuration may exploit a frequency domain correlation in W.sub.2 to implement feedback compression. For example, in a system with 2 L spatial domain (SD) beams and N.sub.3 subbands, a frequency compression matrix W.sub.f having a size N.sub.3×M may be selected (e.g., from the columns of an oversampled DFT codebook to form an orthogonal subset of a basis set of the codebook). The frequency compression matrix W.sub.f may be applied (e.g., at each layer) to the LCC matrix W.sub.2 to obtain a matrix of linear combination coefficients {tilde over (W)}.sub.2 as follows:).
Ren and Zhan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for determining precoding information for beamforming.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Zhan to create the apparatus, wherein the configuration indicates a selected oversampling group of the codebook and a selected subset of bases, from a set of bases in the selected oversampling group, to use for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead.
Claims 9 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Yang et al (US20230155749A1) (hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding claim 9, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein a first instance associated with the CSI report is included in a slot that corresponds to a first bin of the codebook.
However, Yang discloses the apparatus, wherein a first instance associated with the CSI report is included in a slot that corresponds to a first bin of the codebook ([0107] For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a semi-static indication that includes a first configuration of a first time pattern for switching a first target PUCCH carrier associated with the first HARQ-ACK codebook, and the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a semi-static indication that includes a second configuration of second time pattern for switching a second target PUCCH carrier associated with the second HARQ-ACK codebook. The first time pattern may be a periodic time pattern (e.g., over a set of slots or sub-slots) for switching the first target PUCCH carrier between the PCell of the PUCCH group and a first SCell (e.g., a configured PUCCH SCell) of the PUCCH group.).
Ren and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of mapping Channel State Information reports with regards to specific codebook properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Yang to create the apparatus, wherein a first instance associated with the CSI report is included in a slot that corresponds to a first bin of the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize transmission granularity.
Regarding claim 27, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein a first instance associated with the CSI report is included in a slot that corresponds to a first bin of the codebook.
However, Yang discloses the apparatus, wherein a first instance associated with the CSI report is included in a slot that corresponds to a first bin of the codebook ([0107] For example, the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a semi-static indication that includes a first configuration of a first time pattern for switching a first target PUCCH carrier associated with the first HARQ-ACK codebook, and the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a semi-static indication that includes a second configuration of second time pattern for switching a second target PUCCH carrier associated with the second HARQ-ACK codebook. The first time pattern may be a periodic time pattern (e.g., over a set of slots or sub-slots) for switching the first target PUCCH carrier between the PCell of the PUCCH group and a first SCell (e.g., a configured PUCCH SCell) of the PUCCH group.).
Ren and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of mapping Channel State Information reports with regards to specific codebook properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Yang to create the apparatus, wherein a first instance associated with the CSI report is included in a slot that corresponds to a first bin of the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize transmission granularity.
Claims 10 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Zhang et al (US20230031360A1) (hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claim 10, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the slot including the first instance is a starting slot for the first bin of the codebook.
However, Zhang discloses the apparatus, wherein the slot including the first instance is a starting slot for the first bin of the codebook ([0125] Example 18 includes the subject matter of any one of examples 1-10, including or omitting optional elements, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the device to: determine a first candidate size of the HARQ codebook for each slot based on a number of active SPS PDSCH configurations in the slot for all component carriers; divide a start and length indicator value (SLIV) table into a number of segments based on a length of a smallest SPS PDSCH reception in the determined set of SPS PDSCH receptions; determine a second candidate size of the HARQ codebook for each slot based on the number segments; and determine the size of the HARQ codebook for each slot as the smaller of the first candidate size and the second candidate size.).
Ren and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of optimizing and constraining the size a codebook.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Zhang to create the apparatus, wherein the slot including the first instance is a starting slot for the first bin of the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent excessive feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 28, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the slot including the first instance is a starting slot for the first bin of the codebook.
However, Zhang discloses the apparatus, wherein the slot including the first instance is a starting slot for the first bin of the codebook ([0125] Example 18 includes the subject matter of any one of examples 1-10, including or omitting optional elements, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the device to: determine a first candidate size of the HARQ codebook for each slot based on a number of active SPS PDSCH configurations in the slot for all component carriers; divide a start and length indicator value (SLIV) table into a number of segments based on a length of a smallest SPS PDSCH reception in the determined set of SPS PDSCH receptions; determine a second candidate size of the HARQ codebook for each slot based on the number segments; and determine the size of the HARQ codebook for each slot as the smaller of the first candidate size and the second candidate size.).
Ren and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of optimizing and constraining the size a codebook.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Zhang to create the apparatus, wherein the slot including the first instance is a starting slot for the first bin of the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent excessive feedback overhead.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Yu et al (US20160072565A1) (hereinafter "Yu").
Regarding claim 11, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein an observation window associated with the CSI report has a length equal to a time length for the codebook.
However, Yu discloses the apparatus, wherein an observation window associated with the CSI report has a length equal to a time length for the codebook ([0093] Here, the size of a codebook of W2 should be equal to or less than a size capable of being indicated by a precoder indicator. For example, in the current LTE system, the base station may indicate one precoder of 16 candidates to the UE by using TPMI having a 4-bit length. Therefore, if a precoder indicator is formed of N bits, a precoder of a W2 codebook should be 2.sup.N or less. At step 830, the UE finds a recent aperiodic CSI report containing RI which is set to use the same W1 precoder as that of rank which is set (or scheduled) by the base station.).
Ren and Yu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to coordinate CSI reports and matrices sizing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Yu to create the apparatus, wherein an observation window associated with the CSI report has a length equal to a time length for the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to restrict the overhead while still allowing the UE to dynamically adapt the precoder to exact radio conditions.
Regarding claim 12, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein an observation window associated with the CSI report has a length shorter than a time length for the codebook.
However, Yu discloses the apparatus, wherein an observation window associated with the CSI report has a length shorter than a time length for the codebook ([0093] Here, the size of a codebook of W2 should be equal to or less than a size capable of being indicated by a precoder indicator. For example, in the current LTE system, the base station may indicate one precoder of 16 candidates to the UE by using TPMI having a 4-bit length. Therefore, if a precoder indicator is formed of N bits, a precoder of a W2 codebook should be 2.sup.N or less. At step 830, the UE finds a recent aperiodic CSI report containing RI which is set to use the same W1 precoder as that of rank which is set (or scheduled) by the base station.).
Ren and Yu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor to coordinate CSI reports and matrices sizing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Yu to create the apparatus, wherein an observation window associated with the CSI report has a length shorter than a time length for the codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to restrict the overhead while still allowing the UE to dynamically adapt the precoder to exact radio conditions.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Sengupta et al (US20210314194A1) (hereinafter "Sengupta").
Regarding claim 13, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with at least one instance for the CSI report.
However, Sengupta discloses the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with at least one instance for the CSI report ([0033] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, mapping the one or more expanded precoded tone subsets to resource elements may include operations, features, means, or instructions for applying an offset value which may be based on a symbol or slot index. [0116] The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). [0152] In some examples, the transmission parameters may vary over the set of one or more TTIs. For example, base station 105-c may vary the precoding matrices (e.g., P.sub.1, P.sub.2, P.sub.3 . . . P.sub.K-1). That is, the precoding matrices may change across slots, symbols, or the like. Thus, a subset of modulated data symbol tones may be precoded according to one precoding scheme in a first slot, and precoded according to another precoding scheme in a second slot.).
Ren and Sengupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for determining structures for codebooks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Sengupta to create the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with at least one instance for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to efficiently map resource elements and align with the UE's beam selection feedback.
Regarding claim 14, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with a same quantity of instances for the CSI report.
However, Sengupta discloses the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with a same quantity of instances for the CSI report ([0033] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, mapping the one or more expanded precoded tone subsets to resource elements may include operations, features, means, or instructions for applying an offset value which may be based on a symbol or slot index. [0116] The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). [0152] In some examples, the transmission parameters may vary over the set of one or more TTIs. For example, base station 105-c may vary the precoding matrices (e.g., P.sub.1, P.sub.2, P.sub.3 . . . P.sub.K-1). That is, the precoding matrices may change across slots, symbols, or the like. Thus, a subset of modulated data symbol tones may be precoded according to one precoding scheme in a first slot, and precoded according to another precoding scheme in a second slot.).
Ren and Sengupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for determining structures for codebooks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Sengupta to create the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with a same quantity of instances for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to efficiently map resource elements and align with the UE's beam selection feedback.
Regarding claim 15, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with a single instance for the CSI report.
However, Sengupta discloses the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with a single instance for the CSI report ([0033] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, mapping the one or more expanded precoded tone subsets to resource elements may include operations, features, means, or instructions for applying an offset value which may be based on a symbol or slot index. [0116] The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). [0152] In some examples, the transmission parameters may vary over the set of one or more TTIs. For example, base station 105-c may vary the precoding matrices (e.g., P.sub.1, P.sub.2, P.sub.3 . . . P.sub.K-1). That is, the precoding matrices may change across slots, symbols, or the like. Thus, a subset of modulated data symbol tones may be precoded according to one precoding scheme in a first slot, and precoded according to another precoding scheme in a second slot.).
Ren and Sengupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for determining structures for codebooks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Sengupta to create the apparatus, wherein each bin of the codebook is associated with a single instance for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to efficiently map resource elements and align with the UE's beam selection feedback.
Regarding claim 16, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein at least one bin of the codebook is associated with no instances for the CSI report.
However, Sengupta discloses the apparatus, wherein at least one bin of the codebook is associated with no instances for the CSI report ([0033] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, mapping the one or more expanded precoded tone subsets to resource elements may include operations, features, means, or instructions for applying an offset value which may be based on a symbol or slot index. [0116] The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). [0152] In some examples, the transmission parameters may vary over the set of one or more TTIs. For example, base station 105-c may vary the precoding matrices (e.g., P.sub.1, P.sub.2, P.sub.3 . . . P.sub.K-1). That is, the precoding matrices may change across slots, symbols, or the like. Thus, a subset of modulated data symbol tones may be precoded according to one precoding scheme in a first slot, and precoded according to another precoding scheme in a second slot.).
Ren and Sengupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for determining structures for codebooks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Sengupta to create the apparatus, wherein at least one bin of the codebook is associated with no instances for the CSI report.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to efficiently map resource elements and align with the UE's beam selection feedback.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Fu et al (US20200037260A1) (hereinafter "Fu").
Regarding claim 17, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) for the CSI report each have a same time interval.
However, Fu discloses the apparatus, wherein CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) for the CSI report each have a same time interval ([0261] receiving, by the UE, the CSI-RS resource of the periodic CSI report; or, [0264] determining, by the UE, the CSI-RS resource, on which one set of periodic CSI reports is based, and receiving the corresponding CSI-RS. [0722] When a plurality of UE-specific CSI-RS resources are selected, a plurality of UE-specific CSI-RS resources can be selected in a way of consecutively selecting a plurality of CSI-RS resources in the frequency domain, selecting a plurality of CSI-RS resources at equal intervals in the frequency domain, consecutively selecting a plurality of UE-specific CSI-RS resources in the time domain, or selecting a plurality of CSI-RS resources at equal intervals in time domain, or a combination of two or more of the above ways.).
Ren and Fu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for resource selection in frequency/time domains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Fu to create the apparatus, wherein CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) for the CSI report each have a same time interval.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure the UE receives the correct corresponding CSI-RS for its measurements.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Hosseini et al (US20190320453A1) (hereinafter "Hosseini").
Regarding claim 18, Ren fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) for the CSI report include at least a first CSI-RS and a second CSI-RS, wherein the first CSI-RS has a different time interval than the second CSI-RS.
However, Hosseini discloses the apparatus, wherein CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) for the CSI report include at least a first CSI-RS and a second CSI-RS, wherein the first CSI-RS has a different time interval than the second CSI-RS ([0109] To perform channel estimation for some downlink channels, a base station 105-a may transmit CSI-RSs (e.g., CSI-RS 210) to the UE 115-a. The UE 115-a may perform the channel estimation and generate a channel state information (CSI) report and transmit the CSI report to the base station 105-a. [0159] In some examples, allocating the CSI-RS REs to the UE may include allocating at least two CSI-RS REs of the set of CSI-RS REs to the port of the UE in different radio frequency spectrum bands of the TTI within the same resource block. In some examples, allocating the CSI-RS REs to the UE may include allocating at least two CSI-RS REs of the set of CSI-RS REs to the port of the UE in different symbols of the TTI.).
Ren and Hosseini are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor techniques for performing channel estimation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ren with Hosseini to create the apparatus, wherein CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) for the CSI report include at least a first CSI-RS and a second CSI-RS, wherein the first CSI-RS has a different time interval than the second CSI-RS.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to help the UE estimate frequency-selective channel variations and accurately capture time-domain variations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al (US20250192959A1) discloses codebook designs to support multi-TRP coherent joint transmission CSI feedback.
Wang et al (US20230122302A1) discloses a measurement reporting method to improve poor data transmission performance caused by inaccurate channel state information feedback..
Jeong et al (US20110110339A1) discloses a method for allocating resource using codebook based on resource size and burst size.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419