DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
“Leakage preventing means preventing flow leakage from the inner volume via the at least one airflow inlet” in claim 1. The corresponding structure in the specification for preventing leakage from the inner volume via the at least one airflow inlet is alternatives of a valve ([0066] –[0068]) or a bypass channel ([0028]) or both in different embodiments ([0028], [0072]).
“Leakage preventing means for each airflow inlet” in claim 11. The corresponding structure in the specification for preventing leakage for each airflow inlet is alternatives of a valve (Fig. 4) or a bypass channel (Fig.6) or both in different embodiments ([0031] -[0032], [0064], [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the through hole” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 depends from claim 11 which depends from claim 1; neither claim 11 nor claim 1 recites a through hole. Claim 12 introduces a through hole. For the purposes of examination, claim 13 is interpreted as the mouthpiece defines a through hole for which the inlets are arranged on different sides of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20200352231) in view of Oglesby (US 20080149118).
Regarding claim 1, Han directed to an aerosol generating system (abstract), discloses an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating apparatus 10000; [0437], Figs. 39 -58 ) configured to operate with a tobacco article ([0096], cigarette 3; Figs. 22 and 39-58), comprising a substrate portion (portion 310; [0321], [0327], Figs. 22, 23A-23B) and a mouthpiece portion ([second portion 320]; [0323], Fig. 22) arranged successively along an article axis (Fig. 22), the aerosol generating device comprising:
-a device body (a casing 10010 and a cover 10020; [0440], Figs. 39, 40A-40B), a hollow-shaped protruding tube 10200 protruding from the first end portion 10010a of the casing 10010 ([0460], [0539], Figs. 41B-42). The fixing end is the first end portion 10010a, to which the cover is coupled ([0458]), the axis is “the lengthwise direction” ([0475], [0544]).
Han further discloses that the device body comprises a heating chamber (accommodating portion 10040, including a sidewall 10040w, an insertion hole 10040p and bottom wall 10040b having a heater hole through which the end portion of the heater 10300 passes; [0465], Figs. 43-45).
Furthermore, the device body is provided with the heater for heating the tobacco article ([0463], Fig. 43-53); the cigarette 3 is being inserted into the end portion 10310 of the heater 10300 and thus the cigarette 3 is heated ([0464-[0464]); an insertion hole 10040p opens outward from one end of the accommodating path to enable insertion of the cigarette 3 thereinto [0465], [0547]), thus the insertion hole 10040p is the opening adjacent to the fixing end of the device body (Figs. 46-47, 55,57). Furthermore, a bottom wall 10040b that closes the other end of the heater 10300h (i.e., closed end of the heating chamber) ([0465], Figs, 46-47).
Han further discloses a mouthpiece (a hollow-shaped protruding tube 10200 protruding from the first end portion 10010a of the casing 10010; [0460], Fig. 54) fixed on a fixing end of the device body (“first end portion 10010a of the casing 10010 having an opening 10200p opened toward the outside”; [0440], [0460]; Figs. 39-41A). Furthermore, a locking device may be installed between the cover 10020 and the casing 10010 to maintain the attachment between the cover 10020 and the casing 10010, disclosing the fixed/secured structure of the cover. Thus, the claimed mouthpiece corresponds to the cover 10020 and the fixing end corresponds to the first end portion 10010a.
Furthermore, the mouthpiece forms an inner volume (interior space of cover 10020, into which air enters through outside air introduction gap 1000g [0452], [0477] - [0478], [0535]) between the fixing end and an inner surface of the mouthpiece (inner wall surface of cover 10020; [0458], Figs. 41B, 54, 55);
the mouthpiece being configured to receive a tobacco article (“an outside hole 10020p through which the cigarette 3 may be inserted is formed on the top surface of the cover 10020 [0446], [0531], [0533], Figs, 53-55), furthermore discloses the mouthpiece portion of the tobacco article (second portion 320; [0322]-[0323], [0454]; Figs. 23A-23B), thus disclosing the mouthpiece is configured to be engaged with the mouthpiece portion of the tobacco article (Figs. 53-55); and
defining at least one airflow inlet on its the inner surface (outside air introduction gap 10200g, “formed at a portion where the cover 10020 contact the casing 10010”; [0535]; Figs. 39-40B, 41A, & 53-54). Furthermore, the at least one airflow inlet in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber (outside air introduction gap 10020g lets air into the interior of mouthpiece and reaches the end portion of the tobacco article at the bottom wall 10040b ([0477]-[0478], Figs. 46-47). The bottom wall 10040b is the eclosed end of the heating chamber [0465], [0547], Figs. 46-47, 55). Additionally, the air in the accommodating path 10040h is supplied to the bottom surface of the end portion of the cigarette 3 through the connection passage 10040f of the closed end of the heating chamber ([0505]), disclosing that the airflow inlet on the inner surface being in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber.
Han discloses inner volume (interior of cover 10020; [0452], [0477]) and at least one airflow inlet (gap 10020g; [0452], [0535]) but does not disclose a leakage preventing means preventing flow leakage from the inner volume via the at least one airflow inlet.
Oglesby directed to aerosol vaporizing/producing device (abstract), discloses an aerosol generating device (vaporizing device 130; Fig. 24) comprising a non-return valve 132 in a primary air inlet port 53 for permitting flow of air through the inlet 53 (i.e., airflow inlet) in to a vaporizing chamber 24, and for preventing reverse flow of aerosol through the primary air inlet port 53 from the vaporizing chamber 24 ([0114], Fig. 24]. Thus, the non-return valve is a corresponding structure to a valve arranged at an airflow inlet in order to prevent flow leakage.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Han by providing a valve at the airflow inlet as taught by Oglesby, such that Han’s device would be able to prevent flow leakage from the inner volume via its airflow inlet, because both Han and Oglesby are directed to aerosol generating/vaporizing devices, Oglesby teaches a non-return valve at an air inlet port in order to prevent loss of aerosol from the vaporizing chamber through the air inlet port ([0114]), and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Han discloses that the leakage preventing means comprise a valve (a non-return valve 132; Oglesby, [0114]) arranged in at least one inlet of the at least one airflow inlet as established in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Han discloses the aerosol generating device according to claim 2.
Han further discloses that a user puffs by inhaling through his/her mouth by holding cigarette 3 between his/her lips ([454], [0490]).
Han doesn’t explicitly disclose that the valve is configured to be opened while a user puffs and closed in the absence of user puffs.
Oglesby discloses that the valve is configured to be opened while a user puffs (a non-return valve 132 in the air inlet port 53 for permitting flow of air through the inlet port 53 when the aerosol is being drawn through the mouthpiece 38; [0114]) and closed in the absence of user puffs (and for preventing reverse flow of aerosol through the primary air inlet port 53 from the vaporizing chamber 24 when the aerosol is not being drawn through the mouthpiece 38; [0114]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han’s valve by configuring it to be open while a user draws and to be closed while a user does not draw (absence of user puffs) as taught by Oglesby, because both Han and Oglesby are directed to aerosol generating/vaporizing devices, Oglesby teaches configuring a valve to open during use and to be closed when not in use so as to prevent loss of aerosol that permeates outwardly through the air inlet port ([0114]), and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 4, Han discloses the inner volume (interior of cover 10020; [0452], [0477]) and airflow inlet (outside air introducing gap 10020g; [0452], [0535]). Han’s airflow inlet is arranged where the cover 10020 contacts the casing 10010 and allows outside air to flow into the interior of the cover 10020 (i.e., inner volume). The air passes from the inlet directly into the inner volume and only then into the accommodating portion 10040 through the airflow inlet (Han [0477]- [0478], Fig. 41B, 54).
Modified Han discloses the aerosol generating device according to claim 2, such that the valve is arranged at Han’s airflow inlet. Therefore, if the airflow inlet discharges outside air directly into the inner volume, then it would be obvious that the downstream side of the valve faces and opens directly to the inner volume. Thus, the valve opens directly to the inner volume.
Furthermore, to the extent the modified device would not necessarily have the valve open directly to the inner volume, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the valve such that the valve opens directly to the inner volume and obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Han discloses that the closed end of the heating chamber is the bottom wall 10040b, and the end portion of the tobacco article sits at the closed end of the heating chamber ([0417], [0465], Figs, 46-47). Han further disclosed the airflow inlet (outside air introduction gap 10200g; [0535]; Figs. 39-40B, 41A, & 53-54).
Han further discloses an airflow path, a first airflow 10000f sequentially passes through the at least one airflow inlet ([0478], Fig. 47)) and reaches the outer surface of an end portion of the tobacco article ([0478], Fig. 47), that is the bottom wall 10040b (i.e., closed end of the heating chamber).
Han further discloses the airflow path (Fig. 47) of the upstream portion, a first airflow 10000f passes from that one airflow inlet through the interior of cover 10020 (i.e., inner volume) ([0535], Fig.56) to an air introduction gap 10040g ((i.e., an air flow channel) [0452], [0477] - [0478], Figs. 41B, 54-56), which corresponds to the upstream portion extending from the one airflow inlet through the inner volume.
Han further discloses that a protruding tube 10200 may also supply the outside air to an end portion of the cigarette 3 (i.e., the closed end of the heating chamber) ([0475]). The airflow path of the outside air passes through that one airflow inlet into the protruding tube 10200 [0475] and directs it to closed end of the heating chamber ([0475], [0478], Fig. 47) which corresponds to an air flow channel formed by a downstream portion extending from the upstream portion until the closed end of the heating chamber.
Regarding claim 7, Han discloses the heating chamber (accommodating portion 10040, including a sidewall 10040w and bottom wall 10040b [0465], Figs. 43-45) which accommodates and heats the tobacco article ([0464- [0465], [0547], Figs. 43-45).
Han further discloses the downstream portion of the airflow channel extends outside the heating chamber, airflow passes from the air introduction gap 10040g (i.e., airflow channel) between the outer wall 10040t and the protruding tube 10200, outside the sidewall 10040w ([0468], [0477], Fig. 47).
Han additionally discloses that the downstream portion of the airflow channel extends inside the heating chamber where the air flow passes through the airflow inlet and reaches the outer surface of an end portion of the tobacco article accommodated in the heating chamber ([0471], [0478]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Han discloses the aerosol generating device according to claim 6.
Han further discloses that the downstream portion of the airflow channel extends outside the heating chamber, between the outer wall 10040t and the protruding tube 10200 surrounding the outside the sidewall 10040w, through the airflow inlet 10200g and the through hole 10040d that extends in the lengthwise direction of the accommodating path to the closed end of the heating chamber (Han [0468], [0477]-[0478], [0485], Fig. 47). The sidewall10040w is a lateral wall of the heating chamber (Han [0547]).
Han does not explicitly disclose that this downstream portion of the airflow channel extends along the lateral wall of the heating chamber.
However, Han teaches that outside air passing along the sidewall of the accommodating path (in the space between the accommodating path and the tobacco article; [0021]-[0022]) and supplies the outside air for assisting aerosol generation smoothly and sufficiently ( second airflow 10000g; [0496]). Han further teaches that the protruding tube 10200 serves to directly supply the outside air to the closed end of the heating chamber and also a plurality of air holes may be provided ([0475]), and that the positions and shapes of the through holes may vary ([0483]), the through hole extends in the lengthwise direction of the accommodating path ([0485]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the downstream portion of the airflow channel of modified Han to extend along the lateral wall (sidewall 10040w) of the heating chamber. For example, by locating the air hole 10200g and the through hole 10040d so that the first airflow travels lengthwise alongside the sidewall. One would have been motivated to do so in order to obtain, for the air entering through the inlet, the same cooling effect of the accommodating portion, preheating of the incoming air, and smooth and sufficient air supply that Han discloses to air flow along the accommodating path ([0021] -[0022], [0496]). Such relocation of the air holes is a rearrangement of parts that would not modify the operation of the device and would yield predictable results. (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Regarding claim 11, Han discloses the at least one airflow inlet (outside air introduction gap 10200g; [0452], [0535]) includes at least one airflow inlet that is the gap 10200g itself that lets air into the inner surface of the cover 10020 (Figs. 39, 40A-40B). Furthermore, the gap 10200g is in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber ([0477]-[0478], [0471]; Fig 47)
Han further discloses a plurality of air holes 10200g may be provided ([0475]).
As established in claim 1, modified Han discloses a non-return valve 132 in a primary air inlet port 53 (i.e., airflow inlet) permitting air through the air flow inlet into the vaporizing chamber, and preventing loss of aerosol through the airflow inlet ([0114], Fig. 24).
Han does not explicitly disclose at least two airflow inlets on the inner surface in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber and having its own valve for each airflow inlet.
However, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide modified Han with a second airflow inlet on the inner surface of cover 10020, in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber, and to provide that airflow inlet with its own non-return valve to prevent leakage. Doing so is a mere duplication of existing airflow inlet and valve. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding claim 12, Han discloses an outside hole 10020p through which the cigarette 3 may be inserted is formed on the top surface of the cover 10020 ([0446]- [0447], Fig. 40B), the outside hole 10020p is a through hole that is defined by the mouthpiece.
Han further discloses that a user may insert an end portion 3b of the cigarette 3 (i.e., tobacco article) into the outside hole 10020p (through hole) and the insertion hole 10040p ([0448]; Fig. 40B)
Han discloses a mouthpiece portion ([second portion 320]; [0322]-[0323], Fig. 22) in a different embodiment illustrating a generic holder 1 (Fig. 22). Han further discloses that cigarette 3 is used in all embodiments including apparatus 10000 ([0437]). Thus, the through hole 10020p receives part of the mouthpiece portion (second portion 320) of the tobacco article (Figs 22 and 40B).
Regarding claim 13, modified Han as established in claim 11, discloses a device having duplicated airflow inlets (Han [0452], [0535], Figs. 39, 40A-40B) having its own valve (Oglesby [0114], Fig. 24).
Han discloses a through hole (outside hole 10020p on the top surface of the cover 10020; [0446], 40B). Furthermore, the outside air introduction gap 10020g (i.e., airflow inlet) is formed at a portion where the cover 10020 contact the casing 10010 ([0452], Figs. 39, 40A-40B)).
Modified Han, while disclosing duplicates of air flow inlets, it does not explicitly disclose the arrangement of the second airflow inlet relative to the through hole.
However, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the two inlets of modified Han on different sides of the through hole, for example, at opposite portions of the perimeter where the air inlet gap is located. Han’s air inlet gap runs around the entire perimeter of cover 10020, and so already extends on all sides of the through hole. Positioning the two inlets on different sides of the through hole is a mere rearranging of parts that does not change how the device operates. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 15, modified Han discloses an aerosol generating assembly ([0437]) comprising the cigarette 3 (i.e., tobacco article) and the aerosol generating apparatus 10000 (i.e., aerosol generating device) configured to operate with the tobacco article ([0437], [0321], [0327], Figs. 22-23B 39-58).
Regarding claim 17, Han directed to an aerosol generating system (abstract), discloses an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating apparatus 10000; [0437], Figs. 39 -58 ) configured to operate with a tobacco article ([0096], cigarette 3; Figs. 22 and 39-58), comprising a substrate portion (portion 310; [0321], [0327], Figs. 22, 23A-23B) and a mouthpiece portion ([second portion 320]; [0323], Fig. 22) arranged successively along an article axis (Fig. 22), the aerosol generating device comprising:
-a device body (a casing 10010 and a cover 10020; [0440], Figs. 39, 40A-40B), a hollow-shaped protruding tube 10200 protruding from the first end portion 10010a of the casing 10010 ([0460], [0539], Figs. 41B-42). The fixing end is the first end portion 10010a, to which the cover is coupled ([0458]), the axis is “the lengthwise direction” ([0475], [0544]).
Han further discloses that the device body comprises a heating chamber (accommodating portion 10040, including a sidewall 10040w, an insertion hole 10040p and bottom wall 10040b having a heater hole through which the end portion of the heater 10300 passes; [0465], Figs. 43-45).
Furthermore, the device body is provided with the heater for heating the tobacco article ([0463], Fig. 43-53); the cigarette 3 is being inserted into the end portion 10310 of the heater 10300 and thus the cigarette 3 is heated ([0464-[0464]); an insertion hole 10040p opens outward from one end of the accommodating path to enable insertion of the cigarette 3 thereinto [0465], [0547]), thus the insertion hole 10040p is the opening adjacent to the fixing end of the device body (Figs. 46-47, 55,57). Furthermore, a bottom wall 10040b that closes the other end of the heater 10300h (i.e., closed end of the heating chamber) ([0465], Figs, 46-47).
Han further discloses a mouthpiece (a hollow-shaped protruding tube 10200 protruding from the first end portion 10010a of the casing 10010; [0460], Fig. 54) fixed on a fixing end of the device body (“first end portion 10010a of the casing 10010 having an opening 10200p opened toward the outside”; [0440], [0460]; Figs. 39-41A). Furthermore, a locking device may be installed between the cover 10020 and the casing 10010 to maintain the attachment between the cover 10020 and the casing 10010, disclosing the fixed/secured structure of the cover. Thus, the claimed mouthpiece corresponds to the cover 10020 and the fixing end corresponds to the first end portion 10010a.
Furthermore, the mouthpiece forms an inner volume (interior space of cover 10020, into which air enters through outside air introduction gap 10200g [0452], [0477]-[0478], [0535]) between the fixing end and an inner surface of the mouthpiece (inner wall surface of cover 10020; [0458], Figs. 41B, 54, 55);
the mouthpiece being configured to receive a tobacco article (“an outside hole 10020p through which the cigarette 3 may be inserted is formed on the top surface of the cover 10020 [0446], [0531], [0533], Figs, 53-55), furthermore discloses the mouthpiece portion of the tobacco article (second portion 320; [0322]-[0323], [0454]; Figs. 23A-23B), thus disclosing the mouthpiece is configured to be engaged with the mouthpiece portion of the tobacco article (Figs. 53-55); and
defining at least one airflow inlet on its the inner surface (outside air introduction gap 10200g, “formed at a portion where the cover 10020 contact the casing 10010”; [0535]; Figs. 39-40B, 41A, & 53-54). Furthermore, the at least one airflow inlet in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber (outside air introduction gap 10020g lets air into the interior of mouthpiece and reaches the end portion of the tobacco article at the bottom wall 10040b ([0477]-[0478], Figs. 46-47). The bottom wall 10040b is the closed end of the heating chamber [0465], [0547], Figs. 46-47, 55). Additionally, the air in the accommodating path 10040h is supplied to the bottom surface of the end portion of the cigarette 3 through the connection passage 10040f of the closed end of the heating chamber ([0505]), disclosing that the airflow inlet on the inner surface being in fluid communication with the closed end of the heating chamber.
Han discloses inner volume (interior cover 10020; [0452], [0477]) and at least one airflow inlet (gap 10020g; [0452], [0535]) but does not disclose a valve arranged in at least one inlet of the at least one airflow inlet preventing flow leakage from the inner volume via the at least one airflow inlet.
Oglesby directed to aerosol vaporizing/producing device (abstract), discloses an aerosol generating device (vaporizing device 130; Fig. 24) comprising a non-return valve 132 in a primary air inlet port 53 for permitting flow of air through the inlet 53 in to a vaporizing chamber 24, and for preventing reverse flow of aerosol through the primary air inlet port 53 from the vaporizing chamber 24 ([0114], Fig. 24]. Thus, the non-return valve is a corresponding structure to a valve arranged at an airflow inlet in order to prevent flow leakage.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Han by providing a valve at the airflow inlet as taught by Oglesby, such that Han’s device would be able to prevent flow leakage from the inner volume via its airflow inlet, because both Han and Oglesby are directed to aerosol generating/vaporizing devices, Oglesby teaches a non-return valve at an air inlet port in order to prevent loss of aerosol from the vaporizing chamber through the air inlet port ([0114]), and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20200352231) in view of Oglesby (US 20080149118) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zinovik (US 20190230986).
Regarding claim 5, modified Han in view of Oglesby discloses the aerosol generating device according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose the type of the valve as being a duck bill valve.
Zinovik directed to an aerosol-generating device (Abstract), discloses aerosol-generating device 10 comprising a housing 12, a mouthpiece 18 and an air flow channel 25 ([0050], Fig. 1). Zinovik further discloses a duckbill valve 26 (Figs. 2A-2E and [0052]-[0053]), positioned/aligned with the air flow channel 25 of the device 10 (Figs. 2D-2E). Furthermore, the duckbill valve 26 comprises a valve seat 36 and a nozzle 38 (Fig. 2C). The duckbill valve 26 has an inner coating 48 that reduces and/or prevents liquid leaking from the mouthpiece 18 ([0054]-[0055]), furthermore, duckbill valve’s nozzle prevents leakage of e-liquid or condensed aerosol through the valve 26 ([0054]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by substituting its one-way valve with a duckbill valve as taught by Zinovik, because both Han and Zinovik are directed to aerosol generating devices, Zinovik teaches a duckbill valve in order to prevent leakage of e-liquid or condensed aerosol, and this involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20200352231) in view of Oglesby (US 20080149118) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Plojoux (US 20140338686).
Regarding claim 9, modified Han discloses the aerosol generating device according to claim 6. Han’s upstream portion of the airflow channel runs from inlet gap 10020g (i.e., air inlet) through the interior cover 10020 (i.e., inner volume) to gap 10040g ([0477], [0478], Fig. 47).
However, Han doesn’t explicitly disclose a bypass channel forming the upstream portion of the airflow channel, the bypass channel being fluidically isolated from the inner volume.
Plojoux directed to an aerosol generating device configured to a design for ensuring beneficial air flow through the device ([0001]), discloses an electrically heated aerosol generating system 100 comprising a housing 10, a plurality of air inlet 26 spaced around the circumference of the housing ([0066], Figs. 2-3) to provide a uniform thermal profile for the device housing and substrate ([0022]).
Plojoux further discloses airflow path, air is drawn in through inlets 26 and enters the device; then passes through an air channel 28 around the outside of a cavity 22; enters the aerosol-forming substrate 12 adjacent heating element within the cavity 22; drawn air proceeds through the substrate 12, entraining the aerosol, and then to the mouth end of the smoking article 102 ([0065], Fig. 2).
Plojoux’ s airflow channel 28 is the claimed airflow channel. Plojoux further discloses air flow channel 28b formed in the proximal end 44 and is in communication with the inlets 26; air flow channel 28b is configured to match and join with a corresponding air flow channel 28a in the main body 10 ([0079], Figs. 2, 4-5). Thus, airflow channel 28b is the claimed bypass channel forming the upstream portion of airflow channel (Figs.4-5).
Plojoux’ s Chanel 28b/28a is a closed air flow channel that surrounds the outside of cavity 22, air enters to cavity 22 only through outlet apertures 30 at the distal end of the cavity ([0070], Figs. 4-5), that is, the airflow channel 28 is an enclosed inlet passage that keeps incoming air separate until it reaches the distal end. Channel 28b is isolated from cavity 22 (space that holds aerosol forming substrate) (Figs.4-5). Plojoux further teaches that this airflow channel reduces the amount of side stream aerosol (which is aerosol that escapes from the device rather than being delivered to the user), side stream aerosol can be a significant issue during periods when the user is not drawing air through the inlet channel ([0017]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han’s upstream portion airflow channel by making it an enclosed bypass channel as taught by Plojoux, such that the bypass channel would form the upstream portion airflow channel (i.e., extend from air inlet 10020g through the inner volume to gap 10040g), and would be enclosed so that it is fluidically isolated from the inner volume, because both Han and Plojoux are directed to aerosol generating devices, Plojoux teaches a bypass channel isolated from a space that holds aerosol, in order to reduce the amount of side stream aerosol (aerosol escape), and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20200352231) in view of Oglesby (US 20080149118) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Li (CN106307615A, hereinafter referring to the English Translation provided).
Regarding claim 10, modified Han discloses the aerosol generating device according to claim 9, having a bypass channel (enclosed airflow channel 28b; Plojoux Figs.4-5) forming the upstream portion of airflow channel (Han [0452], [0477] - [0478], Figs. 41B, 54-56) and is isolated from the inner volume.
However, Han doesn’t explicitly disclose a tube extending through the inner volume that delimits at least a portion of the bypass channel.
Li directed to an electronic atomizing device with top air intake ([0002]), discloses an atomizing device comprising mouthpiece 1, air distribution seat 2, inner tube 5, inner sleeve 6 and an air inlet 21 provided on the outer wall/outer sleeve 4 ([0038], [0041], Fig. 1-2). Li further discloses an air path, air enters the air inlet 21 near the top, flows down the gap between tube 5 and tube 6 (which is channel 62) to the base; then it enters up to the atomizing core and is drawn out through center tube to the mouth outlet ([0045], [0059], Figs. 1-2). Inner tube 5 is the center tube that carries vapor up to the mouth outlet.
Li further discloses that the upper end of the inner sleeve 6 is sealed to an annular airflow channel ([0045], Fig. 1); the annular airflow channel is formed by the lower cover of air distribution seat 2, thereby forming an air intake channel 62 ([0041], [0045]), the lower part of the inner sleeve 6 is provided with an expanded opening ([0045], Fig. 1). Furthermore, an annular space formed between the outer sleeve 4 and the inner sleeve 6 forms a liquid storage chamber 41 for storing electronic e-liquid ([0046]). The e-liquid sits in storage chamber 41, outside the inner sleeve 6. The inlet air flows down channel 62, inside sleeve 6. Thus, inner sleeve 6 is a tube that runs through the liquid chamber and keeps the inlet air sealed off from it ([0045]- [0046]), thereby eliminating e-liquid leakage ([0025]). Therefore, the air intake channel 62 is analogous structure to the claimed portion of a bypass channel that is delimited by the inner sleeve 6 (i.e., tube) by sealing the air inlet off from an adjacent space (chamber 41) ([0014], [0045]- [0046]; Fig. 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by constructing at least a portion of its bypass channel as a tube that delimits the bypass channel as taught by Li, such that the tube would extend through the inner volume, because Han, Oglesby, Plojoux and Li are directed to aerosol generating devices, Li’s tube and Plojoux’ s channel 28B are known alternatives structures for providing an enclosed inlet air flow channel sealed from adjacent space, and this involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP § 2143, B.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20200352231) in view of Oglesby (US 20080149118) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Lord (WO2019162507, as cited in the IDS dated 09/06/2024).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Han discloses the aerosol generating device according to claims 1 and 15, comprising a cylindrical shape cigarette 3 and a cylindrical accommodating portion within aerosol generating apparatus 10000 ([0437], [0479]), but does not explicitly disclose a flat-shaped tobacco article and that the device is configured to operate with a flat-shaped tobacco article.
Lord directed to a heat not burn consumable comprising a plant product (abstract), discloses providing a reconstituted tobacco formed as a planar/flat slab consumable (having a rectangular transverse cross section), that has a greater exposed surface area for contact with a heating element thus allowing quicker and more even heat transfer from the heating element to the reconstituted tobacco (page 20, line 5-17, Fig. 1). Lord further discloses that the flat-slab consumable preferably has a greater width and length than depth (page 4, line 5-6). Furthermore, the flat consumable (i.e., flat shaped tobacco article) is insertable in a device housing 34 with chamber 35 having a rectangular transverse cross-section (Figs. 9-11).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Han by adjusting the shape of the cigarette’s accommodating portion of modified Han’s device to a rectangular cross-section so that the device is configured to operate with a flat-shaped tobacco article taught by Lord, because Han, Oglesby and Lord are directed to aerosol generating devices, Lord teaches that a flat shaped tobacco article allows quicker and more even heat transfer from the heating element to the tobacco, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to obtain predictable results
Additionally, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Conclusion
/HELEN GHEBRESELASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755