DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2009/0140369).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a semiconductor device (Figure 2), comprising: a semiconductor chip (Figure 2, reference 121); and a thermistor (Figure 2, reference 130) mounted on the semiconductor chip (Figure 2, reference 121), wherein the thermistor is mounted on an insulating substrate (Figure 2, reference 150) bonded to the semiconductor chip (Figure 2, reference 121), and the semiconductor chip (Figure 2, reference 121) and the thermistor (Figure 2, reference 130) are insulated from each other by the insulating substrate (Figure 2, reference 150), and formed on the insulating substrate (Figure 2, reference 121) is at least one pattern wiring leading an electrode (Figure 2, reference 141) of the thermistor (Figure 2, reference 130) outside of the thermistor (Figure 1, reference 130) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein formed on the insulating substrate (Figure 2, reference 150) are the two pattern wirings (Figure 2, references 183 and 184) leading two electrodes (Figure 2, references 141 and 145) of the thermistor (Figure 2, reference 130) outside of the thermistor in a plan view, respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses wherein an effective region of the semiconductor chip (Figure 2, reference 121 outer edge area) extends to a lower side of a position where the thermistor (Figure 2, reference 130) is mounted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2009/0140369) in view of Schweikert et al (US 2020/0321262 A1).
Lee discloses all of the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lee does not disclose wherein the semiconductor chip is formed using SiC (claim 4).
Schweikert et al disclose wherein the semiconductor chip (Figure 1, reference 103) is formed using SiC (paragraphs 0017-0018).
It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee with the teachings of Schweikert et al to form a semiconductor chip with SiC because SiC, Si, SiGe, GaAs, GaN, are well known specific semiconductor materials used for semiconductor chips in the formation of semiconductor modules which may comprise AC/DC or DC/DC converter circuits, power MOS transistors, power Schottky diodes, JFETs (Junction Gate Field Effect Transistors), power bipolar transistors, logic integrated circuits, etc.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2009/0140369) in view of Naka et al (US 2003/0113076 A1).
Lee discloses the above independently claimed subject matter.
However, Lee does not disclose wherein the semiconductor chip and the insulating substrate are bonded to each other by a bonding material containing Ag (claim 5) nor wherein the insulating substrate is formed by AlN (claim 6).
Naka et al discloses wherein the semiconductor chip (Figure 6, reference 10) and the insulating substrate (Figure 6, reference 27a) are bonded to each other by a bonding material (Figure 6, reference 28) containing Ag (paragraph 0094) and wherein the insulating substrate is formed by AlN (paragraph 0087).
It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee with the teachings of Naka et al for the purpose of bonding an insulating substrate to a semiconductor chip by using a silver paste because the silver paste material rarely cracks from the thermal strain occurring at the bonding portions of the electronic part whereby peeling-off of the chip parts can be prevented in semiconductor devices. Also, aluminum nitride as well as silicon carbide and silicon are material used as an insulating substrate because they have a thermal expansion coefficient similar to a thermal expansion coefficient of quartz or the like constituting an optical element such as a semiconductor laser chip or a photo diode chip, or the optical fiber in semiconductor devices.
Conclusion
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
mdh
September 11, 2026