DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/133310 filed on 11/21/2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202210210964.3 filed on 3/4/2022 and CHINA 202210400170.3 filed on 4/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 8/28/2024, 4/29/2026, and 10/20/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, 7, 10-12, and 33 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, the expression “an frequency division duplex (FDD) band” is grammatically incorrect. It is requested to amend the expression to “a frequency division duplex (FDD) band”. Additionally, “Band Width Part (BWP)” should be corrected to “bandwidth part (BWP)”.
In claim 5, the expression “configured for configuring” is unnecessarily repetitive and should be revised for grammatical clarity, for example, to “configured to configure”.
In claim 7, the expression “in the plurality of frequency domain resources” is grammatically awkward. Applicant is requested to clarify the expression, for example, by reciting “from among the plurality of frequency resources”.
In claim 10, the expression “the DCI is DCI used for” is grammatically awkward and should be revised for grammatical clarity.
In claim 11, it is suggested to amend the claim to read as follows for clarity.
11. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 2, wherein respective portions of frequency domain resources at a lower frequency boundary and an upper frequency boundary of the frequency spectrum resource are served and excluded from the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission.
In claim 12, the expression “granularity … takes six resource blocks (RBs) as a unit” should be revised to clearly recite that the frequency domain resources have a granularity of six resource blocks.
In claim 33, the expressions “preset uplink and downlink resource division manner” and “pre-specified division manner” should be made consistent if they refer to the same resource division manner.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 37:
Claim 37 recites a limitation “the plurality of frequency domain resources” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. Additionally, the expression “in the plurality of frequency domain resources” should be revised for grammatical clarity, for example, to “from among the plurality of frequency domain resources”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 15, 31, 33, 37, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abotabl et al. (US 2021/0307010 A1, hereinafter Abotabl).
Regarding claim 1:
Abotabl teaches a data transmission method, performed by a terminal (see, Abotabl: Fig. 1, UE 115), and comprising:
determining frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit in the same frequency spectrum resource (see, Abotabl: para. [0103], “a base station 105 may provide an indication of a frequency band configuration for a slot. The indication of the frequency band configuration may indicate at least one downlink frequency band for downlink communications within the slot and at least one uplink frequency band for uplink communications within the slot.” See also para. [0111-0118]); and
performing data transmission according to the frequency domain resources (see, Abotabl: para. [0103], “The UE 115 and the base station 105 may communicate, within the slot (or multiple slots), via downlink communications within the downlink frequency band and uplink communications within the uplink frequency band.”; para. [0113], “with reference to wireless communications system 200 of FIG. 2 and frequency band configuration 400 of FIG. 4, UE 215-a may receive downlink transmissions 210-a over downlink frequency bands 415-a and 415-b and transmit uplink data transmissions 220 over uplink frequency band 420.”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl further teaches wherein the frequency spectrum resource comprises a time division duplex (TDD) band, an frequency division duplex (FDD) band for uplink, an FDD band for downlink, a carrier, a Band Width Part (BWP), or a band for deploying full duplex (see, Abotabl: para. [0110-0114], describing full-duplex frequency configurations involving BWPs, RBs, and resource elements.).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl further teaches wherein determining the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit in the same frequency spectrum resource comprises: acquiring the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit according to a preset uplink and downlink resource division manner (see, Abotabl: para. [0115-0118], describing predetermined frequency-band configurations and a table identifying frequency boundaries of the uplink and downlink bands.), wherein the frequency domain resources are obtained by dividing the frequency spectrum resource according to the preset uplink and downlink resource division manner (see, Abotabl: para. [0121-0124], describing bitmap-based frequency-band configurations.).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 3.
Abotabl further teaches wherein the frequency domain resources comprise a plurality of frequency domain resources used for uplink transmission and/or downlink transmission (see, Abotabl: para. [0113-0114], describing downlink frequency bands 415-a and 415-b and uplink frequency band 420 within a full-duplex slot.).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 6.
Abotabl further teaches wherein determining the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit in the same frequency spectrum resource comprises:
receiving downlink control information (DCI), the DCI being used for notifying the terminal to use one or more frequency domain resources used for uplink transmission and/or downlink transmission in the plurality of frequency domain resources used for uplink transmission and/or downlink transmission (see, Abotabl: para. [0115-0118]); and
determining the one or more frequency domain resources used for uplink transmission and/or downlink transmission according to the DCI (see, Abotabl: para. [0121-0124], describing a UE decoding DCI and determining uplink and downlink frequency-band boundaries.).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 7.
Abotabl further teaches wherein determining the one or more frequency domain resources used for uplink transmission and/or downlink transmission according to the DCI comprises:
determining the one or more frequency domain resources used for uplink transmission and/or downlink transmission through frequency domain resource allocation information of the DCI (see, Abotabl: para. [0122], describing UE decoding of DCI to identify a bitmap; para. [0123-0124], describing bitmap bits corresponding to frequency ranges such as RBs or PRGs and indicating uplink or downlink frequency resources.).
Regarding claim 9:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 6.
Abotabl further teaches wherein there is an association relationship between uplink frequency domain resources and downlink frequency domain resources among the plurality of uplink and downlink frequency domain resources (see, Abotabl: para. [0115-0118] [0134-0136], describing the UL/DL resource association.).
Regarding claim 10:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 7.
Abotabl further teaches wherein the DCI is DCI used for scheduling a PDSCH or a PUSCH, or DCI used for configuring the uplink frequency domain resources and/or downlink frequency domain resources (see, Abotabl: para. [0115-0118] [0121-0124], describing DCI-based frequency-band configuration indications.).
Regarding claim 15:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl further teaches wherein the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit are valid in a part of time units (see, Abotabl: para. [0138-0143], describing frequency-band configurations applicable to selected full-duplex slots. In particular, para. [0143] describes a first frequency-band configuration applicable to every fourth full-duplex slot and a second frequency-band configuration applicable to intervening full-duplex slots.).
Regarding claim 31:
Claim 31 is directed towards a terminal (see, Abotabl: Fig. 1, UE 115; Fig. 12, UE 115) for data transmission, comprising a memory (see, Abotabl: Fig. 12, Memory 1230), a transceiver (see, Abotabl: Fig. 12, Transceiver 1220) and a processor (see, Abotabl: Fig. 12, Processor 1240); the memory being configured to store a computer program; the transceiver being configured to receive and send data under control of the processor (see, Abotabl: para. [0145]); and the processor being configured to read the computer program in the memory and execute the operations of the data transmission method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 33:
Claim 33 is directed towards the terminal according to claim 31 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 33 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 37:
Claim 37 is directed towards the terminal according to claim 31 that is further limited to similar features to claim 7. Therefore, claim 37 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 62:
Claim 62 is directed towards a non-volatile computer readable storage medium (see, Abotabl: Fig. 12, Memory 1230), wherein the computer readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured for causing a processor to execute: the data transmission method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 62 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Abotabl et al. (US 2021/0400637 A1, hereinafter Abotabl-2).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl further teaches that the UE receives RRC signaling identifying slot-format information and control information identifying uplink and downlink frequency-band configurations (see, Abotabl: para. [0117-0118] [0121-0124]). Abotabl additionally discloses receiving RRC signaling indicating adjustments to the boundaries of uplink and downlink frequency bands, including indications of which frequency band to reduce, the amount of reduction, and granularity of frequency ranges represented by bitmap bits (see, Abotabl: para. [0130]).
In the same field of endeavor, Abotabl-2 teaches RRC-based configuration and interpretation of slots supporting uplink and downlink operation within a common carrier bandwidth (see, Abotabl-2: Figs. 13-15, describing the downlink-uplink (DU) slot interpretation embodiments. See also para. [0126-0128]).
To the extent Abotabl does not expressly disclose that the RRC signaling configures the complete frequency-domain resource arrangement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abotabl in combination of the teachings of Abotabl-2 to use the known RRC configuration mechanism for communicating the frequency-domain resource configuration to the UE. Such a modification would have allowed the UE to determine uplink and downlink frequency-domain resources from a configured resource arrangement before performing data transmission, using an established higher-layer signaling mechanism.
Accordingly, Abotabl in view of Abotabl-2 teaches wherein determining the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit in the same frequency spectrum resource comprises: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RRC signaling being used for configuring the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit in the frequency spectrum resource; and determining the frequency domain resources used for uplink and downlink transmission at the same time unit according to the RRC signaling.
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Abotabl in view of Abotabl-2 teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Abotabl further teaches wherein the RRC signaling is configured for configuring frequency domain resources corresponding to a cell level or a terminal group level or a terminal level (see, Abotabl: para. [0130], describing the RRC configuration for configuration frequency domain resources is, at least, corresponding to a terminal level.).
Regarding claim 34:
Claim 34 is directed towards the terminal according to claim 31 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4. Therefore, claim 34 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Zhang et al. (EP 3836474 A1, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 11:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Abotabl does not explicitly teach wherein a part of resources is reserved on two sides of the frequency spectrum resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein a part of resources is reserved on two sides of the frequency spectrum resource (see, Zhang: Figs. 3A and 3B, para. [0039-0041] [0047-0049], and claim 2. Zhang discloses that the guard zones are implemented by scheduling no transmissions on selected subcarriers at the carrier-bandwidth edges.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abotabl in combination of the teachings of Zhang to reserve frequency-domain resources at the lower and upper frequency boundaries of the carrier of bandwidth part used in Abotabl’s full-duplex resource-allocation scheme, as taught by Zhang in order to reduce out-of-band emissions and interference with neighboring frequency allocations, while retaining Abotabl’s internal guard bands for separating simultaneous uplink and downlink transmission.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Wu et al. (WO 2023/131238 A1, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 12:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl does not explicitly teach wherein granularity of the frequency domain resources used for uplink/downlink transmission takes six resource blocks (RBs) as a unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein granularity of the frequency domain resources used for uplink/downlink transmission takes six resource blocks (RBs) as a unit (see, Wu: page 14 (see, page 16 of English Translation), “the frequency domain resources of PDCCH are the RB resources occupied by CORESET; because the protocol defines that in some scenarios, the number of RBs occupied by CORESET is an integer multiple of 6”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abotabl in combination of the teachings of Wu to achieve the purpose of coexistence with other PDCCH transmissions (see, Wu: page 14 (see, page 16 of English Translation)).
Regarding claim 13:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl does not explicitly teach wherein a starting resource block (RB) index of the frequency domain resources used for uplink and/or downlink transmission is an integer multiple of 6.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches wherein a starting resource block (RB) index of the frequency domain resources used for uplink and/or downlink transmission is an integer multiple of 6 (see, Wu: page 14 (see, page 16 of English Translation), “the frequency domain resources of PDCCH are the RB resources occupied by CORESET; … the index of the starting RB is also an integer multiple of 6”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abotabl in combination of the teachings of Wu to achieve the purpose of coexistence with other PDCCH transmissions (see, Wu: page 14 (see, page 16 of English Translation)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Xiao et al. (US 2024/0188060 A1, hereinafter Xiao).
Regarding claim 14:
As discussed above, Abotabl teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Abotabl does not explicitly teach wherein a width of the frequency spectrum resource is greater than or equal to 5 MHz.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao teaches wherein a width of the frequency spectrum resource is greater than or equal to 5 MHz (see, Xiao: para. [0086], “the default bandwidth is greater than or equal to 5 MHz.” Also, see claim 46.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Abotabl in combination of the teachings of Xiao to implement a bandwidth for narrowband communication, wherein the bandwidth is less than or equal to a default bandwidth of 5 MHz or greater (see, Xiao: Abstract and para. [0085-0086]).
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471