DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites at least one processor circuit “to be programmed” by instructions to execute the recited functions. The language “to be programmed” is indefinite because it may be interpreted to indicate a processor with the potential to be programmed rather than a processor that has been programmed. Under this interpretation, any processor that is not specifically restricted from being programmed in the claimed manner may be construed as the claimed processor. Alternatively, “to be programmed” may be interpreted as a statement of intended use for the processor, and therefore possibly non-limiting. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to more explicitly recite a processor that has been programmed or configured to achieve the claimed functions (e.g., by omitting the words “to be”). Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis. Similar reasoning may be applied to the language of the dependent claims, “the at least one processor circuit is to cause”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0010654. Chen is an Applicant-cited reference.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus comprising a memory, machine-readable instructions, and at least one processor circuit programmed by the machine-readable instructions to [Fig. 2]:
cause an electronic user device to transition from a first device state [Mode M2-3: power saving mode] to a second device state [Mode M2-0: active] in response to an indication of a first user presence state [step P2-9: user presence detection in X hours is “yes”, i.e., user is present] at a first time [step P2-9 occurs at some arbitrary point in time], the first user presence state relative to a peripheral input device communicatively coupled to the electronic user device [Fig. 1: sensor 160; para. 0071: “In the example, the sensor 160 is a so-called long distance proximity sensor (LDPS) that measures reflected infrared energy to detect the presence of a person in front of the display screen 150.”];
cause the electronic user device to transition from the second device state [Mode M2-0: active] to a third device state [Mode M2-2: lock screen with password protection] in response to an indication of a second user presence state [step P2-3: user presence detection in 10 min is “No”, i.e., user is absent] relative to the peripheral input device at a second time, the second time different than the first time [step P2-3 occurs after P2-9 after waking]; and
cause the electronic user device to transition from the third device state [Mode M2-2: lock screen with password protection] to the first device state [Mode M2-3: power saving mode] in response to an indication of the second user presence state [step P2-6: user presence detection in 30 min is “No”, i.e., user is absent] relative to the peripheral input device at a third time, the third time different than the first time and the second time [step P2-6 occurs after P2-3 and P2-9 after waking].
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the first device state includes a first power state [Mode M2-3: power saving mode], the second device state includes a second power state [Mode M2-0: active mode], the second power state associated with greater power than the first power state, and the third device state includes a locked state [Mode M2-2: lock screen with password protection].
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses that the first user presence state is a present state [step P2-9:user presence detection in X hours is “yes”, i.e., user is present] and the second user presence state is an absent state [step P2-3: user presence detection in 10 min is “No”, i.e., user is absent].
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to cause the electronic user device to transition from the second device state to the third device state in response to a first threshold of time being satisfied [step P2-3: 10 min].
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to cause the electronic user device to transition from the third device state [Mode M2-2: lock screen] to the first device state [Mode M2-3: power saving mode] in response to a second threshold of time being satisfied [step P2-6: 30 min].
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to cause a brightness of a display screen of the electronic user device to be adjusted prior to causing the electronic user device to transition from the second device state to the third device state [Mode M2-1: reduce brightness to min].
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to detect a user presence state as the first user presence state at a fourth time [step P2-1], the fourth time between the first time and the second time [P2-1 occurs after P2-9 and before P2-3], and
maintain the electronic user device in the second device state in response to the first user presence state at the fourth time [P2-1: user presence detection is “Yes”, i.e., user is present, maintain active mode].
Claims 8-14 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-7.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a system comprising:
interface circuitry [para. 70, Fig. 1: interface 130];
machine readable instructions; and
at least one processor circuit to be programmed by the machine readable instructions to [Fig. 2]:
identify a first user presence state [step P2-6: user presence detection in 30 min is “No”, i.e., user is absent] relative to a peripheral input device based on sensor data corresponding to signals output by a sensor of the peripheral input device [Fig. 1: sensor 160; para. 0071: “In the example, the sensor 160 is a so-called long distance proximity sensor (LDPS) that measures reflected infrared energy to detect the presence of a person in front of the display screen 150.”] at a first time [step P2-6 occurs at some arbitrary point in time], the first user presence state indicative of an absence of a user relative to the peripheral input device [step P2-6: user presence detection in 30 min is “No”, i.e., user is absent];
detect a change from the first user presence state to a second user presence state [step P2-9: user presence detection in X hours is “yes”, i.e., user is present] relative to the peripheral input device based on sensor data corresponding to signals output by the sensor of the peripheral input device at a second time, the second time after the first time [step P2-9 occurs after P2-6], the second user presence state indicative of a presence of the user relative to the peripheral input device [step P2-9: user presence detection in X hours is “yes”, i.e., user is present]; and
cause a power state an electronic user device in communication with the peripheral input device to move from a first power state [Mode M2-3: power saving mode] to a second power state [Mode M2-0: active mode] in response to the change from the first user presence state to the second user presence state, the second power state associated with greater power than the first power state.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to:
identify the first user presence state at a third time [step P2-3: user presence detection in 10 min is “No”, i.e., user is absent], the third time after the first time and the second time [step P2-3 occurs after P2-6 and P2-9 after waking]; and
the device control circuitry is to cause the electronic user device to move to a locked state in response to the user presence state being the first user presence state [Mode M2-2: lock screen with password protection].
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to cause the electronic user device to move to the locked state in response to a threshold of time being satisfied [step P2-3: 10 min].
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to cause the electronic user device to move from the locked state [Mode M2-2: lock screen with password protection] to the first power state [Mode M2-3: power saving mode] in response to the user presence state being the first user presence state at a fourth time [step P2-6: user presence detection in 30 min is “No”, i.e. user is absent], the fourth time occurring after the third time [step P2-6 occurs after P2-3].
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses the at least one processor circuit is to cause a display screen of the electronic user device to dim prior to moving to the locked state and in response to the user presence state being the first user presence state [step P2-1 and P2-2: reduce brightness to min].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hamlin et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0109486.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the system of claim 15, but does not disclose that the sensor data includes time-of-flight data.
Hamlin discloses sensor data including time-of-flight data [para. 0004: “To provide improved power management and security, a variety of Human Presence Detection (HPD) sensors have been developed. One promising HPD sensor is an infrared time of flight (IRTOF) sensor. IRTOF sensors illuminate an area where an end user is expected, such as in front of a display that presents visual images, with an infrared light source and detects objects based upon time of flight of infrared reflections detected at the sensor. For instance, the IRTOF sensor scans the IR light source as a narrow beam across plural sectors to detect changes in distance to objects in each sector so that a detected object that moves over time indicates a human presence.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the combine the teachings of Chen and Hamlin by using time-of-flight measurement data as the sensor data in Chen. Chen discloses a long distance proximity sensor “that measures reflected infrared energy to detect the presence of a person in front of the display screen 150”, but does not explicitly disclose that the sensor employs time-of-flight measurement data. More specifically, Chen’s teaching is broad and does not disclose details regarding how the sensor performs measurements of reflected infrared energy to detect a person. Hamlin discloses a sensor that employs time-of-flight measurement data of infrared reflections to determine the presence of a person. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Hamlin to Chen’s invention based on Hamlin’s more detailed teaching of presence detection, and that sensors using infrared reflections to determine a human presence employ time-of-flight measurement data of the reflections to make the determination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fogle et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0074590, discloses an invention to [Fig. 3A]:
cause an electronic user device to transition from a first device state to a second device state [steps 66, 68, 70 to 52: lock state to unlocked state] in response to an indication of a first user presence state [step 68: user input detected Y, i.e., user is present] at a first time [step 68 occurs at some arbitrary point in time], the first user presence state relative to a peripheral input device communicatively coupled to the electronic user device [para. 0020: “The computer system 10 can include input devices such as a keyboard 28, a mouse 30, and a microphone 32… a keypad (not shown), a touchpad (not shown), a touch screen (not shown), a joystick (not shown), a digital camera (not shown), a scanner (not shown), a digital pen (not shown), a data card reader (e.g., a smartcard reader) (not shown) and a biometric sensor (not shown). Each input device is coupled to the local interface 16 via the input interfaces 20.”];
cause the electronic user device to transition from the second device state to a third device state [step 58: enter standby mode from unlocked state] in response to an indication of a second user presence state [step 56: user input detected N, i.e., user absent] relative to the peripheral input device at a second time [steps 54, 56], the second time different than the first time [steps 54 and 56 occur at a later point in time than steps 68 and 70 after unlocking]; and
cause the electronic user device to transition from the third device state to the first device state [step 66: lock workstation] in response to an indication of the second user presence state [step 62: user input detected N, i.e., user absent] relative to the peripheral input device at a third time, the third time different than the first time and the second time [steps 60 and 62 occur at a later point than steps 54, 56, 68, and 70 after unlocking].
Iwamoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0185208, discloses an invention that enters a low power mode, initiates a timer, and subsequently powers down a volatile memory after the timer expires and no user input has been detected [Fig. 1].
Wyatt et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0054998, discloses an invention that detects user activity and initiates a series of increasingly lower power state transitions in response to periods of user inactivity [Fig. 7].
Andou et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0229337, discloses an invention that places a system into reduced power mode when a user’s face is not detected for a period of time [Fig. 2].
Jun, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0229727, discloses an invention that places a device into a sleep mode, determines whether an input is received for a predetermined period, and places the device into a power off mode when no input is received during the period [Fig. 4].
Branover et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0344599, discloses an invention with a plurality of reduced power modes with a plurality of respective time thresholds for entering each mode [Fig. 2].
Yang, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0135079, discloses an invention that dims a display for a device after a first period of inactivity, and then places the device in a sleep mode after a second period of inactivity [para. 0024].
/JI H BAE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176 U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Phone: 571-272-7181
Fax: 571-273-7181
ji.bae@uspto.gov