DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on August 28, 2024.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: "Electronic Device with a Simplified Connection of a Wire to a Terminal", paraphrased from [0007]. The examiner reminds the applicant that this is merely a suggestion, and the applicant may provide an alternative title so long as it is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US-20120292104-A1).
With respect to Claim 1:
Yamada discloses an electronic device comprising:
a circuit board 1;
a wire 2; and
a terminal 10 that is disposed on the circuit board 1 (Fig. 1) and electrically connects the circuit board 1 and the wire 2 (Fig. 1; [0027]), wherein
the terminal 10 integrally includes a positional displacement prevention part 11 that prevents displacement of the wire 2 with respect to the terminal 10 ([0032]), and the terminal 10 and the wire 2 are bonded by a bonding part ([0030]: solder).
With respect to Claim 2:
Yamada discloses the electronic device according to claim 1.
Yamada also discloses wherein the positional displacement prevention part 11 is formed so as to surround at least a part of an outer periphery of the wire 2 ([0032]: the two protruding parts 11 form a groove part 16 which surrounds an outer periphery of the conducting part 21 of the wire 2).
With respect to Claim 7:
Yamada discloses the electronic device according to claim 1.
Yamada also discloses wherein the terminal 10 and the wire 2 are bonded by the bonding part at the positional displacement prevention part 11 of the terminal 10 ([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US-20120292104-A1) in view of Heilemann, et al. (US-20190148853-A1).
With respect to Claim 3:
Yamada discloses the electronic device according to claim 1.
Yamada does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuit board includes a positioning notch that is provided at an end of the circuit board and positions the wire or the terminal with respect to the circuit board.
However, Heilemann teaches a connection between a cable 3 and a circuit board 1, wherein the circuit board 1 includes a recess 2 (positioning notch) that is provided at an end of the circuit board 1 (Figs. 1-2) and positions the cable 3 (wire) with respect to the circuit board 1 (Figs. 1-4; [0024]-[0026]).
Thus, Yamada and Heilemann each disclose connections between a wire and a circuit board. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the positioning recess of Heilemann could be combined with the circuit board of Yamada because it would improve the positioning of the wire before bonding, and it may allow for vertical bending of the wire (Heilemann: Fig. 6, [0026]). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 4:
Yamada in view of Heilemann discloses the electronic device according to claim 3.
Heilemann also discloses wherein the wire 3 is positioned in a curved state by the positioning notch 2 (Fig. 6; [0026]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US-20120292104-A1) in view of Nakajima, et al. (JP-2008053201-A).
With respect to Claim 5:
Yamada discloses the electronic device according to claim 1.
Yamada does not explicitly disclose a resin sealing member that resin-seals the circuit board, the terminal, and the wire; and a vibration absorbing member having an insertion hole into which the wire extending from an inside of the resin sealing member to an outside of the resin sealing member is inserted, the vibration absorbing member being attached to the resin sealing member and allows vibration to be absorbed.
However, Nakajima teaches a connection structure comprising a sealing resin 14b (resin sealing member) that resin seals a first plate member 32 (circuit board), a connection plug 16 (terminal), and a cable 10a (wire); and a casing 14a (vibration absorbing member) having a cutout portion 14e (insertion hole) into which the wire 10a extending from an inside of the resin sealing member 14b to an outside of the resin sealing member 14b is inserted (Figs. 7-8), the vibration absorbing member 14a being attached to the resin sealing member 14a and allows vibration to be absorbed (the casing provides stability to the wires at the part where they connect to the plate member).
Thus, Yamada and Nakajima each disclose wire terminations to printed circuit boards. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the sealing resin and casing of Nakajima could be combined with the cable connection of Yamada because it would provide greater mechanical stability to the apparatus. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US-20120292104-A1) in view of Fujii, et al. (JP-H09213388-A).
With respect to Claim 6:
Yamada discloses the electronic device according to claim 1.
Yamada does not explicitly disclose wherein the terminal includes a first terminal having a stepped shape and a second terminal connected to the first terminal and connected to the circuit board, the second terminal is connected to one end side of the first terminal having the stepped shape, and the positional displacement prevention part is provided on another end side of the first terminal having the stepped shape.
However, Fujii teaches a wire harness for connecting a wire to a circuit board, wherein a terminal comprises a leg portion 34 (first terminal) with a stepped shape (Figs. 1 and 8) and a horizontal portion 34a (second terminal) connected to the first terminal and connected to a circuit board 15 (Figs. 1 and 8), and the second terminal 34a is connected to one end side of the first terminal 34 (Figs. 1 and 8). If the invention of Yamada were to be modified to incorporate this feature of Fujii, the positional displacement part 11 of Yamada would be provided on another end side of the first terminal (i.e., the second terminal would be on a side connecting the first terminal to the wire, and the positional displacement part would be disposed on a side orthogonal to that side).
Thus, Yamada and Fujii each disclose wire terminations to a circuit board. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the stepped terminal structure of Fujii could be combined with the terminal of Yamada because it would allow for accommodation of a wire harness. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
Conclusion
/AMARA ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831