DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 30th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in the application. Examiner withdraws the objection to the claims and the 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 30th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the intermediate pieces" in the second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will consider “the intermediate pieces” to be the same as “the at least one resilient intermediate piece”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holger
Vollrath et al. (DE 102004029430 A1 – hereinafter Vollrath) in view of Robert Jaynes (US
8453548 B2 – hereinafter Jaynes).
Regarding claim 1, Vollrath teaches a cutting apparatus (Fig. 1) for segmenting a tube
blister pack (Fig. 3, Film Tube 2. Although the cutting apparatus is not disclosed to segment a
tube blister pack, the examiner interprets that the workpiece of a film tube is similar to that of a
tube blister pack, and that the cutting apparatus of Vollrath is equally capable of segmenting a
tube blister pack), comprising a blade (Fig. 3, Blade 7) that can be moved against an abutment
(Fig. 3, Jaw 4), wherein the tube blister pack (Fig. 3) can be guided between the abutment and
the blade, characterized in that the blade is held in a cutting unit comprising a blade holder (Fig.
3, Anvil 12), which can be moved back-and-forth (Fig. 1 and 2), and a blade guide (Fig. 1, Jaw
3) which is provided with a cut-out (Fig. 1, cut-out in Jaw 3 in which Blade 7 resides) for the
blade to pass through and is coupled to the blade holder (Fig. 1), wherein the blade holder and
blade guide are coupled to one another by means of at least one resilient intermediate piece (Fig.
1, Spring 15), wherein a cutting edge (Fig. 1, Cutting Edge 9) of the blade is arranged in the cut-out in an initial position (Fig. 3) of the cutting unit, wherein, moreover, when performing a cutting operation, the cutting unit is movable from the initial position towards the abutment until the blade guide abuts against the abutment while fixing the tube blister pack and the blade holder is movable against the blade guide during resilient deformation of the intermediate pieces and, in a cutting setting, the blade edge emerges from the cut-out for performing the cutting operation
(Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Vollrath does not teach that the blade and blade holder can be moved by means of a
motor.
However, Jaynes teaches a cutting apparatus with a blade (Fig. 8, Blade 310) and blade
holder (Fig. 8, Blade Carriage 314) which can be moved by means of a motor (Col. 11, lines 43-
45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath to include the
limitations of claim 1 above as taught by Jaynes as a simple substitution of one known element
for another to obtain predictable results. The invention of Vollrath differed from the claimed
device only in the means of moving the blade and blade holder. Vollrath employed a pneumatic
cylinder to achieve this movement, while Jaynes used a motor. It is known in the art that both
could be used to impart movement, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one
for the other to yield the predictable result of imparting linear motion to a blade and blade holder.
Regarding claim 3, Vollrath further teaches the cutting apparatus according to claim 1,
characterized in that the cutting apparatus comprises a releasable locking device (Fig. 1,
Adjusting Device 18) in the direction of movement of the cutting apparatus (Page 3, second to
last paragraph), which is configured to prevent a movement of the blade holder relative to the
blade guide (Page 3, second to last paragraph), to impede the blade edge from emerging from the
blade guide (Page 3, second to last paragraph), wherein the locking device is in a locking setting
until shortly before the cutting setting and can then be moved into a release setting (Page 3,
second to last paragraph).
Claims 4-8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Holger Vollrath et al. (DE 102004029430 A1 – hereinafter Vollrath) in view of Robert
Jaynes (US 8453548 B2 – hereinafter Jaynes) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Peter Schmidt (WO 2017009178 A1 – hereinafter Schmidt).
Regarding claim 4, the existing combination of Vollrath and Jaynes does not teach the
cutting apparatus according to claim 3, characterized in that the locking device comprises a link,
and a ratchet, that can be tilted about a transverse axis, which at one end comprises a guide arm
that rests against the link and at the other end comprises a locking arm.
However, Schmidt teaches a cutting apparatus, characterized in that a locking device
comprises a link (Fig. 9 and Fig. 10, Bolt 34), and a ratchet (Fig. 9 and Fig. 10, portion of Shaft
23 shown in Fig. 9), that can be tilted about a transverse axis (tilting action shown between Fig. 9
and Fig. 10), is arranged on the blade guide, which at one end comprises a guide arm (Fig. 9, top
end of the portion of Shaft 23 shown) that rests against the link and at the other end comprises a
locking arm (Fig. 9, bottom end of portion of Shaft 23 shown). Schmidt does not teach that the
ratchet is arranged on the blade guide, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of
the ratchet as it has been held that the position of a feature may be in a different location as an
obvious matter of design choice as long as it does not modify the operation of the device In re
Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7
(CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath and Jaynes to
include the limitations of claim 4 above as taught by Schmidt. Doing so is beneficial as it can
allow for the blade to be removed (Schmidt; Page 7, Para 8).
Regarding claim 5, the existing combination of Vollrath, Jaynes, and Schmidt already
teaches the cutting apparatus according to claim 4, characterized in that the link comprises a
locking section (Fig. 9, wider portion of Bolt 34) and a releasing section (Fig. 9, thinner portion
of Bolt 34), wherein, in the locking section that starts from the initial position, the ratchet is held
in the locked setting (Fig. 10) and, in the releasing section, a movement of the ratchet into the
release setting can be effected (Fig. 9, the ratchet is free to rotate), in which the blade edge
emerges from the cut-out to perform the cutting operation (Page 7, Para 2-3; the blade edge is
properly secured and positioned to perform the cutting operation when in the release setting).
Regarding claims 6, 12, 13, 14, and 15, the existing combination of Vollrath and Jaynes
does not teach the cutting apparatus, characterized in that the cutting apparatus comprises a
slicing blade for forming a slicing blade slit in the tube blister pack.
However, Schmidt teaches a cutting apparatus which comprises a slicing blade (Fig. 7,
leftmost Knife 22 shown) for forming a slicing blade slit in a workpiece (Fig. 1, Film Web 8) in
addition to a blade (Fig. 7, rightmost Knife 22 shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath and Jaynes to
include the limitations of claims 6, 12, 13, 14, and 15 above as taught by Schmidt. Doing so is
beneficial as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a plurality of knives allows for
a plurality of cuts to be made in the same motion, improving efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Vollrath, Jaynes, and Schmidt already teaches
the cutting apparatus according to claim 6, characterized in that the slicing blade is mounted on
the blade holder (See the rejection of claim 6 above – Schmidt teaches that the blade and the
slicing blade are located on the same component, and when introducing the slicing blade to the
combination of Vollrath and Jaynes would mean that the slicing blade is also located on the
blade holder).
Regarding claim 8, the existing combination of Vollrath, Jaynes, and Schmidt does not
teach the cutting apparatus according to claim 7, characterized in that the blade guide comprises
a second slit for the slicing blade to pass through.
However, Schmidt further teaches that a blade guide (Fig. 6, Bottom Plate 30) comprises
a second slit (Fig. 6, Slot 29 below the leftmost Knife 22 shown) for the slicing blade (Fig. 6, the
leftmost Knife 22 shown) to pass through.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath, Jaynes, and
Schmidt to include the limitations of claims 6, 12, 13, 14, and 15 above as taught by Schmidt.
Doing so is beneficial as it allows the slicing blade to protrude through the blade guide in order
to cut the workpiece (Schmidt; Page 7, Para 1-2).
Claims 9, 10, and 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Holger Vollrath et al. (DE 102004029430 A1 – hereinafter Vollrath) in
view of Robert Jaynes (US 8453548 B2 – hereinafter Jaynes) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 정래훈 (KR 101503524 B1 – hereinafter 정래훈).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the existing combination of Vollrath and Jaynes does not
teach the cutting apparatus, characterized in that the contact surface of the blade guide facing the
abutment is provided with a friction-enhancing coating.
However, 정래훈 teaches a cutting apparatus with a contact surface (Fig. 3, outer surface
of Friction Member 132) that is provided with a friction-enhancing coating (Page 4, Para 6). It
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the location of the contact surface as it has been held that the
position of a feature may be in a different location as an obvious matter of design choice as long
as it does not modify the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70
(CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath and Jaynes to
include the features of claims 9 and 16 above as taught by 정래훈. Doing so is beneficial as it
increases the frictional force between the contact surface and the workpiece (정래훈; Page 4,
Para 6).
Regarding claims 10, 18, and 20, the existing combination of Vollrath and Jaynes does
not teach the cutting apparatus, characterized in that the contact surface of the abutment facing
the blade guide is provided with a friction-enhancing coating.
However, 정래훈 teaches a cutting apparatus with a contact surface (Fig. 3, outer surface
of Friction Member 132) that is provided with a friction-enhancing coating (Page 4, Para 6). It
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the location of the contact surface as it has been held that the
position of a feature may be in a different location as an obvious matter of design choice as long
as it does not modify the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70
(CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath and Jaynes to
include the features of claims 10, 18, and 20 above as taught by 정래훈. Doing so is beneficial
as it increases the frictional force between the contact surface and the workpiece (정래훈; Page
4, Para 6).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holger
Vollrath et al. (DE 102004029430 A1 – hereinafter Vollrath) in view of Robert Jaynes (US
8453548 B2 – hereinafter Jaynes) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim
Balahan et al. (CN 103124619 A – hereinafter Balahan).
Regarding claim 11, the existing combination of Vollrath and Jaynes does not teach the
cutting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a current monitoring unit in order to return the cutting unit to the initial position if a current threshold value is exceeded.
However, Jaynes further teaches a cutting apparatus, further comprising a monitoring unit (Fig. 7A, Sensor 306) in order to return the cutting unit to an initial position if a threshold value is exceeded (Col. 12, lines 16-34 - a pressure value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath and Jaynes to include the limitations of claim 11 above as taught by Jaynes. Doing so is beneficial as it allows for a failure in operation to be detected (Jaynes; Col. 12, lines 16-34).
Jaynes does not teach that the monitoring unit is a current monitoring unit, and that the
threshold value is a current threshold value.
However, Balahan teaches a cutting apparatus which utilizes a current monitoring unit
which measures a current threshold value ([0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath and Jaynes to
include the limitations of claim 11 above as taught by Balahan. Doing so is beneficial as the
monitoring unit can be included in the motor (Balahan; [0062]).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Holger Vollrath et al. (DE 102004029430 A1 – hereinafter Vollrath) in view of Robert
Jaynes (US 8453548 B2 – hereinafter Jaynes) and Peter Schmidt (WO 2017009178 A1 –
hereinafter Schmidt) as applied to claims 6 above, and further in view of 정래훈 (KR
101503524 B1 – hereinafter 정래훈).
Regarding claim 17, the existing combination of Vollrath, Jaynes, and Schmidt does not
teach the cutting apparatus, characterized in that the contact surface of the blade guide facing the
abutment is provided with a friction-enhancing coating.
However, 정래훈 teaches a cutting apparatus with a contact surface (Fig. 3, outer surface
of Friction Member 132) that is provided with a friction-enhancing coating (Page 4, Para 6). It
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the location of the contact surface as it has been held that the
position of a feature may be in a different location as an obvious matter of design choice as long
as it does not modify the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70
(CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath, Jaynes, and
Schmidt to include the features of claim 17 above as taught by 정래훈. Doing so is beneficial as
it increases the frictional force between the contact surface and the workpiece (정래훈; Page 4,
Para 6).
Regarding claim 19, the existing combination of Vollrath, Jaynes, and Schmidt does not
teach the cutting apparatus, characterized in that the contact surface of the abutment facing the
blade guide is provided with a friction-enhancing coating.
However, 정래훈 teaches a cutting apparatus with a contact surface (Fig. 3, outer surface
of Friction Member 132) that is provided with a friction-enhancing coating (Page 4, Para 6). It
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the location of the contact surface as it has been held that the
position of a feature may be in a different location as an obvious matter of design choice as long
as it does not modify the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70
(CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Vollrath, Jaynes, and
Schmidt to include the features of claim 19 above as taught by 정래훈. Doing so is beneficial as
it increases the frictional force between the contact surface and the workpiece (정래훈; Page 4,
Para 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that since the resilient intermediate piece of Vollrath (Spring 15) has no function during the movement of the blade towards the film to be cut, and rather functions as part of a reset device, that Vollrath does not teach all the claimed limitations of claim 1. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (see above) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). No part of claim 1 requires that the resilient intermediate piece has some kind of function during the movement of the blade arrangement. Further, the claims as written do not specify that the intermediate piece cannot function as part of a reset device. Currently, the Spring 15 of Vollrath appropriately teaches all related limitations of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLA L KEENA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724