DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's amendments filed on 8 July 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 have been amended. Claim 3 has been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8, and 9 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on every reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (KR 20200107474; translation attached), hereinafter Kwak, in view of Yun et al. (US Pub. 2021/0183123), hereinafter Yun.
Regarding claim 1, Kwak discloses an information processing apparatus including: a processor configured to: generate makeup information for generating a makeup-applied face image of a user in which same makeup as predetermined makeup is applied to a face image of the user based on a face image of a poster with the predetermined makeup (Paragraph [0011]: a database is constructed by extracting and mapping makeup information based on video data related to makeup methods of influencers previously uploaded to the internet, and a personalized makeup recommendation service is provided based on virtual makeup synthesis and beauty score-based evaluation using the database, thereby improving user convenience and reducing infrastructure construction costs; Paragraph [0051]: the virtual makeup synthesis unit (100) can perform image synthesis processing between a source image and a user image according to a makeup style through artificial neural network learning processing, and to this end, can perform a process of extracting the makeup style application part from the source person image and applying it to the target person image; Paragraphs [0103]-[0104]: the user can select a recommended makeup style by referring to virtual makeup composite images, and as shown in FIG. 4(C), influencer video information corresponding to the selected makeup style can be provided according to the user's selection. To this end, the recommendation service provider (900) can obtain video link information corresponding to influencer video information from the style database (600) and provide it to the user terminal (10)…as shown in FIG. 4(C), video information of an influencer’s makeup technique corresponding to the style selected by the user can be output through the user terminal); apply, to the face image of the user, makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected by the user from among face images that are posted by posters who meet a predetermined condition (Paragraph [0032]: the service providing device (1000) receives and registers user information from the user terminal (10), obtains user image information and other condition setting information as user input information, and can provide recommendation information to the user terminal (10) to recommend a suitable makeup style corresponding to the user's bare face; Paragraphs [0045]-[0050]: the makeup style database (600) can store and manage the database constructed by performing source image extraction and mapping processing from the collected image information, and can provide makeup styles and source images according to the request of the conditional makeup method candidate extraction unit… the user information management unit (300) can build data for recommendation services by processing profiling (feature analysis) using face photos, classification of user types through beauty score evaluation and feedback, profiling through similar user clusters (collaborative filtering), and profiling through service usage patterns…And, the input information acquisition unit (350) can acquire input information for selecting a candidate for a recommended makeup method based on user information managed by the user information management unit (300) and user input information entered from the user terminal…For example, a user terminal (10) can transmit user input information including a user's bare face image, explicit condition information (time limit, makeup popularity, situation specification, etc.) and keyword information (search, filtering, recommendation) to a service providing device (1000), and the service providing device (1000) determines input information based on the received user input information and the management information of the user information management unit (300), and the determined input information can be transmitted to a conditional makeup candidate extraction unit (700) and a virtual makeup synthesis unit (100)…the virtual makeup synthesis unit (100) can perform one or more virtual synthesis processes on the user face image based on the makeup style and source image determined from the conditional makeup method candidates); provide, to the user, a content that indicates the makeup-applied face image to which the makeup information is applied and a description content of a product that is used for the makeup (Fig. 4; Paragraphs [0103]-[0108]: the user can select a recommended makeup style by referring to virtual makeup composite images, and as shown in FIG. 4(C), influencer video information corresponding to the selected makeup style can be provided according to the user's selection…the recommendation service provider (900) can obtain video link information corresponding to influencer video information from the style database (600) and provide it to the user terminal (10)…as shown in FIG. 4(C), video information of an influencer’s makeup technique corresponding to the style selected by the user can be output through the user terminal (10)…FIGS. 4(D) and FIGS. 4(E) illustrate a cosmetic recommendation and purchase linkage function interface. The recommendation service providing unit (900) according to an embodiment of the present invention can recommend cosmetic information based on user profiling information and face image analysis, and cosmetic information used in the aforementioned influencer video may also be recommended…the recommendation service provider (900) can recommend candidates for partial cosmetics that produce a similar effect to partial makeup in the overall makeup method by considering the composition of the entire makeup method and the makeup condition (skin, color) of each part of the face, and link to a shopping mall that sells them…the recommendation service provider (900) may provide a process of prioritizing recommendations by recognizing the keyword or cosmetic packaging/container in the image when keyword information or cosmetic packaging/container that explicitly corresponds to the cosmetic is exposed in the video…the recommendation service provider (900) can provide a purchase service corresponding to the product selected by the user or provide a purchase linkage function with the product seller site, thereby enabling the user to immediately check and purchase products that match their makeup style. To this end, the recommendation service provider (900) may be equipped with a separate purchase module and payment module, or may additionally be equipped with a shopping site linkage module).
Kwak does not explicitly disclose determine, when the user purchases the product in a predetermined electronic mall, that a reward corresponding to the purchase made by the user is to be given to a poster who has posted the face image selected by the user.
However, Yun teaches online product sales and purchasing (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0058]), further comprising determine, when the user purchases the product in a predetermined electronic mall, that a reward corresponding to the purchase made by the user is to be given to a poster who has posted the face image selected by the user (Paragraph [0056]: reward calculation unit 175 calculates a reward and an advertisement reward provided to a user who uploads pictures. When the image information registered by the user on the image providing server related to the user information of interest is selected as primary depth content of other user and thus transmitted to the other user, the reward may be provided to the user in proportion to the transmission frequency and the number of times that the image is selected as the primary depth content. In addition, when a purchase event occurs through the purchase link included in the related content, the reward calculation unit 155 calculates the actual purchase amount and thus calculates the advertising reward proportional to the purchase amount). In addition to being in the same field of endeavor as Kwak, Yun teaches that this will allow for increased purchase probability (Paragraph [0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak with the features of above as taught by Yun so as to allow for increased purchase probability as presented by Yun.
Regarding claim 2, Kwak, in view of Yun teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Kwak discloses wherein the content is a content that includes information that allows, by operation of the user, the user to access to a predetermined electronic mall in which a product is available for purchase (Fig. 4; Paragraphs [0103]-[0108]: the user can select a recommended makeup style by referring to virtual makeup composite images, and as shown in FIG. 4(C), influencer video information corresponding to the selected makeup style can be provided according to the user's selection…the recommendation service provider (900) can obtain video link information corresponding to influencer video information from the style database (600) and provide it to the user terminal (10)…as shown in FIG. 4(C), video information of an influencer’s makeup technique corresponding to the style selected by the user can be output through the user terminal (10)…FIGS. 4(D) and FIGS. 4(E) illustrate a cosmetic recommendation and purchase linkage function interface. The recommendation service providing unit (900) according to an embodiment of the present invention can recommend cosmetic information based on user profiling information and face image analysis, and cosmetic information used in the aforementioned influencer video may also be recommended…the recommendation service provider (900) can recommend candidates for partial cosmetics that produce a similar effect to partial makeup in the overall makeup method by considering the composition of the entire makeup method and the makeup condition (skin, color) of each part of the face, and link to a shopping mall that sells them…the recommendation service provider (900) may provide a process of prioritizing recommendations by recognizing the keyword or cosmetic packaging/container in the image when keyword information or cosmetic packaging/container that explicitly corresponds to the cosmetic is exposed in the video…the recommendation service provider (900) can provide a purchase service corresponding to the product selected by the user or provide a purchase linkage function with the product seller site, thereby enabling the user to immediately check and purchase products that match their makeup style. To this end, the recommendation service provider (900) may be equipped with a separate purchase module and payment module, or may additionally be equipped with a shopping site linkage module).
Regarding claim 4, Kwak, in view of Yun teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Kwak discloses wherein the application unit applies the makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected from among face images that are preferentially selected or displayed based on a predetermined criterion (Paragraph [0049]: a user terminal (10) can transmit user input information including a user's bare face image, explicit condition information (time limit, makeup popularity, situation specification, etc.) and keyword information (search, filtering, recommendation) to a service providing device (1000), and the service providing device (1000) determines input information based on the received user input information and the management information of the user information management unit (300), and the determined input information can be transmitted to a conditional makeup candidate extraction unit (700) and a virtual makeup synthesis unit; Paragraphs [0103]-[0104]: the user can select a recommended makeup style by referring to virtual makeup composite images, and as shown in FIG. 4(C), influencer video information corresponding to the selected makeup style can be provided according to the user's selection. To this end, the recommendation service provider (900) can obtain video link information corresponding to influencer video information from the style database (600) and provide it to the user terminal (10)…as shown in FIG. 4(C), video information of an influencer’s makeup technique corresponding to the style selected by the user can be output through the user terminal).
Regarding claim 5, Kwak, in view of Yun teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, Kwak discloses wherein the application unit applies the makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected from among face images that are preferentially selected or displayed in descending order of priorities, based on priorities that are determined based on at least one of face information, body information, and a product purchase history of the user (Paragraphs [0046]-[0049]: the user information management unit (300) can perform registration processing according to input information input from the user terminal (10), and map and store and manage the user's usage history information, the usage history information of similar users, and user preference information…the user information management unit (300) can build data for recommendation services by processing profiling (feature analysis) using face photos, classification of user types through beauty score evaluation and feedback, profiling through similar user clusters (collaborative filtering), and profiling through service usage patterns…the input information acquisition unit (350) can acquire input information for selecting a candidate for a recommended makeup method based on user information managed by the user information management unit (300) and user input information entered from the user terminal (10)…a user terminal (10) can transmit user input information including a user's bare face image, explicit condition information (time limit, makeup popularity, situation specification, etc.) and keyword information (search, filtering, recommendation) to a service providing device (1000), and the service providing device (1000) determines input information based on the received user input information and the management information of the user information management unit (300), and the determined input information can be transmitted to a conditional makeup candidate extraction unit (700) and a virtual makeup synthesis unit; Paragraph [0107]: the recommendation service provider (900) may provide a process of prioritizing recommendations by recognizing the keyword or cosmetic packaging/container in the image when keyword information or cosmetic packaging/container that explicitly corresponds to the cosmetic is exposed in the video).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1 (except for the medium, which is disclosed by Kwak, Paragraph [0110]: method according to the present invention described above can be produced as a program to be executed on a computer and stored on a computer-readable recording medium, and examples of computer-readable recording media include ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, magnetic tape, floppy disk, optical data storage device, etc.); thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak, in view of Yun, and further in view of Sugaya (US Pub. 2019/0197736).
Regarding claim 6, Kwak, in view of Yun teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4.
Kwak, in view of Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the application unit applies the makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected from among face images that are preferentially selected or displayed in descending order of priorities, based on priorities that are determined based on at least one of an access history, a purchase history, and an evaluation history of the face image.
However, Sugaya teaches virtual cosmetic application and shopping (Abstract), further comprising wherein the application unit applies the makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected from among face images that are preferentially selected or displayed in descending order of priorities, based on priorities that are determined based on at least one of an access history, a purchase history, and an evaluation history of the face image (Fig. 3; Paragraphs [0121]-[0126]: providing unit 109 gives priority to a cosmetic where the similarity calculated by the first calculation unit 103 is higher than a threshold, based on additional information about the cosmetic or the user. This additional information includes, for example, a price of the cosmetic, a popularity of the cosmetic, a release date of the cosmetic, a type of a color of the user's skin, a favorite cosmetic brand name, a level of a makeup skill, or a type of a makeup tool owned by the user…price of the cosmetic, the popularity of the cosmetic, and the release date of the cosmetic are included in, for example, product information that is stored in the product table 131. For example, if the user ID given to the user is “001,” the information is extracted from the product information that is stored in association with the user ID “001” in the product table 131…type of the color of the user's skin, the favorite cosmetic brand name, the level of the makeup skill, and the type of the makeup tool owned by the user are stored in, for example, the user table 133. For example, if the user ID given to the user is “001,” the information is stored in association with the user ID “001” is read from the user table 133…if the additional information includes the price of the cosmetic, the lower the price of cosmetic is, the higher the priority is. Alternatively, the higher the price of cosmetic is, the higher the priority may be. If the additional information includes the popularity of the cosmetic, the higher the popularity is, the higher the priority is. If the additional information includes the release date of the cosmetic, the newer the release date is, the higher the priority is… the additional information includes the type of the color of the user's skin, the priority of the cosmetic having the color fitting this type is higher than the priorities of other cosmetics. For example, if the type of color of the user's skin is yellow-based color, a priority of a cosmetic having the yellow-based color is higher than priorities of other cosmetics…If the additional information includes the brand name of the user's favorite cosmetic, the priority of this brand cosmetic is higher than the priorities of the other brand cosmetics. For example, if the user likes a certain cosmetic brand, a priority of this brand cosmetic increases). Sugaya teaches that this will allow for presentation to user based on user preferences (Paragraphs [0122]-[0127]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak, in view of Yun with the features of above as taught by Sugaya so as to allow for presentation to user based on user preferences as presented by Sugaya.
Regarding claim 7, Kwak, in view of Yun teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4.
Kwak, in view of Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the application unit applies the makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected from among face images that are preferentially selected or displayed in descending order of priorities, based on priorities that are determined based on a total price of products.
However, Sugaya teaches virtual cosmetic application and shopping (Abstract), further comprising wherein the application unit applies the makeup information that is generated from a face image that is selected from among face images that are preferentially selected or displayed in descending order of priorities, based on priorities that are determined based on a total price of products (Fig. 3; Paragraphs [0121]-[0124]: providing unit 109 gives priority to a cosmetic where the similarity calculated by the first calculation unit 103 is higher than a threshold, based on additional information about the cosmetic or the user. This additional information includes, for example, a price of the cosmetic, a popularity of the cosmetic, a release date of the cosmetic, a type of a color of the user's skin, a favorite cosmetic brand name, a level of a makeup skill, or a type of a makeup tool owned by the user…price of the cosmetic, the popularity of the cosmetic, and the release date of the cosmetic are included in, for example, product information that is stored in the product table 131. For example, if the user ID given to the user is “001,” the information is extracted from the product information that is stored in association with the user ID “001” in the product table 131…type of the color of the user's skin, the favorite cosmetic brand name, the level of the makeup skill, and the type of the makeup tool owned by the user are stored in, for example, the user table 133. For example, if the user ID given to the user is “001,” the information is stored in association with the user ID “001” is read from the user table 133…if the additional information includes the price of the cosmetic, the lower the price of cosmetic is, the higher the priority is. Alternatively, the higher the price of cosmetic is, the higher the priority may be. If the additional information includes the popularity of the cosmetic, the higher the popularity is, the higher the priority is. If the additional information includes the release date of the cosmetic, the newer the release date is, the higher the priority is). Sugaya teaches that this will allow for presentation to user based on user preferences (Paragraphs [0122]-[0127]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak, in view of Yun with the features of above as taught by Sugaya so as to allow for presentation to user based on user preferences as presented by Sugaya.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SALVUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613