DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the first wiring member is a metal wire coated with a solder and the first wiring member is connected to the back surface electrode by welding. Claim 1 also recites the second wiring member is a wire coated with the solder and the first and second wiring members are connected to each other by welding.
However, the instant specification states in paragraph [0009] of the published application that “the second wiring member is connected to the first wiring member by welding or via a conductive adhesive” and in paragraph [0047] that “a conductive adhesive or a solder” and in paragraph [0053] “as the above-described conductive adhesive, a solder….the solder is particularly preferable”. It is noted that throughout the application it was always recited as “welding or via a conductive adhesive”, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate welding and soldering are two completely different processes and it does not appear the instant application is stating they are equivalents. For example, paragraph [0053] states the welding is done via “an ultrasonic welding method, a laser welding method or the line”, such that it is clear it is a different process that does not require solder.
Therefore, it appears that claim 1 recites the wires to be coated with solder yet bonded via welding, such that nowhere does the instant specification state the wires to be coated with solder and welded at the same time. Similar deficiency can be found in claims 3 and 5.
Claim 2 recites “the first wiring member and the second wiring member are connected to each other on the back surface electrode by soldering” but claim 1 from which claim 2 depends upon recites “the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other by welding”, such that nowhere does the instant specification disclose welding and soldering to be used together for the first and second wiring members.
Therefore, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the front surface electrode” and “the back surface electrode”. It is unclear which of the plurality of front and back surface electrodes is particularly being referenced by the limitations. Clarification is requested. Similar deficiency is found in claims 3 and 5.
Claim 2 recites “the back surface electrode”. It is unclear which of the back surface electrodes is being referenced by the limitation as claim 1 from which claim 2 depends upon refers to the back surface electrode of the second solar cell for the first wiring member and no particular back surface electrode for the second wiring member. Clarification is requested.
Similar deficiency is found in claims 4 and 15.
Additionally, claim 2 recites “the first wiring member and the second wiring member are connected to each other on the back surface electrode by soldering” but claim 1 from which claim 2 depends upon recites “the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other by welding”, such that it is unclear how the two wiring members can be connected to each other by welding and soldering when they are two distinct processes. Clarification is requested.
Claims 8 and 11-14 recite the limitation "a conductive member". However, the claims from which claims 8 and 11-14 depend upon already recite the second wiring member is a conductive member, such that it is unclear if the same or different conductive member is being referenced. Clarification is requested.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the back surface electrode includes a pad”. It is unclear which of the plurality of back surface electrodes is being referenced by the limitation such that the second wiring member is also recited to be connected to the back surface electrode of the first solar cell and the back surface electrode of the third solar cell. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vatelmacher et al. (US 2022/0158015) in view of Jang et al. (US 2016/0005905).
Regarding claim 1, Vatelmacher discloses a solar cell module (102) comprising:
a plurality of solar cells (25) arranged in a first direction (vertical direction in Figure 12) and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (horizontal direction in Figure 12); and
connection members (short polymer conductor segments 159 and polymer conductor stripe 150; see Figure 12) electrically connecting the plurality of solar cells ([0109]), wherein:
the connection members include:
a first wiring member (thin wire conductors 152 embedded in the polymer conductor stripe; [0109]) that connects, in the plurality of solar cells, a first solar cell and a second solar cell arranged adjacent to each other in the first direction ([0109]; see Figure 12), and
a second wiring member (wire conductors 166 embedded in the short polymer conductor segments 159) that connects, in the plurality of solar cells, the first solar cell and a third solar cell arranged adjacent to each other in the second direction ([0109]; see Figure 12),
the first wiring member is a conductive member that is wire shaped (as set forth above),
the second wiring member is a conductive member (as set forth above),
the second wiring member is provided on the light-receiving surface side of the plurality of solar cells or the back surface side thereof (it is disclosed the short conductor segments 159 are conductively connected to the top side or the bottom side of the respective pair of solar cells; [0110]) such that the second wiring member intersects the first wiring member and is electrically connected to the first wiring member (it is disclosed the two wire conductors are conductively attached to each other and overlapped to form at least a partial conductive grid; [0109]), and
the plurality of solar cells is connected in series by the first wiring member and is connected in parallel by the second wiring member ([0109]).
While Vatelmacher discloses the solar cells are electrically interconnected by the wire conductors, as set forth above, the reference does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of solar cells includes a front surface electrode and a back surface electrode,
the front surface electrode includes a busbar electrode and is linearly provided in the first direction on a light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells, and
the back surface electrode is linearly provided in the first direction on a back surface opposite the light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells,
wherein the first wiring member is connected to the front surface electrode of the first solar cell and to the back surface electrode of the second solar cell, the first wiring member comprises a metal wire in which an outer surface is coated with a solder, and an outer surface of the conductive wire of the second wiring member is coated with the solder.
Jang discloses it is well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that solar cells comprise a front surface electrode (first electrodes 1130 comprising 1131 and 1133) and a back surface electrode (second electrodes 1150 comprising 1151 and 1153), the front surface electrode includes a busbar electrode (1133; see Figure 33) and is linearly provided in the first direction on a light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells (same direction as the first wiring member), and the back surface electrode is linearly provided in the first direction on a back surface opposite the light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells (see Figures 30 and 41), wherein the first wiring member (125) is connected to the front surface electrode of the first solar cell and to the back surface electrode of the second solar cell (see Figure 30) and the first wiring member is wire-shaped and in which an outer surface of a metal wire is coated with a solder (it is disclosed the wiring member has an outer surface coated with a solder 125a; [0226]).
As Vatelmacher is not limited to any specific examples of the electrode configuration of the plurality of solar cells and the method of electrically interconnecting the solar cells to the wire conductors and as an electrode configuration of the plurality of solar cells having front and back surface busbar electrodes and bonding the wiring members by using a solder were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Jang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any known electrode configuration and method of electrically interconnecting the solar cells to the wire conductors, including the above-recited configuration in the device of Vatelmacher. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
While modified Vatelmacher does not expressly disclose the first wiring member is connected to the back surface electrode by welding, and the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other by welding, the reference discloses using welding as a method of interconnecting the solar cells ([0129] and [0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have welded the first wiring member to the back surface electrode and to weld the first wiring member and the second wiring member as it is a known and suitable method to electrically connect the elements.
Additionally, regarding the recitation of a method of making said connection between the first wiring member and the back surface electrode and the electrical connection between the first wiring member and the second wiring member, the examiner notes that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding claim 2, modified Vatelmacher discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the first wiring member and the second wiring member are connected to each other on the back surface electrode by soldering (as set forth above, the second wiring member can be placed on the back surface side and both of the wiring members are disclosed to comprise a coating with solder).
Regarding claim 3, Vatelmacher discloses a solar cell module (102) comprising:
a plurality of solar cells (25) arranged in a first direction (vertical direction in Figure 12) and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (horizontal direction in Figure 12); and
connection members (short polymer conductor segments 159 and polymer conductor stripe 150; see Figure 12) electrically connecting the plurality of solar cells ([0109]), wherein:
each of the plurality of solar cells includes a front surface and a back surface (see Figure 6b),
the connection members include:
a first wiring member (thin wire conductors 152 embedded in the polymer conductor stripe; [0109]) that connects, in the plurality of solar cells, a first solar cell and a second solar cell arranged adjacent to each other in the first direction ([0109]; see Figure 12), and
a second wiring member (wire conductors 166 embedded in the short polymer conductor segments 159) that connects, in the plurality of solar cells, the first solar cell and a third solar cell arranged adjacent to each other in the second direction ([0109]; see Figure 12),
the first wiring member is a conductive member that is wire shaped (as set forth above),
the second wiring member is a conductive member (as set forth above),
the second wiring member is connected to the back surface of the first solar cell and to the back surface of the third solar cell (it is disclosed the short conductor segments 159 are conductively connected to the top side or the bottom side of the respective pair of solar cells; [0110]),
the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other on the back surface of the second solar cell (it is disclosed the two wire conductors are conductively attached to each other and overlapped to form at least a partial conductive grid; [0109]), and
the first wiring member is connected to the front surface of the first solar cell (see Figure (for example, see Figure 6b).
While Vatelmacher discloses the solar cells are electrically interconnected by the wire conductors, as set forth above, the reference does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of solar cells includes a front surface electrode and a back surface electrode,
the front surface electrode includes a busbar electrode and is linearly provided in the first direction on a light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells, and
the back surface electrode is linearly provided in the first direction on a back surface opposite the light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells,
the first wiring member comprises a metal wire in which an outer surface is coated with a solder, and an outer surface of a conductive wire of the second wiring member is coated with the solder.
Jang discloses it is well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that solar cells comprise a front surface electrode (first electrodes 1130 comprising 1131 and 1133) and a back surface electrode (second electrodes 1150 comprising 1151 and 1153), the front surface electrode includes a busbar electrode (1133; see Figure 33) and is linearly provided in the first direction on a light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells (same direction as the first wiring member), and the back surface electrode is linearly provided in the first direction on a back surface opposite the light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells (see Figures 30 and 41), wherein the first wiring member (125) is connected to the front surface electrode of the first solar cell and to the back surface electrode of the second solar cell (see Figure 30) and the first wiring member is wire-shaped and in which an outer surface of a metal wire is coated with a solder (it is disclosed the wiring member has an outer surface coated with a solder 125a; [0226]).
As Vatelmacher is not limited to any specific examples of the electrode configuration of the plurality of solar cells and the method of electrically interconnecting the solar cells to the wire conductors and as an electrode configuration of the plurality of solar cells having front and back surface busbar electrodes and bonding the wiring members by using a solder were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Jang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any known electrode configuration and method of electrically interconnecting the solar cells to the wire conductors, including the above-recited configuration in the device of Vatelmacher. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
While modified Vatelmacher does not expressly disclose the second wiring member is connected to the back surface electrode of the first and third solar cells by welding, and the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other by welding, the reference discloses using welding as a method of interconnecting the solar cells ([0129] and [0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have welded the first wiring member to the back surface electrode and to weld the first wiring member and the second wiring member as it is a known and suitable method to electrically connect the elements.
Additionally, regarding the recitation of a method of making said connection between the second wiring member and the back surface electrodes and the electrical connection between the first wiring member and the second wiring member, the examiner notes that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding claim 4, modified Vatelmacher discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the first wiring member and the second wiring member are connected to each other on the front surface electrode (as set forth above, the second wiring member can be placed on the front surface, such that the first wiring member and the second wiring member can be connected to each other on the front surface electrode).
Regarding claim 5, Vatelmacher discloses a solar cell module (102) comprising:
a plurality of solar cells (25) arranged in a first direction (vertical direction in Figure 12) and in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (horizontal direction in Figure 12); and
connection members (short polymer conductor segments 159 and polymer conductor stripe 150; see Figure 12) electrically connecting the plurality of solar cells ([0109]), wherein:
each of the plurality of solar cells includes a front surface and a back surface (see Figure 6b),
the connection members include:
a first wiring member (thin wire conductors 152 embedded in the polymer conductor stripe; [0109]) that connects, in the plurality of solar cells, a first solar cell and a second solar cell arranged adjacent to each other in the first direction ([0109]; see Figure 12), and
a second wiring member (wire conductors 166 embedded in the short polymer conductor segments 159) that connects, in the plurality of solar cells, the first solar cell and a third solar cell arranged adjacent to each other in the second direction ([0109]; see Figure 12),
the first wiring member is a conductive member that is wire shaped (as set forth above),
the second wiring member is a conductive member (as set forth above),
the second wiring member is connected to the front surface of the first solar cell and to the front surface of the third solar cell (it is disclosed the short conductor segments 159 are conductively connected to the top side or the bottom side of the respective pair of solar cells; [0110]),
the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other on the front surface of the first solar cell (it is disclosed the two wire conductors are conductively attached to each other and overlapped to form at least a partial conductive grid; [0109]).
While Vatelmacher discloses the solar cells are electrically interconnected by the wire conductors, as set forth above, the reference does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of solar cells includes a front surface electrode and a back surface electrode,
the front surface electrode includes a busbar electrode and is linearly provided in the first direction on a light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells, and
the back surface electrode is linearly provided in the first direction on a back surface opposite the light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells,
the first wiring member comprises a metal wire in which an outer surface is coated with a solder, and an outer surface of a conductive wire of the second wiring member is coated with the solder.
Jang discloses it is well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that solar cells comprise a front surface electrode (first electrodes 1130 comprising 1131 and 1133) and a back surface electrode (second electrodes 1150 comprising 1151 and 1153), the front surface electrode includes a busbar electrode (1133; see Figure 33) and is linearly provided in the first direction on a light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells (same direction as the first wiring member), and the back surface electrode is linearly provided in the first direction on a back surface opposite the light-receiving surface of the plurality of solar cells (see Figures 30 and 41), wherein the first wiring member (125) is connected to the front surface electrode of the first solar cell and to the back surface electrode of the second solar cell (see Figure 30) and the first wiring member is wire-shaped and in which an outer surface of a metal wire is coated with a solder (it is disclosed the wiring member has an outer surface coated with a solder 125a; [0226]).
As Vatelmacher is not limited to any specific examples of the electrode configuration of the plurality of solar cells and the method of electrically interconnecting the solar cells to the wire conductors and as an electrode configuration of the plurality of solar cells having front and back surface busbar electrodes and bonding the wiring members by using a solder were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Jang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any known electrode configuration and method of electrically interconnecting the solar cells to the wire conductors, including the above-recited configuration in the device of Vatelmacher. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
While modified Vatelmacher does not expressly disclose the first wiring member is connected to the back surface electrode of the second solar cell by welding, and the first wiring member and the second wiring member are electrically connected to each other by welding, the reference discloses using welding as a method of interconnecting the solar cells ([0129] and [0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have welded the first wiring member to the back surface electrode and to weld the first wiring member and the second wiring member as it is a known and suitable method to electrically connect the elements.
Additionally, regarding the recitation of a method of making said connection between the first wiring member and the back surface electrode and the electrical connection between the first wiring member and the second wiring member, the examiner notes that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, modified Vatelmacher discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Jang further discloses the wiring member is a strip-shaped conductive member (see Figure 3).
As modified Vatelmacher is not limited to any specific examples of the shape of the second wiring member and as a strip shaped wiring member were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Jang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected any known shape for the second wiring member, including a strip shaped conductive member in the device of modified Vatelmacher. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claims 8 and 11-14, modified Vatelmacher discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the second wiring member is a conductive member that is wire shaped (wire conductors that are embedded, as set forth above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Vatelmacher discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the second wiring member is in contact with both the first wiring member and the back surface electrode (as set forth above, the first wiring member and the second wiring member are connected to each other on the back surface electrode, such that the second wiring member is in contact with both).
Regarding claim 16, modified Vatelmacher discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Jang further discloses the back surface electrode includes a pad (140).
As modified Vatelmacher is not limited to any specific examples of the electrical connection between the back surface electrode and the second wiring member and as the use of a pad to bond the two together was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Jang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a suitable electrical connection method between the back surface electrode and the second wiring member, including using a pad in the device of modified Vatelmacher. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
It is noted that claim 3 from which claim 16 depends upon recites the second wiring member to be connected to the back surface electrodes by welding, such that modified Vatelmacher would recite the second wiring member and the pad are connected to each other by welding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that no new matter has been introduced by the amendments was not found to be persuasive. See 35 USC 112 (a) rejection above.
Applicant states that the 35 USC 112 (b) rejections have been addressed. However, new issues were introduced. See 35 USC 112 (b) rejections above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722