CTNF 18/842,286 CTNF 79210 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. General support for new claims 7-11 is acknowledged by applicant in their Remarks filed on 08/28/2024. In particular, paragraphs [0017], [0025], [0069], 0111], and [0145-0152] are expressly mentioned by Applicant. However, it is not clear how the 2 nd claimed condition below for each independent claim is supported by applicant’s original specification. The 2 nd claimed condition is provided below for clarity: when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co- location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH. Examiners notes that Condition 2 in paragraphs [0149-151], reproduced below, do not appear to be the same condition. Condition 2 [0149] Whether at least one channel of CORESET 0 , a CORESET with a CSS, a CORESET with a CSS and a USS, and a PDSCH configuration is configured to follow an indicated Rel-17 TCI state by an RRC parameter. Condition 2 may be any one of Cases 2-1 and 2-2 below. Case 2-1 [0150] A case where the channel is configured to follow the indicated Rel-17 TCI state. In this case, default QCL assumption based on the channel may follow at least one of Assumptions 2-1-1 and 2-1-2 below. Assumption 2-1-1 The default QCL assumption is the indicated Rel-17 TCI state. Note, however, that “if the indicated Rel-17 TCI state is associated with a PCI different from a serving cell PCI, the UE does not assume that a non-UE-dedicated PDSCH with scheduling offset less than the threshold value is received” may be defined. Assumption 2-1-2 The default QCL assumption is default QCL assumption for PDSCH in Rel. 15/16. Note, however, that “if the default QCL assumption is associated with a PCI different from the serving cell PCI, the UE does not assume that a non-UE-dedicated PDSCH with scheduling offset less than the threshold value is received” may be defined. Case 2-2 [0151] A case where the channel is not configured to follow the indicated Rel-17 TCI state. In this case, default QCL assumption based on the channel may follow at least one of Assumptions 2-2-1 and 2-2-2 below. Assumption 2-2-1 The default QCL assumption is default QCL assumption for PDSCH in Rel. 15/16. Note, however, that “if the default QCL assumption is associated with a PCI different from the serving cell PCI, the UE does not assume that a non-UE-dedicated PDSCH with scheduling offset less than the threshold value is received” may be defined. Assumption 2-2-2 The default QCL assumption is the indicated Rel-17 TCI state. Note, however, that “if the indicated Rel-17 TCI state is associated with a PCI different from the serving cell PCI, the UE does not assume that a non-UE-dedicated PDSCH with scheduling offset less than the threshold value is received” may be defined. [0152] According to this embodiment, the UE can appropriately determine, in inter-cell/intra-cell beam management/indication, default QCL assumption. In particular, as noted in Assumption 2-2-1, the default QCL assumption if associated with a different PCI from the service cell, however, it does not further expressly define “when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co- location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH.” As dependent 8 does not further cure the above cited deficiency, and, thus, is also rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 7-11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240372689 A1 to GAO et al . As to claim 7 , GAO teaches a terminal (Fig. 10 of GAO which is applied as the UE in the reference) comprising: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell (see e.g., [0079-0080]) ; and a processor that, when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value (see e.g., [0079] where less than the threshold) and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controls to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co- location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH (see e.g., [0079-0080] in combination with [0216-217]. In particular, see [0079-0080] with respect to the first condition. [0216-217] teaches the second condition in combination with [0079-80] where [0216-217] teaches whether a serving cell is associated with the service cell PCI or whether it is associated with a different PCI from the service cell. The broader interpretation is reasonable give the above 112(a) WD rejection, i.e., this concept is the same thing that is generally disclosed in applicant’s own specification mentioned in the 112(a) WD rejection above. ) As to claim 8 , GAO teaches the terminal according to claim 7, wherein both when a CORESET is configured, by a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, to follow the TCI state and when a CORESET is not configured, by an RRC parameter, to follow the TCI state, the processor controls to apply the TCI state or the QCL assumption to the PDSCH (see paragraph [0217]). As to claim 9 , GAO teaches a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell; and when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controlling to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controlling to apply quasi co-location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH. (See similar rejection to claim 7 where the terminal in claim 1 implements the method.) As to claim 10 , GAO teaches a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell; and a processor that, when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controls to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co- location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH. (See similar rejection to claim 7 where base station sends signals to terminal.) As to claim 11 GAO teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein: the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell; and a processor that, when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controls to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co-location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH, and the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits the DCI. (See similar rejection to claim 7 and claim 10 where base station and terminal are used to read on the claim.) 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 7-11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240236982 A1 to GAO “GAO 2” . As to claim 7 , GAO 2 teaches a terminal (Fig. 2 of GAO 2 which is applied as the UE in the reference) comprising: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell (see e.g., [0075], [0077-78], 0111]) ; and a processor that, when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value (see e.g., [0086] or [0087-88] where less than the threshold) and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controls to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co- location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH (see e.g., [0085-89] and specifically [0086] or [0087-77]. The broader interpretation is reasonable give the above 112(a) WD rejection, i.e., this concept is the same thing that is generally disclosed in applicant’s own specification mentioned in the 112(a) WD rejection above. ) As to claim 8 , GAO 2 teaches the terminal according to claim 7, wherein both when a CORESET is configured, by a radio resource control (RRC) parameter, to follow the TCI state and when a CORESET is not configured, by an RRC parameter, to follow the TCI state, the processor controls to apply the TCI state or the QCL assumption to the PDSCH (see paragraph [0077-78]). As to claim 9 , GAO 2 teaches a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell; and when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controlling to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controlling to apply quasi co-location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH. (See similar rejection to claim 7 where the terminal in claim 1 implements the method.) As to claim 10 , GAO 2 teaches a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell; and a processor that, when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controls to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co- location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH. (See similar rejection to claim 7 where base station sends signals to terminal.) As to claim 11 GAO 2 teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein: the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell; and a processor that, when time offset between the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a threshold value and when a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated for the PDSCH is associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of the serving cell, controls to apply the TCI state to the PDSCH, and when the TCI state is associated with a PCI that is different from the PCI of the serving cell, controls to apply quasi co-location (QCL) assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index in the serving cell to the PDSCH, and the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits the DCI. (See similar rejection to claim 7 and claim 10 where base station and terminal are used to read on the claim.) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See US 20220295529 A1 to Si et al. Support is found in provisional 63/159,247 filed 4/29/2021. In particular, note 3 rd paragraph on p. 12/23 of provisional with respect to examples of QCL assumptions when timeDurationForQCL is smaller. In particular, note Example A and Example C covered on p. 21/23. Example A is the same TCI state. Example C uses lowest ID CORESET. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DERRICK W FERRIS whose telephone number is (571)272-3123. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. - Fri. 7 AM-3 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Deborah Reynolds can be reached at (571) 272-0734. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/842,286 Page 2 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/842,286 Page 3 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/842,286 Page 4 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/842,286 Page 5 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/842,286 Page 6 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/842,286 Page 7 Art Unit: 2411