DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
During a telephone conversation with Amy Schmid on 6/9/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the Species of a mental symptom, claims 1-3 and 5-6. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 (line 3), 5 (line 2), and 6 (line 2) recite “(accession number: FERM BP-11331)”. It is unclear what the parenthetical information is conveying. Further, parenthesis is reserved for reference characters and information within parenthesis has no effect on the scope of the claims. See MPEP 608.01(m). Applicant is advised to remove the parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada et al (US 2012/0009163 A1; 1/12/2012.) in view of HHP (Harvard Health Publishing. 2017;1-12.).
The instant claims recite a method for improving a female menopausal symptom, comprising administering a lactobacillus strain that is Lactobacillus gasseri CP2305 strain (accession number: FERM BP-11331), a processed product of the lactobacillus strain, or an extract thereof to a subject in need thereof.
Sawada teaches a method for activating vagus nerve in a subject (para 0059), comprising administering an agent to the subject, wherein the agent is Lactobacillus gasseri strain CP2305 (FERM BP-11331) (para 0034), the agent is orally administered (para 0061), the agent is used for a food or drink product (para 0008, 0010-0013, 0066), and the agent is effective for sleep improvement (para 0014), as it is thought that the activation of vagal afferent nerve is involved in the improvement of insomnia and quality of sleeping (para 0026).
Sawada does not teach the claimed subject in need thereof (claim 1).
However, Sawada does teach the method is for improving insomnia and quality of sleeping comprises the administration of Lactobacillus gasseri strain CP2305 (FERM BP-11331). HHP teaches insomnia is attributed to menopause (p.7 para 3), and disrupted sleep is a common complaint during perimenopause (p.9 para 2).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer Lactobacillus gasseri strain CP2305 (FERM BP-11331) to women going through menopause, since HHP discloses that insomnia is attributed to menopause, and Sawada discloses that the administration of Lactobacillus gasseri strain CP2305 (FERM BP-11331) improves insomnia and quality of sleeping. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to administer Lactobacillus gasseri strain CP2305 (FERM BP-11331) to women going through menopause with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759