DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-18, 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1, recites, determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where the UE is located in response to determining that an update timer times out; and determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the update timer.
Step 1, it’s a method step.
Step 2A, prong 1, determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where the UE is located in response to determining that an update timer times out; and determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the update timer is a mental process of checking a condition and making decision is abstract concept. The steps are Mental Processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion).
Step 2A, prong 2, there are no additional elements individually or as a whole that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitation, "a user equipment (UE) checks if it has satellite signal, and if it does, it restarts a timer," It describes a mathematical or mental rule, executed on a generic, well-known processor without adding a specific technological improvement. When considered a whole, the claimed invention fails to recite any improvement in any technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)) or recite any meaningful limitations (MPEP 2106.05(e)).
Step 2B, the claim does not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea when considered both individually and as a whole.
Claim 2, discloses determining to restart the timer determining to restart the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage; or determining to stop the update timer and initiate a registration update request in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that the satellite signal coverage exists, is a mental process of checking a condition and making decision is abstract concept. Claim 3 is receiving information which is insignificant pre/post solution activity. Claim 4 discloses determining to restart the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage, comprises: determining, according to the satellite coverage information, a first value of a timing duration of the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage; and determining to restart, according to the first value, the update timer, is a mental process of checking a condition and making decision is abstract concept. Claim 5 equates to a mathematical relationship or comparison. Mathematical algorithms and formulas are recognized as abstract ideas. Claim 6 describes the topping the update timer and restoring the timing duration from the first value to a second value in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that the satellite signal coverage exists, is a mental or mathematical step. Claim 7, determining to restart the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage, comprises: restarting, according to a second value of a timing duration of the update timer, the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage, a mental and/or mathematical step. Claim 8 discloses receiving information, which is insignificant pre/post solution activity. Claim 9, merely describes data gathering of information related to satellite coverage which is pre/post insignificant extra solution activity.
Similarly, claims 10-18 are rejected for same reason claims 1-9 are rejected.
Claims 21 and 23 recites additional elements a processor, a transceiver, a memory, a program, have been recognized by the courts as being well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP § 2106.05(d), II. Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amount to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking). See MPEP § 2106.05(d), II. The limitations include sending and receiving information regarding the assignment of videos to decoders. See MPEP § 2106.05(d), II, I, (Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015); buy SAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites, determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where the UE is located in response to determining that an update timer times out; and determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the update timer.
This is contingent/conditional limitation(s). The contingent/conditional limitations are not positively recited in the claim(s) and are thus only executed [or performed or implemented], when the condition is true/met.
[See, (MPEP 2111.04) II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent is not met].
In present claim 1 for instance step of determining a satellite signal coverage result of an area where UE is located, is only performed upon determining that update timer times out; otherwise, this step is not performed, and the prior art is not required to teach this element when the condition is not met.
However, for compact prosecution, examiner has addressed these limitations.
Similarly, for claim 10, contingent limitations are disclosed. Claim 10 discloses, A method for controlling a mobile reachable timer, performed by a first network element, the method comprising: determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where UE is located in response to determining that a mobile reachable timer times out; and determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the mobile reachable timer. If the mobile reachable timer does not time out, determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where UE is located, is not required. However, for compact prosecution, claim 10 has been addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, 16-18, 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakuten, “Support for discontinuous Coverage NB IOT NTN” (hereafter Rakuten) (see IDS) in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0373363)(hereafter Chen).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Rakuten discloses a method for controlling an update timer, performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where the UE is located in response to determining that an update timer times out (see, pages 1-3, A UE may use ephemeris data to calculate discontinuous coverage for idle mode for power saving. The current PSM mode allows NB IOT UEs to remain in a deep sleep mode on the basis of T3324 and T3212 timers from a core, and the UE can also request "UE requested" timer values during ATTACH/TAU procedure to enable a PSM. In order to calculate the correct value of the T3212 extended value, the UE should know discontinuous coverage gap information. In the NB IOT, the UE may request "UE requested" timer values during ATTACH/TAU procedure to enable the PSM. The NB IOT UEs should use this ephemeris data for calculating the T3212 extended timer value to define a deep sleep cycle along with T3324 while activating the PSM. This can avoid waking up the NB IOT UEs in a discontinuous coverage area. The NB IOT UEs should use satellite ephemeris data to calculate the T3212 extended timer value along with T3324 for activating the PSM); and
Rakuten further discloses adjusting the duration of the T3212 timer according to the satellite signal coverage so as to save power. Whether to restart an update timer is a common means in the art for saving power, and a person skilled in the art would be motivated to determine, according to a coverage result of a satellite signal, whether to restart an update timer.
But, does not disclose determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the update timer.
However, in same field of endeavor, Chen teaches in paras, [0140], [0176] The method further comprising restarting the timer upon the UE moving in coverage of the non-terrestrial network and entering the RRC idle mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the Rakuten, as a whole, so as to determine whether to restart the timer or not depending upon UE moving in the coverage area, the motivation is to reduce the power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings further disclose the method, wherein determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the update timer comprises at least one of: determining to restart the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage or determining to stop the update timer and initiate a registration update request in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that the satellite signal coverage exists. (Chen teaches in paras, [0140], [0176] The method further comprising restarting the timer upon the UE moving in coverage of the non-terrestrial network and entering the RRC idle mode, [0175] The method according to supplementary note 6, further comprising suspending the timer upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings further discloses the method further comprising: receiving indication information, wherein the indication information instructs the UE to restart the update timer in response to determining that the update timer times out and the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage (Chen teaches in paras, [0140], [0176] The method further comprising restarting the timer upon the UE moving in coverage of the non-terrestrial network and entering the RRC idle mode, [0175] The method according to supplementary note 6, further comprising suspending the timer upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings further discloses the method wherein determining to restart the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage, comprises: determining, according to the satellite coverage information, a first value of a timing duration of the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage; and determining to restart, according to the first value, the update timer (Chen, [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings further discloses the method, wherein determining to restart the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage comprises: restarting, according to a second value of a timing duration of the update timer, the update timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage (see, Chen, [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings further discloses the method, further comprising: receiving information of the update timer and the satellite coverage information; wherein the information of the update timer is configured to determine that the a timing duration of the update timer is a second value (see, para [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 9, Rakuten further discloses the method, wherein the satellite coverage information comprises at least one of: information of a start moment and duration information for that the satellite signal coverage exists in the area where the UE is located (see, Fig. 1, the UE in connected mode and duration for satellite A serving over area and discontinuous coverage as shown); information of the start moment and the duration information for that there is no satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located; information of the start moment and an end moment for that the satellite signal coverage exists in the area where the UE is located; or information of the start moment and an the end moment for that there is no satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located.
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Rakuten discloses a method for controlling a mobile reachable timer, performed by a first network element, the method comprising: determining, according to satellite coverage information, a satellite signal coverage result of an area where UE is located in response to determining that a mobile reachable timer times out (see, pages 1-3, A UE may use ephemeris data to calculate discontinuous coverage for idle mode for power saving. The current PSM mode allows NB IOT UEs to remain in a deep sleep mode on the basis of T3324 and T3212 timers from a core, and the UE can also request "UE requested" timer values during ATTACH/TAU procedure to enable a PSM. In order to calculate the correct value of the T3212 extended value, the UE should know discontinuous coverage gap information. In the NB IOT, the UE may request "UE requested" timer values during ATTACH/TAU procedure to enable the PSM. The NB IOT UEs should use this ephemeris data for calculating the T3212 extended timer value to define a deep sleep cycle along with T3324 while activating the PSM. This can avoid waking up the NB IOT UEs in a discontinuous coverage area. The NB IOT UEs should use satellite ephemeris data to calculate the T3212 extended timer value along with T3324 for activating the PSM, note that these timers are managed by the network node and UE and shared between them, hence, it implicitly also managed by the network element); and
Rakuten further discloses adjusting the duration of the T3212 timer according to the satellite signal coverage so as to save power. Whether to restart an update timer is a common means in the art for saving power, and a person skilled in the art would be motivated to determine, according to a coverage result of a satellite signal, whether to restart an update timer.
But, does not disclose determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the mobile reachable timer.
However, in same field of endeavor, Chen teaches in paras, [0140], [0176] The method further comprising restarting the timer upon the UE moving in coverage of the non-terrestrial network and entering the RRC idle mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the Rakuten, as a whole, so as to determine whether to restart the timer or not depending upon UE moving in the coverage area, the motivation is to reduce the power consumption.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings further discloses the method, wherein determining, according to the satellite signal coverage result of the area where the UE is located, whether to restart the mobile reachable timer comprises at least one of: determining to restart the mobile reachable timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage; or determining to stop the mobile reachable timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates that the satellite signal coverage exists (Chen, see, para [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings further disclose the method, further comprising: sending information of an update timer and the satellite coverage information to the UE; wherein the information of the update timer is configured to determine that a timing duration of the update timer is a second value (see, Chen, para [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings further discloses the method according to any one of The method according to any one of wherein determining to restart the mobile reachable timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage comprises: determining, according to the satellite coverage information, a fourth value of a timing duration of the mobile reachable timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage; and determining to restart, according to the fourth value, the mobile reachable timer (see, Chen, para [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings further discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein determining to restart the mobile reachable timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage, comprises: restarting, according to a third value of a timing duration of the mobile reachable timer, the mobile reachable timer in response to determining that the satellite signal coverage result indicates there is no satellite signal coverage (Chen, para [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).).
Regarding claim 17, Rakuten further discloses the method according to any one of The method according to any one of wherein the satellite coverage information comprises at least one of: information of a start moment and duration information for that the satellite signal coverage exists in the area where the UE is located (see, Chen, Fig. 1, the UE in connected mode and duration for satellite A serving over area and discontinuous coverage as shown); ; information of a-the start moment and the duration information for that there is no satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located; information of the start moment and an end moment for that the satellite signal coverage exists in the area where the UE is located; or information of the start moment and an the end moment for that there is no satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings further disclose the method further comprising: sending indication information, wherein the indication information instructs the UE to restart the update timer in response to determining that the update timer times out and the satellite signal coverage result indicates that there is no satellite signal coverage in the area where the UE is located (see, Chen, para [0218] The method according to supplementary note 27, wherein [0219] the information includes a value for timer, [0220] the procedure for power saving is a procedure for entering a power saving mode of the UE, and [0221] the entering the power saving mode is performed: [0222] upon the UE moving out of coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value; or [0223] upon expiry of the timer in accordance with the value, in a case that the UE remains in coverage of the non-terrestrial network whilst the timer is running based on the value).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liberg et al. (US 2025/0240687) discloses mobile between terrestrial and non-terrestrial network.
Kim et al. US 2023/0336241) discloses managing mobility of terminal in satellite communications.
Park et al. (US 2018/0270895) discloses radio access network notification area update failure.
Gum et al. (US 2010/0097494) discloses multimode GPS enabled camera.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631