Claim Status
Claim 11 has been canceled. Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 has awkward grammatical constructions. The phrase “primary membrane areas inside” in line 3 of claim 13 is awkward. The phrase “crossing under at or near center of primary membrane sections” in line 6 of claim 13 is awkward. A series uses at least one comma to separate first and second elements of the series. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 12-13 of claim 1, applicant attempts to differentiate smooth parts or areas 30 from corrugations 31. A corrugation 31 has curved or double curved (where corrugations intersect) shape. Areas of flat, curved or double curved shape doesn’t properly differentiate from the shape of the corrugation. This is not effective because there is no differentiation between the smooth areas and the corrugations. Claim 1 is indefinite.
In lines 11-12 of claim 8, applicant attempts to differentiate areas 30 of flat, curved or double curved shape from corrugations 31. Claim 8 is indefinite for similar reasons as claim 1.
Claim 8, line 21, states that the outer structure supports an inside insulation. Is the “inside insulation” the same or different than “insulation layer introduced in line3 of claim 8? Claim 8 is indefinite.
In claim 13, lines 1-3, applicant attempts to define the dimensions and shape of the blocks of insulation as a “match” to “the dimensions and shape of the flat, curved or double curved primary membrane areas” when all surfaces of the membrane, smooth areas as well as corrugations, have a flat, curved or double curved shape. Claim 13 is indefinite.
Claim 13, line 3, has word “inside” with no further identification. Claim 13 is indefinite.
Claim 13, lines 4-7 state “with corrugations covering interstitial spaces between insulation blocks, with insulation block joints crossing under at or near center of primary membrane sections.” This terminology is confusing. Shouldn’t the block joints be positioned at edges of the blocks. If the corrugations cover interstitial spaces between insulation blocks, the joints would be near the edges of the blocks and near the corrugations and not near a center of membrane sections. Claim 13 is indefinite.
Claim 16 states in its preamble “the method of claim 1.” Claim 1 is directed at a membrane tank and not a method. There is no antecedent basis for “the method.” Claim 16 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducloy et al. (US 2018/0112823) (Ducloy).
Ducloy discloses a membrane tank for containment of fluids at temperature that can differ significantly from ambient temperature the membrane tank comprising, in a direction from an inner containment volume: a primary membrane (primary sealing membrane 7) that is fluid tight, facing the contained fluid in operation and functioning as a primary fluid barrier; an insulation layer (primary thermally insulating barrier 5), surrounding the primary membrane on the outside; an outer structure (carrying structure 3, see Fig. 1, 2, 3), in the form of a ship hull or bulkhead or other structure, wherein the outer structure supports the insulation layer and the primary membrane and carries resulting forces thereby; and at least one opening (sealed conduit 42) for loading and unloading of fluid;
wherein the primary membrane comprises; smooth areas of flat, curved or double curved shape, wherein the smooth areas are fastened to the insulation layer (see paragraph [118], lines 7-9 stating that “a primary closure sheet 59 of the primary sealing membrane 7 is fastened on said primary insulating panel 6b, see Fig. 1, 6 and 8) and a plurality of corrugations, a corrugation of the plurality of corrugations in each interstitial space between the smooth areas (as annotated Fig. 1 shows that smooth areas alternate with corrugations), wherein the corrugations are curved as seen in cross section and are not fastened to the insulation layer (see Fig. 1) and the corrugations are, for taking up thermally induced strain (functional limitation indicating the intent or purpose of the corrugations, these corrugations are capable of taking up thermally induced strain by stretching/expanding or compressing/contracting) and by stretching or compressing; wherein the corrugations extend out of plane of the smooth areas of flat, curved or double curved shape (corrugations extending above plane of flat areas, see annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the plurality of corrugations are integrated parts of the primary membrane, formed by plastic forming or stamping of a flat plate or by casting of the membrane (product-by-process limitation within a product claim, the structure of the membrane 7 is consistent with being made by plastic forming, thermos-molding, vacuum-molding, stamping or casting methods); and wherein the membrane tank further comprises a coupling part (conduits 46 and passages 45) for connecting a vacuum pump operatively to the insulation layer (see paragraph [95], read paragraph 95 entirely and especially, lines 3-7 and that conduit 46 makes it possible to form a passage between barrier 5 and an evacuation member, such as a pump), for enabling vacuum in the insulation layer, during at least one of loading, containment and unloading of cryogenic fluid.
Ducloy fails to disclose the strength of the vacuum to be 0.01 atmosphere or lower. A person having ordinary skill in the art with knowledge of vacuum pressures for cryogenic vessels and membrane tanks would strive for the strongest vacuum as the strongest vacuum would achieve the greatest insulation value or R-value for the membrane tank. Therefore, the goal in achieving a greatest insulation value would lower the vacuum pressure to the lowest value and a vacuum pressure of 0.01 atmosphere or lower. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the vacuum pressure to be 0.01 atmosphere or lower in order to achieve a greatest insulation value.
Including written rejection for claim 1 from last Office action:
“a membrane tank, the tank comprising: a primary membrane (7), an insulation layer (5) and an outer structure (carrying structure 3, see Fig. 1, 2, 3); additionally, there is at least one opening (sealed conduit 42) for loading and unloading fluid, the primary membrane comprises areas of flat, curved and double curved shape and corrugations (see cross sections of Fig. 1 and 3 wherein upper ripples in membrane 7 are shown, see corrugations 40, 41 as shown in Fig. 2 providing a grid pattern to upper surface of sheets 39 of membrane 7, the corrugations that are curved and double curved in shape as shown in cross sections of Fig. 1 and 3, a coupling part (conduits 46 and passages 45) connects a vacuum pump to the insulation layer (5), see Fig. 3 and paragraph [95], lines 1-7 indicating that a vacuum or evacuation pump connects to passages 45 to evacuate insulation layer (5). Claim 1 is interpreted insofar as understood.”
Re claim 2, the corrugations have a shape, as seen in cross section, of a cosine function or a natural buckling function, resulting in that a minimum of elastic energy is stored in the corrugations by thermally induced contraction when cooling down the membrane tank upon loading cryogenic fluid, resulting in only elastic stresses in the corrugations by the thermally induced contraction.
Re claim 3, the actual stretching delta e and delta f upon cooling of the primary membrane by delta T, with initial corrugation spans e and f at ambient temperature, wherein c and d are dimensions between the respective corrugations, are as follows:
delta e = e-T – e = c – cT = -c alpha delta T, and
delta f = fT – f = -d alpha delta T
wherein alpha is the secant modulus (coefficient) of thermal expansion for the primary membrane.
Re claim 4, the shape of crossing corrugations complies with a superimposed shape of the corrugations, without sharp bends or corners and without double folding, enabling simple die forming.
Re claim 5, further comprising a secondary membrane (4) that is fluid tight, dividing the insulation into two insulation layers (primary barrier 5 and secondary barrier 1), an inner-primary insulation layer 5 and an outer-secondary insulation layer 1, wherein the membranes are identical or different.
Re claim 6, interpreting the claim insofar as understood claim 6 represents the addition of the coupling part for connecting a vacuum pump and arranged for providing vacuum to the inner primary layer 5 as is already the requirement of claim 1.
Re claim 7, comprising membrane sections with corrugations, formed by die pressing or otherwise, with section sides at maximum distance from corrugation crossings, such as in or near the center of the section area, with section sides perpendicular to corrugations extending out through the sides.
Re claim 8, a method of building a membrane tank according to claim 1, comprising: to build an insulation layer, wherein the insulation layer is arranged on an inner side of an outer structure, such as a ship hull or bulkhead or other loadbearing structure on land or at sea to surround the insulation on the outside; to build or arrange at least one opening for loading and unloading of fluid; to build and arrange a primary membrane that is fluid tight on the insulation surface, wherein the outer structure supports the inside insulation and primary membrane and carries the resulting forces thereby, and the membrane is containing for example a cryogenic fluid, wherein the membrane comprises areas of flat, curved or double curved shape, said the areas are fastened to the underlaying insulation, the membrane further comprising a corrugation in between said the areas for taking up thermally induced strain; and wherein the method further comprises to arrange a coupling part for connecting a vacuum pump operatively to the insulation layer, for enabling vacuum in the insulation layer, between the primary membrane and the outer structure or between the primary membrane and an optional secondary membrane, during loading, containment and unloading of cryogenic fluid or other fluid.
Re claim 9, the method wherein the membrane is shaped with corrugations in between areas of flat, curved or double curved shape, said the areas are fastened to the underlaying insulation, wherein the corrugations have a shape, as seen in cross section, of a cosine function or a buckling function, wherein a minimum of elastic energy is stored in the corrugations during forming as well as by thermally induced stretching of the corrugation when cooling down the tank upon loading cryogenic fluid, resulting in a minimum of stress in the corrugations by the stretching.
Re claim 10, the method wherein the primary membrane is formed as plate sections that are joined by welding or otherwise to complete the membrane, wherein crossing corrugations are at the center and/or within the sides of the plate sections, such that plate sections are joined only at maximum distance from crossing corrugations, and the corrugations are preferably formed by plastic die pressing or similar pressing operations, preferably with sides perpendicular to corrugations extending out through the sides, wherein residual stresses from forming of the corrugations may be reduced by appropriate heat and stress relief treatment methods and, geometric shape corrections, before welding or joining otherwise into a complete fluid tight membrane.
Re claim 12, the fluids comprise cryogenic fluid.
Re claim 13, the insulation layer comprises blocks of insulation as shown in Fig. 1, the blocks match the dimensions of the membrane areas. Claim 13 is interpreted insofar as understood.
Re claims 14 and 15, the insulation layer fully surrounds the primary membrane and is only penetrated by the at least one opening for loading and unloading of fluid.
Re claims 16 and 17, the insulation layer comprises a sealed, leak-tight, evacuable space filled with a supporting porous/fibrous layer (foam insulation is porous) able to carry overpressure and is evacuated to the vacuum in operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducloy in view of Deletre et al. (US 2022/0373133) (Deletre).
If “if present” (in line 3 of claim 6) is deemed or interpreted to positively describe the presence of an outer-secondary insulation layer and that the coupling part must also connect to said outer-secondary insulation layer, then Ducloy discloses the outer-secondary insulation layer 1 but doesn’t disclose that the coupling part connects to said outer-secondary insulation layer. Deletre teaches in paragraph [97], lines 8-16, the importance of maintaining an inert atmosphere and the creation of a vacuum in the secondary thermally insulating barrier 7. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to extend the coupling part (conduits 46 and passages 45) to the said outer-secondary insulation layer to maintain an inert atmosphere, prevent explosive gas concentration and to increase the insulative effectiveness of said outer-secondary insulation layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are frustrating for the Office. Why doesn’t applicant respond to the statement of rejection? It is almost as though applicant did not read the statement of rejection. The statement of rejection clear states: “a coupling part (conduits 46 and passages 45) connects a vacuum pump to the insulation layer (5), see Fig. 3 and paragraph [95], lines 1-7 indicating that a vacuum or evacuation pump connects to passages 45 to evacuate insulation layer (5).” Then applicant responds with “Ducloy fails to disclose a coupling part... “ Unbelievable. This is non-responsive. Why doesn’t applicant consider the conduits 46 and passage 45? No response.
It seems like applicant’s strategy is to distract the Office from the issues in the case by raising discussion about differences in the claims of Ducloy and discussion of the through element 42 [see Fig. 3, as added to applicant’s remarks submitted 6 August 2026]. This is structure that the Office has not identified. The Office never identified any text within Ducloy’s claims as defining the structure of applicant’s claims. The Office never stated that Ducloy’s element 42 was significant. This is awkward for applicant to raise insignificant issues. Remarks about differences in Ducloy are not significant.
Conclusion
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733