DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., simultaneous utilization of asynchronous AC sources and simultaneous power conversion from multiple asynchronous sources) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17, 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2017/0063093 A1) in view of Ross et al. (US 4,761,563).
In regards to claim 1, Wang discloses, in figure 1, a power distribution system (1) comprising: one or more power supply units (179, 197) configured to accept direct current (DC) input power from two or more DC input power sources (143, and 123a, 123b, 151) (Par 0010, 0015-0016) and provide output DC power at a DC load voltage for distribution to one or more loads (181) (Par 0017-0018; power supply units 179, 197 are DC/DC converters which provides DC power to load 181), wherein the DC input power is provided at one or more input DC voltages different than the DC load voltage (Par 0018; power supply unit 179 is a DC/DC converter which converts a DC voltage to step-up or step-down voltage, thus provides a voltage to a DC load 181 different than the input DC voltage), wherein the one or more power supply units (179, 197) include one or more DC/DC converters (Par 0018) to convert the DC input power to the DC load voltage (Par 0017-0018); and one or more alternating current (AC) to DC rectifiers (AC/DC rectifiers) (143) configured to convert AC input power from two or more AC input power sources (113, 119) (Par 0007, 0009) to at least one of the one or more input DC voltages (Par 0015), wherein each of the one or more AC/DC rectifiers (143) is connected to at least one of the one or more power supply units (179, 197) as one of the two or more DC input power sources (143, and 123a, 123b, 151) (Par 0017-0018).
Wang does not disclose wherein at least two of the two or more AC input power sources have asynchronous phases.
However, Ross discloses, in figure 1, wherein at least two of the two or more AC input power sources (source 1, source 2) have asynchronous phases (Col 4, lines 45-57).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang’s AC power sources by replacing with AC input power from at least two of the two or more AC input power sources having asynchronous phases as taught by Ross in order to minimize voltage and current jitter (Ross; Col 4, lines 45-57).
In regards to claim 4, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the AC input power (input of 113, 119) from at least some of the two or more AC input power sources (113, 119) have different AC voltages (Par 0007, 0009; 113 is an AC power grid and 119 is an AC generator which output AC voltages independently of one another with each having a respective circuit breaker 117a, 117b).
In regards to claim 5, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the two or more AC input power sources (113, 119) include one or more primary AC input power sources (113) and one or more alternate AC input power sources (119) (Par 0007, 0009).
In regards to claim 6, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Ross further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the one or more AC input power sources (source 1, source 2) provide the AC input power with at least one of 480 VAC (Col 5, lines 52-57) or 415 VAC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang’s AC power sources by replacing with the one or more AC input power sources providing the AC input power with at least one of 480 VAC or 415 VAC as taught by Ross in order to minimize voltage and current jitter (Ross; Col 4, lines 45-57).
In regards to claim 7, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein at least one of the two or more DC input power sources (143, and 123a, 123b, 151) comprise: at least one of a fuel cell source (Par 0011), a wind fuel source, or a solar fuel source (Par 0011).
In regards to claim 8, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the one or more input DC voltages include one or more high voltage direct current (HVDC) voltages (Par 0016; DC/DC converter 151 is structured to receive high 700V DC power from DC power bus 121 of DC input power 123a, 123b and step down the DC voltage to 380V DC power).
In regards to claim 10, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the DC load voltage is lower than the one or more input DC voltages (Par 0016; DC/DC converter 151 is structured to receive 700V DC power from DC power bus 121 of DC input power 123a, 123b and step down the DC voltage to 380V DC power).
In regards to claim 12, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein at least one of the one or more power supply units (179, 197) comprises: at least one of a 2-wire DC distribution system (See Fig. 1; power supply units 179, 197 are connected in a 2-wire DC distribution system) or a 3-wire DC distribution system.
In regards to claim 13, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, further comprising: a DC trunking system (151) configured to receive DC power from at least some of the two or more DC input power sources (123a, 123b) (Par 0016), wherein the DC trunking system (151) is connected to at least one of the one or more power supply units (179, 197) as one of the two or more DC input power sources (143, and 123a, 123b, 151) (Par 0016-0018).
In regards to claim 14, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, further comprising: one or more DC busways (121, 161) between at least one of the two or more DC input power sources (123a, 123b, 151) and at least one of the one or more power supply units (179, 197) (Par 0016-0018).
In regards to claim 15, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein at least one of the one or more loads (181) comprises: a network appliance (Par 0019, “loads 181 which may comprise one or more DC load of a datacenter such as one or more server”).
In regards to claim 16, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 15. Wang further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the network appliance (Par 0019; DC load of a datacenter) comprises: at least one of a network switch or a server (Par 0019, “loads 181 which may comprise one or more DC load of a datacenter such as one or more server”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2017/0063093 A1) in view of Ross et al. (US 4,761,563) in further view of Teraura et al. (US 2013/0044519 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the one or more input DC voltages include at least one of 380 VDC or 240 VDC.
However, Teraura discloses, in figure 1B, wherein the one or more input DC voltages (input DC voltages of Va, Vb) include at least one of 380 VDC (Par 0069-0070) or 240 VDC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang’s DC input power sources by replacing with first and second DC power sources wherein the one or more input DC voltages including at least one of 380 VDC or 240 VDC as taught by Teraura in order to reduce the switching losses in the semiconductor switches in the operation of the bidirectional DC/DC converter (Teraura; Par 0048).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2017/0063093 A1) in view of Ross et al. (US 4,761,563) in further view of Gurunathan et al. (US 2012/0326516 A1).
In regards to claim 11, Wang and Ross disclose the power distribution system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the DC load voltage is at least one of 48 VDC or 240 VDC.
However, Gurunathan discloses, in figure 2, wherein the DC load voltage (input DC load voltage of 222) is at least one of 48 VDC (Par 0039; “a series of DC/DC down converters 204 and 208 produces an output voltage of +/-48 VDC that supplies a DC load, such as an IT load”) or 240 VDC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang’s DC load by replacing with DC load wherein the DC load voltage is at least one of 48 VDC or 240 VDC as taught by Gurunathan in order to isolate power sources and buses from each other to prevent safety issues arising from the potential for inadvertent contact of high voltage nodes (Gurunathan; Par 0009).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0395758 A1) in view of Ross et al. (US 4,761,563).
In regards to claim 17, Tanaka discloses, in figure 1, a power distribution method comprising: receiving, with one or more power supply units (40A, 40B), direct current (DC) input power from two or more DC input power sources (30A, 30B) at one or more input DC voltages (Par 0028), wherein at least two of the two or more DC input power sources (30A, 30B) include alternating current (AC) to DC rectifiers (AC/DC rectifiers) (Par 0028) configured to convert AC input power from one or more AC input power sources (20A, 20B) to at least one of the one or more input DC voltages (Par 0025, 0028); converting, with the one or more power supply units (40A, 40B), the one or more input DC voltages to a DC load voltage different than the one or more input DC voltages (Par 0028; 40A, 40B is a DC/DC converter which converts a DC voltage to a step-up voltage, thus provides a voltage to a DC load 70 different than the input DC voltage); and providing, with the one or more power supply units (40A, 40B), output DC power at the DC load voltage for distribution to one or more loads (70) (Par 0028, 0032).
Tanaka does not disclose wherein at least two of the two or more AC input power sources have asynchronous phases.
However, Ross discloses, in figure 1, wherein at least two of the two or more AC input power sources (source 1, source 2) have asynchronous phases (Col 4, lines 45-57).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanaka’s AC power sources by replacing with AC input power from at least two of the two or more AC input power sources having asynchronous phases as taught by Ross in order to minimize voltage and current jitter (Ross; Col 4, lines 45-57).
In regards to claim 19, Tanaka and Ross disclose the power distribution method of claim 17. Tanaka further discloses, in figure 1, wherein at least one of the DC input power sources (30A, 30B) is a DC input power source comprising: at least one of a hydrogen fuel source, a wind fuel source (Par 0025), or a solar fuel source.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0395758 A1) in view of Cousineau et al. (US 2012/0327693 A1).
In regards to claim 20, Tanaka discloses, in figure 1, a power distribution system (100) comprising: one or more power supply units (40A, 40B) configured to accept at least one of DC input power from one or more DC input power sources (30A, 30B) at one or more DC input voltages (Par 0028) and provide output DC power at a DC load voltage for distribution to one or more loads (70) (Par 0028, 0032), wherein the one or more power supply units (40A, 40B) include at least of one or more DC/DC converters (Par 0026) to convert the DC input power to the DC load voltage (Par 0028, 0032) or one or more AC/DC rectifiers to convert the synchronous AC input power to the DC load voltage (OR is an alternative suggestion).
Tanaka does not disclose synchronous alternating current (AC) input power from one or more AC input sources.
However, Cousineau discloses, in figure 1, synchronous alternating current (AC) input power from one or more AC input sources (114) (Par 0023; “The generator 114 is suitably synchronous and converts the mechanical energy of the rotor or hub 106 into alternating current (AC) power. The generator 114 may include at least one of one or more wound field synchronous generators, each with an exciter field excited with a constant current, one or more permanent magnet synchronous generators, and the like”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanaka’s AC power sources by replacing with synchronous alternating current (AC) sources as taught by Cousineau in order to convert rotary motion of a hub or rotor of the wind turbine to variable frequency alternating current (AC) power (Par 0009; Cousineau).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2842
/LINCOLN D DONOVAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2842