DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/16/2026. As directed by the amendment, claim 1 and 3 have been amended and claims 4-6 have been cancelled. Thus claims 1-3 and 7-12 are presently pending in this application. Claims 7-12 are currently withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the grounds of rejection set forth in the previous action, however, new or otherwise amended grounds of rejection have been applied to the claims in this action, as necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboto et. al. (US
2018/0017190).
Regarding claim 1, Kuboto et. al. teaches: A hollow member having a circumferential hardness difference portion in at least a portion in a longitudinal direction along a central axis, wherein when the circumferential hardness difference portion is viewed in a cross section orthogonal to the central axis (Hollow member 1’ having hardness differential portion E1 along the longitudinal direction [Fig. 2 and Para. 79, lines 4-9]. Circumferential hardness difference portion E1 when viewed in a cross section, is orthogonal [Fig. 3A and B]), a wall thickness difference obtained by subtracting an absolute minimum value of the wall thickness from an absolute maximum value of the wall thickness in a circumferential direction of the cross section is 20% or less of an average value of the wall thickness in a whole circumference of the cross section (the wall thickness in the cross section is defined by T across the whole of the thickened portion and therefore a difference between a maximum and minimum value of thickness across the portion would result in less than 20% of the average [Para. 79, lines 4-9 and Para. 83, lines 1-4]. Furthermore, comparing maximum and minimum thickness in cross section, using the ratio 1.2 of T/t0, along pipe would result in the difference being ~18% [Para. 81, lines 1-6]), and when an average of integration of Vickers hardness in the whole circumference of the cross section is used as a hardness threshold, the cross section includes a low strength range in which the Vickers hardness along the circumferential direction is equal to or less than the hardness threshold and a high strength range in which the Vickers hardness along the circumferential direction is more than the hardness threshold (The hardness in the cross section contains an average which the low hardness range, <95% of Hv as defined by Kuboto et. al., appears equal to or less than and the high hardness range, >95% of HV as defined by Kuboto et. al., appears greater than [Fig. 3c]), the circumferential hardness difference portion is formed only in a part of the longitudinal direction (Hollow member 1’ having hardness differential portion E1 along the longitudinal direction [Fig. 2 and Para. 79, lines 4-9]. Circumferential hardness difference portion E1 [Fig. 3A and B]).
Kuboto et. al. fails to teach: a difference obtained by subtracting an absolute minimum value of Vickers hardness from an absolute maximum value of Vickers hardness is 25 HV or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a Vickers hardness difference to be 25 HV or more in order to achieve sufficient structural requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, i.e showcasing the varying percentage levels of maximum HV across the circumference, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, Kuboto et. al. teaches: The hollow member according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a circumferential length of the low strength range to a whole outer circumferential length of the cross section is within a range of 20% to 80% (Low hardness range, as defined by being equal to or less than average hardness, appears to encompass roughly 50% of the overall circumference [Fig. 3c]).
For the purpose of compact prosecution, if it is seen that Kuboto et. al. does not teach low strength range being 20%-80% of total circumferential length, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the ratio of total length to length of low strength region in order to achieve sufficient structural requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, Kuboto et. al. teaches: The hollow member according to claim 1, wherein a whole outer circumferential length in the cross section is Lr (mm), and a hardness maximum position at which the Vickers hardness is an absolute maximum value is within a range of 0.3 x Lr (mm) to 0.7 x Lr (mm) in the circumferential direction with a hardness minimum position at which the Vickers hardness is the absolute minimum value as a reference (The circumferential length is split into 3 portions defining length between hardness maximums, La, Lb and Lc and the difference between maximum and minimum value of each length is 0.2 x Lr [Para. 90, lines 1-7]. This would suggest that a hardness maximum positions are positioned at a maximum of 0.465 x Lr apart and thus would have an absolute minimum hardness within that range).
For the purpose of compact prosecution, if it is seen that Kuboto et. al. does not teach the maximum hardness position within 03 x Lr and 0.7 x Lr from the minimum hardness position, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the range of distance between minimum hardness position and maximum hardness position in order to achieve sufficient structural requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et. al. (US
2017/0320116).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi et. al. teaches: A hollow member having a circumferential hardness
difference portion in at least a portion in a longitudinal direction along a central axis, wherein when the
circumferential hardness difference portion is viewed in a cross section orthogonal to the central axis
(hollow shell 1 with a hardness difference in the circumferential direction along with thickness
distribution which is orthogonal [Para. 74, lines 1-7 and Fig. 1b]), a wall thickness difference obtained
by subtracting an absolute minimum value of the wall thickness from an absolute maximum value of the
wall thickness in a circumferential direction of the cross section is 20% or less of an average value of the
wall thickness in a whole circumference of the cross section (Wall thickness difference is 13% of
average wall thickness, where minimum thickness is represented by 1a and maximum thickness is 1b
[Para. 89]), and when an average of integration of Vickers hardness in the whole circumference of the
cross section is used as a hardness threshold, the cross section includes a low strength range in which
the Vickers hardness along the circumferential direction is equal to or less than the hardness threshold
and a high strength range in which the Vickers hardness along the circumferential direction is more than
the hardness threshold (the low strength range is considered less than 95% of the average [Para. 74,
lines 7-18]. Furthermore, with respect to the hardness distribution [Fig. 9 and 12], there contains
portions of high strength which are greater than average hardness and low strength range which are
less than or equal to the average hardness), a difference obtained by subtracting an absolute minimum value of the Vickers hardness from an absolute maximum value of the Vickers hardness is 25 HV or more (difference between absolute maximum and minimum values of Vickers hardness is greater than 25 HV [Fig. 9)]
Iguchi fails to teach: the circumferential hardness difference portion is formed only in a part of the longitudinal direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form only part of the hollow shell to comprise the circumferential hardness difference portion in order to meet sufficient structural requirements, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Iguchi et. al. teaches: The hollow member according to claim 1, wherein a
ratio of a circumferential length of the low strength range to a whole outer circumferential length of the cross section is within a range of 20% to 80% (It appears to have roughly 20% coverage in the
circumferential direction containing a low strength range which is equal to or less than the average
hardness [Fig. 12]).
For the purpose of compact prosecution, if it is seen that Iguchi et. al. does not teach low
strength range being 20%-80% of total circumferential length, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the ratio of total length to length of low strength region in order to achieve sufficient structural requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, Iguchi et. al. teaches: The hollow member according to claim 1, wherein a
whole outer circumferential length in the cross section is Lr (mm), and a hardness maximum position at
which the Vickers hardness is an absolute maximum value is within a range of 0.3 x Lr (mm) to 0.7 x Lr
(mm) in the circumferential direction with a hardness minimum position at which the Vickers hardness is
the absolute minimum value as a reference (Maximum hardness position appears to be within 0.3 x Lr
and 0.7 x Lr [Fig. 9 and 12]).
For the purpose of compact prosecution, if it is seen that Iguchi et. al. does not teach the maximum hardness position within 03 x Lr and 0.7 x Lr from the minimum hardness position, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the range of distance between minimum hardness position and maximum hardness position in order to achieve sufficient structural requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
As stated in the rejections under 35 U.S.C 103 above, applicant’s amendments to claim 1 is unpatentable over the prior art. Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the reasons stated below.
With respect to the arguments against Kuboto et. al., Page 7 of Remarks, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The argument merely states that the purpose of the present invention is to “enhance robustness”, (Pg. 7, Para. 4, lines 1-2) and “create a locally weakened portion” (Pg. 7, Para. 5, lines 2-3) while the prior art is directed to improving strength and rigidity (Pg. 7, Para. 3). Despite the desired outcomes being described in differing vocabulary, the result of the claimed structure is such that it is covered by the prior art of Kuboto et. al. (see rejections under 35 U.S.C over Kuboto et. al. above).
With respect to the arguments against Iguchi et. al., Pages 7 and 8 of Remarks, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The first argument against Iguchi et. al. addresses intent of the invention by stating the hardness differential/distributions are merely a by-product of the manufacturing process. However, the applicant is claiming an apparatus of a hollow member having a circumferential hardness difference which is taught by Iguchi et. al. through their manufacturing method and must differentiate from Iguchi et. al. by structure rather than intent to achieve the result of the structure, which it does not. The argument then emphasizes the underlying concept of the claimed invention being that it is for “controlling bending direction” (Pg 8, Para. 1). This, however, is not claimed and is merely intended use for the claimed invention which would therefore require a structural difference between the claimed invention and prior art. As such, based on the claim language, the structure is covered by Iguchi et. al. (see rejection under 35 U.S.C over Iguchi et. al. above).
Applicant then addresses amendments made to claim 1, page 8 of Remarks, more specifically regarding the added limitation of a Vickers hardness differential of 25 HV or more. With respect to Kuboto et. al., they do illustrate portions of the circumferential hardness difference to be in a percentile of the maximum but do fail to articulate the specific values. As shown with the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C over Kuboto et. al., where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, i.e showcasing the varying percentage levels of maximum HV across the circumference, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone to find a workable or optimum range within the range of Vicker hardness claimed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. With respect to the hardness distribution of Iguchi et. al., Fig. 9 does show a hardness differential across the circumference of the pipe to be greater than 25 HZ (see rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D LEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753