DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-10, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the chamber second part, the second locking element, second spring element and a separate adhesive reservoir must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “41”, “43”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 describes a set of second locking structures as also noted in the drawing objection above. However, it is unclear how these structures are provided in light of the absence of supporting Figures or sufficient language in the Specification. Claim 9 inherits these deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eitel (US 2020/0378542) further in view of Gartner (DE 4437699).
Regarding claim 1, Eitel discloses an apparatus formed from a band (1) with two overlapping ends (4, 5), comprising a housing (10) with a locking element (11) and a spring element (13) wherein:
the locking element is movably arranged in a chamber of the housing and is operatively connected to the spring element (Fig. 2 as shown), and wherein:
the locking element engages a row of teeth (8) arranged on the band through an opening (7) in the chamber to lock the band in one direction of movement (Examiner notes the structure of the band, row of teeth, etc. do not appear to be positively claimed. However, as demonstrated herewith, the prior art appears to disclose these structures nevertheless.).
Eitel fails to disclose an adhesive reservoir is included, containing an adhesive that can be released to permanently bond the locking element to the chamber and/or to the row of teeth using the adhesive, thereby permanently securing the sealing cuff.
Gartner teach a band (40) comprising adhesive reservoirs (50) filled with an adhesive (49) for securing the ends (51/52) of the band together.
From this teaching of Gartner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include adhesive filled reservoirs positioned between the overlapped ends to fill the locking element of Eitel. Adhesives would allow for permanent fixation of the flanges once the band is securely in place. Adhesives would prevent unwanted and accidental loosening of the band.
Regarding claim 2, the combination device of Eitel and Gartner further disclose the adhesive reservoir is arranged on the outer side of the housing of the locking element facing the interior of the sealing cuff, and wherein the adhesive reservoir has a closure that opens when a predetermined opening pressure is exceeded (Paragraph 38 of Gartner describes the reservoirs as being burst with increased pressure), allowing the adhesive stored in the adhesive reservoir to flow into the chamber and/or surround the locking element and row of teeth (locating the reservoirs as described above adjacent to the chamber would allow the adhesive to flow to pertinent structures).
Regarding claim 3, the combination device of Eitel and Gartner fails to teach the opening pressure for releasing the adhesive is at least 0.1N, preferably at least 1N, particularly preferably 5N, and most preferably a maximum of 100,000N, and/or at least 0.1 bar, preferably at least 0.5 bar. However, Gartner does describe the release of the adhesive when a threshold of pressure is surpassed as determined by the sufficient expansion of an inner air bag (Paragraph 38 of the translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the strength characteristics of the adhesive reservoir to achieve these ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, the combination device of Eitel and Gartner further teach the opening pressure for opening the closure is provided by moving the band when adjusting the inner diameter or by applying pressure from the inside of the sealing cuff to the outer side of the adhesive reservoir (Paragraph 38 describes wherein the expansion of an air bag is used to apply pressure from the inside). Gartner fails to explicitly state the adhesive reservoir is particularly made from an elastic material. Instead, Gartner describes wherein the “coating” bursts. This behavior implies elastic properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an elastic material for the coating since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 6, the combination device of Eitel and Gartner further teach the opening pressure is provided by pressing the cuff against an inner wall of a channel, particularly by expanding the sealing cuff (Paragraph 38 describes wherein expansion of an air bag presses the cuff by expanding the cuff).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Eitel further discloses the chamber of the housing has a first and a second part, wherein the first part is designed and arranged to accommodate the first locking element and the first spring element, and the second part is designed and arranged to accommodate the second locking element and a second spring element, while having a second opening in the chamber, wherein an adhesive reservoir is provided for both locking elements, or a separate adhesive reservoir is provided for each locking element (as best understood the two structures shown can be split in half to read upon the two structures claimed herein.).
Regarding claim 9, Eitel further discloses the first locking element is connected to the first spring element and the second locking element is connected to the first spring element or the second spring element, and the first and/or second spring element is connected to the housing (Fig. 2 as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Eitel further discloses the use to fix an inner diameter of an adjustable sealing cuff (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Eitel further discloses the use according to claim 10 in pipeline rehabilitation (Abstract lines 1-2 describe use for sealing a leak).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Eitel and Gartner as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Uhrig (DE 9313379U1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Eitel and Gartner disclose the invention except for wherein the adhesive reservoir comprises two chambers separated by a partition wall, with each chamber containing a component of a 2-component adhesive, wherein both chambers are operatively connected to the closure, and the adhesive components flow from the two chambers through the closure and mix under the opening pressure.
Uhrig teach a pipe sealer wherein two adhesive components are separated for mixing when mixed through pressure (Paragraph 21 and Paragraph 37).
From this teaching of Uhrig, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the single chambered reservoir taught by Gartner with a two chambered, 2 component adhesive reservoir. Epoxies provide heat and chemical stability advantages useful in pipe repair applications. Epoxies would also provide enhanced stability and curing advantages.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Eitel and Gartner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robinson et al. (US 2008/0017263).
Regarding claim 7, the combination device of Eitel and Gartner disclose the invention except for wherein the adhesive has a viscosity range at 20°C between 20,000 mPas and 1,000,000 mPas, preferably between 40,000 mPas and 800,000 mPas, or between 50,000 mPas and 500,000 mPas, and more preferably between 60,000 mPas and 600,000 mPas, for reliable bonding of the locking element. Robinson et al. teach adhesives in pipe repair within the claimed ranges (Paragraph 80 and 124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use resins with the claimed range of viscosities since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677