DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the final limitation does not make grammatical sense. Furthermore, since there is not a period at the end of the claim, it appears as though the claim is incomplete, leaving doubt as to what Applicant intends to claim. For purposes of Examination, it will be assumed that the final line requires the printing device to have plural shafts holding the arc table, and that the arc table moves horizontally and vertically.
Further regarding claim 12 recites the limitation "the shaft" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 is rejected based upon its dependency.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US 7997195). Regarding claim 11, Seo et al. disclose “a printing device (item 100) comprising: a substrate table having a flat surface (item 10); an arc table having a curved portion (item 110); and a controller (item 120), wherein the controller moves the arc table in a state in which the curved portion holding ink faces the substrate table holding a target and causes the arc table to contact the target (Figure 7d), wherein plural shafts holding the arc table to move horizontally and vertically (Figure 7d: Examiner notes that because the two shafts are operated separately and since the surface is arcuate, the surface of the table moves both horizontally and vertically).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. in view of Son et al. (US2016/0340527). Regarding claim 5, Seo et al. disclose “a printing method (title) comprising: an application step of applying ink to an arc table (Figure 7c); a transfer step of transferring the ink remaining on the arc table onto a target on a substrate table (Figure 7d), wherein in the transfer step, the arc table is swung without moving the substrate table (Figure 7d), wherein the swing is along a trochoid curve (Figure 7d).” Seo et al. fail to disclose “a receiving step of receiving part of the ink by a printing plate on a printing plate table by contact between the ink on the arc table and the printing plate.” Essentially, Seo et al. disclose a regular gravure offset printing method. Son et al. disclose that reverse offset printing forms precisely fine patterns (paragraph 6, Figure 1 which shows the reverse offset method). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Seo et al. to be a reverse offset method in order to form precisely fine patterns. When modifying the method of Seo et al. to be a reverse offset method, the ink would be uniformly applied to the curved portion of the arc table, and then “a receiving step of receiving part of the ink by a printing plate on a printing plate table by contact between the ink on the arc table and the printing plate” before the final step of “transferring the ink remaining on the arc table onto a target on a substrate table.” Regarding claim 8, Seo et al. further disclose “wherein the swing is along a trochoid curve (Figure 7d) with a corrected parameter, and the corrected parameter is set such that a lowest surface of the arc table is at a certain height (Figure 7d).”
Examiner notes that the arc table of Seo et al. moves at a certain height, and therefore the limitations are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/26/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 2 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 5-8 are not persuasive. Claim 5 does not require the shaft to move along a trochoid curve, only that the table is swung along a trochoid curve, which Examiner maintains the apparatus of Seo et al. accomplishes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853