DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on August 29, 2024. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim US2011/0320099 (“Kim”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 12. Kim discloses a vehicle control apparatus comprising:
a control portion configured to control a first frictional braking apparatus and a second frictional braking apparatus, the first frictional braking apparatus being configured to provide a braking force to a first wheel, which is one of left and right wheels of a vehicle (fig. 1, ECU 100),
the second frictional braking apparatus being configured to provide a braking force to a second wheel portion, which is the other wheel portion of the left and right wheels of the vehicle (fig. 1 ECU 200), wherein,
when a first braking force provided to the first wheel cannot be controlled due to a failure in the first frictional braking apparatus, the control portion outputs a braking instruction for causing the second frictional braking apparatus to generate a second braking force according to magnitude of the first braking force ([0019] The object, in detail, is achieved by a braking control system including: a first control unit controlling the operation of a first electronic brake mounted at a front-left wheel and a second electronic brake mounted at a front-right wheel in response to braking signals; and a second control unit controlling the operation of a third electronic brake mounted at a rear-left wheel and a fourth electronic brake mounted at a rear-right wheel in response to the braking signals, in which, when a fail occurs in any one of the first and second control units, the other control unit selectively controls at least one or more of the first to fourth electronic brakes.).
Regarding claim(s) 2. Kim discloses wherein the control portion outputs an acceleration/deceleration instruction according to a relationship between the magnitude of the first braking force and magnitude of an acceleration/deceleration request requested to the vehicle ([0068] The F-ECU 100 and the R-ECU 200 receive the driver's intention of braking, that is, braking signals generated from a pedal unit 300 by pedal-pressing force from the driver. The braking signals imply electronic signals generated from the pedal unit 300. The F-ECU 100 and the R-ECU 200 calculate braking force in response to the braking signals and control the operation of the corresponding electronic brakes.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Kim discloses wherein the control portion outputs the braking instruction in such a manner that magnitude of the second braking force matches the magnitude of the first braking force (para. 81-85, [0068] The F-ECU 100 and the R-ECU 200 receive the driver's intention of braking, that is, braking signals generated from a pedal unit 300 by pedal-pressing force from the driver. The braking signals imply electronic signals generated from the pedal unit 300. The F-ECU 100 and the R-ECU 200 calculate braking force in response to the braking signals and control the operation of the corresponding electronic brakes.).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Kim discloses wherein the first frictional braking apparatus is actuated by a first electric motor, and wherein the second frictional braking apparatus is actuated by a second electric motor ([0070] Further, the F-ECU 100 is connected with the electronic brakes 110, 120, 210, and 220 by signal lines to detect normal/abnormal operation, and the R-ECU 200 is also connected with the electronic brakes 110, 120, 210, and 220 by signal lines to detect normal/abnormal operation. Furthermore, a signal line is also connected between the F-ECU 100 and the R-ECU 200 to detect whether the counter-ECU fails.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Kim discloses wherein the second wheel portion is a second front wheel, which is a front wheel in the other wheel portion, or a second rear wheel, which is a rear wheel in the other wheel portion (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US2011/0320099 (“Kim”) in view of Yokoyama et al. US2010/0127562 (“Yokoyama”).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Kim does not explicitly disclose the control portion outputs the braking instruction in such a manner that magnitude of the second braking force is smaller than the first braking force by a predetermined amount, and outputs an acceleration instruction of the acceleration/deceleration instruction so as to generate an acceleration corresponding to a sum of a sum of the magnitude of the first braking force and the magnitude of the second braking force and magnitude of the acceleration request.
Yokoyama teaches another braking control system and method that the control portion outputs the braking instruction in such a manner that magnitude of the second braking force is smaller than the first braking force by a predetermined amount, and outputs an acceleration instruction of the acceleration/deceleration instruction so as to generate an acceleration corresponding to a sum of a sum of the magnitude of the first braking force and the magnitude of the second braking force and magnitude of the acceleration request (para. 66-67, FIG. 5(a), tracking capability of the required total braking force can be ensured by increasing the target braking force of the rear wheels. This means that distribution control is executed by correcting distribution by using a regeneration distribution line, shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, so that the tracking delay in the front wheels can be compensated for by an increase in the rear-wheel target braking force. Such corrections can be made on the condition that the tracking error exceeds the predetermined threshold. That is, distribution control is to be executed by increasing the ratio of distribution to the rear wheels so that the required total braking force can be satisfied when the tracking error becomes equal to or greater than the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Kim by incorporating the applied teaching of Yokoyama to improve the safety of vehicle braking control when there’s a failure in the braking system and one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim(s) 4. Kim in view of Yokoyama further teaches the acceleration/deceleration request is a deceleration request and magnitude of the deceleration request is less than twice the magnitude of the first braking force, the control portion outputs the braking instruction in such a manner that magnitude of the second braking force is smaller than the first braking force by a predetermined amount, and outputs an acceleration instruction of the acceleration/deceleration instruction so as to generate a deceleration corresponding to a difference between a sum of the magnitude of the first braking force and the magnitude of the second braking force and the magnitude of the deceleration request (Yokoyama: para. 66, as shown in the lower portion of FIG. 5(a), tracking capability of the required total braking force can be ensured by increasing the target braking force of the rear wheels. This means that distribution control is executed by correcting distribution by using a regeneration distribution line, shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, so that the tracking delay in the front wheels can be compensated for by an increase in the rear-wheel target braking force. Such corrections can be made on the condition that the tracking error exceeds the predetermined threshold. That is, distribution control is to be executed by increasing the ratio of distribution to the rear wheels so that the required total braking force can be satisfied when the tracking error becomes equal to or greater than the threshold.).
Regarding claim(s) 5. Kim in view of Yokoyama further teaches wherein, when the acceleration/deceleration request is a deceleration request and magnitude of the deceleration request is more than twice the magnitude of the first braking force, the control portion outputs the braking instruction in such a manner that magnitude of the second braking force is greater than the first braking force by a predetermined amount, and outputs a deceleration instruction of the acceleration/deceleration instruction so as to generate a deceleration corresponding to a difference between the magnitude of the deceleration request and a sum of the magnitude of the first braking force and the magnitude of the second braking force (Yokoyama: para. 70, an error between the target braking force and the actual braking force is calculated, and it is judged whether the calculated tracking error is larger than the threshold or not. When it is judged that the tracking error does not exceed the threshold, the procedure will end. On the other hand, when it is judged that the tracking error is larger than the threshold, that is, when it is judged that the control error needs to be corrected, the process proceeds to step S10 wherein the above-mentioned control error correction is executed, then, the procedure will end.).
Regarding claim(s) 7. Kim in view of Yokoyama further teaches wherein the control portion determines the second braking force according to an estimated moment amount to be generated by a steering apparatus of the vehicle (Yokoyama: para. 31, para. 36, vehicle state detectors include a variety of sensors, such as front-back acceleration sensor, lateral acceleration sensor, yaw rate sensor, steering angle sensor, wheel speed sensor, vehicle speed sensor, and friction brake pressure sensor.).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658