DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25, and thus its dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 25 recites the limitation of “a joint structure”, however it is unclear from both Applicant’s specification and/or drawings what the “joint structure” consists of. Paragraphs 0040-0046 of Applicant’s specification describes the joint structure as the element connecting the two body parts together, such that the two body parts may pivot in relation to one another, and describes the “joint structure” as element 32. However, Figure 2, the only Figure showing element 32, appears to merely be pointing to the body part 30 itself (in this case, the user’s leg). Therefore, it is unclear if the “joint structure” as recited in claim 25, is a specific joint structure of the user, or is the structure that connects the two body parts, such as the rod-like fastening elements 42, 44 as shown in Figure 2. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will consider the “joint structure” as being the user’s actual joint disposed between two corresponding body parts, such as the knee joint.
Additionally, claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 40 recites the limitation "the back movement film actuator”, however a back movement film actuator has not been previously introduced by any claims. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25, and thus its dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 25 recites the limitation of “a joint structure”, however it is unclear from both Applicant’s specification and/or drawings what the “joint structure” consists of. Paragraphs 0040-0046 of Applicant’s specification describes the joint structure as the element connecting the two body parts together, such that the two body parts may pivot in relation to one another, and describes the “joint structure” as element 32. However, Figure 2, the only Figure showing element 32, appears to merely be pointing to the body part 30 itself (in this case, the user’s leg). Therefore, it is unclear if the “joint structure” as recited in claim 25, is a specific joint structure of the user, or is the structure that connects the two body parts, such as the rod-like fastening elements 42, 44 as shown in Figure 2. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will consider the “joint structure” as being the user’s actual joint disposed between two corresponding body parts, such as the knee joint.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-39 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kornbluh et al. (US 2014/0277739 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Kornbluh discloses a device for generating or assisting a relative movement between two body parts which are connected to one another via a joint structure (flexible exosuit 100 used for relative motion of the user’s legs by connecting the user’s waist and at the knee, Abstract and Figure 1; the Examiner notes the 112b rejection presented above), the device comprising: a first load-bearing structure which is attached to a first body part of the two body parts (see force-transmitting elements 130 of the flexible exosuit 100 attached around the hip of the user, Paragraph 0075 and Figure 1b); a second load-bearing structure which is attached to a second body part of the two body parts (see a second force-transmitting element 130 of the exosuit 100 attached at the knee of the user, Figure 1b), the second body part being pivotable relative to the first body part (the exosuit 100 may be operated to assist the wearer 110 in walking by adding energy to the motion of the user’s legs, therefore the first and second body parts are pivotable with one another, Paragraph 0074); and an actuator which connects the first load bearing structure to the second load bearing structure, wherein, the actuator is an electrostatic linear film actuator (the exosuit 100 comprises flexible liner actuators 150a-c, 170a-d, such as electroactive polymer artificial muscle actuators to therefore connect the force transmitting elements 130, Paragraphs 0078, 0087 and Figure 1b).
Regarding claim 26, Kornbluh further discloses wherein the electrostatic linear film actuator comprises, a stator which is at least indirectly connected to one of the first load-bearing structure and the second load-bearing structure and a sliding element which is at least indirectly connected to the other one of the load -bearing structures (the flexible linear actuators 150a-c, 170a-cd, which are connected to the first and second load bearing elements, may comprise a twisted string actuator 500a comprising a stator of a motor 540b configured to displace/slide the first and second actuated elements 510b and 520b, Paragraph 0149 and Figure 1b and Figure 5a).
Regarding claim 27, Kornbluh further discloses an energy accumulator (the flexible linear exo-tendons may store mechanical energy, Paragraph 0077); and a control electronics which is connected to the energy accumulator (the mechanical properties of the exo-tendons may be controlled by an electrical or other control signal, Paragraph 0077), wherein, the stator comprises first electrodes arranged therein, the sliding element comprises second electrodes arranged therein, and each of the first electrodes and the second electrodes are configured to be suppliable with different multi-phase alternating voltages from the control electronics which is connected to the energy accumulator (the electroactive polymer artificial muscle can include two or more electrodes configured to interact by way of an electric field with an electroactive polymer material causing the electrically active materials to expand, contract, or otherwise respond to the electric field to change the material to change size, Paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 28, Kornbluh further discloses the sliding element of the electrostatic linear film actuator is at least indirectly connected to the second load-bearing structure, and the stator of the electrostatic linear film actuator is at least indirectly connected to the first load-bearing structure (the flexible linear actuators 150a-c, 170a-cd, which are connected to the first and second load bearing elements, may comprise a twisted string actuator 500a comprising a stator of a motor 540b configured to displace/slide the first and second actuated elements 510b and 520b, Paragraph 0149 and Figure 1b and Figure 5a).
Regarding claim 29, Kornbluh further discloses wherein the stator and the sliding element of the electrostatic linear film actuator are each arranged between the joint structure and one of the first load-bearing structure and the second load-bearing structure (the flexible linear actuators 150a-c, 170a-cd, which are connected to the first and second load bearing elements, may comprise a twisted string actuator 500a comprising a stator of a motor 540b configured to displace/slide the first and second actuated elements 510b and 520b, Paragraph 0149 and Figure 1b and Figure 5a).
Regarding claim 30, Kornbluh further discloses wherein the stator of the electrostatic linear film actuator rests completely on the first body part or on the second body part (the stator residing in the flexible actuators 150a-c, 170a-d are disposed completely on the user, therefore on the first or second body part, Figure 1b; the Examiner notes this configured is similar to what is shown in Applicants Figure – where the stator is indicated as element 20).
Regarding claim 31, Kornbluh further discloses wherein the stator of the electrostatic linear film actuator rests on a side of one of the first body part and the second body part towards which a movement of the second body part is effected (the stator residing in the flexible actuators 150a-c, 170a-d are disposed completely on the user, therefore on the first or second body part, Figure 1b; the Examiner notes this configured is similar to what is shown in Applicants Figure – where the stator is indicated as element 20).
Regarding claim 32, Kornbluh further discloses wherein, the first load-bearing structure is arranged at the first body part which is not to be moved (force-transmitting element 130 disposed at the user’s waist, which remains stationary, Figure 1b), the second load-bearing structure is arranged at the second body part which is to be moved relative to the first body part (second force-transmitting element 130 disposed at the user’s knee configured to be moved during user’s walking, Figure 1b), and a distance of the one of the first load-bearing structure and the second load-bearing structure to the joint structure between the two body parts is smaller than a distance of the respectively other one of the first load-bearing structure and the second load-bearing structure to the joint structure between the two body parts (the Examiner notes the 112b rejection presented above regarding the joint structure).
Regarding claim 33, Kornbluh further discloses wherein each of the first load-bearing structure and the second load-bearing structure are flexible and adjustable (the entire exosuit 100 is flexible, Abstract; exosuit is also adjustable to accommodate the size of the individual wearer, Paragraph 0288).
Regarding claim 34, Kornbluh further discloses wherein, the first load-bearing structure comprises a textile band, and the second load-bearing structure comprises a textile band (the various force-transmitting elements 130 may comprise textiles, Paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 35, Kornbluh further discloses further comprising: a plurality of the electrostatic linear film actuator, and wherein, the plurality of the electrostatic linear film actuators are connected to the first load- bearing structure and to the second load-bearing structure (see the plurality of flexible linear actuators 150a-c, 170a-d connecting the first and second load-bearing structures, Figure 1b).
Regarding claim 36, Kornbluh further discloses a system for generating or assisting a plurality of relative movements between body parts which are connected to one another via a joint structure (Abstract, Figures 1a-1b), the system comprising: a plurality of the device as recited in claim 25 (see Figures 1a-1b showing a plurality of the flexible linear actuators); a hip load bearing structure which is arranged at a waist or at a hip (see at least one force transmitting member 130 located at the wait/hip of the user, Figure 1b); two electrostatic thigh movement film actuators which are attached to the hip load bearing structure (see at least two actuators 150a-150c, 170a-d attached to the hip member 130, Figure 1b; such as electroactive polymer artificial muscle actuators to therefore connect the force transmitting elements 130, Paragraphs 0078, 0087 and Figure 1b), the two electrostatic thigh movement film actuators comprising a first thigh movement film actuator and a second thigh movement film actuator (see at least two actuators 150a-150c, 170a-d attached to the hip member 130, therefore comprising a first and second thigh movement actuator, Figure 1b; such as electroactive polymer artificial muscle actuators to therefore connect the force transmitting elements 130, Paragraphs 0078, 0087 and Figure 1b); a first thigh load bearing structure attached at a first thigh; and a second thigh load bearing structure attached at a second thigh (see Figure 1a showing the exosuit 100 having both a left leg components, therefore comprising a first and second thigh member 130), wherein, an end of the first thigh movement film actuator which faces away from the hip load bearing structure is attached to the first thigh load bearing structure at the first thigh, and an end the second thigh movement film actuator is which faces away from the hip load bearing structure attached to the second thigh load bearing structure at the second thigh (see Figure 1a showing the exosuit 100 having both a left leg components, therefore comprising a first and second thigh member 130).
Regarding claim 37, Kornbluh further discloses each of the first thigh load bearing structure and the second thigh load bearing structure comprises a first band at the thigh above a knee (see Figure 1b showing a force transmitting member 130 being a band above the knee of the user), and a second band at a lower leg below the knee (see Figure 1b showing a force transmitting member 130 being a band below the knee of the user), the first band is connected to the second band (see upper and lower bands around the knee being connected, figure 1b), and the first thigh movement film actuator rests on the first thigh (see actuators 150a-c, 170a-d resting on user’s thigh, Figure 1b), and the second thigh movement film actuator rests on the second thigh (see actuators 150a-c, 170a-d resting on user’s thigh, Figure 1b).
Regarding claim 38, Kornbluh further discloses further comprising: an energy accumulator which is arranged on the hip load-bearing structure (the flexible linear exo-tendons may store mechanical energy, Paragraph 0077); and control electronics which is arranged on the hip load-bearing structure (the mechanical properties of the exo-tendons may be controlled by an electrical or other control signal, Paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 39, Kornbluh further discloses a torso load bearing structure which is attached to the torso at a chest height (exosuit suit may take various forms, to include the flexible exosuit 100 attached to the user’s torso, Paragraph 0208); two electrostatic upper arm movement film actuators which are attached to the torso load bearing structure (see Figure 17 showing an embodiment of flexible exosuit 1700 comprising at least two upper arm actuators 1720a-b, Paragraph 0293), the two electrostatic upper arm film actuators comprising a first upper arm movement film actuator and a second upper arm movement film actuator (Paragraph 0293 and Figure 17); a first upper arm load bearing structure which is attached at a first upper arm; and a second upper arm load bearing structure which is attached at a second upper arm (may be worn by the user on both arms, therefore comprising both a first and second upper arm load bearing/actuator structure, Figure 17 and Paragraph 0293), wherein, an end of the first upper arm movement film actuator which faces away from the torso load bearing structure is attached to the first upper arm load bearing structure at the first upper arm, and an end of the second upper arm movement film actuator which faces away from the torso load bearing structure is attached to the second upper arm load bearing structure at the second upper arm (may be worn by the user on both arms, therefore comprising both a first and second upper arm load bearing/actuator structure, Figure 17 and Paragraph 0293).
Regarding claim 48, Kornbluh further discloses the first thigh movement film actuator comprises a plurality of thigh motion film actuators which are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1b showing a plurality of actuators 150a-c, 170a-d arranged in parallel; see also paragraph 0079 describing the actuators connected in parallel), the plurality of thigh motion film actuators being attached to the hip load bearing structure and to the first thigh load bearing structure (see Figure 1b showing the thigh actuators 150a-c, 170a-d attached to the hip and thigh structures), and the plurality of thigh motion film actuators being distributed around a circumference of the hip load bearing structure and of the first thigh load bearing structure (see Figure 1b showing actuators distributed around a circumference), and the second thigh movement film actuator comprises a plurality of thigh motion film actuators which are arranged in parallel (see Figure 1b showing a plurality of actuators 150a-c, 170a-d arranged in parallel; see also paragraph 0079 describing the actuators connected in parallel), the plurality of thigh motion film actuators being attached to the hip load bearing structure and to the second thigh load bearing structure (see Figure 1b showing the thigh actuators 150a-c, 170a-d attached to the hip and thigh structures), and the plurality of thigh motion film actuators being distributed around a circumference of the hip load bearing structure and of the second thigh load bearing structure (see Figure 1b showing actuators distributed around a circumference).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornbluh et al. (US 2014/0277739 A1) in view of Sonar et al. (US 2020/0093679 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Kornbluh teaches the system as recited in claim 39, however is silent on a back movement film actuator; wherein the torso load-bearing structure is connected to the hip load-bearing structure via the back movement film actuator.
However, Sonar teaches a soft, flexible exosuit (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a back movement film actuator (flexible actuators configured to move a user’s back, abstract and Paragraph 0019; Figures 1b and 8c-d) further comprising a torso load-bearing structure connected to the hip bearing structure via the back movement actuator (see both torso and hip straps connected to the back movement actuator, Figure 8b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kornbluh’s exosuit by including an actuator configured for back movement, as taught by Sonar, as providing assistive motion forces for the user’s back may further assist in assisting the user in walking or other movements involving both the legs and the torso.
Regarding claim 41, Sonar further teaches a plurality of the back motion film actuator which are arranged in parallel (see a plurality of actuators arranged in parallel as shown in Figure 7a), wherein, the plurality of the back motion film actuators are each attached to the torso load bearing structure and to the hip load bearing structure, and the plurality of the back motion film actuators are each distributed around a circumference of the torso load bearing structure and of the hip load bearing structure (see both torso and hip straps connected to the back movement actuator, arranged around a circumference of the torso, Figure 8b).
Regarding claim 42, Sonar further teaches wherein the back movement film actuator is arranged on a back between the torso load-bearing structure and the hip load- bearing structure (see both torso and hip straps connected to the back movement actuator, Figure 8b).
Claim(s) 43-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornbluh et al. (US 2014/0277739 A1) in view of Mahoney et al. (US 2020/0223071 A1).
Regarding claim 43, Kornbluh teaches the system as recited in claim 39, and although Figure 17 and Paragraph 0293 teach the exosuit being used to move a user’s shoulder and/or upper arm, Kornbluh doesn’t explicitly state wherein the torso load-bearing structure comprises, a first shoulder band which radially surrounds a first shoulder joint on a first torso side, a second shoulder band which radially surrounds a second shoulder joint on a second torso side, and a chest band which is configured to enclose the torso and to be connected on the first torso side to the first shoulder band and on the second torso side to the second shoulder band.
However, Mahoney teaches an exosuit system (Abstract, Figure 1) comprising flexible linear electrostatic actuators (one or more flexible, electrostatic linear actuators, Paragraph 0082), a torso load-bearing structure (upper torso LDM 220, Paragraph 0113 and Figures 2a-b), and a first and second shoulder bands which radially surrounds a shoulder (shoulder strap LDMs 116, Paragraph 0100 and Figures 2a-b), and a chest band configured to enclose the torso and be connected to the shoulder bands (see chest/torso straps connected to shoulder straps, Figures 2a-b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kornbluh’s exosuit by including first and second shoulder bands, as taught by Mahoney, as including shoulder and/or upper arm bands with the exosuit may further assist in generating assistive motions for the user, and the use of several shoulder straps/bands may aide in securing the exosuit to the user.
Regarding claim 44, Mahoney further teaches wherein, the first upper arm movement film actuator comprises a plurality upper arm motion film actuators which are arranged in parallel (see plurality of upper arm actuators 247 arranged in parallel, Figure 2a and Paragraph 0115), each of the plurality upper arm motion film actuators being attached to the torso load bearing structure and to the first upper arm load bearing structure (see upper arm actuators 247 connected to torso straps and upper arm straps, Figure 2a), and each of the plurality upper arm motion film actuators being distributed around a circumference of the first shoulder band and of the first upper arm load bearing structure (see Figure 2b showing the upper arm actuators distributed around a circumference), and the second upper arm movement film actuator comprises a plurality upper arm motion film actuators which are arranged in parallel (see plurality of upper arm actuators 247 arranged in parallel, Figure 2a and Paragraph 0115), each of the plurality upper arm motion film actuators being attached to the torso load bearing structure and to the second upper arm load bearing structure (see upper arm actuators 247 connected to torso straps and upper arm straps, Figure 2a), and each of the plurality upper arm motion film actuators being distributed around a circumference of the second shoulder band and of the second upper arm load bearing structure (see Figure 2b showing the upper arm actuators distributed around a circumference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kornbluh’s exosuit by including first and second shoulder bands, as taught by Mahoney, as including shoulder and/or upper arm bands with the exosuit may further assist in generating assistive motions for the user, and the use of several shoulder straps/bands may aide in securing the exosuit to the user.
Regarding claim 45, Mahoney further teaches wherein, the first upper arm movement film actuator is at least indirectly attached to the first shoulder band between the first upper arm load bearing structure and the torso load-bearing structure (see Figures 2a-2b showing the upper arm actuators indirectly attached to both the shoulder and torso straps), and the second upper arm movement film actuator is at least indirectly attached to the second shoulder band between the second upper arm load bearing structure and the torso load- bearing structure (see Figures 2a-2b showing the upper arm actuators indirectly attached to both the shoulder and torso straps).
Regarding claim 46, Mahoney further discloses a first underarm load-bearing structure (see under-arm strap 255, Figure 2b); a first underarm movement film actuator which is at least indirectly attached to the first upper arm load-bearing structure (see under-arm actuators 256 attached to under-arm strap, Figure 2b), an end of the first underarm movement film actuator which faces away from the first upper arm load-bearing structure being at least indirectly attached to the first underarm load-bearing structure (see Figure 2b), a second underarm load-bearing structure (see second under-arm strap 250, Figure 2b), and a second underarm movement film actuator which is at least indirectly attached to the second upper arm load-bearing structure (see second under-arm actuator 251 attached to under-arm strap, Figure 2b), an end of the second underarm movement film actuator which faces away from the second upper arm load-bearing structure being at least indirectly attached to the second underarm load-bearing structure (Figure 2b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kornbluh’s exosuit by including an under-arm structure and corresponding actuators, as further taught by Mahoney, as including an under-arm structure with corresponding actuators with the exosuit may further assist in generating assistive motions for the user when the user is required to move their arms.
Regarding claim 47, Mahoney further teaches wherein the first upper arm load bearing structure is arranged near a first elbow joint (see upper-arm strap arranged at the elbow joint, Figure 2b), the second upper arm load bearing structure is arranged near a second elbow joint (the exosuit 200 comprises a left and right side, therefore comprising a second upper-arm strap, Figure 2b), the first underarm load bearing structure is arranged near a first wrist joint so that the first upper arm motion film actuator rest on the first upper arm and the first underarm motion film actuator rests on a first underarm (lower arm LDMs 124, 126 may be secured near a wrist, Paragraph 0101 and Figure 1a), and the second underarm load bearing structure is arranged near a second wrist joint so that the second upper arm motion film actuator rests on the second upper arm and the second underarm motion film actuator rests on a second underarm (lower arm LDMs 124, 126 may be secured near a wrist, Paragraph 0101 and Figure 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kornbluh’s exosuit by including a structures arranged near both an elbow joint and the wrist of the user, as further taught by Mahoney, as including such lower-arm structures and corresponding actuators with the exosuit may further assist in generating assistive motions for the user when the user is required to move their arms.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Walsh et al. (US 2022/0047444 A1) and Woge et al. (US 2022/0223133 A1).
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785