DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 28 august 2024.
Claims 1-30 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 August 2024 and 23 December 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 16, 19-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saily et al. (US Publication 2024/0340942).
With respect to claims 1 and 29, Saily teaches An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: memory; a transceiver; and at least one processor of a user equipment (UE), the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver, (memory, transceiver, processor, Figure 11) and the at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity via the transceiver, control signaling indicating a first channel state information report setting configuration associated with measured channel characteristics of a first channel measurement resource set and a second channel state information report setting configuration associated with predicted channel characteristics for a second channel measurement resource set that is associated with the first channel measurement resource set; (a UE may support various combination of CSI-RS reporting configurations. In some cases, a UE may be configured to support various periodic, semi-periodic and aperiodic CSI-RS configurations that are activated via an Sidelink Control Information (SCI) with a CSI request field, Paragraph 37)
transmit, via the transceiver, a first channel state information report that indicates one or more measured channel characteristics of the first channel measurement resource set based at least in part on the first channel state information report setting configuration; (the channel information may include at least one of: 1) value of a channel-related parameter; 2) a processed channel-related parameter; and/or 3) a change (or a pattern of change) of at least one channel-related parameter. For example, the channel information may be or may include at least one of the following: a value of at least one channel-related parameter, including a value of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the sidelink reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI); a processed channel-related parameter, including at least one of: a mean, median, or variance of a plurality of values of a channel-related parameter; a change in at least one channel-related parameter, including a change or a pattern of changes of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the received reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including a change or a pattern of changes of one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), Paragraph 37) and
transmit, via the transceiver, a second channel state information report that indicates one or more predicted channel characteristics based at least in part on the second channel state information report setting configuration. (the controlling transmitting, by the user node to the network node, information indicating that there is a predicted decrease in radio network performance may include controlling transmitting at least one of the following: information indicating at least one radio network performance parameter; and/or information indicating a predicted value or a predicted level of change for the at least one radio network performance parameter for the radio link between the first user node and the network node. Thus, for example, the UE may transmit information indicating a radio network performance parameter and an expected or predicted value or a predicted change in a value of such radio network performance parameter (e.g., information indicating one or more of: RSRP, and a 12% decrease in RSRP of UE1-gNB radio link is expected within the next 350 ms), Paragraph 39)
With respect to claim 2, Saily teaches wherein to receive the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling indicating a periodicity or semi-persistent scheduling associated with the first channel measurement resource set, wherein the second channel measurement resource set associated with the first channel measurement resource set corresponds to one or more resources occurring a defined time duration after a resource of the first channel measurement resource set indicated by the periodicity or the semi-persistent scheduling. (a UE may support various combination of CSI-RS reporting configurations. In some cases, a UE may be configured to support various periodic, semi-periodic and aperiodic CSI-RS configurations that are activated via an Sidelink Control Information (SCI) with a CSI request field, Paragraph 37)
With respect to claim 3, Saily teaches wherein to receive the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling indicating a first number of resources to report from the first channel measurement resource set in the first channel state information report, a second number of resources to report from the second channel measurement resource set in the second channel state information report, or both. (the channel information may include at least one of: 1) value of a channel-related parameter; 2) a processed channel-related parameter; and/or 3) a change (or a pattern of change) of at least one channel-related parameter. For example, the channel information may be or may include at least one of the following: a value of at least one channel-related parameter, including a value of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the sidelink reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI); a processed channel-related parameter, including at least one of: a mean, median, or variance of a plurality of values of a channel-related parameter; a change in at least one channel-related parameter, including a change or a pattern of changes of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the received reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including a change or a pattern of changes of one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), Paragraph 37)
With respect to claim 4, Saily teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: measure a set of reference signals over the first channel measurement resource set at a first time to obtain the one or more measured channel characteristics, wherein the first channel measurement resource set is associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration; (the channel information may include at least one of: 1) value of a channel-related parameter; 2) a processed channel-related parameter; and/or 3) a change (or a pattern of change) of at least one channel-related parameter. For example, the channel information may be or may include at least one of the following: a value of at least one channel-related parameter, including a value of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the sidelink reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI); a processed channel-related parameter, including at least one of: a mean, median, or variance of a plurality of values of a channel-related parameter; a change in at least one channel-related parameter, including a change or a pattern of changes of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the received reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including a change or a pattern of changes of one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), Paragraph 37) and determine a first set of predicted channel characteristics for the second channel measurement resource set for a second time which is later than the first time, wherein the second channel state information report includes the first set of predicted channel characteristics, and the second channel measurement resource set is associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration. (the controlling transmitting, by the user node to the network node, information indicating that there is a predicted decrease in radio network performance may include controlling transmitting at least one of the following: information indicating at least one radio network performance parameter; and/or information indicating a predicted value or a predicted level of change for the at least one radio network performance parameter for the radio link between the first user node and the network node. Thus, for example, the UE may transmit information indicating a radio network performance parameter and an expected or predicted value or a predicted change in a value of such radio network performance parameter (e.g., information indicating one or more of: RSRP, and a 12% decrease in RSRP of UE1-gNB radio link is expected within the next 350 ms), Paragraph 39)
With respect to claim 5, Saily teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a second set of predicted channel characteristics for a third channel measurement resource set for a third time which is later than the first time and the second time, wherein the third channel measurement resource set is associated with the second channel measurement resource set and the second channel state information report setting configuration; and transmit, via the transceiver, a third channel state information report indicating the second set of predicted channel characteristics based at least in part on the second channel state information report setting configuration. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 6, Saily teaches wherein to receive the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling indicating a first set of beams for reporting the measured channel characteristics associated with the first channel measurement resource set and the second channel measurement resource set, wherein the control signaling indicates to report the one or more predicted channel characteristics for a second set of beams associated with highest predicted channel characteristics of the second channel measurement resource set. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 7, Saily teaches wherein to receive the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling indicating a first number of beams to report in the first channel state information report, a second number of beams to report in the second channel state information report, or both. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 8, Saily teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: measure a set of reference signals over a first set of spatial beams of the first channel measurement resource set to obtain the one or more measured channel characteristics; and determine the one or more predicted channel characteristics for a second set of spatial beams of the second channel measurement resource set, wherein the first channel measurement resource set and the second channel measurement resource set are a same channel measurement resource set. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 9, Saily teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network entity via the transceiver, an indication of the first set of spatial beams of the first channel measurement resource set, wherein the set of reference signals are measured over the first set of spatial beams based at least in part on the indication. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 10, Saily teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine, by the UE, the first set of spatial beams, wherein the set of reference signals are measured over the first set of spatial beams based at least in part on the determining. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 11, Saily teaches wherein to receive the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling indicating a first radio frequency spectrum band associated with the first channel measurement resource set, wherein the second channel measurement resource set associated with the first channel measurement resource set corresponds to a second radio frequency spectrum band associated with the first radio frequency spectrum band. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 12, Saily teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: measure a set of reference signals over a first radio frequency spectrum band comprising the first channel measurement resource set to obtain the one or more measured channel characteristics, wherein the first channel measurement resource set is associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration; and determine the one or more predicted channel characteristics for a second radio frequency spectrum band comprising the second channel measurement resource set, wherein the second channel measurement resource set is associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 13, Saily teaches wherein the first radio frequency spectrum band and the second radio frequency spectrum band correspond to different bandwidth parts, different frequency ranges, different serving cells, or any combination thereof. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 16, Saily teaches wherein to transmit the second channel state information report, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the second channel state information report on a same uplink channel as the first channel state information report, wherein the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report are multiplexed on the same uplink channel. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 19, Saily teaches wherein the first channel state information report includes a first number of measured channel characteristics that is equal to a second number of predicted channel characteristics in the second channel state information report. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claims 20 and 30, Saily teaches An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: memory; and at least one processor of a network entity, the at least one processor coupled with the memory, and the at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit control signaling indicating a first channel state information report setting configuration associated with measured channel characteristics of a first channel measurement resource set and a second channel state information report setting configuration associated with predicted channel characteristics for a second channel measurement resource set that is associated with the first channel measurement resource set; (a UE may support various combination of CSI-RS reporting configurations. In some cases, a UE may be configured to support various periodic, semi-periodic and aperiodic CSI-RS configurations that are activated via an Sidelink Control Information (SCI) with a CSI request field, Paragraph 37)
receive a first channel state information report that indicates one or more measured channel characteristics of the first channel measurement resource set based at least in part on the first channel state information report setting configuration; (the channel information may include at least one of: 1) value of a channel-related parameter; 2) a processed channel-related parameter; and/or 3) a change (or a pattern of change) of at least one channel-related parameter. For example, the channel information may be or may include at least one of the following: a value of at least one channel-related parameter, including a value of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the sidelink reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI); a processed channel-related parameter, including at least one of: a mean, median, or variance of a plurality of values of a channel-related parameter; a change in at least one channel-related parameter, including a change or a pattern of changes of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the received reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including a change or a pattern of changes of one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), Paragraph 37) and
receive a second channel state information report that indicates one or more predicted channel characteristics of the second channel measurement resource set based at least in part on the second channel state information report setting configuration. (the controlling transmitting, by the user node to the network node, information indicating that there is a predicted decrease in radio network performance may include controlling transmitting at least one of the following: information indicating at least one radio network performance parameter; and/or information indicating a predicted value or a predicted level of change for the at least one radio network performance parameter for the radio link between the first user node and the network node. Thus, for example, the UE may transmit information indicating a radio network performance parameter and an expected or predicted value or a predicted change in a value of such radio network performance parameter (e.g., information indicating one or more of: RSRP, and a 12% decrease in RSRP of UE1-gNB radio link is expected within the next 350 ms), Paragraph 39)
With respect to claim 21, Saily teaches wherein to transmit the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the control signaling indicating a periodicity or semi-persistent scheduling associated with the first channel measurement resource set, wherein the second channel measurement resource set associated with the first channel measurement resource set corresponds to one or more resources occurring a defined time duration after a resource of the first channel measurement resource set indicated by the periodicity or the semi-persistent scheduling. (a UE may support various combination of CSI-RS reporting configurations. In some cases, a UE may be configured to support various periodic, semi-periodic and aperiodic CSI-RS configurations that are activated via an Sidelink Control Information (SCI) with a CSI request field, Paragraph 37)
With respect to claim 22, Saily teaches transmit the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the control signaling indicating a first number of resources to report from the first channel measurement resource set in the first channel state information report, a second number of resources to report from the second channel measurement resource set in the second channel state information report, or both. (the channel information may include at least one of: 1) value of a channel-related parameter; 2) a processed channel-related parameter; and/or 3) a change (or a pattern of change) of at least one channel-related parameter. For example, the channel information may be or may include at least one of the following: a value of at least one channel-related parameter, including a value of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the sidelink reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI); a processed channel-related parameter, including at least one of: a mean, median, or variance of a plurality of values of a channel-related parameter; a change in at least one channel-related parameter, including a change or a pattern of changes of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the received reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including a change or a pattern of changes of one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), Paragraph 37)
With respect to claim 23, Saily teaches wherein to receive, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the first channel state information report indicating the one or more measured channel characteristics for the first channel measurement resource set at a first time, wherein the first channel measurement resource set is associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration; (the channel information may include at least one of: 1) value of a channel-related parameter; 2) a processed channel-related parameter; and/or 3) a change (or a pattern of change) of at least one channel-related parameter. For example, the channel information may be or may include at least one of the following: a value of at least one channel-related parameter, including a value of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the sidelink reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI); a processed channel-related parameter, including at least one of: a mean, median, or variance of a plurality of values of a channel-related parameter; a change in at least one channel-related parameter, including a change or a pattern of changes of at least one of: an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), or a received signal strength of the sidelink reference signal; a phase of the received reference signal; a doppler shift at one or more antenna ports; a channel state information (CSI), including a change or a pattern of changes of one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), Paragraph 37) and receive the second channel state information report indicating a first set of predicted channel characteristics for the second channel measurement resource set for a second time which is later than the first time, wherein the second channel measurement resource set is associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration.. (the controlling transmitting, by the user node to the network node, information indicating that there is a predicted decrease in radio network performance may include controlling transmitting at least one of the following: information indicating at least one radio network performance parameter; and/or information indicating a predicted value or a predicted level of change for the at least one radio network performance parameter for the radio link between the first user node and the network node. Thus, for example, the UE may transmit information indicating a radio network performance parameter and an expected or predicted value or a predicted change in a value of such radio network performance parameter (e.g., information indicating one or more of: RSRP, and a 12% decrease in RSRP of UE1-gNB radio link is expected within the next 350 ms), Paragraph 39)
With respect to claim 24, Saily teaches wherein to transmit the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the control signaling indicating a first set of beams for reporting the measured channel characteristics associated with the first channel measurement resource set and the second channel measurement resource set, wherein the control signaling indicates to report the one or more predicted channel characteristics for a second set of beams associated with highest predicted channel characteristics of the second channel measurement resource set. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 25, Saily teaches wherein to receive, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the first channel state information report indicating the one or more measured channel characteristics for a first set of spatial beams of the first channel measurement resource; and receive the second channel state information report indicating the one or more predicted channel characteristics for a second set of spatial beams of the second channel measurement resource set. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 26, Saily teaches wherein to transmit the control signaling, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the control signaling indicating a first radio frequency spectrum band associated with the first channel measurement resource set, wherein the second channel measurement resource set associated with the first channel measurement resource set corresponds to a second radio frequency spectrum band associated with the first radio frequency spectrum band. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 27, Saily teaches wherein to receive, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive the first channel state information report indicating the one or more measured channel characteristics for a first radio frequency spectrum band comprising the first channel measurement resource set, wherein the first channel measurement resource set is associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration; and receive the second channel state information report indicating the one or more predicted channel characteristics for a second radio frequency spectrum band comprising the second channel measurement resource set, wherein the second channel measurement resource set is associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration. (the information indicating the predicted value or a predicted level of change in a radio network performance parameter may include information indicating at least one of the following for the radio link between the user node and the network node (UE-gNB radio link): a predicted value of or a predicted decrease an amplitude, a received power, a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or received signal strength of a reference signal received from the network node; a predicted value of or a predicted decrease in signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR); a predicted value of or a predicted increase in an error rate or block error rate; a predicted value of or a predicted increase in latency; a predicted value of or a predicted change in a modulation order and/or coding rate; a predicted value of or a predicted change in channel state information (CSI) including one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH resource block indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI) or a precoder matrix indicator (PI), Paragraph 40)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14, 15, 17, 18 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saily et al. (US Publication 2024/0340942) in view of Gao et al. (US Publication 2025/0055530).
With respect to claim 14, Saily doesn’t teach the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the network entity via the transceiver, an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations, wherein the control signaling indicating the first channel state information report setting configuration and the second channel state information report setting configuration is received in response to the indication of the UE capability.
Gao teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the network entity via the transceiver, an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations, wherein the control signaling indicating the first channel state information report setting configuration and the second channel state information report setting configuration is received in response to the indication of the UE capability. (if there are a first and second CSI reports both of which are associated with a set of capability parameters or associated with the first index or index Cn, the terminal device 120 drops one of the first and second CSI reports. For example, if there are multiple CSI reports associated with a set of capability parameters, the terminal device 120 selects a CSI report associated with one value of certain serving cell index, e.g. c=0 or lowest value of serving cell indexes (across CCs and/or within a frequency band) and drops the other CSI reports, Paragraph 253)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Saily with an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations as taught by Gao. The motivation for combining Saily and Gao is to be able to determine which CSI report to drop when two CSI reports collide.
With respect to claim 15, Saily doesn’t teach wherein the indication of the UE capability includes a first number of supported configurations for the first channel state information report setting configuration, a second number of supported configurations for the second channel state information report setting configuration, a maximum number of supported configurations for both the first channel state information report setting configuration and the second channel state information report setting configuration, a number of processors supported for the first channel state information report setting configuration or the second channel state information report setting configuration, or both, or any combination thereof.
Gao teaches wherein the indication of the UE capability includes a first number of supported configurations for the first channel state information report setting configuration, a second number of supported configurations for the second channel state information report setting configuration, a maximum number of supported configurations for both the first channel state information report setting configuration and the second channel state information report setting configuration, a number of processors supported for the first channel state information report setting configuration or the second channel state information report setting configuration, or both, or any combination thereof. (if there are a first and second CSI reports both of which are associated with a set of capability parameters or associated with the first index or index Cn, the terminal device 120 drops one of the first and second CSI reports. For example, if there are multiple CSI reports associated with a set of capability parameters, the terminal device 120 selects a CSI report associated with one value of certain serving cell index, e.g. c=0 or lowest value of serving cell indexes (across CCs and/or within a frequency band) and drops the other CSI reports, Paragraph 253)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Saily with an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations as taught by Gao. The motivation for combining Saily and Gao is to be able to determine which CSI report to drop when two CSI reports collide.
With respect to claim 17, Saily doesn’t teach the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a third channel state information report associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration is scheduled to at least partially overlap on an uplink channel with a fourth channel state information report associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration; drop the third channel state information report based at least in part on predicted channel characteristics having a higher priority than measured channel characteristics; and transmit, via the transceiver, the fourth channel state information report on the uplink channel based at least in part on the second channel state information report setting configuration.
Gao teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a third channel state information report associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration is scheduled to at least partially overlap on an uplink channel with a fourth channel state information report associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration; drop the third channel state information report based at least in part on predicted channel characteristics having a higher priority than measured channel characteristics; and transmit, via the transceiver, the fourth channel state information report on the uplink channel based at least in part on the second channel state information report setting configuration. (if there are a first and second CSI reports both of which are associated with a set of capability parameters or associated with the first index or index Cn, the terminal device 120 drops one of the first and second CSI reports. For example, if there are multiple CSI reports associated with a set of capability parameters, the terminal device 120 selects a CSI report associated with one value of certain serving cell index, e.g. c=0 or lowest value of serving cell indexes (across CCs and/or within a frequency band) and drops the other CSI reports, Paragraph 253)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Saily with an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations as taught by Gao. The motivation for combining Saily and Gao is to be able to determine which CSI report to drop when two CSI reports collide.
With respect to claim 18, Saily doesn’t teach the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a third channel state information report associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration is scheduled to at least partially overlap on an uplink channel with a fourth channel state information report associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration; drop the fourth channel state information report based at least in part on measured channel characteristics having a higher priority than predicted channel characteristics; and transmit, via the transceiver, the third channel state information report on the uplink channel based at least in part on the first channel state information report setting configuration.
Gao teaches the at least one processor further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a third channel state information report associated with the first channel state information report setting configuration is scheduled to at least partially overlap on an uplink channel with a fourth channel state information report associated with the second channel state information report setting configuration; drop the fourth channel state information report based at least in part on measured channel characteristics having a higher priority than predicted channel characteristics; and transmit, via the transceiver, the third channel state information report on the uplink channel based at least in part on the first channel state information report setting configuration. (if there are a first and second CSI reports both of which are associated with a set of capability parameters or associated with the first index or index Cn, the terminal device 120 drops one of the first and second CSI reports. For example, if there are multiple CSI reports associated with a set of capability parameters, the terminal device 120 selects a CSI report associated with one value of certain serving cell index, e.g. c=0 or lowest value of serving cell indexes (across CCs and/or within a frequency band) and drops the other CSI reports, Paragraph 253)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Saily with an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations as taught by Gao. The motivation for combining Saily and Gao is to be able to determine which CSI report to drop when two CSI reports collide.
With respect to claim 28, Saily doesn’t teach the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configuration, wherein the control signaling indicating the first channel state information report setting configuration and the second channel state information report setting configuration is transmitted in response to the indication of the UE capability.
Gao teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configuration, wherein the control signaling indicating the first channel state information report setting configuration and the second channel state information report setting configuration is transmitted in response to the indication of the UE capability. (if there are a first and second CSI reports both of which are associated with a set of capability parameters or associated with the first index or index Cn, the terminal device 120 drops one of the first and second CSI reports. For example, if there are multiple CSI reports associated with a set of capability parameters, the terminal device 120 selects a CSI report associated with one value of certain serving cell index, e.g. c=0 or lowest value of serving cell indexes (across CCs and/or within a frequency band) and drops the other CSI reports, Paragraph 253)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Saily with an indication of a UE capability to support multiple channel state information report setting configurations as taught by Gao. The motivation for combining Saily and Gao is to be able to determine which CSI report to drop when two CSI reports collide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bao et al. (US Publication 2021/0258991) discloses a device determines a mapping between first time-frequency resources corresponding to a first component carrier (CC) and second time-frequency resources corresponding to a second CC using a prediction algorithm. The device receives, from a base station, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on the first time-frequency resources corresponding to the first CC and measures first CSI on the first time-frequency resources corresponding to the first CC based on the received CSI-RS. The device further predicts second CSI on the second time-frequency resources corresponding to the second CC based on the measured first CSI using the prediction algorithm. The device then generates a CSI report based on the predicted second CSI and sends the CSI report to the base station.
Ling et al. (US Patent 12,294,551) discloses receiving, by a user equipment, at least a reporting configuration from a network, wherein the reporting configuration is associated with at least a first group of channel measurement resources to be measured by the user equipment and a second group of channel measurement resources for which beam indexes or beam measurements are predicted by a machine learning model comprised at the user equipment; providing, as an input to the machine learning model comprised at the user equipment, at least a first set of measurements on the first group of channel measurement resources; and reporting, to the network, channel measurement information, wherein the channel measurement information contains at least an index representing a channel measurement resource of the second group of channel measurement resources. Related systems, methods, and articles of manufacture are also disclosed.
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475