DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (JPH10204566, also see The Espacenet English Machine Translation Version “EEMTV”).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 8, Yoshida et al. teaches an aluminum alloy for casting (see abstract and EEMTV: para [0024]), containing: 6-12% by mass Si (which overlaps with claimed range of 5.0-8.0 by mass of Si), 0.1 -1.0% by mass Fe (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.2% to 0.6% by mass of Fe), 0.1-1.0% by mass Mn (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1% to 0.3% by mass of Mn), 0.3% or less by mass Cr (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1% to 0.3% by mass of Cr), 0.3% or less by mass V (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.05% to 0.2% by mass of V), 1.0-5.0% by mass Cu ( which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.2 to 1.0% by mass of Cu), 0.4-2.0% by mass of Mg (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.2 -0.6% by mass of Mg), 0.01-0.3% by mass Ti ( which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.005 to 0.25% by mass of Ti), 0.005-0.2% by mass Sr (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.005 to 0.05% by mass of Sr), with the balance being Al and inevitable impurities (see The English abstract, EEMTV: para [0009]-[0011] and [0024]). Though Yoshida et al. does not teach the exact mass % ranges of the elemental components of the aluminum alloy as claimed, however with reference to MPEP 2144.05 I. which pertains to the obviousness of Overlapping ranges, similar to the instantly -claimed aluminum alloy composition and that taught by Yoshida et al. , the Court held that In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida et al. teaches an aluminum alloy for casting (see abstract and EEMTV: para [0024]), containing: 6-12% by mass Si (which meets the claimed limitation more than 3.0% by mass and not more than 12.0% by mass of Si), 0.1 -1.0% by mass Fe (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.2% to 0.8% by mass of Fe), 0.1-1.0% by mass Mn (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1% to 0.7% by mass of Mn), 0.3% or less by mass Cr (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.05% to 0.4% by mass of Cr), 0.3% or less by mass V (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.05% to 0.3% by mass of V), 1.0-5.0% by mass Cu ( which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.2 to 2.0% by mass of Cu), 0.4-2.0% by mass of Mg (which overlaps
with the claimed range of not more than 1.0% by mass of Mg), 0.01-0.3% by mass Ti ( which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.005 to 0.25% by mass of Ti), 0.005-0.2% by mass Sr (which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.005 to 0.05% by mass of Sr), with the balance being Al and inevitable impurities (see The English abstract, EEMTV: para [0009]-[0011] and [0024]). Though Yoshida et al. does not teach the exact mass % ranges of the elemental components of the aluminum alloy as claimed, however with reference to MPEP 2144.05 I. which pertains to the obviousness of Overlapping ranges, similar to the instantly -claimed aluminum alloy composition and that taught by Yoshida et al. , the Court held that In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9-11, Yoshida et al. teaches an aluminum alloy castings comprising an aluminum alloy for casting (see English abstract, EEMTV: para [0009]-[0011] and [0024]) that comprises an iron-based compound Al-Mn-Fe, Al-Mn-Fe-Si (see EEMTV: para [0013]) that contains V (see EEMTV: para [0009]-[0011], [0019], [0024]) with improved processability or ductility (see EEMTV: para [0013]). Yoshida et al. fails to particularly teach the mode of length of the iron-based compound as being 12.5 μm or less and a tensile elongation of 4% or more as claimed, however because Yoshida et al. teaches an aluminum alloy casting of substantially the same composition and microstructure as that being claimed, it would, therefore reasonably be expected, absent any evidence to the contrary to show substantially the same properties and attributes as claimed, particularly since ductility of the aluminum alloy casting is said to be related to the claimed mode of length of iron-based compound as pointed out in Applicant’s specification para [0027]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki et al. (US 11,603,582), Ueno et al. (US2002/0197506)
and Kuramoto et al. (US11,591,674) are also cited in PTO-892.
/M.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759