DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0219435 A1) in combination with Deng et al (CN 107193064 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0002] and [0019]-[0021]; Figures 1 and 2) teaches a process (see paragraphs [0002] (optical elements (e.g., composite lens)) of Yuan), including (i) at least one preparation step, wherein the preparation step includes providing at least one substrate having at least one first surface and at least one second surface, wherein the second surface is located opposite with respect to the first surface (see Figure 1, paragraph [0019] (substrate 112a (part of optical filter 112)) of Yuan); (ii) at least one step, wherein the step includes applying at least one first layer to the first surface of the substrate, wherein the first layer includes at least one of an optical filter and an anti-reflection coating (see Figure 1, paragraph [0019] (first filter film 112b is disposed on the surface of substrate 112a; first filter film is an infrared cut filter) of Yuan; and (iii) at least one molding step, wherein the molding step includes molding at least one optical lens onto the first layer, wherein the optical lens is molded onto the first layer by using injection molding (see Figure 1, paragraph [0020] (injection molding is utilized to form the composite lens 11; material for body 111 is injected at high pressure into a mold) of Yuan). Yuan does not teach (1) a deposition step (claim 1(ii)). Deng et al (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0002], [0021] and [0034] of the translation) teaches a process (see paragraph [0002] (process of making a lens) of Deng et al), including a deposition step (see paragraph [0021] (a light-shielding material is deposited on one side of a transparent substrate by magnetron sputtering (i.e., a physical vapor deposition technique)) of Deng et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a deposition step in the process of Yuan in view of Deng et al in order to improve uniformity and intensity of lighting (see paragraph [0034] of Deng et al).
Regarding claim 2, see paragraph [0019] (substrate 112a includes glass) of Yuan.
Regarding claim 3, see Figure 1, paragraph [0019] (first filter film 112b is an infrared cut filter (i.e., a band pass filter)) of Yuan.
Regarding claim 4, see Figure 2, paragraph [0021] (optical filter 11 can include a second filter film 112c disposed on an opposite surface of substrate 112b from first filter film 112a) of Yuan.
Regarding claim 5, see Figure 1, paragraph [0021] (second filter film 112c can also be an infrared cut filter (i.e., a band pass filter)) of Yuan.
Regarding claim 6, see paragraph [0021] (a light-shielding material is deposited on one side of a transparent substrate by magnetron sputtering (i.e., a physical vapor deposition technique)) of Deng et al.
Regarding claim 7, see paragraph [0020] (molten plastic) of Yuan.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0219435 A1) in combination with Deng et al (CN 107193064 A) as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of Shimada et al (WO 2012/046826 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan (in combination with Deng et al) does not teach (1) a molding step including generating at least one mold in between a first layer and at least one molding tool applied onto the first layer, wherein the molding step includes introducing a liquefied molding material into the mold. Shimada et al (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0001], [0136], [0137], [0145], [0161], [0162] and [0164]-[0168]; Figures 1-4C) teaches a process (see paragraph [0001] (forming a wafer level lens array) of Shimada et al), including a molding step including generating at least one mold in between a first layer and at least one molding tool applied onto the first layer, wherein the molding step includes introducing a liquefied molding material into the mold (see Figures 3, 4A-4C, paragraphs [0164]-[0168] (mold 60, concave portions 62) of Shimada et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a molding step including generating at least one mold in between a first layer and at least one molding tool applied onto the first layer, wherein the molding step includes introducing a liquefied molding material into the mold in the process of Yuan (in combination with Deng et al) in view of Shimada et al in order to manufacture a lens array.
Regarding claim 9, see paragraph [0145] (transfer suitability) of Shimada et al.
Regarding claim 10, see Figures 1-2, (plural lenses 12) of Shimada et al.
Regarding claim 11, see paragraph [0136] (separated into lens modules by dicing) of Shimada et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of the reply, filed 21 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yuan (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0219435 A1) and Deng et al (CN 107193064 A).
Conclusion
LEO B. TENTONI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/LEO B TENTONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742